Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zara Napoli 2 stars

Via Firenze 81, Central Station, 80142 Naples, Italy

#117 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1019 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is a little run down and dodgy but the hotel is perfect for the low amount I paid... Not a great area but a nice clean, friendly hotel

    Clean, friendly hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    It was literally right around the corner from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our sheets were dirty. Pillows had no pillow cases. It’s in a shady area. Drifters and pick pockets all around. Noisy horrible loud water pipes when ever someone turns on water. Wakes you up in the middle of the night. There was mold in the shower. Had to wash my feet in the sink.

    It was literally right around the corner from the train station. No more than 5-10 minute walk. AC works well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the train station(garibaldi)to the hotel a bit daunting if you were alone. But the hotels price was excellent value For money

    Great price.prefdct location for getting around Naples and surrounding Pompeii and sorrento by train

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.4
    Stay was OK. Surrounding gave us a shock. Cops patrolling the area every 20-30 mins."Naples"
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift worked when there was no person inside, Once you get IN it doesn't work. Room was not properly cleaned - Found the previous guests t-shirt in the wardrobe. Staff don't clean up your leftovers.(Bottles/Food/etc.) Although left in a corner to tidy up.

    Room and Breakfast were OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    exceptional property quaint lift try to see past whats happening on the streets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just ignore the surrounding area as you make your way to the hotel and arrive in daylight..... Please be mindful of your property when out and about in Napoli

    very close to main railway station and circumvesuviana train, very clean and room very large.... typical Italian breakfast... staff pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is OK, but district is not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We don't like the district where the hotel is situated. The streets are full of immigrants from Africa, who can be aggresive. We saw them fighting with each other with broken glass bottles till police came. We afraid to leave hotel in the evening. But of course - it's not the hotel fault! Overall you have to take care of you in Napoli, especially in buses - there is a lot of pickpockets.

    Hostel is situated on the 2nd floor (lift is for coins) very close to Piazza Garibaldi, the railway station and Alibus, which can take you directly to the Napoli Airport (tickets 5 euro per person on board). Rooms are clean and have everything what is necessary to the simple staying for some day. Breakfast is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    People in the city and around hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People in the city and around hotel. Hotel is in the building with flats, inside looks terrible. Room is simple and good. Noisy in the room. If you live in the lowest floor you have to call all the time in the door ring and reception have to open. It's not comfortable because if person go out or be in the other place you can't go inside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Noisy during night time. Its good just for sleep without spending time inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge in the room, the included breakfast was made of croissants and bread with jam.. we dont eat that stuff.. protein was zero.. the neighborhood wasn’t pleasant. The building was old but the interior was nice.

    it was close to th train station. It was somehow central. We had a decent bathroom space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    This was a really great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony door was a little thin so the outside traffic and night life could keep a light sleeper awake. Not anything the staff can do, but there are lots of immigrants loitering in the street. It made me nervous (as a woman traveler), but I didn’t stay out past 7:00pm and only had to go a few blocks to the train station, so it was worth it.

    This was a really great location. Very close to the train and metro station and not far from anything else you want to walk to. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They kept everything neat and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    For my expectations was good a one night stay. Just somewhere to sleep and go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room. The water drains didn t allow the water to drain easily and so the shower room would get very wet .

    Very close to the station, cheap and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    It was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Beds are uncomfortable (and have old throws on them) - Noisy - Coffee at breakfast was weak. - You have to pay to use the lift!

    - Close proximity to the train station - Staff were good and arranged a pizza delivery for us when we arrived late at night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.8
    Position of the hotel, very near to the central stiation and...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small, and very narrow. No TV Garbage smell in the street and on the stairway.

    Position of the hotel, very near to the central stiation and easy to get to. Personnel nice, they kept our luggage for few hours

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location if u need train station, friendly 24 hr front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its unfortunate that the city center is looking the way it is, just horrible. I really hope they turn it around because i bet the Appearance will def drive ppl away and impact others from staying here and other hotels in the area. Fortunately there was police presence until about midnight, we walked to and from wherever we parked the car and had no problems.

    Great location if u need train station, friendly 24 hr front desk, room was big and cleaned daily. Breakfast was also delicious and staff attentive. There is also 2-3 garages to park the car nearby if needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Right place right price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere, the clean room and helpful staff. The breakfast was self service and although the choice was limited, it was good. The hotel is in the process of renovation, and the photos on their site are actual. As far as situation, it was five minutes walk from the main train and metro station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Not very romantiic but very good value if you are going to be out most of the time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have provided a bit more breakfast china - had to eat cereal out of tea-cup and then wash it out. (They clearly assume you would only drink espresso). Currently inner courtyard rooms balcony blocked by scaffolding. (they did alert us to this) but we chose to stay anyway as we were just using as base. Car parking expensive and we should not have taken car. Trains and buses plentiful and cheap, and traffic in Sorrento very bad.

    Basic accommodation but clean and comfortable. Very good location for old town and very quiet on whole as not a street used by cars, although local football pitch next door so heard kids being coached (but did not go on late). Breakfast was a sort of self service and you ate in your room/on balcony. But you could get fruit/cereal and tea/coffee throughout the day which was nice. Parking in local carpark.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Fair but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is very sketchy. Within 5 minutes of standing on the balcony there was people fighting below us in the street and kids booting footballs in to moving cars.

    Room was clean and had sufficient space and storage. Staff pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is very practical but the street where the hotel is located is rather a crap !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the street where the hotel was located and the way to access to the hotel (payment of 10 cents in the elevator). The first time you are trapped with your luggages to climp 2 floors ..

    The room was noisy. The bed was wonderful. The breakfast was so so. (no bred). There was no shower cordon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money located near the train/bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When people are in the hallway you can hear everything from your room, however this did not affect our sleep as other guests were generally quiet. Area can feel a bit dodgy but never had any issues and quite enjoyed the frenetic energy of the neighborhood. Of course it is a very affordable property so given this I think the downsides are quite minimal.

    Really great value for money, staff was very friendly and accommodating when we needed to leave our suitcases the day of arrival. Breakfast croissants were really tasty. Although we had to buzz to get in to the flat where our room was located, this was never an issue and they always let us in very quickly. Bed was comfortable and shower had good water pressure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Not bad
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I took single room and it was very small. The bed and the pillow were not comfortable and do't smell so good. The street is very crowded and noisy where I couldn't sleep early but it is not the problem of the hotel since it is near the main station

    It is a cozy small place almost like one home

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    This stay was necessary due to getting an early connecting train, we wont be returning .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the area all around this small hotel was very unwelcoming as there were crowds of loitering African men at all times of the day and night. This lead to us feeling extremely vulnerable & unsafe due to the effect of pickpockets& or robbery...& this continued into the train station! And we are a reasonably well travelled couple.

    Near to train station. Hotel was kind enough to let us in early! Big room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    It's ok, value for money in a good location for a crazy traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Frankly speaking, we didn't like Napoli much, probably this impression is also reflected on the hotel. We received a very small room very close to reception, thus we heard every doorbell, phone call, chat and breakfast making that was happening at the hall. The mattresses were slippery, so the blanket didn't stick to it and we woke up only partly on the blanket. Also the shower (the shared one, maybe the private ones are better) was quite dirty from the inside, the door has black spots, but you can only see them when taking the shower, so no wonder the staff doesn't see it. And the water in the shower didn't go off properly, in a minute of showering you are in a puddle

    Very close to Garibaldi Square: Railway station, Circumvesuviana, airport shuttle, metro. Walkable distance to main interesting streets. We finally stayed in the place where there was administration 24h, and we were provided with a small map. The staff doesn't speak much English and the map finally was quite bad, but we really appreciated the gesture. Also we were offered a croissant to take away when we had no time to have breakfast. The area doesn't look to friendly, we knew that before we came (thanks for the comments guys), but still I think it's quite safe, at least we had no problems there. The hotel looks very old (70s maybe?), but it's obvious they try to take care of it and keep it clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Napoli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the hotel and the room we ordered was let to someone else and we were put in the staff quarters and the bed was hard and the hotel was very noisy from other guests we got no discount for the room even though it was a private room at the back of the hotel. We had to wait for over an hour for the room to be made up and the only positive feedback I can give is that the hotel reception person was friendly.

    Not much else going for it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.6
    Rough neighborhood, beware
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is in a ROUGH neighborhood. We did not feel comfortable here at all. It was VERY loud all night long, people out all night yelling and fighting. I would NOT stay here with a family. Two towels for a family of four. Sheets were on the double bed, but not the two twin beds.

    It is near the train station which was nice, because we left Naples early. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    the breakfast was good and the place was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room got no sun light and air condition-are was so poor that made it extra wet. plus, although they had other rooms they did not let us go there.

    the breakfast was good and the place was clean. plus most of the staff were super nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic city break!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower basin flooded and took ages to drain. Room wasn't very soundproof. Could hear guests enjoying their breakfast in the morning. Apart from that, no complaints.

    The croissants at breakfast were delicious. I recommend the marmalade and chocolate. The bed was very comfy. Feel free to ask for extra pillows as staff was very accommodating. Room was fully air conditioned and TV worked perfectly. Room was cleaned at our request. Despite rough looking neighbourhood, not a single person approached us or hassled us. There are plenty of shops in the area, and police were always present and visible. The hotel itself was very safe and secure. The staff are happy to direct you to any local attractions or transport routes. They seem very proud of their beautiful city. If you're up for a laugh stand on the balcony and watch the crazy Italian drivers. They definitely entertain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of the hotel is near train station, close to the center of the city, but very dirty and noisy, lot of unfriendly people near the hotel. Hotel needed renovation, all furniture, are very old.

    Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine compare to other hotels in Italy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Cheap place in a quite unsafe neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is really bad. The neighborhood felt very unsafe especially in the night. There were people walking up to you asking whether if you wanted to buy weed :D Also there were hookers all over the place in the night. Don't recommend anybody to go out alone in the night, especially not with any valuables on them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money and a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, extremely willing to help. Allowed us to check in a little earlier as the room was ready and also allowed us to store our bags whilst wandering around the next day after check out. Extremely convenient, walking distance to the station and a little bit of a longer walk to the sites however it's an easy route in to the centre. Breakfast was convenient too and enjoyable. Great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.5
    Staff friendly and helpful and room was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local area did not feel comfortable but was convenient for a 1 night stay.

    Staff friendly and helpful and room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast included in the fee was brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Good value for what was paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property was very good value. However the area was rough with lots of people outside the accommodation selling things on the streets (this is to be expected in Naples though). Would not recommend if you tend to spend a lot of time at the accommodation as is basic.

    Very close to the train station. Good breakfast. Good room. Staff friendly and allowed us to leave our bags on the last day before our flight. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.2
    ZARA DISASTER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suburb, the entrance, the smell and dirt in the staircase, the smell of the hotel floor, the "wet" feel of towels, the old, grey towels, the mildew in the shower, the doors on hotel floor you have to slam shut in order to close them, the dirty floor, dirty couches in the waiting area, no sound proof rooms and the fact that we did not get plates or any cutlery when our breakfast was served.

    It is close to the station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Budget b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never felt threatened but there are immigrants selling their wears outside the b&b. The towels were all grey coloured. The shower was blocked if the drain plug was left in

    It was near to the central station The bed was comfortable Good value for money with the breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.5
    Unhappy and completely disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place , cleanliness and the overall presentation.

    The place looked so creepy and was not able to sleep. Not at all recommended for family leisure trips.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Great place for the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like many people wrote, the bus station district doesn't feel very safe at night, there are many questionable people on the streets, though it's not the property's fault, we felt safe in the hotel.

    Convenient location, delicious italian breakfast with a variety of sweets and warm croissant. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they recommended us a great place to have an authentic Naples pizza.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    we are very thankful for your help and all tips to make our holiday the best ever in Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice central place walking distance from historical city and the Railway, spacious individual room with private bathroom. Transports possibilities were the best! Antonio and Mariano and the women at the restaurant were very friendly and helpful with all our questions about the area, tours, transfer, etc. I will recommended it!!!! Many Thanks to the people at this hotel! It was a fantastic holiday!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Helpful and kind staff.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful and kind staff. spacious , well decorated and comfortable rooms with a kitchenette. good location, Breakfast with a good selection. A unique experience of classic glory and elegance. I highly recommend it and will stay there again.”

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    Good location and that would be it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was horrible! There was no water pressure at all. No duvets, just some bottom bed sheet under old, dirty blanket. Old towels Tv in the room was a size of my phone screen The area at night feels very unsafe Staff doesn't speak English at all.

    It was super close to the main station but the district doesn't make you feel safe at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    - location in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - thin walls, we heard everything outside the room - breakfast - almost no choices what to get, only sweet options - blankets (we were not sure about the cleanness)

    - location in the city centre - friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Close to train station, super helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a room with Hotel Zara Napoli for my parents and they loved it!! They were very happy and said that hotel staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    3.8
    Choose this hotel if you are for short stay in Naples and want to stay near the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is convenient as it's walking distance from Naples railway station. But the locality is not pleasant. If you are new to Naples, like we were, at times, the locality makes you feel unsafe. Room size is very small but looking at the cost, can't complain. After dark, we found the streets had many dodgy people which made us feel uncomfortable and at times unsafe too.

    If the stay is short like just for a night then you can think of it. It's strictly a budget hotel. Don't expect too much. The receptionist was kind enough and allowed us to check in beyond the fixed times

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    This place is very central couple of steps away from main station. Preferable for short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not very nice and as you enter in to the property i feels like what the hell i have done to my self by trusting booking.com. This hotel has some floors in a plaza which they have renovated which are clean and nice . So please be prepared for shock when you enter the main entrance but it gets fine when you reach reception.

    When you are inside room it is clean and ok. Place around has lot of restaurants where for 5 euros you can have a nice food. Couple of steps from main station. If you dont book and show up at property rates are cheaper than booking online.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location and kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are quite small, there are shared bathrooms, but everything was very clean and satisfactory.

    The staff was very tentative and supportive, giving the room as soon as it was ready and caring the guests in a family atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    We had to catch a plane in the morning, so we choose the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in a very bad neighborhood. There were people hanging on the street in front of the entrance of the hotel. There were hookers on the street and people selling old stuff on blankets. We felt unsafe. The receptionist of the hotel is very kind, but he seems to have a problem with his voice, which makes him sound a bit scary (sorry!). The overal experience was not good.

    We had to catch a plane in the morning, so we choose the hotel to be close to the central station (to take the Alibus). This was handy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful stay with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location isn't the safest place in Naples, but that can't be helped, just a little hard to go out late at night.

    The hotel staff were particularly friendly and helpful :) A cozy hotel with elevator (which we appreciated very much) and breakfast was good! :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Region - all people said, that we need to be careful, keep our things safe. In this region were many cops and "unclear" people.

    The room was quote good, breakfast normal - it is good for a short time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    Room was spacious and comfortable, and clean in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had just overnight stay with my family to reach early flight back home, and we considered location near Station Garibaldi most suitable for transport to airport. As previously mentioned this location is good in means of transport options and within walking distance to city center, but we didn't feel comfortable while walking in this area, especially at night since the neighborhood around hotel and Piazza Garibaldi feels unsafe and creepy.

    Room was spacious and comfortable, and clean in general. Location is very good since it is located very close to Piazza Garibaldi which means good transport options to discover the city and area; to reach airport, city center by foot etc. Also, very friendly and helpful staff who is willing to promote the best of Napoli. Breakfast was good, although not much to choose, but satisfying considering this is a 2 star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Only a short 5 minute walk from the main station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location wasn't great and the street outside didn't feel entirely safe, however there is little the hotel could do about this. The actual building itself was safe and secure.

    Only a short 5 minute walk from the main station. The man at the reception was helpful and advised us on how to spend our time in Naples. The room was very clean and a good size. Good breakfast options - selection of croissants, juices, tea and coffee etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Perfectly Adequate Excellently Situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You get what you pay for and the Hotel Zara is no exception. It's not flash and it's not fancy but as a stop-over after a flight and before travel it was perfectly adequate and the breakfast, though limited, was filling enough. It was excellently placed for a morning stroll to the central train station (which was why I booked it) but that area of Naples can be a bit rough and ready of an evening so have your wits about you; which, to be honest, you should do wherever you are...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Very poor breakfast - only croissants, coffee, cereals and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast - only croissants, coffee, cereals and cake. Location near the train station, not the best. We don't feel safe walking in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Overnight stay Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little updating. Outside area of balcony full of cigarette butts wouldn't take much to tidy it up..

    Location . Friendly staff . Spacious room.Clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location if you need to take a train or want to go into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with anywhere in the world close to a central station it's very busy,with a few undesirable characters hanging about,and you do need to keep your wits about you.But personally I didn't encounter any problems.

    Good location if you need to take a train or want to go into the historic center.Friendly staff and rooms as you would expect for the budget.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to transport although after dark the street becomes abit dodgy.

    Amazing staff and cosy room. Great breakfast and very fast internet. Very close to transport making it easy to have day trips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.6
    The hotel is located next to the train station.
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told that our room is not available at the check-in even if the hotel had charged the money from the credit card before our arrival. They offered us a smaller room without a window with only 5€ discount.

    The hotel is located next to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is the area it is located in....its only a 5min walk from the train station however the street outside was full of gangs of unsavoury looking characters loittering around smoking and drinking which was quite intimidating...there were lots of police and soldiers around to give more reassurence, plus there were 3 doors to the hotel before you reached your room and all were buzzer controlled which gave a sense of safety.

    Lovely hotel and staff, clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was far the best we have had on this trip with a good variety and great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    Ok value for money, but worn down. Thiefs lurking outside hotel entrance, be careful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone attempted to steal my brothers wallet out of his pocket literally just in front of the hotel entrance while waiting for the gate to open. Apparently quite normal. The thief didn't seem violent, but keep an eye on your belongings at all times.

    Quite close to old city, walkable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.0
    Basic hotel near the train and bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is located in a street where there are a lot sketchy people selling and just standing around. It made us not want to stay out late and explore Naples. Just to be clear, nothing happened to us but in the afternoon there are groups of scary looking guys Laying out things to sell on the street and hanging around at the ground floor of the building and was scared to walk home late. While Zara Hotel is not responsible for the city / the street, if you decide to stay in the hotel, it will be part of your experience as you leave and come back from the hotel.

    The place was near the train and bus station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.0
    The room was clean althought the second bed was not stable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am sorry to say that but the man at the reception has a voice problem and it was impossible to understand him. He is friendly but it is too hard to understand him. As a tourist, english and italian are not my main languages and all that makes it complicated. I also understand that this is not the hotel's fault, but it is the most scary neighbordhood that I've ever been in my whole life.

    The room was clean althought the second bed was not stable at all. They put a bucket under the bed to make it more stable but I almost felt between the wall and the bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Cheap, don't expect much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and toilets were gross. The hotel is on the second floor, there's a lift which you have to pay to use but it didn't work (after we'd paid of course). The neighbourhood around the station is as any neighbourhood around a train station... not quiet, not very safe but it's okay if you arrive late in the city.

    Very close to the station and friendly staff. Very cheap. There is air conditionning which is vital.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location, great staff :)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is not so clean.

    The location is really nice. Also their staff are reallly nice and kind! You can enjoy breakfast for free, it's nice also. And wifi connection is best of all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.0
    The area is really unsecure, full of afro americans who were...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is really unsecure, full of afro americans who were selling second hand things on the street, right in front of the entrance. in the evening i witness a fight between them, throwing with bottles and other things, involving even locals. no police car came to end the conflict, only the ambulance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Few things to be improved there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one shower and toilet in only one bathroom for approximately 10 people. There was only cold water. One could not stand under shower because the water falls down close to the wall. There is an unexpected step in the room.

    They let me check in already at 8:30. Internet connection was alright. Air condition worked well. Room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.3
    Okay for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were pretty run down (I didn't expect anything fancy at all, but some things really need to be done, e.g. the toilet woke the whole hallway up when it was flushed as it made the loudest noise when refilling, some lights didn't work, towels were super old, etc), and it was extremely loud - not because of noise on the street, but because every door was naturally slamming (they all got stuck) and so people woke eachother up when returning to the room. The staff was also very loud early in the morning (shouting in the corridor at 7am). The area it is located in is very dodgy but I expected that close to Napoli cenrale, so that's not the hotel's fault of course, but I wouldn't recommend it for single female travellers

    Close to the central station, aircon worked fine, a small breakfast was included, rooms clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Property is old but clean and reasonably comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood was a bit scetchy and noisy at night so we chose not to be out after dark in the area although given it is summer the days are longer anyway.

    Property is old but clean and reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.4
    5 minutes to central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad,dirty and unsafety neighborhood.and that make the ugly picture of neples.

    5 minutes to central station.Breakfast was ok.coffee, croisant, cornflakes, milk, cake, bred,butter,marmelade.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.4
    Do not stay near the station
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood full of i "Illegal salespeople" (in the lack of a better description) who will take over the streets and sidewalks. They intimidate you. A large group of these people stay right in front of the hotel door. I thought I was going to be robbed... I felt really unsafe.... From my room, I heard noises of street fights, bottles being broken. Not a good experience... Ugly and poor part of town. Besides this, the room needs renovation, the bathroom mainly. Poor breakfast with croissant and industrial cakes and industrial juices. No fruits.

    Close to the station but in Napoli this is not a good thing; polite and helpful employees

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    Cheap and intimidating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scarey entrance - big steel door on the street - groups of loiterers compromised the access. Staff didn't offer to assist with getting our luggage up the stairs. Room not ready so we had to leave our bags, unsecured, in the lounge while we wandered around for a couple of hours. On our return the loiterers were still gathered around the entrance, We were too intimidated to leave the building to go for dinner so ate snacks in our room. The shower didn't drain properly - water was ankle deep and took a few minutes to drain. The walls were paper thin - the couple in the room next doorwoke us up with their "activities" at 2.30 in the morning.

    Location. Price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    The staffs were really friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location seems slightly dodgy at night, but it's very close to the main train station.

    The staffs were really friendly! Room was big and spacious; air-con was great for summer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Really good hotel for a cheap happy stay in Naples!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was really good. Staff very friendly and helpful - gave us lots of detail about the area and what's best to see in Naples. Fully functioning air conditioning. Nice little hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.6
    Very basic in a not very nice neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of people that loiter on the street right outside that make it feel not very safe. The breakfast was very basic - just a croissant, crackers and cereal with no bowls.

    It was nice and close to the central train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.7
    Being in the city center has its pros and cons, it's okay for 1-2 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being in the central of Naples has its disadvantages, the street is very noisy which can be disturbing even though the windows block it well. We didn't really feel ourselves safe in that environs. There was a shared bathroom (clean) but the waterjet was not strong enough (neither warm enough) to have a proper shower.

    The hotel is situated very close to the Central train station of Naples, you can easily travel from here to other cities and discover Naples of course. The breakfast was pretty good, the bed was comfortable and there was an air conditioner in our room - the usage is free of charge and was a real life saver! Nice staff too, speaking English at the reception (it's not that evident in that area).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is close to the Historic Center and the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street that the hotel is located on. We were two girls in our twenties and we did not feel safe walking back to the hotel.

    The hotel is close to the Historic Center and the train station. Breakfast is okay... nothing exceptionnal but it does the job.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.3
    Not for Tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just out side the hotel on the payments people selling stolen goods. Groups of them together. Was scaring to go out in the evening. Each time you use the lift you had to pay for the ride. Stairs to the 2nd floor up was quite steep. Environment doen't suite for tourist. Scarry! Deprives you going out in the evening.

    Stayed too short to comment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    3.3
    Pathetic experience, must avoid this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing about this hotel is good. Its near to the shady neighbourhood. One guy tried to snatch my mobile phone. The hotel has a 1940s lift for which you have to pay to use. The staff is very uncooperative. Room do not have a water bottle, glasses or an electric kettle. Reception person gets annoyed if you ask for warm water. For breakfast, they give you a croissant and a boring coffee. Do avoid this hotel and the area

    it was close to the central train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    Close to the Naples main station and easy to reach from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't fancy the neighborhood - too busy and dirty - didn't feel safe after dark there. Luckily felt safe at the hotel!

    Close to the Naples main station and easy to reach from the airport. Breakfast was enought and ok too, but the cappuccino was weak.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.7
    The staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty and noisy environment. Stuffy room. No noise insulation, could hear every movement in the corridor around the reception area.

    The staff was friendly. Easy access to the railway station. Not too far from the historical centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Zara Napoli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: