Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Touring 4 stars

Via de' Mattuiani 1/2, 40124 Bologna, Italy

#20 of 99 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 916 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Super, highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was greeted with a very warm welcome at 21.00 hours and recommended a fantastic restaurant close by. All the staff were very efficient and friendly, the hotel spotless and the central position perfect for my business and pleasure. I will definitely return and recommend to my friends!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    So much nicer than a big hotel, so clean and staff go out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much nicer than a big hotel, so clean and staff go out of their way to be helpful. Loved the rooftop terrace for an evening cocktail and to watch the sunset,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location for exploring this beautiful city but get a taxi from the Airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor beef but there was an unpleasant smell emanating from the shower drain although this dissipated somewhat with regular flushing.

    Stunning views from the Rooftop area and a great place for a drink when you've been walking the streets of this stunning city all evening. A special mention to the Receptionist who appeared to be permanently on duty during our short stay. She is a credit to the Hotel, friendly, professional and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - No bathrobe

    - Modern and clean room; nice view from the balcony - Very good breakfast - Good location, around 7 mins walk to the center and several great restaurants in the neighborhood - Late checkout time

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Hotel Touring is a very nice hotel centrally located in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Hotel Touring is a very nice hotel centrally located in Bologna with a terrific rooftop bar. This is a family-owned hotel and the staff couldn’t be nicer. The reason for my lower rating is entirely due to room 331 where we were-assigned. Two out of three afternoon/evenings the room smelled just awful, like sewage. Apparently this is an occasional problem with this room that is known to the management. Bc the hotel was full they could not change our room but they compensated us fairly upon checkout. So beware of room 331! Otherwise it is a nice hotel and has a good breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location / friendly staff / great view at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get big towels and sufficient shower gel untill day 2. Desk in the room was sticky andere remained sticky during our stay

    Perfect location / friendly staff / great view at the rooftop terrace

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Perfect Place in lively Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I absolutely loved everything about this place. It was situated at the edge of town, which was perfect as it was quiet and safe and only maybe a 3-minute walk from the luxury Galleria (where the best gelato is, Cremeria Cavour) and Piazza Maggiore. I stayed in a standard room but the immaculate cleanliness of the room, the very crisp and comfortable bed, the extremely quiet yet powerful air conditioner, brightness and well laid out bathroom with all the amenities. Then I stayed in a deluxe room and didn't want to ever leave! It had the same comfortable bed but the bathroom amenities were upgraded. I had my own personal balcony which I was allowed to bring in a tray from the breakfast buffet. Oh, then there's the breakfast buffet with it's wide and fresh selection of amazing treats. The attendants are super hard working - the place was so clean and they even ask if you'd like espresso or cappuccino even though there's coffee already out. The rooftop is also another amazing aspect of the property. If you can go up there for sunrise and sunsets, do so! It has the most incredible views. The front desk staff helped secure me a last minute Food Tour (cannot be missed by Italian Days), moved my stuff to the new room and even tried to help make an international call. And to top it off, the owner came up to me and shared some history of the place and how much he enjoys sharing his property with "his friends". I did sure feel like a friend!!!!! He was so welcoming and lovely!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Good accomodation, great staff well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The relationship between the hotel and the roof top bar seemed a bit disjointed and as this was structured to suit the Bar the Hotel guests were, from my perspective disadvantaged.

    Staff assisted in some areas of health needs, front desk staff excellent, breakfast range and supply covered all breakfast types, walking distance to most of the town attractions. Holiday period meant a number of shops and hospitality venues were closed but would just avoid that timing next time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom door which opens from the inside even when locked. It’s a safety feature but gives a feeling of insecure.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast and nice hotel ambience. Close to all important tour sites.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value stay a short walk from the centre of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This was our second stay at this great hotel a short walk from the centre of Bologna. Lovely room , great staff and lots of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ended up paying extra for a better room as the room we booked couldn’t be supplied and the one they could supply for the price was abysmal - tiny and very gloomy.

    Location is great. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely boutique hotel, with welcoming, friendly staff. Great room with fab sunny balcony (recommend upgrading if you can - well worth it) Very comfy bed, great air con. Lovely breakfast area with great selection available. Not far from Piazza Maggiore and Giardini Margherita (well worth a visit) Beautiful rooftop terrace, great sunset views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    The rooftop pool was just what we needed after walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad smell around the pool at times & it does get crowded late afternoon but you don't get a pool in many hotels in the city so could hardly complain.

    The rooftop pool was just what we needed after walking around the city & having dinner on the rooftop restaurant looking over Florence was one of our highlights , great breakfast again with amazing views , staff very friendly & just a 10 minute walk into the centre of the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location with just a 5 minute walk into town , staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drinks on rooftop bar expensive , 1st drink min 10 euro per person , we booked a gold room which should have had a balcony but just got an upgraded room & when I came to pay for the two nights I got an extra bill for 60 euros as I had only booked as 1 person , 30 euros for breakfast? , took the shine of what was a great two days.

    Great location with just a 5 minute walk into town , staff very friendly & helpful , very nice breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrace shut early and no lights on so had to leave. The views were awamazing

    Lovely receptionist Giada. So helpful and kind. Very informative about the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small but not really a problem for us. Make sure to use bug spray on the roof terrace.. we got bitten a lot!

    Lovely hotel in a great location. Rooftop bar is great for evening drinks. Very clean and great shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    We were delighted with our stay at Hotel Touring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly overly critical perhaps but I wasn’t allowed to borrow an iron for the room to prepare for an evening out. I had to iron in the communal hotel reading room which felt a little strange for a hotel.

    We were delighted with our stay at Hotel Touring. The room was big with a big bathroom (we had a standard room) the place is clean and well furnished and the air con kept the room at a great temperature. The location is excellent, just a short walk from the main square and lots of bars and restaurant choices close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, helpful reception, glad we upgraded but at a cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we didn't appreciate was to be charged 10 euros for the first drink on the roof garden, we thought that was an unnecessary charge, especially for the other beautiful bars and finest wines in Bologna.

    We loved the location of this hotel, probably 7 minutes walk, under beautiful arches to the main square. You could also follow the track back to the hotel, to ensure you didn't get lost, as there are so many streets off the main square. We upgraded to one of the gold rooms which was lovely and bright and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    We would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property is great when visiting Bologna. We were traveling for pleasure and were able to walk to everything in the center city. The train and bus stations were about 10-15 minute walk - not bad at all as it was a straight shot and level ground. We felt comfortable walking in the area. The hotel is set back a couple of blocks from the center city so it was quiet yet convenient. The staff was helpful and we did not have trouble with language. The rooftop bar was perfect after a day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Love at first sight, amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you come by car - make sure to study carefully parking rules, ZTL and area C zones, it’s very complicated in Italy.

    Love at first sight, amazing place! I couldn’t believe my eyes - everything was classy- the room, the balcony, the terrace on the roof with Bologna views, and the luxury toiletries from Davines, we didn’t want to leave the place. The personal super friendly and patient, helped us fix parking problems. The breakfast was also delightful- wide choice of everything, including cheese ham prosciutto and different fruits and vegetables. So far our best stay, would definitely come again to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof terrace was always closed for private parties 2 of the 3 nights we stayed. The one night it was open we booked a table arrived and there was still a party going on and no one knew we had a reservation. They made us a table up but it was right in the corner on the opposite side of the beautiful view and we felt like we had gate crashed someone else’s party. Also the 10 Euro minimum charge per person no matter what you have to drink is a very strange rule although they do give you a nice selection of nibbles.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to use roof top terrace as function on, not advised when booking Have to pay extra for jacuzzi

    Beautiful boutique hotel Helpful staff Great breakfast Good location Parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Great service, great location, poor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room size was smallest of our trip across Italy, immediately tricky to open out cases without using bed space - which made us question value. Decor very outdated too

    The location was great and the service was incredibly attentive throughout the stay. The rooftop was really great spot to enjoy aperitivo with views across the city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly located, friendly, pretty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect quiet location a few minutes walk from the centre of Bologna. Beautiful breakfast room and roof terrace and friendly, helpful staff. Hotel Touring is a small hotel with a lot to offer. I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    great roof terrace from where you have great view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great roof terrace from where you have great view of the whole city. very friendly staff willing to help when needed. very positive atmosphere in the breakfast room serving great breakfast. hotel has a lot garden open-air places to sit and enjoy your drink.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Great location, very helpful staff, fantastic views from roof top terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is lovely, we were lucky to have a room with a balcony, breakfast was very good but the star element are the hotel staff. They are extremely helpful, kind and attentive. We would highly recommend asking their advice on where to eat. Having listened to our preferences, every recommendation was spot on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Very well located hotel, a bit weak in facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities were expected to be in better condition for the high price paid. Cleaning and organising in the room was insufficient.

    Location is convenient, just travel by foot to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in the center, friendly staff, sky bar. Totally recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just nothing.

    Stylish and clean room, comfortable bed, delicious breakfast. Romantic atmosphere in the hotel sky bar. Very friendly and helpful staff. I totally recommend, will come again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Amazing in every manner, will be staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is amazing. The ceilings were high, the bed was huge, the shower was so great i wanted to stay in there for an hour just to get that great water pressure. The food, the views from the bar/ cafe on the rooftop, and the service were all great. And also, the location is amazing and close to everything, you can just walk to things without any issues at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The Hotel is located in a great area and comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner was loud as we paid for upgrade with Terrace but could not keep door open as it was noisy in the night. The Breakfast room is within the basement no character and no windows, upstairs would be nice or on terrace. Location of Hotel confusing to find

    The Hotel is located in a great area and comfortable and clean, the breakfast staff friendly and fresh and tasty food for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Great Hotel, would definitely stay again when next in Bologna.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great little hotel, situated in the heart of Bologna. You can walk everywhere if you are keen or taxi's are a go. Love Bologna, keen to get back! Thank you Hotel Touring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Good choise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain.

    Excellent location, good facilities and good service. Tiny but comfortable interior. Nice bar on the upper floor that has nice view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Lovely room, roof bar is a huge asset though it was booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room, roof bar is a huge asset though it was booked for a function on one of my only 2 nights there. If it had of been booked for both nights, I would have been very upset as I chose this hotel because of the roof top bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our air conditioning didn't work and it took longer than I would like for it to be fixed- reported in the afternoon and not fixed for 24 hours. We had to sleep with the windows open and street noise very disturbing. Windows very good for noise cancelation when temperatures allowed.

    Lovely hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Also, roof top drinks are expensive for what they are. Breakfast was lovely, room clean and comfy. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    The staff were particularly lovely and helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were particularly lovely and helpful; service with a smile! The hotel was pleasantly understated and the beds wide and comfortable. There's a charming roof terrace bar with a splendid view across the city. The place is remarkably quiet for a city hotel, is well positioned for walks around to places of interest and excellent restaurants... We'd happily book to stay at Hotel Touring again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel with friendly staff in an excellent location. Awesome roof terrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there were no towels in my room when I arrived, needing a shower. My room was functional, and the lighting was OK. It fulfilled my needs but I expect that are more luxurious rooms in the hotel. Otherwise, everything was very good.

    Very nice staff. Generous allowing my visitors to look at beautiful roof terrace. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, good breakfast, location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little bit small, 1.20 m width for two persons, however for two nights it was ok 👍🏻

    Very friendly staff, good breakfast, location of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, quiet but central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Perfect location, quiet but central. Staff really friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and so was the bed. We really enjoyed the roof terrace with the fantastic view! Breakfast of excellent quality and wide choice. I will definitely return when we come back to Bologna

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Fab location welcoming staff - nice hotel - breakfast ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price - we were offered a room upgrade fir the 2 nights which we took but it did make the stay a bit pricey although a lovely room

    Warm welcome with a complimentary coffee snd crosssint

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location - 10 minutes from centre, in a quiet area but with abundant bars/restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent base to discover the delights of Bologna. Hotel is run by an exceptional team who are consistently helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    We'd highly recommend Hotel Touring and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could've been a bit bigger but it is Bologna after all. It didn't take away from our experience. We did have a small balcony to sit on, which was a lovely suntrap in the April sunshine.

    Perfectly located, staff couldn't do enough for us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel located in the south of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited bar selection is the only thing we would improve!

    We paid a little extra to upgrade our room so had a balcony with views over the city - well worth doing! There was a wide breakfast selection and the best coffee of our trip! Friendly staff and a rooftop jacuzzi make this hotel hard to beat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous! Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was absolutely amazing and the room was so clean and comfortable. The bed and bed linen/towels were so lovely and staff went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for us and were always very friendly and professional. A very relaxing stay in this lovely boutique hotel. Aperitivo on the roof terrace was spectacular:) Super central location too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again should we return to Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negatives on the hotel.

    The room was very comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good quality and all a short stroll from the old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Great value/location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was thing in that the walls were very thin. We could hear our neighbour talking at 2am. We could also hear people below in their bathroom in the morning but not such an issue when you are already up.

    The room was beautifully decorated and was a nice size. We had a balcony with views of Bologna. The roof top terrace looked great and will be nice in warmer weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed both the hotel and its location in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good to very good breakfast selection; all super friendly and helpful staff; parking was easy at a public car park about 300 m from the hotel (Parcheggio Staveco: we paid 12 Euro from late afternoon till 11 the next morning); hotel in the historical centre, some 5 minutes to the Piazza Maggiore. Lots of restaurants and shops within easy reach. The hotel has a very nice terrace on the top (5th) floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Desk staff very attentive, knows your name and room number,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk staff very attentive, knows your name and room number, offers umbrellas on rainy days,resolved my parking needs. Breakfast is a generous buffet including eggs, meats, cheeses, and pastries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Niggly problem with the hotel didn't stop us enjoying our stay. Bologna is a realy nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff didn't clean our room or make our beds on our last nights stay. We were so tired after a long day we fell into bed. Although the front desk were concerned when we bought this to their attention in the morning, we expected more than a free coffee! Facility to make hot drinks in the room. Pity the staff didn't bother to look and check what needed topping up. The buffet breakfast could be improved. Hot food only tepid, too many dry cakes. Visited Spain, Greece, Portugal and now Italy in 2017, not a single hotel in-room TV had BBC world news, why is this?

    Quiet location, pleasant staff, interior décor throughout ok. Only 12-15 mins casual walk to main city centre square. Varied buffet breakfast Modern bathroom with bidet, very important to us. Hate showers over a bath, our room had a nice shower, plenty of hot water at all hours. If you are interested in Italian food, get the shuttle bus from the main station to FICO, its free entry. www.eately.it - we loved it. Tip to travellers, if you fancy a day trip by train to Florence (huge crowds) it's only 35 mins, don't bother to book expensive seats. It's 90% in tunnels no views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.3
    Centrally located 3 star hotel with no internet connection and a smelly bathroom and a tiny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no internet connection throughout our stay in the hotel, which made it very inconvenient for us. The receptionist said that it was going to be fixed shortly when we checked in the afternoon. But it never got fixed until we left the next day. My diplomatic passport was kept by the receptionist for nearly a day for no clear reason. The bath room was smelly although it appeared clean.

    Excellent location, 5 min walk to the city centre and the historical attractions. Reception staff were hospitable and friendly; Private car park, at a cost of 19 Euros a day, was a 3 min walk from the hotel, although slightly complicated to find.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, could improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was out of order, lady in reception more interested in her mobile than handing our keys

    Clean and modern structure, nice breakfast, a pleasant short walk from city center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Visiting 3 art exhibitions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    practically nothing.

    very good location for visiting the city, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast sweet and salt, the hotel's guest don't pay the traffic surcharge because it is placed into the ZTL zone (limited traffic). Many good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    I had a great visit, and was able to extend my stay several days. Nice and restful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the rooms you could hear the neighbors if they talked loud or had the TV turned up. The lounge area isn't very big. These weren't major concerns.

    The bed was really comfortable, and the room really cozy. The staff were kind, friendly and helpful and really put me at ease, especially when I arrived on foot from a less nice hotel in the middle of a snowstorm. They were very sweet. In the lounge, they make a good espresso too. The location was nice, close to the center of town, but also a little walk away on a quiet side street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the temperature/humidity in the room. It was December but it was really hot and dry. We turned off the radiator and opened the window which helped a bit.

    The location was excellent, just 10 mins to the central square. There was a wide selection at breakfast. The staff were very helpful with restaurant reservations. There are lots of nice little bars close by. Our room was large (I think wheelchair friendly!) and was quiet even through it was on the ground floor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Great place, friendly staff and clean and tidy! No issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Bedroom was clean and tidy. Each room had a theme which was great. Bathroom and shower were great. Staff were friendly and easy to understand. Location was great with amazing views of the town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel in an excellent location. Super staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room for three people. Very friendly and helpful staff at the desk. The view from the rooftop terrace was beautiful. I'm only sorry that our tight schedule didn't allow us time to sit and enjoy the amazing view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff, great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a few stray hairs and sticky spots in the bathroom on arrival, and (for me) the bed was a little hard, but really minor things overall!

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating, location was great, the renovated rooms were very nice, breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Staff friendly, hotel very central, good quality fittings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Treble room was a double with a fold up bed. No drawers in room, more hangers needed in wardrobe

    Staff friendly, hotel very central, good quality fittings and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Good location, excellent property and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a very pleasant stay. Friendly staff, clean hotel and good breakfast. Absolutely value for the money. It was a very nice utside garden on the top with tables and nice view of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    NICE STAY IN THE CENTER OF BOLOGNA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the breakfast was very standard, lots of industrial food and beverages. We expect much better as every B&B nowadays offers great quality breakfast with good quality ingredients. I do not understand why some hotels do not see this. Also the food was not always replenished. - the pillows were a little hard for me - the cleaning lady entered the room without waiting for our answer

    - staff was really nice all along - the location is really good to visit Bologna and quieter than in the medieval center - the room was comfortable - we had a room with a balcony - the special rate we had for the week end made it a good ratio price/quality

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good pleasant staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening restaurant food available which is a pity when you've been travelling all day and ypu would like to eat in the hotel then sleep. They did arrange for a pizza to be delivered so not a major issue

    Breakfast very good indeed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small. Not cozy. Foul smell masked with a lot of deodorant.

    Location is great. Only 10 minute walk to Piazza Maggiore. Quiet . Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A true good guesting hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Practically nothing!

    The hotel is placed in a quiet side street but very close (2 minutes walking) to the most busy areas of Bologna. The stuff of the hotel was very service mind, well prepared and kind. We got a warm welcome and we would like to give a special thanks to Elena who helped and assisted us in any of our needs, including the reservation of a restaurant that she suggested (and it was worthy !!). The room was very clean and nicely decorated offering all one needs for resting and enjoying the time inside. The breakfast was very good offering a vaste selections of items typical of continental breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved a jug in room.

    Although room small it was comfortable. There was a lift, nice roof top terrace, garden area and reading room. Refrigerator in room. Breakfast nice and staff addressed my dietary requirements. Hotel good quiet location walking distance from everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    4.6
    Just book somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Utterly disgusting cabbage boff stink from the drains, entering the room makes you gag. No aircon when you're not in the room (the electricity works via a key card that has to be handed in at reception when you go out), meaning it's outrageously stuffy when you return hoping to go to bed. The beds were really not very comfortable at all and to add insult, one creaked with every movement. One of the worst night's sleep of my life on the first night... sinking feeling as I had to stay five days. Breakfast was ultimately very limited, quite hard to have anything healthy or deviate from having the same stuff each day. Ultimately the insult is the price bracket - for this price range I've stayed in numerous really good hotels that this one just doesn't come anywhere near. In truth it's not even up to the next price bracket down (say Travelodge/Holiday Inn). It's basic all round. There are bottles of water for 17 cents at a shop down the road, this place wouldn't even dream of chucking that in with the room it seems. We made a quick trip up to the roof bar one day and on the first page of the menu it states there's a minimum spend of ten euros on first drinks for guests... we never stayed for drinks, it's just an insult. Look - I think this is the first time I've ever bothered to write a review and I've gone on a bit, the key thing is that if you're looking for a hotel in the area, there HAS to be better options than this place, just book somewhere else. It isn't the worst place in the world, but you don't want a hotel to bum you out!

    Staff were generally nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel close to center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confusing room choice lead us to believe we had ordered a room with balcony, when in fact we had not.

    Good room, clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice. We expected a room with a balcony but apparently the room selection on booking.com was not straightforward, though the receptionist offered us a balcony room in the end. Excellent breakfast, and the rooftop terrace is fantastic. We could park our motorbike for free right in front of the hotel's entrance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service charge of €10 per person plus the cost of a drink on the roof top terrace seems very pricey and unfair for hotel residents! To think that if we'd wanted a €50 bottle of wine it would have cost an extra €30 for the three of us! Very expensive.

    Great breakfast, decent room and bathroom. Roof terrace has brilliant views. So close to the centre of town and very easy to get around. Handy supermarket just around the corner too. Would definitely recommend and return!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Good might stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gold Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not cleaned properly had 2 pay 250 Euro s because curtain got ripped because badly designed over pattio doors staff ignored us until we payed . But maid new wat happen ed so it's happend before so they should do some thing abt it. !

    Room was great gold room with balcony. Area was great . Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Some staff need bit more training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rushed check in, 1 parking space on site otherwise 500m away,not told about roof terrace or breakfast time until we were leaving

    Good location, owner/manager& most staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    the place to stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole atmosphere was welcoming, and the people very helpful. The roof terrace was a lovely place to sit and look over the city. there is a bar there in the evenings. Although the rooms are not large, they have everything you need. Get one with a balcony, it is well worth it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Small comfortable hotel where you need one
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A quiet family owned property in a side street in the middle of the old area. Great views from the terrace bar on the roof [open for sundowners] Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    Look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a pull down, in a single room opposite the hotel. We were definitely overspill guests. The bed was solid, no springs possibly the worst hotel bed ever. The 5th floor bar area was great, except it had one rather slow barman to produce cocktails & aperitivo food for what eventually became 20+ people. Drinks were expensive, came with a minimum charge & food was only served with the first drink. We intended to spend the evening there but lack of service/slowness made that a bad idea. Upon arrival we were informed that the hotel had a last minute cancellation & for only €30 we could have it. I wasn't born yesterday, it was a rubbish attempt to upsell, made worse by the feeling that we were then sent over the road & told to park a 15 min walk away in a scruffy public car park. Definitely not as described online.

    Room size. Terrace bar (why we booked here)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Good Hotel in Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air Conditioning was very weak.

    Rooms were large, and the beds very comfortable. 10 minute walk to Bologna's center where all the historic sites and stores are.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    A great stay at a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i can't think of anything negative.

    Loved this hotel. Not only it is close to major attractions and easy to walk to, but it has a wonderful terrace with views and a fantastic staff. A pleasure to stay!!! Will return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    The staff was very nice and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I had some wifi connection and speed issues. the bed and pillows were a little hard for my taste

    The staff was very nice and friendly. The location was great, beautiful roof terrace, though the jacuzzi closes a little early at only 8:30. The breakfast was also delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    The idea of having stayed in a very conformable family-run...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The idea of having stayed in a very conformable family-run small property is per se an extra bonus for a curious traveller, bored, as I am, of stereotypes. Therefore, having found all you need and wish not only in terms of goods and comforts but, especially, in terms of personal warmth and true attention to one's curiosities and desires is something that gives you the good feelings that it is still possible to travel with the peace of mind definitively necessary to fully enjoy your touring. Moreover, we have been granted a superior room at the price of the standard one. Thank you for this so special stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Touring traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: