Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Westend 3 stars

Speckbacherstrasse 9, 39012 Merano, Italy

#64 of 68 hotels in Merano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 403 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    The hotel itself is quirky, fascinating and full of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 34 degrees during our stay. There was no air conditioning in our room but, worse than that, there was no ceiling fan or even a portable fan. When I asked for a fan at reception I was met with indifference - they just didn't have any available. Whilst our family room was lovely, it was very uncomfortable trying to sleep at night and definitely not ok when you're paying over £200 a night for the room. Having to pay for WIFI in 2018. I thought the days of paying for WI-FI in hotels had long gone! The charges ran til midnight of each day, not for 24 hours, so if you arrive in the evening and want WIFI you still have to pay the full day's charges up until midnight.

    The hotel itself is quirky, fascinating and full of character. It was built at the time of Kaiser Franz-Joseph and is something of a living museum as it's packed with the most interesting artefacts, paintings, ornaments etc. We loved it but I can imagine it's not necessarily to everyone's taste. Our family room was extremely spacious and, apart from the lack of a fan, had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the waiting staff were very helpful. We ate dinner every night at the small hotel restaurant. We joked that the Wi-Fi charges were used to subsidise the restaurant as a delicious 5 course menu was served every night for only 23 Euros. Excellent food and the best value for money anywhere! We couldn't eat all 5 courses as each course was huge but some diners did manage to tuck the whole thing away, much to our amazement. The hotel is situated by the river and is a short (10-15 minutes) and very pleasant walk into the centre of Meran with plentiful shops, cafes and restaurants. It has a lovely garden for relaxing and, other than the occasional train passing nearby, it is quiet. Meran2000 is accessible by car in a few minutes and is definitely worth a day trip. Meran is a well-to-do, prosperous town and hotel prices are generally well above average. Although we can't say that we felt the £200+ a night we paid for our family room for 3 in high season was good value, it was still cheaper than many of the other central hotels in Meran. We would recommend this hotel, but bring your own fan in the hot weather!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    We loved to stay in Hotel Westend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved to stay in Hotel Westend ! Great location , friendly staff beautiful hotel old faschioned style . a throwback in time that we appreciated.It was also nice to use the free bikes! Hope to go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    A lovely oldy-worldy property which is right on the river...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely oldy-worldy property which is right on the river and very close to the main town. It is slightly 'tatty' but in an absolutely charming way. We will visit again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Situated alongside the river with a pleasant ten minute walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early evening and found the manager who gave us our room key without getting up from his table or talking to us inbetween eating from a bowl of food in front of him.Our room was up three flights of carpeted,smelly stairs(we found the lift in the morning as we left).As it was raining quite heavily we opted to eat in the restaurant,we were the only people there but still had to sit at the table number that was our room number(like being in a school canteen)probably more atmosphere in a school canteen.Breakfast was also a sad experience.For this we were charged about 260 euro's.Of twelve hotels we used on a tour of southern and eastern Europe this was without doubt the worst.

    Situated alongside the river with a pleasant ten minute walk to the town.I would think in it's day it was a grand house,now past it's sellby date.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay, and would return, but the hotel could do with a thorough refresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although hotel is quite 'grand' the décor is rather tired and in need of refurbishment. Also, there is no reception desk (just an office) and the entrance is rather strange; up some external steps, through a creaking door and then down stairs again.

    Spacious room and en-suite, large bed, good location. Breakfast quite good. Old fashioned atmosphere recalling an earlier age.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    That you pay extra for Wifi I didn't like.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That you pay extra for Wifi I didn't like. I think nowadays wifi should be included as a standard. It makes one feel 20 years back if you have to pay for it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    This is a remarkable hotel - a traditional old-style...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wi-Fi in the room, but somehow that would be inappropriate to the atmosphere of the hotel

    This is a remarkable hotel - a traditional old-style Italian hotel in an Austro-Hungarian setting. Our traditionally-furnished room overlooked the garden and river, alongside which is a pleasant 10-minute walk into the town centre. The restaurant provides a plentiful dinner in a period-piece room - most diners seemed to opt out of some courses because of the volume of food. A nice touch on the evening of our stay was included pre-dinner aperitifs in an ante-room, a small gathering of guests presided over by the genial hotel proprietor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    Don't leave your passport with office staff on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    By request I left my passport with duty manager at check in time on the understanding I could pick up in an hour or so. I called back to the office approximately an hour later to collect my passport, only to told in was in the mail box on the wall in the hallway, where anyone and everyone had access to same. The response to my questioning that it was not appropriate to leave my passport in such a location, was laughed off as not a problem. My thoughts yes not a problem for them, only for their guests when the inevitable happens.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    My room was spacious and had a lovely view of river
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet , no tea or coffee facilities in room or the small lounge .

    My room was spacious and had a lovely view of river The restaurant staff were very helpful Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.7
    Old style Italian, The whole building is covered with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old style Italian, The whole building is covered with tarpaulin, and is about to get a facade facelift, big mess, very dissapointing compared to booking site pictures. Owner is competing with John Clees in Faulty Towers

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    very confortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Near the train and bus stations, very quiet and in front the river, very confortable room and bed, good brackfast, easy to go to old center of Merano,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    fanz joseph is alive and well at the westend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wifi could be better. not viable in the rooms per the hotel office. not the end of the world but wifi is something younger people use all the time.

    this hotel is a nostalgic and heartwarming throwback to the time of the austrian empire and has a decidedly imperial and royal feel to it. k und k as is written in german . the room was price worthy for sure and the breakfast was like i would expect in a five star hotel. the owner was very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.8
    May be hard to find - if driving you cross a small bridge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor a bit dated but I think that may be deliberate as it suits the building - bed linen etc. were all very clean its just the overall decor. Shower definitely needs updating as old fashioned curtain which sticks to you

    May be hard to find - if driving you cross a small bridge that looks as if its for pedestrians only but its not! Then you turn right and in a short distance turn up a laneway and into the parking area. So, at first, it seems out of town but you walk in on the river promenade which is absolutely lovely - about 10 minutes. It was delightful walking back late at night with the moon full and the sound of the river. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the river walk and the garden. Breakfast OK but no cooked food - weather not good enough to sit in garden which I imagine is very restful. Staff nice - chatty and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    It was totally good but old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel was old.

    the location is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast, nice place with garden, meran is just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small, but ok for one night

    Good breakfast, nice place with garden, meran is just beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure wasn't to good and forget about parking if you drive a bigger car.

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family who owns the place made me feel at home!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    6.7
    Correct
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevated price.

    Good breakfast. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Staff was very helpful and hospitable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was very helpful and hospitable. The food was excellent and great location to walk to the Christmas market.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Whilst this is hotel is set in a time gone by , everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Whilst this is hotel is set in a time gone by , everything was charming and worked fine. the breakfast made us consider that we ought to have had dinner there the previous night.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    Charmantes Hotel direkt am Fluss
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Charmantes Hotel direkt am Fluss

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    7.9
    Liked the short distance to town and onsite parking, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Liked the short distance to town and onsite parking, great breakfast

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: