Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Elisa & Spa 3 stars

Via Romana 70, 18012 Bordighera, Italy

#8 of 16 hotels in Bordighera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 395 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Charming and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms at the front could be affected by traffic noise at busy times with windows open.

    The beautiful and peaceful gardens with small private areas. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Private car park (10 euros per day). Our room afforded views of the hills to the rear.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was our best ever in Italy and dinner was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    The breakfast was our best ever in Italy and dinner was delicious. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We didn't have time to use the spa but the gardens were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Can’t wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    Loved everything about the hotel - just like holidays used to be 40 years ago - civilised and tranquil. Very varied choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Cute, chic, worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like this random cat that would wander around. Meowing at me while I was sun bathing at the pool. It was super annoying.

    My bed and pillow were very comfortable. My shower was super small. But who cares? The pool was cute. Breakfast was wonderful. The location was a little bit far from everything. but who cares? I was on vacation and loved every minute of it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful relaxing stay in an old style hotel with all the modern conveniences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful gem of a hotel, E.M Forster style public areas, lush gardens, caring service. We spent out 10th anniversary in this lovely place: enjoyed the pool, the gardens, the spa, our room with a view - everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Old world charm, but just needs a refresh! Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here 20 years ago and it was amazing but unfortunately it seems the place has not had any refurbishment in 20 years. The beds really need replacing and the rooms need a re-fresh.

    Thanks for the great parking and breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel wonderful pool and flowers plants food and people. Marvellous scrambled eggs..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like twin beds so close it was like sharing a double. I did not sleep well because I could not separate the beds. I wanted to get up in the night and sit downstairs but did not feel it would be appropriate to sit in the lounge in the night. Twin beds should have a space between them.

    Lovely friendly staff. Restaurant service very friendly. Beautiful decor with flower and fruit arrangements a pleasure to behold

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't use the spa - partly because it seemed rather expensive for hotel guests.

    Excellent location. Lovely room with a large balcony; nice outdoor swimming pool and sunbathing area; lovely gardens; excellent food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    An elegant, charming hotel in brilliant location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving.

    The staff were so friendly and went out of there way to help. An elegant, charming hotel. Many residents are elderly and some seem to stay for weeks on end which says a lot. Would highly recommend this wonderful little gem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location and staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location and staff were very friendly. Hotel and room very clean. Really nice to stay in a family run hotel that took a real interest in the care of their customers. Very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    we had a spacious luxury room with antique furniture and a...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    taking a shower was a bit difficult in the old fashioned bath tub

    we had a spacious luxury room with antique furniture and a little terrace with view over the lake, breakfast was very delicious,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could say that the decor is extremely dated, but in all honesty, it only adds to its charm.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was surprisingly good given that it normally isn't the best in Italy. There is the most beautiful old tree overlooking the pool area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant but upset that with only staying 4 nights had to change rooms during stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made booking months before trip and was told on arrival we had to change our room either next day or day before leaving. We were never told if this either from Booking.com or. Hotel despite speaking to both parties before trip. As only there for 4 nights this was very inconvenient and we lost time from our holiday. No explanation was given

    Beautiful hotel setting. Pool was tranquil and very clean. Staff very friendly and wonderful Englush

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    Beautiful hotel very clean and comfortable. The staff were amazing, could not do enough for us. There was plenty of variety for breakfast (they managed to accommodate my partner who is a celiac) and the bedrooms were a nice size and comfortable. I've stayed at plenty of 4 star hotels which had far less to offer. I would recommend the hotel and beautiful town. We had problems when a taxi we had booked let us down at the last minute, the reception staff rang around for us and managed to get us a minibus within 15 minutes. Lovely, genuine people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast with friendly service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking space very limited and difficult to drive to (on a slope). Apartment kitchen supplies were quite limited, not really possible to cook bigger meals. No coffee machine or tea kettle. The water in fridge was not free which was not informed but billed afterwards!

    Excellent breakfast with friendly service! Beautiful garden and great pool area! Good location near city center. Walkable distance to old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    A good value and delightful alternative to the corporate style chain hotels. A true taste of Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The a la carte menu for dinner was limited, with no daily specials. However the food was good. We invited our family there for dinner one evening and it was very good.

    The Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Restaurant was very nice with a good breakfast selection. The hot water for tea making was hot, not lukewarm as is often the case in many hotels. The hotel was beautifully appointed with high quality furnishings in a traditional Italian style. This is very different to the normal hotels. The Gardens were beautifully maintained. The air conditioning in the room was easy to control.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    A lovely, relaxing week in La Bella Italia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not really the hotel's fault but there was a little mix up with the airport shuttle which was late picking us up. But the drive from the autoroute down to the hotel was so beautifully scenic, we didn't really care by the time we got to the hotel.

    This is a lovely, charming hotel with excellent, polite and highly efficient staff who made us feel extremely welcome. They were all a credit to the hotel. It felt like nothing was too much trouble for them. We particularly enjoyed chatting with Daniel, the cheeky waiter and Daniel the lifeguard. Francesca was so helpful and kind too. The pool and gardens were really attractive and well cared for. The villa is set on an attractive road with many elegant villas. The rooms are very comfortable and public areas are spacious and appropriately furnished. Tasty, generous breakfasts kept us going until a delicious lunch at the pool. Unfortunately we didn't actually eat dinner at the hotel but the menu looked inviting and other guests sang its praises. There are so many good restaurants within walking distance (about 5 mins to Corso Italia and about 15 to the old town) and the food was extremely good. We loved Chez Louis on Corso Italia and went back for a return visit on our last night and we were greeted like long lost friends and served with a glass of complimentary prosecco and a plate of seafood - delicious!! Bordighera is a very nice, stylish small town with a delightful old town within walking distance of the hotel. You could use it as a base for visiting other coastal towns or you could be lazy like we were and just enjoy the hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Handsome facades and quaint interiors in this old-world...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handsome facades and quaint interiors in this old-world hotel. Lovely gardens, great little pool for cooling off and a bit of (gentle) exercise. Friendly and helpful staff. Effective air con in room. Perfect little balcony with views of the elegant old villas of the town and the sea in the near-distance. Compact but comfortable and clean standard room, very compact and clean bathroom with all mod cons, if not so mod. Good location, very nice neighbourhood, no more than 15 mins from seafront and the old town. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Incredible place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very friendly. All the staff seemed to speak English, German and Italian. The spa was such a treat - fantastic massages! The restaurant has great no fuss food. Rooms were neat and tidy and bathrooms were clean. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    The peace and quiet of the location surrounded by its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very good meal our first night and an inedible one the next night. It really was very disappointing.

    The peace and quiet of the location surrounded by its beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Well managed Handsome Italian Villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, but restaurant menu a little confusing and overpriced.

    Beautiful House within superb Gardens. Helpful and smiley Owners/Staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Room, service and installations were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Room, service and installations were very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    We loved everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    We loved everything ! Amazing spa and kindness staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    location, very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillows were just awfull. everything else we liked a lot, but pls change the pillows!

    location, very nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Space, cleanliness and quietness
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Space, cleanliness and quietness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deci is a little dated in my view.

    The staff and the location and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Great position and beautiful garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position and beautiful garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    My favourite hotel in Bordighera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t ever anything that we don’t like.

    The loveliest staff in every department as always.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location and amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location and amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay with very helpful staff. Reserved private parking was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room,

    Excellent breakfast and a great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, tiny shower

    Pleasant garden

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.9
    very friendly staff and helpfull with booking of flight
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower can have an update

    Staff is very friendly and very helpfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Perfect Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly welcome; good pool; excellent room; great spa facilities; fantastic breakfast and very good dinner. We'll be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at Vila Elisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    We had dinner one of the nights and it was excellent.One of the best that we had this trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Stylish old Italian hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish old Italian hotel... very nice garden in front

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    This was a very nice 3* hotel with 5* service from all of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    This was a very nice 3* hotel with 5* service from all of the staff. We were offered a choice of 2 rooms, the one we chose had a sea-view. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was a good size and perfectly functionable. We had our own reserved table at breakfast for the 2 days and the continental choices were good with freshly cooked scrambled eggs also offered. We ordered drinks at the bar after being out for the day and they offered to bring them up to our room for us. The private car park is also a great facility and the grounds were beautifully kept.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.6
    Villa Elisa has an excellent location in Bordighera,being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The choice in the restaurant could be improved

    Villa Elisa has an excellent location in Bordighera,being reasonably close to the promenade and the old town

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    9.6
    We're return visitors who like the family run atmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are rather small, noise carries from other rooms / floors and there is no alternative bedding (if the quilt is too hot it is too hot).

    We're return visitors who like the family run atmosphere, lovely gardens, good breakfast and efficient bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    Charming and humorous receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A number of touches trying to achieve old world charm don't quite gel, arrangements of fake flowers, gaudy portraits but not a big deal in the scheme of things.

    Charming and humorous receptionist. Leafy neighbourhood, nice grounds, private parking and an hotel that harks back to 19th luxury.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.3
    The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a little difficult to find the car park.

    The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. I was travelling on my own and felt very comfortable at Villa Elisa

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfortable hotel in beautiful surroundings. Lovely pool, plenty of seating around pool, wonderful plants and trees and excellent lunches served in garden. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Little bit noisy on road side.

    Wonderful staff. Family hotel. Private locked at night parking. Good bathrooms Lots hot water Bar. Excellent wifi for streaming.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    4.6
    Good food and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The standard room on busy street was very small. Not enough room to open suitcases and barely enough to walk around bed. Not worth $130 a night!!!

    Good food and nice staff

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    Staff very helpful - very clean - breakfast was the best we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Staff very helpful - very clean - breakfast was the best we have had and included in the tariff - great pool. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.6
    The villa is absolutely stunning and the people in the place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The villa is absolutely stunning and the people in the place all as lovely as can be. Great beds, great pool, quiet and with an amazing view of the historical Angst Hotel at the back and the lemon tree garden in the front.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Lovely place, located few mintues walk from the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely place, located few mintues walk from the center

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable hotel and friendly staff. Within easy walking distance of town and beach.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Great character and amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI didn't work

    Great character and amazing location

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in a pretty hotel near the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the public rooms are rather dated.

    Comfortable stay in a pretty hotel near the centre.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast, terrasse, healpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room, weak AC, soft bed, value for money (expensive), far from sea shore

    Breakfast, terrasse, healpful staff

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    hotel in a quiet location, not far from train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel in a quiet location, not far from train station and town. Was nice to come back to Hotel and eat in the restaurant. Very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    4.2
    Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service at the breakfast and the breakfast overall. Not good quality

    Wifi

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    5.4
    Extra comfortable beds.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Wifi not working Grumpy staff

    Extra comfortable beds. Very clean bathrooms. Nice view.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: