Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Michele Terme & Spa 4 stars

Via S. Angelo 60, Sant'Angelo, 80070 Ischia, Italy

#49 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 212 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful relaxing location in Ischia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was slightly limited, and the coffee could have been better, but this is only nitpicky.

    Beautiful hotel in a commanding position. Quiet and relaxing at all times. The spa was a fantastic bonus and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    The place to be in Sant'Angelo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from the breakfast to services and amenities were top notch. Beautiful views from the outside terrace to the bay area. Pool and spa are excellent additions for relaxation. Definitely will come back San Michele, thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear your neighbours.

    Great location with *breathtaking view* on terasse. The village and surroundings are lovely. Nice clean room. We really enjoyed the sauna hammam en relaxing spa. The staff was helpful and provided good advice. Delicious breakfast. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Truly beautiful hotel in an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was slightly temperamental in our room but we didn’t find it a big problem. We didn’t spend much time indoors but when we did there was no British TV channel, just BBC news would have been good. But actually we enjoyed the break!

    This hotel is absolutely beautiful, amazing views, gardens and the hand painted floors in the rooms are lovely. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. Breakfast had a fabulous view of the sea and was delicious (we stayed bed and breakfast only.)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    B

    This hotel was wonderful. Super clean and stuff were really nice and friendly. Location was perfect. The only thing I would mention is the variety of food for lunch and dinner. It was very limited but nonetheless breakfast was a good light selection. The outdoor thermal pool was the best. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the room. The bed was a bit too hard. The room wasn’t very modern but spotless.

    Super friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. The thermal swimming pool is perfect. Nice restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Poor dinner buffet, very cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor dinner buffet, very cold. When I spoke to the waiter about it being cold they said that’s how they are. Didn’t get my money back. Hard as a rock mattress. Not comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    relaxing and interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was early in the season, so the sea was still a bit cold.

    Comfortable hotel with friendly staff and a big hot pool with thermal water. The village allows only pedestrians and electric carts which is very relaxing. Nice hiking excursions possible with a local geology team, very recommended www.eurogeopark.com A super botanical garden near For, I Gardini Mortella, not to miss.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    We had a nice stay, the views from the hotel are very charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Wifi in the rooms, only in the hall, restaurant and pool area. NO AMERICAN EXPRESS (which is surprising for a 4star hotel) The shower could be improved.

    There is a nice pool with thermal water and the breakfast can be brought to the room without any extra charges. The rooms are nice and spacious. The view from the restaurant is breathtaking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and Comforting accommodation, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cannot name anything that I did not like - I would however suggest in improving the breakfast and include some more options (e.g. eggs for example). Also Spa was clothes on Sunday - one days that I intended to spend there.

    San Michele is a very comforting and beautiful accommodation. I traveled with a friend for my birthday and spent 4 nights at San Michele. Hotel's location is excellent. You can easily walk to the village, beach or the bars. The Spa is a bonus and as part of our hotel deal, we had free usage of the Spa, and I cannot recommend it enough for whoever looking for some relaxing time combined with sunbathing and water activities. I also had a 45 minutes massage which was very relaxing. Unfortunately Spa was closed on the Sunday though. The staff are very friendly and could not be more helpful. They helped us choose various restaurants for dinners during our stay. Rooms are very clean (we had one of the private suits which is tucked away next to the church). There are a lot of space all around the hotel that you can sit down and relax. Breakfast is great - I would would have liked to have more options (eg. eggs or other hot food as part of the buffet). We were unfortunate that the kitchen was not fully functioning during our stay - and for lunch our option was cold salads (I have to stay staff were super helpful with offering us what was available). Thank you the team at San Michele for hosting us. I will be back soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel location and views , but could certainly do so much. More with it !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was out of service over the weekend , we were not notified , so breakfast option was cold meat / cheese and toast or croissant .... paying for bed and breakfast I would expect to be able to order a cooked one. Also in room amenities were not good enough for a hotel of this quality at least tea coffee making facilities should be available. Hotel seemed set up for Germans and Italians as not much English was spoken by any staff

    The views from the room and the location were stunning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    It can be a dream if....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard. Booked see view and got a sideway see view even if we booked it a long time before. Felt a bit cheated

    Staff was kind and available. Location and view fantastic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful island vacation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds are a bit hard, but still slept well..It is not an easy place to get to between the plane, bus, ferry, bus, and taxi...so be prepared for a day of travel- in the end it's worth it!

    Property is in a beautiful location with unbelievable views. Room was very clean, functional and pretty. Staff was friendly, and breakfast set in a fantastic terrace overlooking the sea. Nearby beaches were just a shortish walk down the hill and the pool was almost too warm (but nice).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.7
    Unbeatable views, dated rooms, overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Considering the room price breakfast should be of much better quality instead is rather simple and choice si extremely limited. Rooms and bathrooms are dated having lost the charm of the old time glamour seen in some areas of the hotel such the garden and the beautiful ceramic floor. The swimming pool area is dull and is maintained once a day with some of the jet showers working only during the limited time of the day. being a family run hotel we regret not having had the pleasure of meeting management that showed no interest in meeting our family group. wifi is not available in this hotel if not very weak around the bar and reception area making it not a good place for business travellers or travellers that are unable to completely disconnect when on holiday

    views that stretch out at sea with Capri and the Amalfi coast at the horizon

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    An excellent relaxing stay in a thermal spa hotel with glorious views of Sant' Angelo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi coverage in the rooms, which encouraged people to use their electronic devices in the bar and could be distracting. The pIped music in the bar was a little monotonous could usefully be changed.

    The hotel is not too big and is located at the top of local hill, with marvellous views both to the East and West of the peninsula. The staff was very friendly and keen to help. The thermal pool was excellent, kept warm to body temperature and contains multiple bubble areas and water jets. The continental style breakfasts were good quality and you could ask for cooked items as well. The view from the breakfast terrace was fantastic, and spa treatments were available throughout the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    Stunning views, beautiful grounds , dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly managed considering the lack of attention for details. Upon entering the property located in the stunning grounds over Sant Angelo, you notice a pile of blue pillows stored under a canopy on the lefts handside ofthe terrace. while walking in the beautiful garden, next to the side entrance, few rusted pieces of fitness equipment, two scooters and jars of wall paint are also stored during all period of our stay. The pool furniture set up is done once and after closing, when visiting the pool during the day it looks messy.the beach chairs pillows are stored all day in piles right under the shades and the massage showers are turned on only in specific times. Wi-fi is almost non existing even though receptionist told us it should work on public areas... no wifi by the poll nor in the rooms. We stayed in a superior room sea view, stunning sea view! Bathroom, safebox, garderobe, blankets are dated and/or very old. Shower pressure is weak, works on and off and so the water temperature. Quality of breakfast is poor, choice is limited though service is attentive. We did not have the pleasure to talk to the manager that showed no interest in greeting us in the many occasions of crossing trought reception or the hotel grounds. Being a family run establishment we hoped in a warmer welcome by the management but seemed more busy seating at its desk than making sure our stay was a pleasant one.

    View over the bay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Beautiful location definitely worth another visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better directions to hotel own buggy service would have been good. Wi Fi was not very good and often did not work.

    Hotel in lovely location. Facilities very good. Staff friendly and very helpful. Loved our room and the view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Location and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. Not very modern facilities.

    Location and the view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Exceptional hotel, staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very, very nice hotel. View was amazing. Absolutely recommend this hotel to all my family and friends

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Kettle and hot drink facilities in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle and hot drink facilities in room. Very English thing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    the bed and cushions are not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed and cushions are not comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice breakfast, comfy rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice breakfast, comfy rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    The village is wonderful, hotel very comfortable. I'd come back to the hotel as soon as possible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nice hotel, good spa facilities. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Had a very restful 3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A coffee machine in the room would have been nice.

    Amazing views, beautigul garden lovely atmosphere- Thank You

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Great stay friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website showed a pool and our room promised a kitchen but didnt have

    Curtious and knowledgeable staff beautiful garden and veiws from terrace

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Garden and swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in the room. No carelli available for customer.

    Garden and swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Location, views, clean and spacious rooms;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was OK but could have been a bit better

    Location, views, clean and spacious rooms; reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, relaxing, peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is rather disappointing to not have wifi access in the rooms.

    Helpful staff. Lovely grounds. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    once checked out, there was no shower to use after having...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    once checked out, there was no shower to use after having been in the pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic location and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not very good. Little choice.

    Location was fantastic and hotel well cared for

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    6.3
    Outstanding views, poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor, unfriendly staff. Breakfast buffet very limited.

    Outstanding views, nice THERMAL pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast on the terrase with the view on the sea, what is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the terrase with the view on the sea, what is more to wish!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Great location between the port of St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi doesn't extend to rooms

    Great location between the port of St. Angelo and Maronti beach, both 5 minutes walk with enough bars and restaurants for variety. Friendly staff, very clean and comfortable. Fantastic views to Sorrento and Capri, quiet part of the island so perfect for peace and quiet and relaxation

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    The setting of Ischia is amazingly beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The setting of Ischia is amazingly beautiful. The Hotel is a 10 minute walk to the beach. We only went once since there was a pool fed by a natural spring. Loved it!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    This is the most idyllic spot of Ischia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is the most idyllic spot of Ischia. The staff at San Michele are most attentive, kind and helpful. The swimming pool and spa are lovely and the food is delicious. The views could not be more breathtaking and the rooms are delightful, spacious and full of light. If you want a tranquil, relaxing and truly special holiday - this is the place to book!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    I really liked the hotel grounds, the lovely roof terrace we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit hard but slept really well despite this.

    I really liked the hotel grounds, the lovely roof terrace we had attached to our junior suite and the very friendly staff. It was close to the beach and near many good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Stunning location, great facilities, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning location, great facilities, very clean

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    The extremely pleasant nature of the personnel and their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The extremely pleasant nature of the personnel and their discretion. The excellent facilities.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Excellent location and cuisine, calm, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location and cuisine, calm, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Loved this place, the people, the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A/C could be better - not strong enough

    Loved this place, the people, the location. It was so tranquil and the staff were just lovely.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    3.3
    Terrible room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible room. Looked very different from pictures on booking. The steam in the room did not work

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: