Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Villa Mora 2 stars

Lungomare Naxos 47, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Italy

#8 of 24 hotels in Giardini Naxos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 268 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not as quiet at evening as a flip side of being close to the promenade.

    Great family run hotel. Friendly owners. Excellent breakfast. Close to the beach and promenade. Lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is centrally located in Giardini-Naxos, just over the road from the beach & close to bars & restaurants. The owners & staff are welcoming and helpful and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. If we visit Giardini-Naxos again we will definitely stay here. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the beach - perfect start to the day sitting in the sun before breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a very nice stay. We had a superior double room with seaview and it was nice. Good size room and a balcony big enough for two. The host, who spoke English well, was very helpfull informing us about parking and buses, and we her being wery helpful to a guest, who had had a traffic accident. Parking was no problem as it was low season. It was easy to take a bus to Taormina, and it was lovely to go on a boat trip as well. The hotel had a lovely atmosphere with many interesting things everywhere, and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is difficult.

    The location is just great, in the middle of the tourist promenade. Great view from third floor to the see. Very lovely interjor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Narrow beds a little hard.

    Location was ideal and breakfast offered much choice . Hotel full of old world charm and gave a real feel for the Sicilian culture. Staff went the extra mile to be helpful. Strongly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Nothing to fault really.

    Very well run small family hotel.The owners and staff were friendly and helpful.The location is excellent. Beaches and restaurants are a few minutes walk away.Bus stops for buses to the surrounding area and Catania are a few minutes walk away.The hotel decor is original and imaginitive and our room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothi g at all really

    Service and friendliness of staff were excellent.location was perfect. Public beach just across the road. Excellent restaurants two minutes away

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Great location beside the beach and close to lovely restaurants, only downside was difficult parking. Lovely friendly staff, overall we had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. The bread is too hard (would prefer bread which is soft as the panini), only offered watermelon as fruit (there are so many fruits in Sicily) and the eggs have boiled so that they are grey inside). An extra fee could be added to have a more interesting breakfast.

    The authentic Sicilian style and especially the friendly staff. The hotel is located in an area where the local people also live which gives a nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that there was no small fridge in the room. However the staff were very accommodating with freezing bottles of water and making ice that we got by.

    We had a lovely view from our balcony. Hotel was very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect - beach is across the road - bus stop to Taormina, Isola Bella and Catania is close by. Thought it was a great touch that the hotel provided beach umbrellas. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking is very hard to find, hotel offers type of valet parking but that means you have to plan for not having direct access to the car. Not a big problem if you are planning for beach life or visit to Taormina since the bus connectionis much more convenient and cheap.

    Close to the beach, family friendly place and very nice and helpful staff. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family couple that owns the hotel are not so friendly and welcoming as it's expected, they are just ok. Not enough food for breakfast - if you wake up at 9.30 you won't find eggs, meet etc. You are offered only one cup of coffee. Fruits should be cheap during summer but only plums and watermelon were offered. Beds are not comfortable, they are ok if you are tired but no feeling that you are on vacation. Towels are old and washed without conditioner. Bathroom is very "budget", clean but... Walls are extremely thin - I was able to literally hear all dialogues of my neighbors from both sides.

    Location is ideal - just cross the road and there is great sandy free beach, go the left on the main road and you can find the best restaurant in Giardini Opera Prima and good bar Tysandros. Bus stops are located in 5-10 mins by foot. Private beaches are in 5 min walking distance, hotel provides discount for Sayonara beach (umbrella and sunbed for 8 Euro), few steps up and there is Salamone bakery with delicious cannoli, cassata etc. Quality of cleaning is really good, towels and sheets were changed often, no sand in the room, clean bath - it's much better than in the most of beach hotels. Lady that works on reception after lunch is extremely friendly and always ready to help, really cool! It's possible to rent beach towel for 3 Euro - no need to bring yours. If you need umbrella - ask evening-reception-lady, she has ones) Furniture and overall ambience are really nice - gives you an illusion that you are in real old Sicily house.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Family run hotel. Very friendly staff. The room is cleaned every day. We had a balcony (def recommending) with the seaside view. Not big variety for breakfast but enough. 1 hour from the airport by bus, 8 euro per person. Bus stop is 2 mins walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personell does not comunicate with guests as they are guests. Most of the rooms look to another room, across the passage which devides two parts of the hotel. Rooms are described to have antique look. Better words are "just old". Public parking is already completely full at the beginning of the season. Private parking (10 eur/day) is 2km away. Breakfast is modest.

    Only good thing is 50m distance to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps showel gel could be provided...

    Very helpful, friendly and organised staff who booked a tour of Etna for us. Superbly decorated hotel and a great location for the beach!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the building in front blocking our sea view. And we didn't like the noise of the motorbikes.

    we like the location and the nearby beaches. The staff was kind and helpful. We could store our luggage for our wait for the bus to Catania. The breakfast was good and we would return here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The stairs up to the room were hard work. Wif-fi poor. Too much "stuff" - ornaments everywhere, they were dusty and gave the atmosphere of a curios shop! A good de-clutter needed. Breakfast was a minimum continental breakfast effort with little choice.One fruit offered,one cereal, very bad coffee - not good! Did not want to eat there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was great

    Everything was fantastic. The staff were so friendly, very professional and very helpful , hotel was lovely, very quaint,very clean rooms, and just metres from a beautiful beach. Would highly recommend, and am already planning my next trip there next year!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel does not have any lifts but we did not mind it (we knew about it) and the breakfast could do with some more selection (none the less the things they had were always fresh and good).

    The staff were very helpful, nice and friendly. The location was perfect just across the beach and close to all needs: restaurants, markets, bus stops, pharmacy, etc. The sea-view double room was always clean and comfortable enough. For those travellers who are not looking for something luxurious in their accomodation but a good service, location, comfort and cleanliness then this hotel is ideal!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not the most comfortable bed we slept on, but it worked fine.

    We were wonderfully surprised to find this little gem of a hotel. It is very cute and nicely decorated, a real oasis that is exactly what we really needed at the time. The breakfast was great and the staff were fantastic. Stay here.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Busy local area so parking might be a problem for some.

    Very clean and friendly and ideal for a short stay as so near beach and local restaurants. We were able to park in the street right outside hotel. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything that I didn't like and I can't imagine there would be anyone that could. Great location! Great reputation in the village!

    The friendly, helpful hosts and staff. Everyone was helpful and ready with information. The routine of breakfast and room cleaning was perfect for a relaxing vacation stay. Beautiful artifacts and decoration made it feel like home. Very clean!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea making facility in room. No food after 10 in morning

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was dirty

    Great location, friendly and helpful reception. Good rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they had an elevator.

    Greatlocation. Very helpful staff.friendly owner's.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great friendly & helpful staff, location perfect, 1 minute walk to beach, the beautiful Sicilian artefacts in rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some decor a little tired

    Location - close proximity to sea Friendly helpful staff Good breakfast Good value

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Wi-fi connection was not excellent

    -Friendly and very helpful staff -Excellent location near the beach -Nice interior

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The public transport system was pathetic

    The view, the breakfast, the view, the staff & the view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were near enough to the beach to have a swim before breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing was extremely good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, right across the road from the nicest sandy part of the public beach, comfy room and lovely staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of any negatives.

    A small family run hotel on the sea front. Clean, comfortable rooms with a balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less ornaments in the reception and breakfast room.

    Good location, close to the sea and centrally situated. Friendlybstaff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and friendly staff. Beautiful, clean room. Food fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was the weakest we experienced during our month in Italy.

    Rondo and Ciettina were terrific -- enthusiastic and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. I dont think it is worth of money.

    Location. Place is nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Caring and hepfull staff clean across the road from beach cafe and bus stop

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Train passes by very frequently and it is noisy. No fridge.

    Location is perfect for G.Naxos. Old furnitures are very charming. Nicely designed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We were here second time, in the same room. The hotel is a family-managed hotel.The beach is about 3-4 minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The owners of the hotel are always there to help and check whether everything is alright.That is why all is perfect in this location!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only negative is that the single beds in the twin rooms are extremely narrow and not very comfortable.

    Hotel of great charm and character close to the sea and amenities of Taormina.Wonderful balcony with sea views up to Taormina and across the sea to Calabria.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast is too simple, bread and Croissantswere not fresh.

    very special place, with old furniture, looks amazing, the stuff waited for for us cause we arrived late. it is on the beach so it is nice, very close to great places to eat and drink. it is very close to Taormina and it is a good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noise from trains - but very few times on day poor wi-fi

    The the lady from the reception was great she helped us with everything we need it. The hotel It's very close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had 4 flights of stairs to climb with heavy bags. The hotel has no elevator. Decor is old and outdated. Wi-Fi dropped out frequently and was slow.

    The location was great and the view from the balcony over Giardin-Naxos fantastic. Due to personal reasons we needed to change our booking which was done quickly and reception very helpful. Reception speak English very well and always willing to help.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furniture is really old, although it aims at being fancy. As soon as we arrived, mosquitoes bit us brutally. There should be some nets on the windows as we literally did not dare to open the windows to get fresh air to avoid more flying monsters. In overall, the place is really overpriced, unless you enjoy sleeping in old furniture. The breakfast is German style (the owner is German) and when we paid the owner tossed my card over the counter after I paid.

    Staff was really friendly and kind, besides the owner. We even heard some loud having sex sounds around 9 pm. :)

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was the same every day. It would be nice to have more variety and availability.Same pieces of watermelon were served a few days in a row as it looked and tasted funny.

    The location is fantastic to go to lido or a public beach.There are numerous restaurants and tratorias nearby.Excursions could be organised by the hotel receptionist.Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking a nightmare and very expensive! Bed rock hard and no extra pillows. Air con not adjustible. No fridge to keep water cold when it was so hot outside.

    Location and staff fantastic

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff are super lovely and really helpful, rooms are large with cute balcony. Everything local is at walking distance and easy to get a bus or hire a scooter if you want to travel up to Taormina etc

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not friendly atmosphere, maybe good for one night only.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    People who worked there. Room and antiques

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the train passing very close to the hotel

    Very welcoming, nice and helpful staff. Pleasant environment.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location of the hotel is wonderful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I still have the best memories of the holiday.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    being close to the beach and shops and dining facilties

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast everyday the same, little vegetables..

    great location, friendly staff, nice boutique hotel

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing-everything was great.

    The location, facilities and really helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful staff. Very clean and well organised.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Hotel Villa Mora traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: