Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Durrueli Resort & Spa 4 stars

Traversa Vincenzo Mirabella, 27, Ischia Porto, 80077 Ischia, Italy

#70 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 994 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked a Superior Room with Sea View. The room we were initially given was so small you could not even put your luggage anywhere and it did not look like any of the superior rooms on the website, more like a comfort ouble room. We complained and we got moved the following day to next door which was slightly bigger but still not what I expected or paid for. THis put a big damper on the trip. Lift did not work for our entire stay 3 days and you had to pay for pool towels! Not good for a 4 star hotel.

    Definitely the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.3
    Sea view very limited, rooms small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view very limited, mold on the air condition , rooms are already expensive, but not worth the money We booked for 7 days , we left after one day, and due to policies of the hotel(reception )we still had to pay for all 7 days . Hotel was fully booked ...This is not what I expect from a so-called top hotel

    Reception offered another room, with a little better view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at 1pm we were told our room wasn’t ready, which we planned our transportation around check in time . We booked through a third party site and showed them the exact policy. They offered juice while we waited (grateful).The trash can in our bathroom was useless, when you stepped on it to open it would fall every single time. Blow dryer cheap and took forever to use. The WiFi is terrible! They give you a receipt with user name and password for your duration on a unsecured network and everyday we had to get a new password bc they “reset the network “. For being a spa resort you need to rent your towels. I understand if they were taken . The beds are two beds pushed together . It’s a European thing, which I’ve seen at numerous locations, just very uncomfortable and hard.

    Every single staff member were respectful & helpful. Breakfast is GREAT! We have a small baby so we had to bring it our room. The servers were exceptional. The spa was relaxing and offered tea and small treats. The swimming pool was beautiful and everything we could ask for . The roof top garden has an amazing panoramic view. Our room was the perfect size for 3. We had to check out at 10am but our ferry wasn’t until 9pm, we were able to leave our suitcases in their lobby and allowed to use their facility which I couldn’t be happier about. It helps out when you are travel with children

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot fault anything.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. The breakfast is one one of the best i have had in an Italian hotel. Also, its sorth mentioning that the friendliness and helpfullness of all the staff was second to none.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    This was the most incredible hotel, our room was lovely, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the most incredible hotel, our room was lovely, the pool super chill & location great. The staff were so friendly, always met us with a smile & could not do enough for us. The BEST part was aperitivo time on the roof which had an absolutely stunning view of the port & castle!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Three friends holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked three double rooms for myself and my friends. One of my friends got a single bed and the room was so small but we were expected to pay the same price. Bookings.com completely messed this up. This was the only thing we weren't happy about.

    The staff were amazing. So professional and helpful. The restaurants in the hotel were outstanding. We did a degustation on our second last night on the roof top. It is an experience we will never forget.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.3
    Beds were bad so couldn’t sleep properly, bathrooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were bad so couldn’t sleep properly, bathrooms were dirty, wifi didn’t work, location was too far from main area. Was overpriced for what it was.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    We had a great time here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -drinks at the pool are expensive -wifi connection is bad

    -the staff was friendly & helpful -they clean the room several times a day! -nice pool -good location -nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Everything, especially the pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, especially the pool! Lovely water, comfortable sun beds and not at all crowded or noisy. Very good breakfast and facilities. The coffee was the best we had in Italy! Kind staff and very pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    It was beautiful, the breakfast was amazing and the pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was beautiful, the breakfast was amazing and the pool clean. we had an amazing balcony, or call it terasse. Thank you! We would love to come back for a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location with great staff but could do with some upgrading - particularly the bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was quite uncomfortable - very hard and we both ended up with sore backs. The free wi-fi was unsecured and non existent unless we downloaded another browsers app (hard to do without internet). It is so important these days for international guests to be able to keep in touch with home.

    The staff were great, the pool was good and the location was very good with beautiful views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed the property and pools!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a disappointment. It was a long room able to accommodate a queen bed with a single on either side. There was about 3inches between the beds. No room to even open our luggage. Had to put them on our beds to get anything out. We called it the barracks!! There were four of us. Myself, my husband and my 2 grandsons 17 and 18. When I booked it, I got the impression it was a small apartment.. Compared to the other places we stayed in Italy, the room was kind of a joke for the price. All in all we made do, but wouldn't book again because of room size.

    The property was very pretty. The pools and terraces were wonderfully relaxing. The employees were cheerful and happy, which made the stay a good one. Nice breakfast and finger food on the terrace at night. WE enjoyed the gounds and pools

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    The room was spotless and comfortable and we had a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for towels

    The room was spotless and comfortable and we had a beautiful balcony with a view of the castle. The location is great and close to the bars and restaurants. There are nice spa facilities on site, good breakfast and the staff were incredibly nice. It’s great value overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice size pool, jacuzzi was great, lovely rooftop terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price of the room, it would have been nice to have robes and slippers, as it is a spa hotel. Bathroom very dated and could do with refurbishment.

    Nice size pool, jacuzzi was great, lovely rooftop terrace with beatuful view of the castle, staff very accomodating. Very good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Ischia
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a late check out room for 50 euros but still had to pay extra for towels to have a shower - we thought that was a bit ridiculous.

    Gorgeous pool area with stunning views from the roof terrace so picturesque.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was spacious, but not really 4 star. while sitting on the terrace of your room, you constantly hear the noise of hotel AC (only rooms to the backside). bathroom was partly outdated.

    good choice of breakfast, very nice pool area, pool bar with good meals and friendly staff. only a few minutes to walk to the village center and to the beach. helpfull staff. great rooftop terrace. hotel surrounding is nice and quite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The location was awesome for shopping, the beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was awesome for shopping, the beach and restaurants. The staff was on point for directions, wine and advised us of local events. The breakfast was excellent. The landscaping 1st rate. The rooftop offered amazing views and having a beverage. The pool was beautiful and clean. The spa area nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower needs updating. Needs a good clean of grout in shower recess and outside on the frame. Another hotel where the Air Conditioning is centrally controlled.

    Room was adequate in size. Great lookout to pool. Balcony was a bonus. Pool very clean. Great view from the rooftop to the Castle. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxed, quiet, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Relaxed, quiet, friendly. Lovely breakfast, pool clean. View from roof terrace amazing. We stayed for two nights but extended to four nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel with good amenities close to port with friendly and informative staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to publicise the roof terrace which had A great view of Castelo Aragonese and surrounding area and also did some great cocktails and general drinks. I think everything kicks off in June.

    Breakfast had good variety, rooms were comfortable, pool was a little small, but mainly the staff were very friendly, courteous and extremely helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable beds, friendly staff, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I heard music from reception until 11pm and all people’s voices in the morning, breakfast could be better, so much croissants and no any hot dishes, you should expect it when you are in Italy

    Comfortable beds, friendly staff, good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told I had taken coke from the fridge and no towels replaced in my last day. Also, the sheets were not changed for the 4 nights I stayed there

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were a good size and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little bit in the middle of Ischia Porto and Ischia Ponte so a bit of a walk to get to restaurants.

    Rooms were a good size and clean. Pool area was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to pay for borrowing extra towels or a bathing coat. There was no soap in the wellness area

    Quiet location. Extremely friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location close to Ischia Ponte, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Complimentary water and kettle in the room would go a long way. It was a little noisy in the mornings.

    Great location close to Ischia Ponte, friendly staff, comfortable room with view of the castle, access to spa, extensive breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms bit dated for a 4 star. Spa small and nothing special.

    Great service, warm and welcoming staff and lovely little pool area. Hotel well positioned for exploring the island. Feel it was 4 star staff service at lunch round the pool area and at breakfast which was nice. Lots of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in good location with some deficiencies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spa area was a bit less then we expected. many hotels have more but don't call themselves a spa hotel. they didn't change the linen although it was dirty. Unfortunately neither the rooftop terrace nor the garden with sitting areas were open in late march even if it was warm enough. (you could go there but the chairs weren't able to use)

    Beautiful Hotel close to Ischia Ponte and Porto. Small Spa-Area with steam bath, hot pool and sitting area. Nice garden with pool (wasn't open yet in late march). Good breakfast. Nice restaurant. Kind and helpful employes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Ischia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat loose. Bathroom generally could have benefitted from an upgrade. Signs of previous damp in bedroom.

    Good to have the spa. Loved the blue and white theme. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Staff very nice and room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very nice and room was comfortable. Too early in the year for the roof garden or swimming pool but they looked nice. Wellness centre is fine- quite basic. (No need to rent a robe, just use your room towel if you like.)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Its OK, but too expensive for what you are getting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon kept running at night and the controls didn't react. The rooms will be quite noisy in Summer, when there is more people. You can hear a lot... Everything seems to have gotten old.

    The Spa area with its onsen was nice. Staff was very helpful and nice. In the First room we found Dog Hair on the blanket (im allergic)... But we were instantly upgrated to a Clean room with View. That was nice. Breakfest is amazing! It has everything your Heart desires.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    People were very nice. Breakfast good and waitress at breakfast was a sweetheart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was overall disappointing, Maybe if we were there during the season it would seem different.

    The bed was not very comfortable - towels scratchy. The Spa was under equipped - had to ask for towels at the desk before heading to the Spa. I have never seen a spa without towels - and no water for those using the facility

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    we suffered an issue related ferry departure to peninsula...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms a little bit noise . ( but not during the nights)

    we suffered an issue related ferry departure to peninsula and staff helped so much. Appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay. Looking forward to staying again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our 2nd stay at this hotel. We decided to have a winter break this time. I love that this hotel has a spa pool. A great way to relax in the winter. The staff are extremely friendly and always happy to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    The reception and dining room staff were excellent with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception and dining room staff were excellent with a good working knowledge of English. The hotel offered the best breakfast - by a long ways - compared to our other European hotel stays.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Wasn't too far from a good pedestrian walking area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms weren't what showed on Booking.com. Staff weren't overly friendly when we checked in.

    Wasn't too far from a good pedestrian walking area and the castle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    Staff don't speak English
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First off all they charge you the parking and they dont have the parking just small area in frot of the hotel. The staff in pool bar DONT SPEAK ANY LANGUAGE. It was terrible to communicate with them the worst thing it was you are in Italy and they dont know to make you a coffee???? They dont know to make cold coffe or nescaffe or icecoffe???? And in the end you should check your bill because we had two times some strange drinks. For example vine, tonic and we never drink that? On the last evening we came to reception to pay all the bills because we had a boat early in the morning but the men whom I never saw there was not speacking English. So you left the men to finish the bills for few quests and he dont even speak English so we almost miss our boat because we were forced to wait till 8:10 the another employee to pay everything and our boat was leaving at 8:45( and you need to be in port one hour earlier). Not professional at all. They all look like they have never ever work in hotel or anywhere.

    Nice location. Nice small hotel with sweet pool. Quietl area with a great park just next to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Delightfully perfect island and Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    This is a gem of a hotel in one of the few places left on earth that you can call paradise, the hotel is very clean and run by a team of people who want to help you enjoy your stay, the treatment rooms if you want to have a massage are excellent, nothing is to much trouble. The staff never push anything onto you at all, if you want to eat out they only recommend what they no to be good, I decided I wanted a car to explore the island not only did they get me a car but they got me a classic Mini Moke for 60 euros, we all had a blast, the kids loved the place the pool was perfect, as its only small 35 rooms even in August you get sun beds and looked after by the bar no problem. because Ischia is a small island the staff understand this is there time to shine and deliver for the customers, all the bar staff were excellent and trained very well, the room was very clean and the air-con perfect, no loud noises in the night. We were nervous taking our children to this island as we spent out Honeymoon there 17 years ago, we had no need to be as it was perfect. we spent one day on a trip to Capri which if I am honest is now spoiled by far to many tourists and the shopping is good but way over priced, we were so glad to get back to Ischia our dream place, not overcrowded in August which still has its movie star charm, Without any doubt I recommend the island and the hotel to you all...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Great view and near the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view of Aragonese Castle is stunning! We got a room with a beautiful view and felt like we weren't missing out when we returned from touring. Also the breakfast has a few savory options which is nice - cheese, salami, sliced meats in addition to the traditional Italian sweet breakfast. Everybody was so nice~!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like most Italian hotels, it looks like it hasn't had a decor refresh in about 30 years. It's not that looks run down, just dated (but then again so does just about every hotel in Italy barring the super expensive ones). Also, I only went in to change after the pool but I think the spa area is going to be a bit underwhelming if you were going in the hopes of enjoying a posh spa experience.

    The staff were lovely and super helpful. The location was an easy walk to Ischia Ponte, and a slightly longer walk to Ischia Porto (I imagine if it hadn't been unbearably hot, it would be a quite nice walk). The pool was well set out and a nice bonus when it was too hot to move anywhere else. The terrace is a real bonus (although the drinks were great, they could do a bit better with the aperitivo buffet, if I'm honest).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Lot of money for small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size for the cost. Our Hotel in Time Square , New York last year was cheaper for a weeks stay Beware the city Tax 42 Euros🙁🙁

    The rooms are not that big for the amount of money it costs Beware of short notice cancellations due to credit card expiring before you stay at the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices quite expensive compared to other nearby places

    We had a large group here for our wedding and it was fabulous, staff were very friendly and helpful and facilities excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Benvenuto Villa Durrueli Resort and Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was all great!

    They arranged a private transfer for eight direct from the airport via email request. Very convenient. The staff treat you like family! They are friendly, polite and go the extra effort to make your stay special. The included breakfast buffet was excellent. They even cooked us a special meal at the dinner restaurant upon request. Nice rooms and amenities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and in need of refurbishment. The bathroom has been patched in loads of places and not very clean (see photos). The bathroom got flooded after first shower but this got fixed in less than an hour. We have stayed in quite a few 4 star hotels in italy and this was the worse so far.

    Breakfast was good and location was ideal. Small walk to the shops, restaurants and the castle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    A small jewel of a hotel with a million dollar view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were a joy. They were attentive and always pleasant. The view from the top deck is a marvel and so peaceful. I could have stayed a lot longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    2.5
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a small room and did not look like the pictures. When we asked to change a room, the girl at the reception said it was not possible and that the hotel was fully booked. The hotel restaurant is expensive and not varied, the pool is reasonably decent. The price per night does not pay and I would not recommend going to the hotel!! The service in the reception is bad, everything that i asked is received as a non-answer

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel with swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wifi didn't work inside my room. It is too expensive.

    Very nice swimming pool with a bar just behind. Breakfast is good and you can have it outside on the terrasse. I had a nice room with a balcony with a view on the castel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    Looks nice but when you look closer it needs some work
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked two superior rooms but one room was much smaller than the other room we were given, as one was for single occupancy. If the price is the same, then the rooms should be the same size regardless of whether one or two people are using the room. The pool looked clean but when you were in the pool you could see all the dirt at the bottom. The ladies toilet next to the pool smelled of urine. The yoghurts weren't kept cold at the buffet and one morning the yoghurt I picked up had split and gone off. The milk had gone off for cereal one two separate days. The hot water for tea was never hot enough unless we specifically asked for very hot water. Usually it was only as warm as bath water. The hotel had an issue with its water supply during our stay and when the water came back it was brown. During the evenings there was no tap water at all. It was not clear what was included in the price of the room and what was charged as extra. I.e. There was bottled water on the table and drinks in the fridge but it wasn't clear if the bottled water on the table was free or was part of the mini bar. We were glad that we had not booked half board as we did not like the menu for dinner on any evening during our stay and we are not fussy eaters and love Italian food.

    We liked the location of the hotel as it was next to a park and close to the castle, shops & restaurants. The plain yoghurts topped with fruit or chocolate were delicious. The bedrooms were very clean and the ladies who clean them worked very hard to keep them that way and were always pleasant and wished us good morning. The ladies on reception were very friendly and happy to help. Their English is excellent. The toilets next to the spa were very clean although on one occasion there was no toilet roll or soap. We really appreciated having a tour of the hotel and facilities once we had dropped off our suitcases in the room. The lunch at the pool snack bar was excellent. It was delicious and the selection was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    overrated and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is clear that the property is overrated and overpriced. For me, the comfort room i booked was very small (i barely fitted into the shower), the safe deposit box was very fragile (i was scared that my things would get locked inside as it kept going on and off), the minibar was not working, and the slippers were missing (got them eventually). Moreover, they wont give you extra towels as the rent them on the pool, so you know what i mean.

    The staff is friendly and very much helpful, which is a positive thing. the food in the pool restaurant was very delicious and the breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Villa duerreli
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like. The staff were excellent, the rooms comfortable, the gardens were beautiful. I loved everything about the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Lovely hotel in a fantastic location. It's about a 10-minute walk from the centre of Ischia Porto, and just a couple of minutes' walk from Ischia Ponte, which I found much prettier. The outdoor pool was great and the little indoor spa area was a real bonus. My room was very bright and had a balcony with an amazing view of the castle and the sea. Also enjoyed the big breakfast buffet, with lots of nice local produce to choose from. I was really impressed with this hotel, especially for what I paid, and I'd love to stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    ALMOST PERFECT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE ROOMS ARE SMALL AND NEED TO BE REFRESHED BUT I MUST SAY THEY WERE VERY CLEAN, THE SHEETS AND TOWELS WERE PERFECT.

    GRÉÂT STAFF, HOTEL WELL ORGANIZED AND BEAUTIFULL POOL AREA. THIS HOTEL HAS EVRYTHING... BUT IT MISSES THE LITTLE THAT WOULD MAKE IT PERFECT.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    4.6
    Not resort quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was 1/4 full, our room was under the main floor. Smaller than expected, no view, ants, not enough blankets. The indoor pool that was advertised was not a swimming pool. It was more like a jacuzzi for a couple people. Children are not allowed in there and that should have been stated.

    Close to castle and close to port.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    A perfect overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great. We walked from the ferry (about 20 minutes). We only had an overnight but it was great. It was March so town was not back to full force - not all restaurants were open - but enough. GREAT HOTEL.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.9
    Great rooftop deck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room facilities were excellent, but my double room was cramped even for a single person. The sound insulation between rooms and the corridor was poor.

    Great rooftop deck. fantastic view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    6.3
    Lovely wiew ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not ready terrace closen , swimming pool closen , and was nice sunshine ...breakfast nothing special .. Was not busy but check out was at 10.30 am ..

    Wiew was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    A return stay here... a definite must!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small thing about the massage is that they massaged my face but not my neck. I would have enjoyed the neck being massaged instead. I also broke out with a few pimples from the oil on my face as well. Overall awesome massage though.

    Everything about this hotel was amazing!! They even had flowers and a cake ordered in celebration of my parents anniversary!!! Wonderful customer service and very accommodating. Thank you so much we enjoyed every minute of our stay!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the bad, it was to hard. But, the others appreciates this quality. So, it is a matter of personal choise.

    The stuff was very helpful, well prepared. The receptionist girls were very efficient, and the lady from the bar and breakfast was so polite and helpful. We found all the services needed and in good quality.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    I will definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner menu was a bit disappointing. The starters were good though!

    Friendly staff, great location, especially if you travel by car, sea view and a nice spa (don't expect anything fancy, it is a swimming pool with bubbles). I had a manicure and it was pretty good and relaxing. Quite satisfying breakfast, tasty cakes. It also had an outdoors swimming pool. I would definitely come back in summer to check it out!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    The spa was nice but a bit small and packed due to the time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in the room was not ready and we had to go for lunch and come back later. The room was still not ready so we had to move to another room. We expected a gesture of goodwill from the staff but they didn't even offer a coffee for the inconvenience. In the room, the walls were quite thin so you could hear everything happening in the room next door. The TV was very small, for a 4* hotel you expect something more. We had to pay €8 for the bathrobes for the spa but this was never mentioned, just a surprise at the moment of paying. Again, it's not too much but you would expect the staff to mention this and also, if you have spa facilities in a 4* hotel, this should be included.

    The spa was nice but a bit small and packed due to the time of the year. The breakfast was good and varied. Proximity to the castle and nice restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    Villa Durrueli truly deserves its name!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Luxurious comfortable hotel next to the park. You can enjoy a lovely breakfast and happy hour in the evening with good tapas. Do not miss fantastic local honey! The staff is very helpful and the bed super comfortable. The hotel is in the garden which gives it a particularly lush feeling. Ischia is a great place to spend a few days - walk down to the castle Aragonese, take public buses all around the island, do not miss the Pilastri and enjoy a walk and tea in St. Angelo.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    5.0
    Don't do it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. terrible bed, terrible food, terrible pillows, dirty unkempt terrazzo, Lowest value for the money in years.

    The location was ok. End of message.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    7.5
    Castle and sea views - good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steam room smelt a bit like a bad drain. For the price of the hotel, I felt they shouldn't charge extra for towels and there wasn't any facility to make a hot drink in the room. No prices on the restaurant menu.

    The spa was a real bonus. We enjoyed using this. we only paid 59 euros for a night and had a lovely large corner room with a nice view. If we'd paid full price I wouldn't have been so happy. The breakfast was nice. Easy walk to the castle and small town. bus stops at the end of the road.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.9
    Nice but not living up to the expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hard and uncomfortable beds, pretty noisy room with mosquitoes.

    Very good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, nice location (about 25 min walk to the port).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't pay in cash at any of the bars... it gets charged to your room. Also, we were given towels for beside the pool and then this was charged to our room. We were not made aware when asking that there was a charge for this. Other than that... it was lovely!

    The breakfast was lovely. A great selection of food. Location brilliant... between ischia porto and ischia ponte. Super clean and the spa facilities were great. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    good location with beautiful view from top teras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    rooms ( at the lower floor) are a bit small and quit noisy

    Staff is extremely kind , welcoming and helpful ! Nice little private beach at short walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a good location with good public areas such...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel in a good location with good public areas such as the swimming pool and sun terrace. Easy walking distance to the castle. The staff really take care of you and we had little "extras" we didn't expect such as live music some evenings and nibbles before dinner even if you weren't eating there that evening.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    a lovely small hotel,spoilt by incessant American music
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the incongruous and inappropriate playing of American pop music throughout the hotel and outside areas

    The roof top sun terrace with a wonderful view of the castle and bay The sparkling swimming pool the helpfulness of the reception staff the tasty and varied breakfast the location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.4
    Cramped and dated :(
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't believe the size of the room we were given for four people. At over 400 euros per night we would have been better off in a hostel!! The general feel of the place is very dated and unimpressive...No idea where the four star rating came from

    Staff were friendly and the rooftop terrace was good. Decent buffet breakfast was included

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.9
    Some of the staff was charming and friendly, and I like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The indoor dining room was set up very badly. I had taken B&b. I would have felt "trapped" eating in the dining room every night. They need to change the set up.

    Some of the staff was charming and friendly, and I like small family run hotels. They organised an excellent meet and greet from Naples Airport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a beautiful view from our balcony

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    The roof view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That kids weren't allowed into the thermal water, and that this was not informed before booking

    The roof view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location but don’t consider it a spa resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “spa” was a bit of a let down.

    Location excellent, breakfast was great and staff were nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area was quite boring and expensive to eat at the pool bar

    The breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Staff - swimming pool - location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - swimming pool - location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location. Lovely view. Pool area.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villa Durrueli Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: