Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Saint Paul Rome This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Vito Volterra 43, Eur & Garbatella, 00146 Rome, Italy

#645 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 329 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    9.2
    Really good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that was anjouying was waiting for the barman to come on shift at 7pm just to get a hot beverage

    The buffet was great, the beds sheets and towels changed daily, easy to get too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    4.6
    Fair enough for one night stay but does not met wiith its price
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy cleaning session in the morning, water sink that was not absorbing water, bed covers with little wholes on it and poor qualiy. Very small rooms.

    Near UNIVERSITA ROMA TRE

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    4.6
    It's a basic very outdated 2 stars hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet didn't flush properly, broken door in the shower cabin which itself is too small. Toiletries - just shampoo. Scratched floor. Very uncomfortable bed, horrible pillows and blunket(if I can name it so). Room service staff waking you up at 9 in the morning.

    It's a basic very outdated 2 stars hotel. Maybe some other rooms had features of 4 stars. Definitely not mine. Hotel staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2017

    7.9
    The reception staff has sorted out my requests and explain...
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff has sorted out my requests and explain nicely and clearly. The single room was smaller than I thought but it's nice view from 4th floor and clean. The air condition is right above of the bed which is not my (personally) favourite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    6.7
    The hotel was clean, but not as luxurious as the photos make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was clean, but not as luxurious as the photos make it look. The breakfast, although filling, was misleading from the photographs - a full English should include eggs and beans but all that was included in the buffet was ham, cheese, toast, buns and croissants - that doesn't constitute as a full English to me. The staff were okay but they didn't go out of their way to assist our excursions, and it wasn't as well organised as other places I have stayed at. We paid more to have better breakfast and for a more luxurious experience but really I'd rather have saved the pennies! Location was okay - we walked to the metro station (approx 15 mins) every day and this suited us fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    7.5
    Very kind and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too small shower cabin. I can imagine that "bigger"people can have problem with this.

    The hotel is a little bit far from the centre of Rome, but the Basilica San Paolo metro station is in walking distance(about 10 min), so there is no problem with transport to the main attractions. Also transport from Fiumicino airport was smooth-take the FL1 train from Fiumicino to the Ostiense railway station(duration about 30 min), which is near the Piramide metro station... The room was very small, but clean, with a little balcony. The staff was really kind and helpful, we were allowed to print our boarding passes at the reception. The breakfast was much better than I was used to from my previous trips to Italy :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    6.7
    Outside sitting area;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was too small, water drained slowly and a piece was missing from the bottom of the shower. No ramp or elevator to reach the lobby from the street. Street was lined with trash, trash cans and clutter. Limited restaurant availability. Ate at the adjunct restaurant on Sunday and the service and selection was very poor.

    Outside sitting area; the staff was extremely helpful with directions and luggage; large sleeping room; free WIFI; taxi service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    3.8
    STAFF FABULOUS! One star! Poor location. No supermarket nearby. 2 decent places to eat out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Husband had to clean floors himself as feet were sticky and dirty! Shower door kept coming off,hubby able to put it back every time. Walls filthy with black marks everywhere. Furniture dirty and stained. Light switches so dirty, hubby had to wash them. Just overall unhygienic!!!

    STAFF WERE FABULOUS!!!The ONLY other positive feedback is, beds and pillows were comfortable. Towels and linen clean,changed daily.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is not a 4 star hotel.There is no restaurant and nowhere decent nearby to eat. Breakfast is not worth the money and there's not much choice. The bedrooms are very small and the shower door was hanging off. The Walls are paper thin so you can hear everything from the room next door. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the bar prices are quiet expensive.

    Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. The metro station is less than 10 minutes away.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    3.8
    dodgy area, dont walk around too much at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room walls were flithy, the place was run down and not clean, the breakfast was a bit pathetic with second rate food on offer. The bar staff were particularly rude and crabby. The drinks were over priced and not good. The shower was so tiny it was a struggle to get in the doors. The towels were really scratchy, and there was nowhere to actually put anything..like a suitcase. They claim a balcony, but no furniture on it. The walls were paper thin so the scramble and rolling of travel luggage was constant. Also they seemed to spend hours with ladders and junk in the hallway outside our room shouting into phones.

    not much. It rated itself as 4 star. It is definitely not four star. I would think it has trouble getting a decent three.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2017

    9.2
    St Paul vfm hotel in Roma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have some variety of ingredients between days but adequate.

    Accommodation was value for money. Super comfy bed and clean bed linen and towels each day. Staff friendly and helpfull. We will return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    3.8
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location! Walls were dirty with scuff marks! Breakfast was basic, milk was warm, butter was too hard (needs to be kept out of fridge). Should inform people before arrive about city tax! Need downstairs toilet in reception!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    6.7
    It's an okay hotel, okay location, an average hotel, good for a place to sleep, not much else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a triple room, and the beds were all next to each other, it was a tight squeeze to say the least, one of the beds was just a camp bed which has been brought into the room, the walls had scuff marks on them and were quite dirty, no tea or coffee making facilities which I was disappointed with as it is supposedly a 4* hotel. The man on reception told us to go to the restaurant next door when we asked where a good place was to eat and refused to give anymore options, the restaurant was terrible and expensive, the food was cold, and the pasta was hard, pizza wasn't too bad but a little burnt. The staff at breakfast weren't overly attentive or friendly, I was eating my breakfast and went up to my room to get my medication, only to come back down to find the breakfast room had been locked but the rest of my family were in there and I had to wait for the first person to come out so I could come back into the dining room. The hotel was okay but not great, definitely not 4 star.

    The room was relatively clean, and the bathroom was clean and all in working order. The breakfast was nice and kept being topped up which was nice because nothing ever run out. Metro station was only a 10 minute walk away which was very convenient, taxi from the hotel to the centre only cost around 15 euro. The hotel room had a nice balcony and the staff did try to help when when they could. The house keeping was lovely and did things to a high standard.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2016

    7.9
    Great staff, loely small rooms with balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning wasn't working.

    Staff were great! Couldn't have been more helpful, reception and their outside sitting area was also beautiful. Only issue was the air conditioning didn't work. The balcony in the room made all the difference

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2016

    8.8
    Very good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no breakfast food for celiacs. For solo travelers girls the metro station walk might be too "empty" to do during the night.

    Comfy bedroom, excellent infrastructure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2016

    8.8
    not impressive, but I will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I do not consider myself in the category of "very fastidious guests," but for me cleanliness is important. My earring fell to the floor and rolled under the bed, there was a centuries-old layer of dust. Not very much a cafe worker. Not very friendly. All five consecutive days, my husband asked the same question, "tell me your room number?" According to our observations, we asked only of those present. Maybe this is normal, I was faced with the first time.Very little light. Even if you include all (!) lighting in the room is very dark. The photo shows.

    But more pluses than minuses. Metro is close. The bus stop is even closer, from her 5-7 minute drive to the station Trastevere. And from this station you can go on the sea, and to the airport, much cheaper than from Termini. Towels are changed every day, it seemed to me that bed too .. The staff is very friendly (except for one). Design's room in general is very good. Located in a quiet area. And by the way, the room size is important. The room is large enough, bathroom is also very large.At breakfast - cereal, meat and cheese cuts, tomatoes, mozzarella, croissants and cakes, coffee, juice. As everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have had more of a selection.

    There wasn't anything not to like! The only thing they could improve on is what they put out for breakfast. Other than that, it was a great choice of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was quite boring. Pathetic restaurants around. So didn't quite enjoy the food as well. The walk from the San Paulo train station is quite a distance to walk considering if you have any luggage to be carried along with you. We took a cab when we left Rome to go to to Florence and the cab charged me a reasonable amount to get to the main train station of Rome which is Termini (20eur).

    Good value for money. You get what you pay for. Mr Riccardo at the reception was very warm and welcoming. He helped us with every info we requested. The property was clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2016

    3.8
    Small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room Rooms were dirty Not at all what was advertised Shower was rediculously small Dont use the bathroom near breakfast area as in bad shape with no toilet seats Basically only bed sheets to sleep under

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2016

    5.0
    Staff were helpful, room was cleaned each day plus fresh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personally I would have chosen somewhere closer, it's pretty secluded, about a 15min walk to metro station not much to do or see around this area.

    Staff were helpful, room was cleaned each day plus fresh bedding daily.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    8.8
    My family had a brilliant week, location and good weather add up to it! Thank you! 😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee/tea cups were too small. ☕ The lift was tight with luggages but may do when not busy.

    They had a vast healthy breakfast choices though was looking forward to have fresh fruits on some days but not much.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    6.3
    Stay at Hotel Saint Paul Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower screen was completely broken and off hinges. The room could have been a little cleaner - there were crumbs etc. The area was a little too far out of Rome city centre - walk and 2 metros to get in. The breakfast was very disappointing - a few croissants and not much else.

    The beds were comfortable. Nice balcony to sit out on in the sun - was a good bonus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    7.1
    Longer walk from the station as described!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better, too much sweets, not even an egg. Room was pretty small but it was clean. It is overrated as 4star, definitely 3!

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2016

    2.5
    really disappointing choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was our wedding anniversity and we trusted booking.com to book through them, as we used to do so, despite finding better offer on Trivago. Unfortunetly, we have been totally misled by booking through booking.com. The hotel is completely different in reality and the rooms do not look anything closer to the advertised photos on booking.com website. - the hotel is located out site the city centre (Via Vito Volterra 43) and not as it is advertised on the website. It is even outside the tourism map which we can get from any tourism office. Because of this distal location, we wasted long time (arounf 1 hour each way) each day just trying to commute to the city centre or the attractions. The nearest metro station is 20 minutes walk and takes an hour and change of lines to get to the city center. - the other problem with the hotel's location is that there was no restaurant or supermarket nearby and we need to walk for 10 minutes to the nearest supermarket. That was really annoying. - The room is completely different from the photos that booked based on. I have attached some photos for the room. I tried to explain that to the staff but the only answer I got was the useless typical answer that they were fully booked and can't do anything. - other major problem with the room was the air conditoning which was not working most of the time that was real problem with temperature around 36C. What made it even worse that the balcony door had cracks in it which allow hot air flow into the room from outside and I attached photos showing that. - the staff is not friendly with not even a smile on the face. - the breakfast is really minimum for a 4 star hotel. - the shower is really small you can barely fit a child in it.

    Honestly, nothing to be mentioned.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    9.6
    The room was clean and quiet.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately even though it was a no smoking floor you could smell the cigarettes.

    The room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2017

    5.0
    You get what you pay. Worth no more than a 2 stars...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall quality is very poor. Uncomfortable.

    Price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    7.5
    The staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room didnt look like it was in the pictures.

    The staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    7.9
    Very Clean Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very Clean Hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    9.6
    The staff did everything they could to make my family and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff did everything they could to make my family and I feel comfortable! It was a lovely stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    6.7
    decent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    restaurant next door and people having to bring in take away meals due to lack of restaurants in area

    clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2017

    3.8
    The hotel was in the middle of nowhere beds extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in the middle of nowhere beds extremely uncomfortable. Staff not very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2017

    7.5
    Showers were small if you are tall .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Showers were small if you are tall ..or wide.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2017

    8.3
    No restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2016

    8.3
    Great for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit far from everything

    Very clean staff couldn't be any nicer

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    3.8
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed uncomfortable. Very basic accommodation. Definitely not 4 star!

    Didn't feel we got value for Money by any means

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    7.1
    Very friendly welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar prices very expensive

    Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    5.0
    Staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were very small and noisy

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2016

    8.8
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is not very good.

    Very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2016

    8.8
    Clean, friendly and free parking:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was far from the city.

    Clean, friendly and free parking:)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2016

    7.9
    The staff are courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit far from the rome's tourist attractions.

    The staff are courteous. The room clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Hotel Saint Paul Rome Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: