Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Universal Terme 4 stars

Via Valerio Flacco, 28, 35031 Abano Terme, Italy

#46 of 74 hotels in Abano Terme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1073 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    3.3
    Doesnt worth of your money! Not 4* as they claim!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh where do I start! First off, room was so plain with no information available, even how to call to the front desk or what services are available. There was no AC either! Bed had no blankets, just a thin bedsheet! Breakfast was horrible!!!! I had a rotten egg and staff didnt even care when i showed it to them and I told this to two waiters. Selection was also very poor! Coffee was disgusting! Secondly, spa was closed on Sunday!!! And we the girl at the front desk didnt speak english or very little and fidnt show us the facility or explain anyrhing. Massage was good but bueaty treatments were done very rough and not a good quality, not very attentive! Additionally, 4 star hotel with spa provide bath robes and slippers, in this one you had to pay for it and for the swimming cap. And they didnt even explain it you had to go and ask them. The only good thing about this place was the indoirs swimming pool that was big and had variety underwater jets. Sauna was very small and people had a waiting line to get in. Outside swimming pool was tiny! I would never come back there again! The facility was not renovated for years and you can see paint falling off and water stained walls. The most I can give this place is 3 star and only because of the indoor swimming pool. Staff was not welcoming and attentive! Very dissapointed with this hotel!!!!

    Indoor swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Would happily stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I think it's being renovated which is good as some rooms are a little dated ....but still wonderfully kept and spotless

    Great staff and great food and treatments are reasonably good value too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    A relaxing spa holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was nice and classic, but some of the furniture needs some refurbishing and the rooms need a bit of an update. The menu was only available in Italian, German and French. We asked for an English copy, but it didn’t exist. In the end the younger staff were very nice and tried their best to describe the dishes to us. The dinner service was a little too stiff and formal for our liking, but I suppose it’s just a difference in culture and generation.

    Friendly and kind staff! I loved the spa, especially the different water therapies. We enjoyed the spa every single day before dinner. Good location because it was convenient to take a train from Abano station into Venice for a day trip. We chose to include access to the spa and half-board to our stay - a bit pricey but worth it for a weekend of relaxation. The antipasti and dinner was wonderful, but it would have been even better if there was an English menu available. Most of the restaurant staff were very nice, patient, attentive and courteous which made all the difference during our stay. Thank you! The WiFi signal was strong in the hotel and restaurant, but not in the pool lounge chair area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely 2 days in abano terme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks much more modern in the pictures, it isn't, it is very classical and very fitting to the area. But if you want modern do not choose.

    We loved the town and the surrounding area. Our room had a balcony which was nice! Breakfast we enjoyed, because it had break ham cheese and eggs which we love. Set next to a lovely park which is nice to walk around and just turn left out of the hotel and walk to the top of the road and left again you will find lots of shops and bars. We actually loved being the youngest staying there (by a good 40 years)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    5.4
    The location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC is not working. The pictures in the booking.com site does not represent the actual condition of the room. The staff at night shift doesn't know anything about the hotel and the rooms.

    The location of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.2
    Fancy swimming pool
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, time is running fast and had to leave early

    Redesigned swimming pool with coloured underwater lights, 4 jet beds , two underwater byciclets for weight management, biosauna and outdoor thermal pool of course.Bring your own bathrobe Continental rich breakfast included in room fee and free parking, biciclets available, flat screen tv 60 channels, fast wifi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The big noisy concert on Friday night in front of the hotel next to our balcony

    This was a second time we visited this hotel. We like the pools and the food is good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Avesome pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast is poor

    termal pool is avesome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, hope to stay there agin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aminities, rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Week end on Abano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are very polite and kindly

    It is a little mess that they don't provide slippers and bathrobe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Great pool complex, good food, easy parking.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath in deluxe double room. Gym too hot.

    Excellent indoor and outdoor pools, great coffee

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.5
    Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools were fabulous. The rooms were very comfortable. A great place to relax

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    very enjoyable and central to many cities and villages in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the swimming and massage pool the breakfast was varied and tasty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    My Favorite Spa After 20 Years
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all!

    It is rellaxing, updated and beautifully cared for....both modern and antique and very welcoming. .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    5.0
    Food, not clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, not clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.7
    7
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room need investments

    Good Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.3
    Great spa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room very poor

    Large room clean and newly updated

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Staff e sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piscina esterna

    Staff e sauna

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    We love this hotel, staff are friendly, speak English well,central location and the pools are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, lovely water,and good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    We di telax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La camera un po' retro'

    Le terme

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.9
    pools were amazing and neat and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No one was interested for reception not even welcome drink or glass of water was offered....even hostels provide better service.......

    pools were amazing and neat and quiet location.......luved the hotel

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.2
    Great breakfast buffet and pools included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra cost if you didn't have a robe, flip flops, bathing cap. Can get by with a shower cap though. Also can rent a large "pool" towel if needed. Search nearby stores for a cap to save a Euro.

    Great breakfast buffet and pools included. Old charm in expansive lobby. Lunch and dinner buffet cost reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    4.2
    The pool was very modern and well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I would not recommend this hotel. The pool was very nice, though our family did not feel welcome, was not explained anything and our son, who can swim and had us beside him, was made to wear floats. The hotel rooms are terribly rundown. This is not a 4 star hotel in our opinion

    The pool was very modern and well kept. The front desk staff upgraded us after we complained about the state of our first room.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.0
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought I had a reservation for two nights. They did not have us listed. We were given a room suitable for one person for one night, the next day we had to move.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    The staff was really eager to help on all occasions and VERY...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    The staff was really eager to help on all occasions and VERY friendly! The pool and the bio sauna are big enough even for all guests (no crowds). Our room had the most beautiful private terrasse (probably of the whole hotel).

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    Nice swimming pools, especially the inner one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Don't expect to get the rooms on the pictures, they're renovating them one by one! Poor breakfast. The air conditioning isn't working properly, especially in the rooms and breakfast room. Outside swimming pool too warm (34ºC).

    Nice swimming pools, especially the inner one.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.8
    -the staff is friendly , professional, and helpfull with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -no air conditioning -bed way to soft -the building looks better at night, the architecture is plane as a soviet holiday camp,5stars hotels all around looks way nicer -the salade choice was large but didn't change in 5days -mostly for retired people -the outside pool area is smaller than it looks on the pictures -requirement to wear a head cap in the pools -pool close at 20:00 -no view from the rooms -all the doors need to be refurbished badly, so as the electric switches, from the yellowish look must be like 30years old -no bath -a club outside has the music pumping on weekends

    -the staff is friendly , professional, and helpfull with a personal touch, mostly seniors -the wifi was not restricted with login screens, good enough for video streaming -the food was good for the price, -the pool is long enough to swim -enough long chaired outside to sunbath -prices of wine -staff speak French and German -free parking just in front of the hotel -clean

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    8.3
    the big pools, indoor and outdoor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed, for our feeling to soft.......but other people may like it.....

    the big pools, indoor and outdoor. The food (lunch and dinner) everyday a great expierience of italian cusine

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    7.5
    New inside pool area, and various jets, free biosauna...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel mainly for dog owners and their pets.

    New inside pool area, and various jets, free biosauna (though it should reach a humidity value of 50%. It was 5% instead on the hygrometer). Nice aquafitness instructors, but why only twice a week?

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    The location is great, as it is right in the centre of Abano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is great, as it is right in the centre of Abano. The main hotel area is very charming and classical. The staff were really friendly and made us feel very much at home. Great pool and wonderful massage by Mauro. I love this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    8.3
    Delicious selection of food and great breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed and pillows were clean but uncomfortable. The decor could use an update and the cost of a dog staying was excessive. Robes and pool towels should be included in the price.

    Delicious selection of food and great breakfast buffet. Price of drinks were not excessive. Spa and pool were lovely and enjoyed bio sauna. Staff were very friendly and kind.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    4.2
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room, the bed.

    Pool

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    6.3
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much food choice nearby

    Pool

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    Close to Venice, Padua, Euganean hills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing that I can think of. Maybe some of the staff were a bit supercilious at dinner-time...

    Close to Venice, Padua, Euganean hills.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    9.6
    Thermal water structure is really fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfeast is not so special we expected.

    Thermal water structure is really fine.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.6
    Spectacular value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spectacular value for the money. Very friendly staff. Excellent dinner. Very good bed and pillows. Comfortable pool area.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    3.8
    room very old fashioned, furniture very poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room very old fashioned, furniture very poor

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.6
    Great Spa, excellent food, nice classic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was terrible

    Great Spa, excellent food, nice classic room. Staff very kind and service oriented

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.2
    Great facility and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great facility and staff. Splendid facility for a reasonable cost.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old fashioned and dark lobby. Bedrooms small and in need of modernisation very poor. Breakfast very basic hot food was dreadful.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    8.3
    Swimming pool, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Swimming pool, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    7.5
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel Universal Terme traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: