Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Virgilio 3 stars

Via Palermo 30, Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy

#320 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3207 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stay near termini with fab breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room had a poor shower, but this was quickly remedied with no fuss.

    Fabulous stay for six nights. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful, the rooms were comfortable and the best part was the AMAZING breakfast spread!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location, walking distance to the most of the sights,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room seemed to be a little bit worn, although this was not critical because it was quite clean. The doors in the shower cabin wouldn’t close - I had to hold them with my hand. 😁

    Good location, walking distance to the most of the sights, 13-15 minutes to Termini station (trains, metro). Quiet street. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff and location excellent! Buffet breakfast and room were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only slight issue was that the bathroom was very small

    . Great hotel in an amazing location. Staff were very polite and very helpful. They recommended some great restaurants for us. They also gave advice about best buses to take to various locations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money stay in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would have been nice to have a sit down with a nice drink on returning to hotel, although there was a bar area, didn't seem to be open. Tea/Coffee making facilities in room would have been nice.

    A very enjoyable stay. The quad. room we had was very good, had 2 separate sleeping areas at both ends of the accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Clean, tidy, good breakfast, friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 3 star hotel it was just right, yes it could do with updating but I enjoyed my stay and it didn’t stop me enjoying my break in Rome

    Clean, tidy, good breakfast, friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.0
    Fitted the bill Overall made stay enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaking shower Iffy electrics, loose fittings, etc

    Friendly efficient staff very helpful lots of information to make stay in Rome enjoyable Excellent breakfast provision Fridge in room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    We had a pleasant and comfortable stay at Hotel Virgilio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some basic amenities like coffee/tea making facilities would be appreciated. Some might find the shower cubicle too small for their liking. You can barely move around.

    The room we had was clean and spacious. Air conditioning was good. The hot water pressure from the shower was strong. The breakfast spread was decent and the kitchen staff were really helpful. I was especially fascinated with the pancake maker!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    My third stay here, but not the last
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs

    Great location (near Termini and for exploring Rome by foot), helpful and friendly staff, the room was clean, quiet and confortable, breakfast ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful stay with friendly staff and close to points of interest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff. Easy walking to many points of interest. Good restaurants close by. Nice morning breakfast available with good selection of fruit, pastries, bread, yogurt, eggs. Room was small but served it's purpose. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    We loved the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only downside I can think about are the thin walls. I could hear the people next door talking as if they were sitting next to me. It didn't bother us too much.

    We loved the hotel! Central location, extremely clean, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was on annex it had old and small elevator. if door not manually closed properly by previous user. Elevator will stay stuck. Had to climb up 5 floor after long day walking around city.

    Location 10 to 15 minutes walk from Termini

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a one night stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small

    The proximity to sights, restaurants, and rail good. We stayed one night in transit which was ok. The room small and cramped though and in need of a makeover. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location Close to all amenities, transport and only a stroll from the magnificent colosseum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than the advertised pictures and we always seem to get the lowest floor level and no view when we book through booking.com. The breakfast was good that it was included but the hot stuff wasn’t hot for our 3 night stay I rate the breakfast as fairly average.

    Bed was very comfortable and the location was so close to nearly all the tourist hot spots. The bars and cafes close to the hotel were excellent and we found a lot of the locals eat and drink at them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.2
    Never again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a double-room (Matrimoniale Eonomy) but avtually it was a single room with one side of the bed stuck against the wall. Hardly enough space for 2 middle sized bags. Furniture worn and outdated probably from the 70s. Not a nice ecperience and definitely not worth the money!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is good, close to Trevi fountain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is good, close to Trevi fountain. There are some nice cafes, restaurants and shops around. It is a typical 3* hotel with standard breakfasts. Room was quite big equipped with everything which is required for a short stay: AC, a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, a fridge, a bidet, free toiletries and a desk. Bed was okay. There was no kettle in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    The building it is in central area like downtown, goods...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building it is in central area like downtown, goods restaurants cross the street. The receptionist there were very friendly and helpful Alberto in the morning nice guy, Valerio really good to, and Emmanuel the same very nice guy excellent people, also the guys in the lunchroom also very friendly,helpful, and funny 👍👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was amazing!!!! Breakfast was better than I got in 4 stars hotels in irrland. Staff was excellent really friendly and helpful!!!

    Very clean and close everywhere in walking distance you have all attractions. Just across road a bit to right hand side is lovely restaurant really worth to go too😉

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Good place to relax after a day full of explorations in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I didn't like.

    The location of the Hotel Virgilio is a perfect one: you are very close to the city centre and will be near the Colosseum in no time, and the Railway Station (Roma Termini) is also nearby. The hotel itself is an old and very nice building, fabulously decorated with all the modern conveniences. The reception works 24/7 and will always help you, the breakfast is a classic one, but has a variety of dishes and drinks for the morning. Wi-Fi is free and very stable in the hotel (very good signal). The room for one person is clean and comfortable, very nice lights. You get a wardrobe, a table and a TV set, as well as a fridge. The bathroom is tidy and pleasant. Several major streets are nearby, so you can have a look at the local museums, monuments, as well as cafes, restaurants and a supermarket, if you need one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the street, although a quiet street, was a bit disturbing at night - but maybe it's hard to stay in the centre of Rome without hearing traffic...But ear plugs help as well...Unfortunately the beds were a bit hard, so that made the nights a bit uncomfortable.

    The location was perfect for walking distance to so many nice places in Rome, and the staff was always very helpful and did all they could to make our stay nice and easy. The breakfast was nice, certainly very good for being in Italy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel in Rome, Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent front desk staff. Very helpful with information regarding tourist areas, transportation and restaurants. Room very clean, comfortable and quiet. Good night's sleep after sightseeing all day. Would stay there again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Bad accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A disappointing stay. The bathroom had mold. The room was very small. I asked for a double bed and they combined 2 single beds. for € 150 per night unacceptable. the staff were quite friendly though.

    It was at the center of Rome. Public transportation is a click away

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location and excellent breakfast but damp in room needs urgent attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a dreadful smell and the shower leaked . Pillows were shocking and should have been thrown out years ago. Very uncomfortable bed/sleep

    Staff were lovely and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    The location is fantastic - just a short walk to all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Whilst I was very pleased with my room, the other two rooms we booked were quite small although the price was the same.

    The location is fantastic - just a short walk to all the sights in central Rome and indeed easy to walk to from Termini. The breakfast choice is extensive - we particularly liked the pancake-making machine!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    A good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little cramped but ok

    Convenient location, quiet street near railway station and central historical centre. Great breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Easy access to public transport and very close to main sites...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms with street view are a bit noisy

    Easy access to public transport and very close to main sites (colosseo, fontana di trevi, palazzo nazionale, etc..). Staff was very friendly. Good restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Rome City-break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be renovated, so that it will be in compliance with our times :). But it was not a big bad thing overall. Just take it as constructive feed-back

    Being very central. Within walking distances to Colosseum, and other sites

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money, location between Termini Station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    After heavy stormy rainfall (09.04) we experienced a little bit of a smell in the bathroom/hotelroom but sewerage is an overall problem in Rome. Airco bathroom on + open windows = the smell goes away.

    Good value for money, location between Termini Station and Colosseum (12 min walk each time), bit further from Vaticano City (30 min) . Very friendly and warm people at the desk ! Breakfast is very good, certainly when rated with Italian experiences before ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value and close to all sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although there was a huge choice for breakfast, the bacon was overdone and the scrambled eggs looked and tasted as if they had been cooked hours earlier.

    Comfortable room. Helpful staff at reception. Excellent location for exploring Rome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Amazing trip!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great help for a Gluten Free diet at breakfast, and great customer service from the reception team when we had a problem snorer as a neighbour!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay, would use this hotel again if we return to Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing i did'nt like about this hotel, this was our second stay.

    Rooms cleaned and towels changed every day, excellent breakfast, friendly staff and excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, with lots of choice and enough to set you up for the day. Location was great for walking round Rome. Rooms were basic but clean. Restaurant Est Est Est nearby was great value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Loved staying at Hotel Virgilio Rome and would definitely be happy there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two minor issues - no tea and coffee making facilities that we are aware of and wifi was a bit difficult - although the couple of times we mentioned it to staff they rectified the issue.

    Service was fabulous, breakfast was amazing with a very friendly greeting every morning. Bed was comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. There were lots of options for food nearby. We walked everywhere from the accommodation and managed to not have any need for public transport. Near enough to the train station to walk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    We were satitsfied with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was clean, but a painting would be nice. For me the pillow was a bit hard, but I got used to it.

    The staff were very kind and the breakfast was perfect. The location is fantastic, everything is easily accessible. The bad and the room were comfortable and we got fresh towels every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable, very friendly, a good selection at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed mattress was a little bit too hard.

    Breakfasts very good with continental selection plus sausage, bacon and scrambled egg. All staff very friendly and helpful and some with a very good sense of humour. The male receptionist could not have been more friendly and helpful, we only just had to ask.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Friendly,basic,clean hotel in a excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room only had mirror in bathroom.

    Staff very helpful and friendly,rooms basic but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice,something for everyone. Location was perfect everything within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Love Rome but hotel not the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny. No lounge to relax in. No bar facility. Could not sit up in bed as there was a ledge for phone etc as no room for bedside table. Bed VERY hard.

    Good area near shops, restaurants, bars and transport. Nice breakfast coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Most attractions were within walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff always willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small with a damp smell from bathroom. Not enough pillows . Not enough room for two people to sit when in the room had to lie on the bed

    Good location and friendly helpful staff.. Always able and willing to assist with directions to various attractions. A good breakfast available daily, self service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Great Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We book 2 double rooms. Rooms were so comfy. Staff was great, I felt like 5star guest :) well done!! :) We asked rooms as close as possible... and they were next to each other. As this was first time in Rome for us, they provided us with maps and useful information where to go an how to find transport and places..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    Amazing location near via Nazionale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit stuffy with a bit of an odor, though not bad enough to prevent me from sleeping or any other problems. Thin walls. Could hear neighbours' conversations.

    Amazing location near via Nazionale. Friendly English-speaking staff. Check out time was quite late allowing me time to go somewhere the morning I checked out with time to get back to hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small and noisy.

    It has a very great location, everything is easily accessible on foot, 10 mins from Colosseum, Termini and Venice square as well. Staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast has large choice and very delicious. The hotel is all clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    The reception staff were polite and knowledable, and the room was warm and comfortable with a safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one thing I felt was missing was a bar in the hotel for a drink in the evening.

    The location of the hotel was in a good position for quite a few of the main attractions, it was easy to reach the bus terminus and the hop on hop of bus stop. there were a few good reasonable priced restaurants although, breakfast was included in the price with a good selection of food and drink.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Place of a hotel - you really can everywhere go by foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At first we were accomodated in a very bad room. It really should be repaired, because all wallpapers there were old and dirty, teared up. Somewhere holes were covered with the same wallpapers, but it looked terrible. Really not as a room in a three stars hotel. And we had to wait approximately for a 4-5 minutes for hot water, because at first it was absolutely cold. It was cold in the bathhroom too. This room number is 228. Don't go there. Another day, when we asked for another room, we were accomodated in the room, where everything was ok - wallpapers not new, but clean, warm bathroom with hot water, comfortable bed. But I still think that guests can not be accomodated in such rooms as I mentioned before. If we didn't ask for another room, our stay would be teriible. In reality everything (furniture etc.) in this hotel is older than you can see in the Booking.com pictures. But overall, in the other room on a 3 floor, our stay was ok.

    Place of a hotel - you really can everywhere go by foot. Bed was very comfortable :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    Good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only inconvenient were the small shower, but not that big of a deal.

    Very nice accommodation, kind staff, good breakfast. Really good cost benefit ratio, near to Termine Station, just a 15 min walk. You can walk to the most visited sites also. The bedroom was in the next building, so you didn't have to bother going thru reception everytime.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.0
    Breakfast was very good having a very good selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good having a very good selection. Pancakes was something new for me in a three star hotel and therefore was a surprise. Staff was excellent and reception area always there to assist you. I fully recommend this hotel which is also very central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    comfortable,no frills, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    beds comfy, staff lovely.breakfast good.location was outstanding, near train station, bus direct to Vatican city.pleasant walk to coliseum/trevi fountain.loads of restaurants around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet needs better ventilation as it can get a bit stuffy. Room was a bit small too

    Friendly and helpful staff, good location as it was close to the shops and nice restaurants, breakfast was very good also.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Value for money, good location, easy walking distance to Colosseum and other sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath, although huge, didn’t work (no water out of the tap, only out of the shower head). No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The breakfast although decent and plentiful was chaotic, the tables and buffet are badly organised so there’s no clear path, you find yourself squeezing past people eating their breakfast to get to anything

    Room was spacious with very large double bed and well placed 2nd bed. Bathroom was large and clean. Breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Great time in Rome
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is near Rome Termini station about 20 min by walk. Hotel is in really great place to reach the famous places by walk. Area is safe and a lot of places to eat are near. Breakfast starts at 7:30 am and finishes at 10 am. You can have an omelet, pancakes, sandwiches, cake, coffee and other things. I strongly recommend to take breakfast. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was very clean, maybe a little bit small.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Good location for a city-centre break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel well situated for seeing the majority of the sites in the city. It is a typical three-star, back-street hotel which offered good facilities with varied selection of hot and cold food at breakfast. The staff were very helpful and we would consider staying again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice and affordable hotel in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had its little imperfections, but was very decent for the price I got (44€ including breakfast - single room in January)! As most hotels, you hear everything around so earplugs are a good idea. Bed was not extra, but not too bad either. Breakfast room was a bit crowded at rush hour. But frankly, for this price in Italy, it's totally worth it.

    The hotel was nice, walking distance to main attractions, cheap for Italy, included breakfast, wifi, hairdryer in room, receptionist spoke French, near some nice little restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel is rather well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fotos which were published on booking.com are not ever similar to the reality!! I was very sad to see such a little room, where bed takes almost the whole room.

    The location of the hotel is rather well. It situated not far from the Colloseum and it will take you near 10 minuets to reach it. Breakfast consists of tasty coffee, fresh croissants, eggs, cheese, bacon, fruits, two types of juice and pancakes with different toppings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Room was nice and clean, bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was like really, really small.

    Room was nice and clean, bed was comfy. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Nice selection of food on breakfast. Location is nice, it takes about 10 minutes to walk from the main Termini station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Great base for exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm easy to please. There wasn't anything that I found lacking.

    Far enough away from the train station to be quiet, yet still convenient. Just a 10 minute walk to Trajan's Market, so close to the good stuff. And an excellent breakfast. Very helpful staff as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Location, cleanliness, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and resturant are a bit small but it is still a very good value for money and we are completely satisfied.

    Location, cleanliness, value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't feel much effect from the air conditioning, had to open windows to let some air in.

    Perfect location in the city center, you can reach all the major sights by walking. Very good breakfast, clean and spacious room. Very friendly and helpful staff, they quickly resolved our requests to our satisfaction.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Amazing 4 days trip in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came here at the end of November and for us British people visiting 18c country, we were in our tshirt and short while everyone else were dressed for winter meaning there were heating on in the room. The air conditioning didn’t work and we opened the window to let the fresh air in. However, there were lots of noises over the night, with traffic, horn, sirens are three times louder than in uk and bin collector. Bring ear plug! Don’t let that put you off as it quite common around Rome. It’s a nice place to stay

    Food were nice and warm. A decent coffee were available to take out if needed. Staff were helpful giving tips for places to go and see. Always ask for recommendations and they will give it to you. Hotel isn’t far from popular landmarks which was the reason why we booked this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    I hope I've said it all & I'd definitely stay at the Hotel Virgillio again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    Very smart & clean, excellent facilities especially en suite bathroom. Clean towels every day, polite staff & excellent location in Rome's centre but not on the main street. As always booking.com offered very good value for money & ease of booking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    Honestly, I would not recommend it. Better Airbnb - at least you know you were not in a Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom was very old and it didnt had central heating - so it was cold. Also the shower was very uncomfortable.

    The only fact that was ok, was the location - it was in center, near to the Colloseum.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.8
    Kinda good but there is a ways to get better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms wallpapers where scratched off, also bed topping was old and ridiculous ( never cleaned i guess).

    Location of hotel , staff and stairways with reception room ( as for design).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    the breakfast was very good, the location very central,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    old rooms, and the city tax was rediculus on 4 euros per night per person, i know its the Rome rules but come on..

    the breakfast was very good, the location very central, walking anywhere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    The location is very good and it was a good deal over all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I just think they should update the decoration in the room and the bathroom we have to leave all the time with the ventilation on as it was smelly. also, luckly it wasn't cold the window in the room didn't close properly. If you are a weak sleeper you shouldn't stay in the room at the front as the road is very noisy..

    The breakfast is very nice . The staff very friendly and helpful . Very good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    Nearness to main attractions 8/10 I would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room needed to be redecorated the decor was tired looking En suite was excellent

    The breakfast was excellent An excellent choice of lovely food The staff were helpful friendly and good fun The dining room was spotless

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall, excellent service, my room had everything I needed and was extremely clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In Room 116, I could everything when people in other rooms were using their toilets. The pipes seem to all be going via my room. But I guess it is an old building and that's what comes with old pipes.

    The staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    We liked the location, as to the different sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked the location, as to the different sites.. Also not far to the Metro ( subway) and Hop On Off Bus Service. Location of the Hotel on a side street, does not have enough lighting at night. The room was a little too small (economy), but was OK for the 2 of us and our length of stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is beautiful, very well located, the staff is friendly and the breakfast was very good too, the room size is perfect and confortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel in perfect location,but compare the cost ,we expected at least a clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfortable,but the blanket was real full of dust,the bath has bad smell.

    The location perfect,breakfast good enough,all service wonderful,the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    we would recommend this hotel as a reasonable choice to tour Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    to quibble, there was one morning where a big choral group was checking out and the shower in the room was only lukewarm. that probably was an unusual circumstance as all other mornings we had great hot water. we just showered later in the day on that day. not a big issue for us,

    THE hotel has a lot of character and you really feel that you are in nowhere else but Rome. The room and bathroom were comfortable and the location was excellent quiet yet just around the corner from the via Nazionale with its amenities and shops .walking distance to termini for day trips with close metro access to other parts of the city. the breakfasts were Wonderfull with very attentive staff coping well with a large influx at once. no complaints. we also enjoyed looking down on the quiet street below at the Italians at work and play. the vending machines in the lobby come in very helpful late at night if your thirsty or need a light snack with very reasonable prices/

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Will try to learn more before I book and not trust Bookings rating and never book unrefundable
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is shabby, rooms small, but cleaned every day, other than sleeping if one can, that room is no place to spend any time, coffee is good eggs are fresh for breakfast, all staff are super friendly.

    People who were doing their best in the worst circumstances.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay here again...due the the reasons described.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very dated...room was okay size wise...shower was tiny, AC didn't cool and pillows were thin & harder than a brick and the room had a strange smell.

    The breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Hotel Virgilio in Central Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything ages over time and the decor is slightly dated giving an old fashioned appearance. The only 'real' annoying factor is the design of the bathroom with the toilet squeezed in behind the glass shower cubicle. Just enough width to sit, but not to manoeuvre. I imagine that if you were a big person, that you could be in trouble :)

    The location of Hotel Virgilio is very central for old and new Rome. Our reception was friendly and our luggage was brought up to our room. Our air conditioning unit was very efficient and I had to adjust the temperature upwards. Breakfast was buffet style and there even was a omelette machine, but nobody dared to push the button marked "okay". The front desk is attended 24 hours a day. This was our second stay at Vigilio and we would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    Got what I paid for, so no real surprises or complaints.
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All minor so not worth mentioning. First-timers, whatever price you get, remember to add on the city room tax which is in the fine print for all hotels; it's per person per day and can add quite a bit to your final bill. Also, prepay to guarantee your rate.

    location: interesting area, convenient for transport/historic sites. Courteous, helpful staff. Good breakfast buffet. Bed firm but comfortable. Very clean room. I loved the view from the room altho some might not; it was somewhat lightless as it looked on a tiny inner courtyard/alley? street? framed by tall apt bldgs , but it afforded a peek into a slice of Italian life.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Would happliy use same hotel again next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Friendly and helpful staff - Gluten-free bread made available for breakfast. Wouldn't describe as a luxury hotel, but clean and tidy and all you could ever reasonably want and expect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff on reception and at breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all good!

    Friendly, helpful staff on reception and at breakfast; spotlessly clean room with double glazing so quiet at night; good breakfast buffet; brilliant location- easy walk to all major sites and loads of nice restaurants, shops etc nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    2.9
    never again, not recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dated, dusty, small rooms, had to pay extra 37 eu to get decent room, total more than 185 eu, dirty elevator, overcrowded stuffy breakfast rooms, carpets and window treatments of horrid color

    nothing but restaurant recomended by the stuff and decent breackfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Will stay again, if in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything I did not like..........

    nearness to areas of interest to me; excellent restaurants nearby; many areas within walking distances, such as the Trevi Fountain, etc., The courteous, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Virgilio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: