Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Virginia 2 stars

Via Montebello 94, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#692 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 702 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    # The bathroom doors had clearly seen better days. # At 4:00 am the guy at the reception decided to watch TV and woke us up! At 5:00 am he decided to play a video game! I can imagine he was bored...but I really wanted to sleep! Is that a lot to ask from a hotel?

    The room was clean. The hotel was close to the Metro station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some issues with hot water in the shower and water power were really low so it could take long time to take a shower. Everything else was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was the least liked, but in saying that we grew to love it and loved the surrounding pub & restaurants!

    Excellent value for money, comfortable bed. Across from lovely pub and restaurant. It’s not the in typical ‘beautiful ‘ side streets of Rome, street itself is nice but not in the picturesque surroundings if you are expecting that. Close to the train stations ! And only around 10€ total taxi ride away at night for all main attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A well located hotel about 6 minutes far from 2 metro stations (Castro Pretorio and Termini). There are lots of beautiful graphic restaurants-pizzerias-coffee shops in every street around it. The door was locked. You had to ring the bell to the reception to open it. The neighborhood was quiet and clean.. the room was clean too. If i would return to this adorable city again, I would definitely book again at the Virginia Hotel..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Photos weren't accurate, was expecting some more realistic room as it was presented on the photos, very noisy street, tiny bathroom

    The staff was good, friendly and did the best to explain what we were asking for

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room where we were accommodates,the bathroom needs to be repaired to remove the bad smell from the grooves. The room needed some minor repairs.

    Good lokcation.Comfortable beds.Good staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cabin was broken...bathroom very small and kind of old. The wall in the room was dirty. Beds were not very comfortable. Room was dark. The elevator did not work, so we had difficulties to bring up and down our baby stroller. The room is not worth the price.

    Restaurant nearby. Location - near Termini station ( 8 min by foot)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff it's kind and It is near the station, so good location.

    The bed was uncomfortable and the room it's located in the hall and there isn't soundproofing. Very noisy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is situated only few minutes from Termini. Staff is very kind and helpful. Room was small but clean, I appreciate fridge and free wi-fi on the other hand I missed some shelf in the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and has a humidity smell. Because of the restaurant across the street it’s pretty noisy during the night.

    Good location near Termini and very nice staff. Clean room and comfortable bed. It was a bit cold in the room, but we found an extra blanket and it was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst possible experience. Was looking for a budget hotel by the train terminal for the last two days in Rome. This is poorly kept, furniture falling to pieces, if you don't pay attention you get hurt by some piece of wood (see pics). On the top of it, the staff is unbelievably clueless. Something fell in the toilet (pipes, whatever), old poorly kept toilet and the reception guy told me I had "hid" from him cause I had broken it. Having visited over 30 countries and stayed in countless hotels and hostels in all continents I can say that this one should be avoided at all costs. I left the place the same day and found a much better one on the same block for only a few euros more. BTW if ur an average sized person (over 5'10) this bathroom is too small for you.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The internet was slow and doesn't work at certain times, the room was not identical in the pictures that i saw on booking, positive things there was hot water to take a good shower and the room was cleaned all days and there was new towels everyday , the location of the hotel is good and close to the touristic things in Rome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - moldy - fusty fridge - one towel per person only - reception on the first floor without lift and with locked main entrance door on the ground floor - poor noise insulation between the rooms - water and cooker not working in the kitchenette - the receptionist did not allow me to buy a coffee in the coffee machine at the reception before 7am because the machine is noisy

    Location - walking distance from the main train station (15 minutes)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    air conditioning was not working, more to say there was a huge hole on the wall fixed with grey foam :( looks like someone tried to fix the conditioning, but never fixed.

    the hotel itself was good, needs a lot of updates and refurbish, but lovely staff pays it off.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You also need staff to open door for you when you go out. :)

    It is a very safe place. You need staff to open 2 very heavy doors to let you in. It is an old fashion style hotel, so you feel you are in Rome, live in a marble house. The staff is very nice, and will tell you how to visit Rome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was moldy and the tires were broken and sharp, scratched my feet. The shower was either burning hot or ice cold. Water pressure was very low.

    Air conditioning was good, making no noise. Close to Termini.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy neighbourhood. The window must be closed for the night because of the noise in the morning. But the air condotion was working well, so not a big problem.

    The room was small, but very cosy. Very friendly people at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet was broken. Our air conditioning did not work properly. The beds where uncomfortable. The guy on the desk during the day was rude and said to us quote 'everyday you complain about something if you want to leave, leave'.

    The guy who was on the evening shift was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very limited facilities in room. Bathroom and corridors need a refurbishment. Small bed. Very basic, for the price of 56 euro per night and without a breakfast.

    Good hotel if you need to stop for one night near Termini Station (although not next to station, still walking distance).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The italian bedroom style is quite nice. The room is much better than in the pictures.The receptionist is very helpful by telling us where we should go without me asking them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wish I could say our stay was perfect---it almost was---but the ONE thing that took away from it was the wifi. It was AWFUL and barely worked the whole time, which really, really sucked. It made it hard to plan and schedule activities.

    The staff was very kind and the room was great! A/C worked well and everything was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is so small! The hotel is not secure as during our stay there was a thief trying to break our door to steal thing while we are out!

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two receptionists in Hotel Viginia. One of them looks like Asian, and the another one looks like Indian. The Asian one is very kind, smily and helpful. The Indian one dealt with me disrespectfully. He bothered me two times at midnight, as he knocked the door of my room at 2am because he want me and my wife to stop talking because he wants to sleep at the nightshift. I argued him that i did not bother my neighbours, and he said: no, they phoned me complaining, although there are no phones in the hotel rooms. My wife was very scared from his anger. He was upnormal. I felt that he does not like to serve Arabs and Muslims. One more sentence to add: We are all human beings and we should respect each other.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well it is a 2* hotel. Shower is old and water temperature is very hard to control, whether too hot or too cold. If you are coming from a long day at the beach, it hurts on the skin :D Looking up closely, you could see many things are pretty old and worn. But for this price, I do not have any complaints, I was just happy with the daily cleaning and change of towels, private bathroom (many hotels in Rome have shared bathrooms), and intimacy.

    The good parts are: It's really close to Termini, thus touristic locations. I was kindly let to check in way earlier and then check out 1h later. Stuff is really kind and helpfull. Cleaning is done daily. There is a nice caffe and restaurant right in front of the hotel. It is positiones on a nice quiet street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentleman at the reception as l checked in was very unfriendly, cold and unhelpful. He did not give any information concerning the WI-FI and no info was available to that effect in the room too. The bath is so small one can hardly turn or scout. The metal ring in my room can be felt as you lay on it. Uncomfortable for sleep.

    I was given my request for an upper room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy rooms, constant sound of someone coughing outside in the midnight. Small insects observed, water outage sometimes, construction works in progress

    location, happy staff, good cleaning service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The reception is on the first floor. There is a lift but you need to ask for a key so you can use it from the ground floor. This is for security reasons as there are no CCTV cameras on the ground floor. There is no kettle in the room but not uncommon for Italy ( Worth noting on the 4th floor there is a small vending area with hot and and cold drinks plus snacks). It can be noisy outside in the street with refuge collections being both very early in the mornings and late in the evenings. I would not recommend driving as there are no parking spaces.

    The staff were friendly, the room clean with good room service. The bed was wide and very comfortable with memory foam mattress and pillows. There are plenty of places to eat with two nice restaurants across the road. Also there is a large supermarket within a 5 min walk. If travelling by public transport the metro stop is about 10 mins walk. The reception is manned 24 hours and the staff speak English. There is small fridge in the room and a safe. The air condition works well although a bit noisy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunatly you could not regulate the heating by yourself so it was really cold in the rooms and in the hotel in gerneral and we were freezing in the night. Internet was not really good working in our room. The main door was always open and we had to leave the key at the reception. As we came back - the key was obvious laying on the counter and now stuff was there - so everybody could have walked in the hotel and get in our room

    Nice stuff, location, design of hotel. Very clean. Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is too small. For a big person to fit in a shower it's impossible.

    Near to the central station. The pub named 'good fellas' infront of the hotel was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, no hot water for two days in fact we left after two days and found a hotel nearby.very small uncomfortable rooms.AVOID.

    Good location near termini station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area a little bit iffy ...maybe, but not a worry.

    Grand room...staff friendly and helpful....very central...restaurants and bars right beside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of information on the booking site about having to go up the stairs to access the hotel.

    Restaurants and pubs right in front of it. Mini markets on the corners. Laundry service on the same street. Near the metro station.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel is good, at a walking distance from many tourist sites and attractions. The staff was very friendly, polite and helpful,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly. Room was clean and big enough for two of us for the weekend. Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is a bit far from center. Bathroom was not clean, it was outdated and shower pressure was horrible.

    Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small.

    Clean and nice with good staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, leaking shower/toilet, cigar smell inside the room, noisy as the walls were thin, missleading information from the staff

    Aircondition

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were small reception

    Good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small room, thin walls.

    Very good location! We could reach all attractions by walk. Perfect for sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit dirty.

    Staff is nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very close to termini station and has an elevator

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    strong ciggarets smell in the room!!!We booked a room for non-smokers!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor Wifi

    5 minutes from Termini station, friendly staff, clean room, good relationship price/room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast if booked online, shower leaked and limited toiletries

    Location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was entirely impractical.

    Really comfy bed, beautiful room, non intrusive staff. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Humid room, smelled weird (like chloride).

    Great location and nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Breakfast!

    Location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no kattle. no coffee mug. no extra adaptor cord.

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money, close to train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no breakfast but it is almost a Conad

    It is easy to reach from Termini to the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, clean hotel, everything was perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV didn't function, the heating was very troubling. Very old and noisy air conditioning. Overall old everything and out of use.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very bad shower!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad size 160x180cm for two people! No minibar in the room, size of the room is too small for two persons.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The style is maybe a little bit old-fashioned.

    A good place near Termini - if you need to stay a night and travel further.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and bath

    Comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street, unclean bed sheet

    Value for money and location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub nearby gets loud at night.

    Good location for transport, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was too bad

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a double bed. It was pretty comfortable!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very closed from CentralTermini

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedspreads were little dirty. Other areas and bed were cleans

    It was in the central location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    È più un bed and breakfast senza breakfast che un hotel

    La comodità

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noisy because of poor soundproofing, but it is not the critical issue

    Excellent staff, always clean, enough towels

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's exellent for two star hotel.Clean room, close to city centre, good stuff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel . We recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is kinda small but it's not big deal .

    Very nice staff. Room is comfy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality for the price excellent. Terminni station 5 mins to walk . For Rome the price is excellent if you are looking for a good bed to sleep .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor wifi.

    The room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was inside the room anď door between them didnt close.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little extra cleaning is required

    Fairly priced

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the area

    the position

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff. 2 great restaurants in the same street.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Virginia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: