Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Vittoria 3 stars

Via Balbi 33-45, 16126 Genoa, Italy

#32 of 92 hotels in Genoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1272 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Great value for the money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walking distance from attractions.

    Hotel location was good if you want to be close to the train station, Hop on and hop off bus for site seeing, city tour bus all of this was only a 3 min walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Close to train station and important sites within walking...
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is set in various interconnected buildings. Lifts are functional but quite small. Bathroom small.

    Close to train station and important sites within walking distance. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good choice at breakfast. Clean spacious rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Read before you book!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff - that's the only thing that upset us a lot. We spent a week in this hotel, if you don't speak Italian - avoid this place. Real coffee is only served for Italians, if you don't speak Italian you will be showed how to use automated coffee machine which looks dirty and drinks from there taste like garbage (the machine should be cleaned daily). Italian speaking guests had their real coffee delivered to their table. We found it disgraceful. Please, bear in mind we did not expect the staff to focus on us only. Hospitality in this place is truly striking: we also got told off because we took a blanket from our room outside (my partner had a surgical treatment not so long ago so he needed it for extra comfort). The other lady wagged her finger at us (literally) and told us this is unacceptable (!!!). I have to highlight here that it was very upsetting. Speaking of breakfast - cold cuts and dairy goods should be kept in fridge not in room temperature!!! No chance for warm breakfast. Everything clearly bought in nearby shops, very poor selection. After few days we decided to get breakfast in restaurant. For reduced mobility guests it will be difficult (if not impossible) with many flights of stairs and two separate lifts to take you to your room. A room renovation would be advantageous (cracks on the ceiling, wallpaper and paint coming off). Despite locked door the cleaning staff disturbed our privacy (door signs non existent). No kettle or complimentary water available in the room (there is a vending machine on site though). Very overpriced for service we experienced. It is a family run hotel so there is no one to complain to. Towels smelled like vinegar. Pictures of rooms on booking.com - misleading.

    Very polite gentleman who checked us in (not sure what's his name but thank you! Keep a good work!) Air con Fantastic location (walking distance to restaurants, harbour side and train station where you can catch both train and bus shuttle to the airport) Well working wifi Bathtub Plenty of really good restaurants around (handy when looking for breakfast) Cash point by train station Room was quiet, bed comfy - our needs were very basic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall Hotel Vittoria is at an excellent location if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall Hotel Vittoria is at an excellent location if you travel by train to Genova! Close to the train station, to major sights in town! Rooms are spacious and clean, staff very friendly!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Functional, good location, but very dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the hotel was quite confusing, and one evening we returned late at night and found it very hard to get in / contact reception.

    Large bathroom, lovely view of the harbour through the old buildings outside the bedroom window. They were able to move us from one room to another as we didn't like the first one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel offers good value for money rooms with a friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offers good value for money rooms with a friendly and nice staff support. Clean rooms, decent WiFi, simple but sufficient breakfast, vicinity to the train station (which is crucial if you plan to visit seaside near Genova). Once again helpful and nice staff, thank you)!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    The location is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the night there was quite a lot of noise inside the hotel of surrounding buildings. Woke us up several times.

    The location is very nice. Also the comfort was good: fine beds, nice airconditioning, okay bathroom. There was also quite some foodchoice at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    2.5
    Very bad hotel, the poorest breakfast in the region and incorrect charges from your account
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad hotel: 1. the poorest breakfast I ever seen. We came 30 min to breakfast closing time (9:30) and there were no yougurt, no juices any more. After we asked for it, the answer was "we are closing and we do not have any yougurts any more for today". Besides the breakfast does not include any fruits or vegetables at all, only sweets. :((( 2. Elevators are not working 3. If you 5 min later at check out time (10:30!!!) Your account will be charged 10 eur more independent whether you agree or not 4. Wifi is very bad and costs 3 eur in addition 5. Plug in not working properly in the room Absolutely not a 4 stars hotel: probably one or two stars, if any at all.

    Nothing positive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    staff were fabulous, location excellent near the station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff were fabulous, location excellent near the station short walk to the old town. accommodation very clean even though the hotel was dated. We had a very comfortable stay and would return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly personnel, the hotel is near the rail station ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee and juice at breakfast were not good

    Very friendly personnel, the hotel is near the rail station and quite close (15 minutes by foot) to the historic center, we were provided by useful map of the city and description of main city sights

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    A memorable and enjoyable stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were well informed about everything going on in Genoa, like public transport etc and went the extra mile to find specific information, and were always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely with home-baked croissants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    An excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a classic Italian hotel - amazingly friendly staff! Very clean and they looked after our bags from 09:00 and even tried to get us an early check-in at 11:00. The location is great too, really close to public transport and on Saturday we sat on our balcony and watched the soulful Genoese line-dancing at the bar on the street below.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was quite hard and the pillows could be more comfortable. No fresh pastries on Sunday. The hotel might be a bit dated but that didn't bother us.

    The hotel is very handy for the train station and airport bus. Staff are friendly. Breakfast is included for free. Biggest room that we had in Italy. Quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    The bedrooms were large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No car park for Motorcycles but they were safe parked in the square below, Access by lift from square to Hotel.

    The bedrooms were large. in the City Centre. Short trip from ferry terminal Did not have time for breakfast as we had to be at the Ferry Terminal for 6.00am

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Great expirence for reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should consider to bring you own toiletries and hairdryer. The ones they provide at the hotel could hardly be of use.

    Great stuff, great location. The most clean room I’be ever visited. Breakfast was right as good as it spoused to be in such kind of hotels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very welcoming and I would happily stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although twin room was a decent size the bathroom was small and needed updating. No tv channels in English. The wifi signal was intermittent (only on tablet, mobile phones very little problem.

    Great location, five minutes from Piazza Principe mainline station (look for the green pharmacy cross). Plenty of restaurants and many attractions within walking distance. Day trips are easy to do from here Genoa to Milan is approximately 1hr 30mins away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for our needs, very welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure could have been better but was adequate.

    Staff was very helpful, we felt very welcomed. The location was perfect for our needs, very close to the train station and walkable from cruise port. Would return without hesitation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Great budget stay in Genoa. Good hospitality too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing in the rooms but unless someone's talking really loud in the adjacent rooms it isn't an issue. Funnily we had a guy who was on the phone in the next room for ages until he was told off by someone else in another room.

    It's a decent budget hotel just around the corner of the Genova Principe station close to lots of eateries. It served us well that it was also close to the Volabus coach that carries passengers to the main airport. The sound proofing in the rooms isn't the best but the rooms have a vintage charm and they were really clean. The receptionist was very helpful too. Breakfast is decent for what we paid. All in all a good place for the budget traveller

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Good Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms not very soundproof, noise from hallway and adjoining rooms. Only two electrical outlets (one in room, one in bathroom).

    Good Breakfast. Location not far from Piazza Principe Station. Beverage dispencer; only 0,50€ for drinks. Cool room, didn't have to use airco although it was hot outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    The location a few steps from the station and at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only one electricity outlet in the room (and one in the bathroom). This could easily be fixed without extra wiring by replacing the single outlet by a multiple one.

    The location a few steps from the station and at the beginning of the historical old town couldn't be better. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean, and in very good condition. The building is from the 19th century, and the room interior seems to be from the 1970s, but is still in excellent condition. I'll never understand why some reviewers think that a hotel always must be ultramodern. Every period has its charm, and getting to know styles of different periods enriches our lives.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    We spent four nights at the hotel Vittoria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We spent four nights at the hotel Vittoria. We reach easily the place from the Piazza Principe Railway station. The check in was quick and the staff very kind indeed. The room was large, with a lot of storage facilities. There was also a balcony with flowers and the view to the old port. The bathroom has all the necessary amenities. It was a malfunction, but the staff took care rapidly. One can reach all the touristic areas walking. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Good in lots of ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can get some noise from loud neighbours.

    We’ve stayed here a few times before and after cruises. Location is a real plus. Two or three minutes walk from Piazza Principe train station and the airport Volabus stop. It’s also an easy ten minute walk down to the cruise terminal. Access from street level is via a lift - look out for the signs and don’t walk up the steps to the hotel. It is a very old fashioned place - nothing flash. Everything works and it is clean. They serve a standard continental breakfast which is fine. The place is family run and they are so helpful and courteous. At the price, we were very pleased with our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice Old School (positive comment) Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an old hotel but with all you need. Good location near the Genova harbor, train station and the top places! You can choose better location. The owners are wonderful people, very friendly and, when I say old school it's to say that they are so nice and genuine that you'll not believe. At the check-out, the gentleman was amazing, so polite and nice that you will not believe that you still have receptionists like that! It is not a top hotel, it is not modern, but it is made by genuine and nice people and have all you need! Strongly recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    the bed was really excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better info regarding the exact location. Genova has several train stations. This hotel is in the region of Principe Station. I went on to Brignone (another principal station: paid Euros 11 for taxi)

    the bed was really excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location and quiet enough to get some rest. Lovely coastal town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the shower issue but it wasn’t too bad.

    The location, price and place were ideal. It was nice that it was so close to transportation. Upon arrival the staff were attentive and friendly. The room itself was good overall for our stay. The shower was a little dated and had a little bit of a problem of it spraying against the wall but we managed with it. The breakfast was sufficient and good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was okay but not as good as most places we have stayed on this trip.

    A very comfortable room and amenities in a great location. Staff were extremely helpful and polite. We would definitely stay here again. Unfortunately we missed the sign for the private elevator to the hotel (our mistake) so we climbed the very many stairs....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Near to the train station and all tourist places of interest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WLAN in the room was sometimes weak, but in the lobby Ok. The room could use renovation, especially wallpaper should be changed.

    Near to the train station and all tourist places of interest can be reached on foot. Old hotel with charme. Very nice staff on reception and by breakfast. Gut breakfast. This hotel even has a small library!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    I d like to thank especially Mr Paolo for helping us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I d like to thank especially Mr Paolo for helping us. Unfortunately we got troubled with parking issues but he was worth to the name of HUMAN being. He was very kind and polite. I hope he was not into problems with his colegues as he wanted to make best of his effort on helping us. It is not easy to find people who are really humane in this world of capitalism. I hope your colegues know who they are losing(in case)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Small traditional hotel to stay a couple of days while visiting the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very friendly, and willing to help you with directions, places, transportation, etc information. Breakfast is kind of an upgraded continental breakfast, with very good quality. Plenty of close places where to eat, as well as to places to visit at a walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Very well located if you travel by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi weak Water pressure in shower View from Window: a Dirty patio surrounded by tall Buildings.

    Very well located if you travel by train. Also very good for visiting Genova. Simple but Clean and well organized. Breakfast ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Warm, friendly staff compensated for not-so-great Internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Internet was a tragedy. Started out great but turned awful at the end of the week.

    Warm, friendly staff. As a vegan, I brought my own soymilk and they kindly agreed to keep in the the fridge and brought it to me every day at breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Super friendly staff, great location near the station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing shocking,sound insulation was "eh". No dedicated parking but blue zones are convenient enough.

    Super friendly staff, great location near the station and sestiere Maddalena in old town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration is old and could do with updating.

    Location was great,walking distance,restaurants all around,and port and shops very close by, The staff were very helpful ,and breakfast was fine, a smashing cup of English tea.we stayed 2 days before our cruise and 2 days after, 1st room on 4th floor better than 2nd stays 1st floor smaller and closer to street noise and we had a loud neighbour,which the staff felt with quickly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Staff were extremely helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were extremely helpful and polite. Went the extra mile. Great place to stay if you are coming and going by rail. We came in from Monterossa and took a train to Nice. So easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    I can only give great review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can only give great review. We asked for gluten free breakfast for one person and the gluten free basket was completely full every morning. Which is not normal for a hotel. Also the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our time here and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good selection for breakfast. Concierge was very helpful and friendly. Although property is old, room was quite big and spacious, also very clean. Close to station and short walk to town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable two day stay pre cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access from the street to the hotel is by lift. A little inconvenient with a buggy but you get used to it.

    Rooms large and very comfortable. We had seaview balconies. Breakfast was more than adequate. Staff fantastic especially Paolo. We were a family of 5 ( grandparents, parents, two year old) Very convenient to cruise port ( walkable, although we used a taxi at €17.00) and Piazza Principe railway station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Your basic 3-star hotel
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though WiFi is provided, the signal strength is quite poor. When I phoned the desk to mention this, he told me that he would do something about it and call me back when it was ok. He never called back and the signal remained weak throughout our stay. Also there is only one wall outlet, a problem if you have a number a devices that need to be charged.

    It is a 3-star, no-frills hotel. You get what you pay for. The staff is quite friendly and helpful and the room was clean if somewhat Spartan and reasonably sized. The major plus is its location : a few steps away from the train station and right next door to the medieval city, which is Genoa's major attraction. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs updating and rooms soundproofing from people's voices next door.

    The owner was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is very close to Principe train and metro station as well as the airport shuttle bus stop. Being set back from the road there was no traffic noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to the room is tricky :) First, we had to take a corridor to an elevator, which brought us to the third floor of the building, where the reception is situated. Then through the lobby, couple of stairs and another corridor we reached second elevator, which took us to the rooms. But nothing can be done about that, so no complaining.

    The brekfast was plentiful and diverse. The room was spacious, with a great view towards the port and the sea. The batroom was long and narrow and with pink porcelain (including the bathtub!), clean and usable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel next to genoa station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Basic room with a very 70s feel decor wise. Was comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly, good breakfast choices and 5 minutes walk to station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    very nice staff and good breakfast, centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    slightly "hidden" a little ways up from the street, accessible either by stairs or an elevator!

    very nice and helpful staff, good breakfast, close to both the train station and the harbor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is so close to train station, it is really clean, beds and pillows are comfortable, breakfast is delicious, and the best part of the hotel is their personal, so much helpfull, they give us map and explain everthing also portofino and santa margherita.. thank you very much..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Little bit pricey for us. But location and breakfast is gratifying.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had not any problem.

    Near to train station, room was clean. Breakfast was open buffet.Not the best quality of food but it is more than enough for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical place in Genoa reachable by climbing a few steps, but there is even an elevator available for hotel guests. Very close to the station! Excellent breakfast! The staff is very kind and also allowing us to leave our baggage until our departure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Excellent location (5 min to Piazza Principe train station and 15 min to Aquarium) Nice AC room with balcony and private bathroom. Nice personal Breakfast ok Wifi connection ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Unique and welcoming hotel in the centre of Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very authentic hotel in the centre of Genova. Walking distance to many interesting places. Very friendly staff! Room decorated in early sixties style. Very special. The rooms have airco. Spacious bathroom. Good breakfast. Excellent and safe parking facility near by (at additional cost)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Basic but charming and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are driving yourself and have a lot of luggage, you will find it somewhat difficult as there is no street side entrance and the street nearest is very busy and narrow. There is a small amount of uphill walking, a few stairs and a tiny elevator involved in getting to the lobby. You are best off finding the indoor parking lot up and around the corner first and then walking with your luggage from there. This is by no means the hotel's fault, it's just a quirk of a city built a long time ago.

    The rooms are large and airy with a balcony as well as air conditioning. The bathroom is well appointed and the tub large. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was the normal affair of cold cuts, cheese, various pastries, fruit, yogurt and coffee and juice. While the hotel does not 'provide' parking, there is a covered lot around the corner not too far from the hotel that is reasonable. The concierge is particularly kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Paulo was very friendly and helpful at the reception, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paulo was very friendly and helpful at the reception, very clean room and bathroom. Perfect location, 200 meters from the train station. The breakfast was good, simple but everything we needed was there (coffee, ham, cheese, eggs, croissants, juice).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable. 3D2N seems not enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the smell in the corridor (old sweaty smells) that we think came from the carpet (either the floor or wall).

    Location is 5 mins walk from Genova Piazza Principe station. Near to places of interest (aquarium, port, Garibaldi Street) convenient stores and eateries. Although the hotel itself is old, but it was well-maintained. Service was good. Staffs were friendly and made us felt welcome. We were supplied with map and brochures. Helped us a lot in planning our itinerary. 3D2N seems not enough. We could easily stay for 1 week.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Stay in the best place in the city at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - this is the perfect place for all. Highly recommend it.

    The staff was excellent and Pablo was the best - he spoke great English and 3 others too. The hotel is located in a great part of city - down the street from the train/bus station and the City Tour- Red Bus tour. The places to eat with in a block are very good and the price was nice. The rooms are clean and large along with your private bath. Beds very nice for sleeping. We had stayed in this city before and glad we found this hotel - the best and only one I would stay in going forward. The AC worked great and they provided a chair for the shower. They have elevators/lifts so not many stairs. Quit and relaxing too and some of the rooms have great views of the harbor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Everything was great and breakfast was very delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great and breakfast was very delicious. The hotel is situated in a very good area so you can easily get to all main places of interest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location for the sights and good value!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The trek up to the hotel from ground level on Via Balbi as one has to take two lifts in two separate locations to get up to the room. No CNN or BBC news channel on the television!!! The breakfasts could have been more varied and interesting.

    Excellent location on Via Balbi and very near Genova Principe station (the main train station) as well as the centre of town and the harbour. Also, excellent for the airport shuttle by Volabus. Even though the hotel is on Via Balbi, it is high up and away from all the noise, although one does have to climb a lot of stairs or take a couple of lifts located at two different places within the complex. The staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    A friendly, quiet and clean location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to be a bit careful in a few areas especially walking towards the marina, it can be a bit intimidating with a number of undesirable people hanging around.

    A very spacious room and a decent size bathroom which you could have a bath or a shower. The balcony view overlooked the main road and you could see the docks. The breakfast area was very big, plenty of tables and an excellent choice of food and drinks. The hotel was very close to the train station in fact a 2 minute walk. A 5 minute walk in the other direction would take you into the city centre or the marina where you could get the City Sightseeing Bus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Very good location close to the airport and 300 m from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ...ONLY 2 SOCKETS IN THE ROOM(one in the bathroom and one if you put out the refrigerator)-If you want to have your pc or mobile in your bed and charging it when you are working just forget it / Just simple breakfast until 10 oclock and with all the basic things (bread,eggs,cheese,corn flaks,cake,...) / Sometimes i heard noises from the other rooms of the hotel(steps,water,etc) maybe have thin walls.

    Very good location close to the airport and 300 m from the train station Principe and the Metro and bus lines of the town/ The man at the reception maybe the most friendly and he helped me a lot with important advices for Genova,,beaches ,locations,etc. / Good price for Genova /Very nice bed and space in the room and the bathroom /Daily cleaning / Quite place for sleeping 200 m away from the traffic road / Good price for Genova , i recoment this hotel if you just want a good speep close to eveyrhing but no in the centre. Trip advice :Take the train from principe station via brignole genova station and travel to riomaggiore >From there bye another daily ticκet with 5 euros and vivit the famus "Cinque Terre" and the 5 famus villages or visit Camogli and later go to Santa Margherita station and take the bus to Portofino.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Just right to the railway station and not far from the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one power outlet in the room (another was in the bathroom).

    Just right to the railway station and not far from the city centre. Rich and tasty breakfast. Fresh air in the room and all coridors. Nice hosts (looks like a family hotel)!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Great city, great Hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing.

    We couldn't fault anything, We had a large room with air/con. Everything worked The staff were extremely attentive & helpful. Close to the train station & metro, so able to travel to all part of the city with ease. One word of caution the Metro stops running at 9.30pm. But the busses are plentiful & regular. Tickets (obtained from the Tabac) for the bus/metro are interchangeable, so if you are too late for the Metro - just jump on a bus. We would recommend a nearby restaurant - come out of the Hotel - turn left - just 100yds along. The Kaiyuan. Great staff, great food & very reasonable price. Another word of caution - The Volbus (the shuttle from the airport) is only 6 euros per person BUT the drivers doesn't call out the stops. In a strange city for the first time it is very easy to miss your stop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    The staff was incredibly helpful and kind, there was an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly helpful and kind, there was an elevator, air conditioning and breakfast. Overall the room was clean and comfortable and I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Well located to Cental Station, old town and Hop-on/off bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything

    Chose location adjacent to the Central rail station as we were travelling in and out Of Genoa by train. Would recommend to others seeking a clean, friendly overnight stay in a fun city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Good location for seeing a major sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs a renovation, especially lounge. But since hotel is located near the Railway station, it's okay for a short staying.

    Good location for seeing a major sights. Not so far from Garibaldi street. Friendly staff is helpful, ready to assist when it's needed. Breakfast is not so various, but enough. Clean room and bedclothes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Great choice for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personal of the hotel were extremely nice! very helpful, friendly, all worked well. It is close to the train station therefore easily reachable. For a short stay great place. Everything was very clean. Would come back again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Vintage hotel with very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. It has a price quality balance.

    An old style hotel but very clean and close to the train station. Really liked the hotel owner and staff as they were very helpful with our questions. Would have definitely stayed again if I come to Genoa. Unfortunately we did not have the chance to have a breakfast as being short of time. Again, the hotel reminded me of 60's vintage houses which I just love!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Glorious holiday visiting relatives
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non applicable

    Friendly and helpful staff always ready with loads of information breakfast was adequate .cleanliness was very good.looking forward to our next visit .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Loved Genoa and would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    plastic cups in the room instead of real glasses and these were not replaced during our stay.

    staff were friendly and helpful with all our questions. Really close to the train station and lots of shops and cafes. Towels were wonderful. Loved their elevator. Lots of stairs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's location is awkward and access is difficult. It is set back from the street. While looking for it on the left at almost the precise moment you can see it there is a one-way street sign on the right. We missed that sign which led to going the wrong way down the street. An adventure, but not really one we enjoyed.

    Friendly staff. Adequate facilities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    We didn't expect that a tree star hotel could be so cute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't expect that a tree star hotel could be so cute, clean and at reasonable price. Very nice man at the reception, very clean room and bathroom. And perfect location!!! Just 200 meters from the train station and all the sights are very close. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Great cost benefit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one power socket available in the room, so if you have electronic devices to charge, it will be quite trick to charge them all. Also the free wifi in the fifth floor did not work properly sometimes.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    very nice stay in Genua, we would choose it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, everything was perfect

    it was a very nice stay, the staff is very friendly and helpful, provided us with all information we asked and even more, the location is close to the train station, and to the city center and aquarium just 10 minutes walk, the breakfast was very good, simple but everything we needed was there (ham, cheese, eggs, cornflakes, croissants, juice, coffee and nice home made cakes). The room was also nice, big enough for two with enough space also for luggage and it was clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    An authentic Genova piece
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never get upset by the little choice of food on the breakfast; but definitely that one sausage and one cheese could be of a better quality.

    I had a backside room with a very interesting view from my window: three buildings, a stone wall, a "well" deeply beneath my window, a part of a staircase which is really a "street" going left and right between the buildings. That was enchanting, an authentic Genova piece, very quiet, with the birds singing and a rare inhabitant going up o down the staircase. The hotel is basically good for that money, and provides enough comfort (without any luxury if one seeks it).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Hotel 15 min walk from Piazza Ferrari :-)
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, great place to stay

    Very polite and friendly staff. Good sized rooms. Just be careful of traffic warden, we had a ticket placed 1 minute after our street parking ticket ran out. Street parking is €2.50 per hour so arrange something like a drive in garage.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    3.3
    Do you want to get in shower by shoose?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disign and stuf old version, room is not confort bed and pillows same. I dont know why they gave a lot of usuless towel if you cant walk easy in room wo shoose. Ground is cold marbel, no slipper to use bethroom so better to use useless towel as carpent but any how bad experiences to be there

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    6.3
    Misleading photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a quadruple room. The photo shows two single beds but the room had bunk beds. We choose this hotel because we didn't think it had bunk beds. It was a bit misleading. I asked the night manager he said it was at the discretion of booking.com. The entrance is on a busy street which meant we had to unload our 2 and 3 year old with all of our luggage. Then take an elevator up to the hotel. We then had to come back down to legally park the car in paid parking which is a separate facility.

    Staff was friendly and spoke French

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner in our room was a bit too loud and disturbed us at the night time, but it was possible to switch it off. Rather strange blanket arrangement with 3 separate sheets which may be typical for the whole country.

    We especially appreciated the opportunity to adjust the temperature in the suit. Helpful and friendly stuff, nice English. Breakfast has a list of options. Good wi-fi connection. Very comfortable location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay in Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You can get inside the hotel either by elevator or by high staircase

    Great location of hotel: a few steps from the station Principe and 5 minutes walk from the Acquario and Palazzi. Just in front there's a nice restaurant Pasqualini with wonderful fish dishes. Very good breakfast served from 7 a.m. Room was clean and comfortable. Welcoming staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.9
    Focaccia trip to Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remote of TV didn't work. Supplementary products very minimal.

    Location, very colse to the train station and via Balbi is very good. Toilette with Sea view is an extra point. The two guys at the reception very welcome and professional. Private elevator only for hotel Vitoria.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: