Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of I Giardini Dei Sensi

Via Arienzo 13/A, 84017 Positano, Italy

#15 of 55 Holiday rentals in Positano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was NOTHING we didn't like!

    Such a perfect spot, just outside the energy of Positano. The staff - Daniel, Aldrich, Anna and Christine looked after every need and anticipated our wishes!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great to have dinner on site with that fantastic view and the stairs could be challenging for some guests, but it didn’t change our views of the place, we loved it here.

    The view is absolutely stunning from every part of this hotel and you must make the effort to go down the stairs to the beach, we had great days relaxing and eating at the family ran bar. The staff were great the breakfast was fantastic and the rooms were beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re in the room farthest from the Reception as we were, the wifi isn’t great though Dominico did his best to sort this out for us.

    Beautiful property, we were warmly welcomed and looked after by Dominico and his team, they provided us tips on where to eat, park for free, did their best to sort out wifi when it was a bit temperamental. The views were absolutely gorgeous (but be ready to climb a lot of steps!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. For the price paid everything was awful. The bathroom was shared with other people. Not hot water. The hotel closes at 9pm and later it is very difficult to get in since you do not have a key. In the description they say that it is located 10mn walking from Positano (it is not true, it is almost 35mn, there is no street and very dangerous since there are plenty of cars). The breakfast was one coffe and one toast. Sincerelly, any other other in the city center, with a lower price is better, Do not trust the other comments made in booking, there are no real as they are written by them (making auto reservations).

    Nothing. For the price paid everything was awful. The bathroom was shared with other people. Not hot water. The hotel closes at 9pm and later it is very difficult to get in since you do not have a key. In the description they say that it is located 10mn walking from Positano (it is not true, it is almost 35mn, there is no street and very dangerous since there are plenty of cars). The breakfast was one coffe and one toast. Sincerelly, any other other in the city center, with a lower price is better, Do not trust the other comments made in booking, there are no real as they are written by them (making auto reservations).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Staff! Incredibly friendly staff that helps you feel at home in the place and provides you with personal service, and tips for your stay. - Amazing views from the terrace & the pool area. Very nice garden that tinkles your senses :) - Big, luxurious rooms. - Delicious breakfast with home-made local specialities - Location-wise: bus to Positano is stopping around the corner. Next to that hotel has arrangements with different restaurant providing pick-up and drop-off when you travel to a restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredible, along with the views from our room. Everything about the whole experience was first class. Would highly recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dominic, Ana and Azhani were amazing!!! The hotel was beautiful and everyone was so welcoming and the hospitality was AMAZING! They were the reason our whole trip was so wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like the piped-in music (although it was not loud). Very long climb to the property made going out to eat difficult at times...over 100 steps. Loud road noise at mid-day...those vespas are noisy!

    The garden setting was magical, the views divine, the staff attentive, the breakfasts lavish! We had a lovely concierge who arranged reservations and had restaurants pick us up and drop us off. Appetizers were brought to our room at four each day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure, especially hot water wasn't great. The location of our room was in the path of every person who visited - making our room the only one not as private as the rest. Not sure I knew what I was getting into when I booked this hotel. There was a huge amount of stairs to climb in order to get to the hotel. Would not be possible for anyone who is not able to do a large amount of stairs. Kind of hard to find as well.

    Breakfast was excellent, the service was outstanding, large rooms, really, really good pillows, and oh the view was amazing. Drinks were presented on arrival. Apertifs every night. Every person at this resort bent over backwards to make our stay pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are wonderful and for aperitivo they bring you some delicious homemade bites. This goes very well together with the excellent aperol spritz they serve. For dinner time they can recommend some very nice restaurants who send a driver to come and pick you up at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortunately it was responsive inbetween the rooms and it was a Little hard with all the stairs. So for elderly people I wouldn´t recomend.

    The location and facitily were beautiful and superb. Small place with few guests was very relaxing. Pool area and terrass also very very nice. The view is priceless. Pick up services to some restaurangs was also great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A short 5-10min walk from Positano (and therefore nice and quiet) along the cliff-hugging road was this gorgeous hotel on a hill overlooking a beach, with a stunning view back to Positano. When I arrived I was greeted with a glass of prosecco, and a view from my room that just made me laugh because it was hilariously stunning. The room was gorgeously designed, with lovely pictures of flowers, the bare brickwork, and a big telly. But why watch telly, when you can sit on your terrace under the olive tree and beside the lemons, and just look at the sea? Extensive minibar with bottles of wine and champagne, great breakfast, and lovely restaurants in walking distance. Staff were all very lovely, and great to just have a chat to, as well as recommending walks and things to see. Based on a recommendation I hiked the Path of the Gods, which you can connect to from the gate nearest the swimming pool, and its incredible so definitely do that! Just be aware its about 9-10km uphill all the way to Bomerano. There's a bus stop nearby and you can very easily connect to any of the towns along the Amalfi Coast for EUR2 per journey, and if you're coming by bus from Sorrento or Amalfi etc. then you can jump off super close to the hotel (100 metres or so) to save you bringing the luggage from Positano's main stop. I loved everything about this place, and was honestly sorry to leave. If I come back to Positano, I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought some of the fixtures were ready for replacement. In particular, the shower head holder was cracked and so the head would occasionally fall (in one case the shower head fell and cracked the hose and we needed to get the hose replaced mid-shower). I know this style is common in Europe but we much prefer overhead or rain-style showers. We found the bed and pillows to be stiff for our taste and somewhat uncomfortable.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful - by far the friendliest and sweetest people we met on our trip. Breakfasts were filling and delicious, and the views from the property were amazing. We really appreciated the flip flops and toiletries in the room. When we checked in we were greeted with sparkling wine and cake; it was a very sweet gesture.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn’t stay longer than a week !

    It’s a little taste of paradise! Set in a wonderful location with views to die for ! We found it such a relaxing experience ! The staff....every single one of them can’t do enough for you ! Anna & Domenico make the place ! The breakfasts are superb & Anna is an accomplished cook ! We only wish they did evening meals as I’m sure they would be amazing ! I believe they have plans to do so in the future. We went out for Mother’s Day & my big birthday & they made it a very special experience ! All the rooms are beautifully decorated & spotless ! Yes there are lots of steps but this is typical of the region ! It you get chance do the Path of the Gods trail from the accommodation. An utterly fabulous experience we can’t recommend enough !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water when we ran a bath wasn't very hot. The sign to identify the hotel wasn't very clear from the road and parking is a bit of a nightmare.

    The staff were so accommodating really couldn't do enough for you. So friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Credit card payment which took many many tries to get through when we left!

    A little peace of heaven this place is. Beautiful surroundings, lovely staff and a very special type of design room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We came off-season, beginning of March, it was cold, and the heating wasn't working, just the A/C. Sleeping with warm air blowing at your head is not something you can bear with, throughout the 4 nights we stayed there. We have asked the staff each day to start/fix the heating, but they didn't handle the problem, and didn't seem to bother much to solve it. Also, in this 4 nights the sheets weren't changed in last days, although it was quite necessary to do so. Except that the stay was great, but the attitude of the staff and the cold killed the experience which this place is offering.

    Amazing location and view, perfectly designed rooms, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything really was perfect

    The staff were so friendly, helpful & accommodating. The location is fabulous. The view from your room is just spectacular. The breakfast had a great variety & plenty of It. Rooms were cleaned daily & linen changed daily also. Nice & peaceful but within walking distance to the town. The bus stop right at the doorstep is ideal :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect view, very good breakfast, cozy bed, very romantic, nice swimming pool, its a gem in Positano cliffs. The big stair was an adventure (so not suitable for people with disabilities), but thats why you have a fantastic view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bar or evening meals would be a great addition although still a fabulous place to stay without these. Fridge in room means you can buy snacks to eat in room.

    Just home from 5 excellent nights here. All the staff are extremely friendly and make you feel so at home. We could not have asked for better service. Rooms are spotlessly clean and views are absolutely stunning. Small enough to allow personal service and peaceful retreat. Close enough to Positano that a 10 minute walk and you are in the town with all the restaurants and shops. Breakfast excellent. Pool looked very nice but weather when we stayed meant we did not use this facility. Sun decks are great. As with most of the Positano area you need to navigate lots of stairs to reach the property but views when you reach the top are world class. They have a handy little lift for luggage where necessary. Thank you Anna, Dom, Marco, Luigi and the lovely housekeeping lady for looking after us. Perfecto!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t happy paying for some aspects of additional breakfast. All breakfast options should be included in the price as €6 for scrambled eggs isn’t going to dent the owners profits at this high nightly rate.

    Amazingly helpful staff, insane views, peaceful vibes and a nice 10-15min stroll into Positano.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower was very tempremental. I miss-took the term "balcony" for private terrace, it is essentially a window but the terrace up top was perfect anyway.

    We had a huge room - Junior Suite. Loved our hosts, the breaky, the view, the location. Service left us wanting for nothing. Small number of guests makes you feel like it's all yours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The atmosphere and interior deigns of rooms were excellent. We liked that it was a smaller boutique hotel and very much recieved wonderful service from the staff .the gardens and surroundings were charming and the fact that the hotel was slightly out of the main centre was well worth it as Positano centre is rather noisy. A beautiful beach below with beach club and great advice from staff of where to eat. We loved our stay and would highly recommend the experience to everyone. The caring staff were the highlight. Right down to Luigi the Gardner. Donna and John. New Zealand

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Very very friendly., clean , comfortable and excellent breakfast 2. Secluded yet not far from town 3. Not suitable for elderly or handicapped as they cannot climb 4. A simple dinner/snack service would be excellent 5. Ordering a taxi should be informed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have loved a full length mirror in the room, but otherwise everything was amazing!

    The staff were so friendly and helpful, the views were amazing, the room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was so delicious---thank you for an amazing stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The climb up to the resort. Was fine for most of my family members but my mother had issues going up and down. It's not central but the morning view for me makes up for the climb up.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was way too steep and all the steps took away from out time ther. They only had breakfast and the steps and walk into town was way too hard to do more than once a day. Too far away from town centre.

    Staff and resort were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    we loved everything !

    from the moment we went up the steps and saw the view we knew we were in heaven! This place is incredible . Anna Dom, Sal ,luigi, and all the staff are truly what make this place so great! The grounds are so beautiful and the view from everywhere is stunning! The breakfast was delicious and the presentation was impeccable . There is nothing that Sal, Anna or Dom wouldn't do for us. anna arranged for a cake for my husbands birthday and it was her day off! It truly was a magical vacation!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We were told the hotel was up 'a flight of stairs'. This turned out to be over 150 steps with inclines between the different flights. We were told it had a kitchenette in the room - no! We were told it was a 15 minute walk from the centre of Positano - along a very busy, narrow, winding road you'd be lucky! We were told it was a three minute walk from the beach - with 150 steps down (and that was only half way) it might be 3 minutes down for a fell runner but up .... ? Not good information about the property.

    Breakfast on the terrace offered a wonderful views to go with the excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The Giardini dei Sensi is a pretty magic place. The view across Positano bay and across the mediterranean sea is unbeatable - from the rooms as well as the sitting area in front of the rooms and the pool and the breakfast area. Breakfast is nicely prepared and presented, the quality is great. The style of the property is modern and very relaxed. The nice and relaxed atmosphere invites guests to just stay at the property to enjoy the beauty of the scenery, possibly with a nice cold drink. The team is great, knowledgeable and very professional. The folks who took care of us booked taxis, recommended walks and restaurants, booked tables, etc - all of which have worked out very nicely. Close to the property and in walking distance down the stairs is a little private beach (Arienzo beach) which we preferred over Positano beach as it was smaller and less crowded. Booking a sunbed and a table for lunch, again with the help of the staff from the Giardini, was easy and straightforward. The quality of the water at the beach and of the amenities was excellent. As everywhere in that area, a good view comes with a couple of stairs, but bringing up our luggage was not a problem since the hotel provides a small lift and helping hands to get the heavier stuff up and down again). The whole coastal area is not great for parking, bit that's not specific for this accommodation (streets are narrow and there are no big parking lots - which is actually rather a blessing). We rarely go back to a place twice since there is still so much to see - This is one of the few for which we would break that "rule".

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately Domenico and Anna were unable to stop working for long enough to join us for some wine by the beautiful pool. Otherwise we liked everything.

    Domenico and Anna made us feel very welcome. Felt like we were best friends by the time we left. Hopefully they get to Adelaide Australia soon so we can return the hospitality. Highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The relaxed atmosphere, the views, the owner / staff, the knowledge from said staff, the location (if you don't mind a 15 minute walk). the private beach (again a bit of a descent but well worth it).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were picked up from Naples by a driver organised by the hotel, as soon as we arrived we were warmly greeted and our luggage was taken up by a cable so we didn't need to take it up the stairs with us. We were given a welcome drink and cake in the most beautiful garden overlooking positano. The staff here are incredible, made us feel right at home and would be happy to help us with anything from organizing drivers, booking restaurants, laundry, even a torch to walk home with from the restaurants! We had a special spot for Anna:) The pool was gorgeous, comfy lounges and the most beautiful view of positano. It was so nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of positano. Beautiful breakfast each morning on the patio overlooking positano. Like I said before the staff made our stay extra special and we would defiantly come back to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very friendly however they could have provided more proactive 'tourist tips' on the vicinity. e.g., beaches, restaurants, buses, shuttles, day trips, etc.

    The view was spectacular. The room was large and had a great outdoor private patio space.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and showed amazing hospitality. Very classy well done . I would recommend this place to everyone beautiful the property is extremely nice and relaxing but the people who work there make it incredible! Anna is the sweetest and kindest person we met during our travels. We hope to run into her again .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 125 stairs to climb to get to the property which gets easier the more you do it but not for the unfit. There is parking at €30 a night or you can park on the street, which we did but our car got stuck as people park too close to each other. The swimming pool isn't heated either.

    Dominique and his team are such great hosts, they accommodated all our needs and was on hand whenever we needed. The breakfasts are v tasty each morning. The rooms and views are amazing and the bed and pillows are v comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Incredibly nice location. more than helpful and heartly staff. a beautiful house with a wonderful garden overlooknig positano. breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was very frech and tasty. The view are stunning. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. There are a lot of steps to get up to the villa, but that you have to expect in Positano. Wouldn´t recommend to bring the car since there are very few parking lots i Positano. But if you have to I suggest you make a reservation in advance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property should highlight that there are a great deal of stairs to arrive at the accommodation. It is also a 20 minute up hill walk from positano and a difficult 40minute walk from the port. They did not offer any transfer service despite there being no bus and an expensive €20 5 minute taxi ride from positano Centre.

    Lovely view. I would recommend this place if you want some down time just enjoying your room and the pool (only open in summer).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit old maybe but it is authentic and this is what we needed.

    The location is incredible, great view, the staff is very nice and the breakfast was wonderful. We loved this place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    The staff were very helpful. We enjoyed sitrying outside with a bottle wine. I would recommend a fire pit or fireplace that would really be nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - steps: getting in and out of the property requires walking up and down the steps for a couple of minutes. Not difficult at all but would not recommend if you don't like walking - pool & sauna not open all year (only in summer - May onwards) - no room service but staff very helpful in ordering food or recommending places to dine - no shops nearby - although this is part of the attraction to get away from hustle/bustle and getting to the centre is only a 20 minute walk or 5 min bus ride.

    Old and sophisticated with excellent views from the property, hospitable staff, relatively close to Positano centre, and good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous view! Close to town. Beautiful grounds. Clean and spacious rooms. Amazing breakfast. Valentina was so very helpful. We can't say enough good things about this place! We can't wait to come back!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really doesn't need to be 'better'... it's totally perfect the way it is... it's not trying to be a posh hotel, it's a really great place to chill out!

    A really nice vibe, cool people running it, charming, rustic, stunning views... a way to enjoy life exactly as it should be in Positano!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a fair distance out of town and it was a bit of a nightmare getting there. We found the best way was to grab a taxi. There was no sign to show where it was so the driver had to ring Giardini del Sensei staff to get some instructions about where to drop us off. 136 steps to get up to the property which was fine for us but definitely not for anyone who is unfit.

    Giardini del Sensei is a lovely place although a little tired. The new owners have only recently taken over and are in the process of making over this B&B/boutique hotel. The views from the top terrace are stunning and its a great place to have a glass of wine and an antipasto platter, especially at sunset. The breakfasts were of a continental style and more than satisfactory. The staff were great and extremely helpful. A bonus was the small cable car that they haven to take the luggage up to the property. We had a great find after taking the walking track up the hill. A tiny little farmhouse/B&B that also doubled as somewhere that you could have a glass of wine/beer and some very good, rustic Italian food. Menu was limited but cooked by Mama using only produce from their gardens. All this with views over Positano.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They forgot to tell us on arrival that they offered food and drink services which we would have used more if we had known

    The quiet beautiful location and the unobtrusive staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great out of the way location. Be prepared for a few steps but that's Positano. The staff is fantastic and very helpful. This is one of the best places to be at sunset without question. We will return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    were not prepared for the climb to the hotel, but once we managed the climb, we were thrilled with the setting and the unique aspects of the setting.

    Beautiful setting. Very attentive staff. Rooms were very comfortable. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we did not like, but guests should be aware there are about 130 steps up from the road to the Residence, therefore it may not suitable for those who may be mobility impaired in some way.

    This recently converted residence is located in a stunning position, with magnificent views along the Amalfi coast. The grounds were perfect for relaxing in beautiful and peaceful surroundings, either during the day soaking up the views, or in the early evening watching the sun go down with a glass of Prosecco, before venturing into Positano for the evening. The buffet breakfasts served on the terrace each morning were simple but excellent, enhanced by individually prepared coffees. All the staff were friendly and made every effort to ensure our stay was as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Particular mention and thanks go to Valentina, who was incredibly attentive to any requests we had and went out of her way to arrange bookings for boat hire and restaurants. Her recommendations and helpfulness, ensured we had a truly memorable few days on this, our first visit to Positano.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs from the road up to the hotel are a little challenging and I would suggest that that issue should be vary visibly stated on their booking site. We had a kitchen but no cooking or eating equipment. It would have been good to be able to cook for yourself.

    Lovely helpful staff. Beautiful private location. Great breakfasts. Lovely gardens and outlook.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were not as plush as I had expected given the price but as I say the grounds are gorgeous. Be aware there are quite a few stairs up to your accommodation (approx 60) (which wasn't an issue for us) - think of it as your exercise for the day unless you have bad knees or hips! Note: you do not have to carry your luggage up the stairs.

    The staff were amazing. Went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. They also recommended great restaurants. The continental breakfast was superb best we had on our two weeks of travel. Location and grounds are gorgeous - a 10 minute walk into Positano.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. For the location a little extra effort is required but this is not a problem.

    The view is outstanding - photos do not do it justice! The location is perfect - a walkable distance out of the touristy part of Positano. The closer beach Arienzo is absolutely perfect! Service was impeccable. I would not hesitate to stay here again next time!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little walk from the town centre (about 15 mins) and if you don't like stairs this may not be for you - but then the whole of of Positano probably isn't for you!! There are steps everywhere!

    Amazing location perched on the side of the hill looking back towards Positano. This old villa has been converted into a stylish small hotel that only sleeps 10-12 people. Valentina and her small crew looked after us amazingly well, all her recommendations for dinner and things to do were excellent. The outside areas are really gorgeous and plentiful and you feel like you have the place to yourselves most of the time. Make sure you have a Prosecco on the solarium deck at sunset. Perfection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walk to town had to be done carefully because of the traffic and the road. Loading and unloading our car on the narrow road was difficult because of the road, but we were assisted by the staff.

    I liked the accommodations, breakfast, the terraces, the views and the staff. It was a pleasure to relax and enjoy the place. If you can take the climb it is a wonderful place to stay, unique, relaxing and a good value. We are both over 70 and climbing up the stairs was a challenge when we arrived exhausted from our trip. It got easier as we recovered and became good exercise after all the great food we had.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Giardini is not a hotel, but a villa with 5 rooms and a big terrace, without standard hotel services. On the day of our arrival, we called three times during the morning to arrange a transfer to the hotel at 1 pm. The staff promised to arrange taxi upon my arrival. After one hour waiting and several calls to the hotel, my friends decided to stay somewhere else and I walked up the steep serpentine street to the Giardini with the suitcase. As I was upset on the incometence of the staff, they offered me a welcome drink to calm me down- At the end of my stay they charged the "welcome drink" and I had to pay for it. There was no empathy or understanding for the situation. Unfonrtunately only ignorance. The place is outside of Positano and 30 minutes walk from the village. The reviews indicating 10-20 minutes cannot be true, unless you run or jog. You can only walk on the dangerous serpentine street where all buses, cars and motorcycles drive towards Amalfi. In the night it is dangerous to walk, no lights, no sidewalks and dangerous traffic. Arriving at the property, you have to climb again 200 steps to arrive at the property itself. There is no public transport going there and catching a taxi in Positano is a simple piece of luck as we experienced on the first day. If you catch a taxi, it costs 15-20 Euros to the property. We had ordered a studio with terrace view, fire place and kitchenette and got a junior suite with no terrace and no sea view, stating that this was an upgrade (junior suite). The bath was as large as the room itself, but no other special effects. The lift for the goods was infront of the window and was very loud, starting operations at 6 in the morning. Impossible to continue sleeping. The place is not a good value for money and the ignorance of the staff was very disappointing on the top. You should only book it, if you don't plan to leave the hotel and just want to sit on the terrace and watch the sea.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the coast.

    First of, the staff were beyond amazing and were completely hospitable and welcoming especially Valentina! The view of the whole Positano town was breathtaking! The property was charming and the owners did a great job turning it into a hotel. A definite must.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only way to reach the hotel was to walk up 149 steps. But in their defense, you had to walk up steps or a steep incline everywhere you went. Was just a bit of a surprise when you 1st arrive.

    The staff was very helpful and the view was outstanding. The room was clean and comfortable, and the complementary breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the terrace and garden is exceptional, the staff are extremely polite, helpful and went out of their way to be helpful. The location is fantastic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative is they don't have a cook, so nothing hot for breakfast, but it was still extremely delicious with local pastries and fantastic coffee overlooking the best view in the world.

    Most exquisite location and hotel in all of Positano with a view to die for. Marble floor room and gigantic bathroom (we were in the room in the main house). We felt like royalty.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An information pack in the rooms with all the basics would have been helpful.

    Wonderful views of Positano from our room and the villa's manicured gardens and pool. Quiet and private, lots of space, child-free. Attentive, not intrusive staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Junior suite is such and elegant, beautiful room with loads of character - we were so overjoyed when we arrived. Lovely furniture and antiques, a totally unique place to stay. (and the bathroom was huge!!! - and had lovely towelrails!) The breakfast is delicious - piles of homemade cakes and pastries and fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juice. and in a shady spot with sea views. location is great - 10 minutes gentle walk from Positano - with stunning views back to the town and out to sea. Gardens are well kept and have character to match the house and rooms. Lush, exotic, beautiful. ...and as a total surprise a small pool which catches the afternoon and evening sun and is perfect for watching sunset over Positano. This place is perfection.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved everything about our stay at Giardini Dei Sensi. The room was lovely and the bed was incredibly comfy. The staff were very helpful with booking transfers, bus tickets and dinner reservations. This is hands down one of the best hotel experiences I have had! The location was perfect a short 10-15 min stroll into the town but private and secluded. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Positano you will not be disappointed!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not located in the center of town which makes it extremely difficult to get around. You have to walk on foot 10-15 minutes on a dangerous road to get to town. They need a shuttle van and service immediately!

    The staff tried hard.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 15 minutes walk along road (traffic, no sidewalk or shoulder) to Positano, taxis are expensive. Pool wasn't open yet.

    Beautiful hotel. Newly opened. Has a direct entrance into the Path of the Gods. You can walk down to a nice public beach in 3 minutes. Breathtaking views of Positano. Staff are incredibly kind

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi only available in certain areas

    Super friendly and helpful staff, absolutely out of this world location, very comfortable accommodation, within walking distance of Positano, majestic view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have stayed longer 😁❤️

    Marco, Carmen, Morgana, Dennis and Gino were the perfect hosts! Everything was thought of - delicious complimentary homemade cake on arrival, ultra-comfortable studio-style rooms, newly refurbished pool, delicious-but-inexpensive wine served throughout the day. And the view! Literally heavenly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only stayed for 4 nights, wish we had booked for 7

    An amazing place to stay, the staff were so helpful and friendly, the breakfast was the best, fresh and cooked daily by the chef. The view was breathtaking, our room was a good size with plenty of storage, a very comfortable bed and a large on suite. It was the perfect place to unwind, quite and peaceful, it was only a 10 min walk into the center of Positano with lots of choice for restaurants and shops. There is a great little beach (Arienzo) with a lot less people just out front, it is well worth all the stairs to get there. Thanks to all the Staff for a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all

    Domenico and Anna our hosts were welcoming, helpful and always ready to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    genuinely stunning location and hotel, staff were lovely and very helpful. would return in a heartbeat

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult.

    The Home-made cake was delicious. And the view from the terrace is magical

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing - The room was beautiful, with an incredible view of positano and the town! Such a slice of heaven in the hills

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Anna and her stuff is fantastic and very accommodating. very nice people. The location is breathtaking, magnificent views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was amazing and the room was very spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking difficult but can be arranged

    Brilliant view,fantastic host

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool with view, excellent breakfast, super friendly staff, comfortable beds, terriffic view

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: