Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of I Portici Hotel Bologna 4 stars

Via Indipendenza 69, 40121 Bologna, Italy

#10 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3116 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only concern I had was that the door to my room did not seem very secure - looked like it had been wedged open in the past.

    Small room, clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff and fantastic location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff leaning on private cars parked at the properties private parking. This should not happen in a 4 star hotel.

    Great location, comfy beds and friendly staff. Not much else you can ask for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud rooms. We were next to a left, but also on one of the ground floors and it was extremely loud due to people across the road in a park, a band playing, and also noise from the terrace. Both nights we got to sleep around 1am. Also mosquitoes in our room.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was that the room door did not lock and despite asking for it to be attended to , it remained unlocked for our three day stay. Happily the safe worked fine.

    Lovely tall cool room with excellent view over park. Nicely appointed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service from staff. They had agreed to arrange collection from airport - there was no car when we arrived (at midnight). When we finally arrived at the hotel (under our own steam) staff were very unhelpful and ignored our problem / complaint.

    Proximity to town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is too expensive for only one value. Rooms are average and every item in the room has to be paid extra. Hotel is not worth the money, it corresponds to a 3* hotel not 4* Receptionist dind't advise about check out time or breakfast times and didn't give any other standard information. Would suggest more staff training. You can find better facilities on the same mane street. I would not suggest this Hotel to anyone.

    Only positive value is the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooftop garden waiter did not understand our order. we ordered dessert but had to leave after very long wait. didn't bother us at the time as we had been overeating anyway.

    modern and plenty of room rooftop restaurant very pleasant location very close to train station suited us perfectly easy walk to eateries and sites of interest reception staff very courteous and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival the staff tried to upsell us by claiming we had only booked two single rooms. We proved the booking of two double rooms, so they claimed we had indeed booked double rooms but only for one person each. After proving again that this was wrong, they agreed to provide the promised rooms without additional fees. The provided rooms were very small and not very comfortable for the price. On the second night, the hotel organised a ball across our room which was very noisy well beyond midnight and made it very difficult to get a good night of sleep. For the first breakfast they were unable to provide a table for four people, the second day we were invited to seat at a very dirty table. The breakfast buffet is very small and mediocre, especially considering it's billed seperately. The list goes on. Not having a table for four on the terrassa because it meant they had to reorganise, disgusting smell in the lifts, expensive parking, etc. In short; I would never visit I Portici again.

    Wonderful location. Five minute walk from the Piazza.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great property, staff needs training, front desk - no effort to find cell charger, bartender - no hello, slow service, unfriendly, waiter - unfriedly, grumpy, breakfast cook - slices raw meat with bare hands, frequently missing from egg station.

    Facility, architecture, rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First visit to Bologna . Disappoint with staff at hotel particularly front desk . .Booked To stay at this small luxury four star hotel for three days to do some sight seeing and enjoy the food . During this time staff never asked if we were penjoying our stay nor greeted us on return in the evening . Personal attention is missing .

    Losation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern nice hotel with very comfortable room. Minimal toiletries given but option to buy them in the room. ( shampoo, lotion etc). Location was great and walking distance to the shops and nice restaurants around. Helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite hard but understand that this is the case in most hotels. We are use to a super soft bed so it was a little hard adjusting, but it did not stop us from enjoying everything that Bologna had to offer.

    Perfect location, friendly helpful staff. This hotel provided everything that we needed for our 3 night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were rock hard. I had to buy a pillow to sleep on. The walls were paper thin, and the rooms very noisy. The staff were unfriendly.

    The common areas and restaurant were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in room 105. There was a lot of noise from the street and the windows didn't have very good sound proofing which made it difficult to sleep. The hotel is on the main street between the city and the train station so there was a lot of noisy foot traffic into the early hours of the morning. Unhelpfully, the beds were not very comfortable either.

    The staff were very helpful although not overly friendly. We loved the terrace bistro for dinner (especially the new pizza oven). The hotel is in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Nice room with high ceiling and lots of light. We were given an upgrade and the room was superb. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have to update the wifi! It doesn't work well at all, and I hate wifi that you have to keep logging back into. The shower is super small, but that wouldn't be so bad if it had a better shower head with better water pressure. The tiny door doesn't close all the way so inevitably the floor gets wet.

    We liked the location of the hotel. It was walking distance to everything we wanted to see, and very close to the express bus stop from the airport. The staff members are very friendly. The room was quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were rock hard. I had to buy a pillow. Rooms had paper thin walls. The staff were not friendly.

    The common areas and restaurants were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn’t the friendlyest I met, but nothing rude. I just didn’t feel very welcome there. The acces to the second floor terace was a quest, they should give you a free drink just for finding it. Also, the light in the room was very weird, for evening/night it was just fine, but for having a rest in the middle of the day not so much. We had a bad experience in the park behind the hotel (pickpocketers)I wouldn’t advise visiting it, but there is no need to go through the park to get to the hotel.

    The single beds - huge and very confortable. No noise from outside even if there was a concert a few blocks away. The bathroom - very big and very clean with really huge mirrors, very hard to find in a hotel. Also, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need - some of them not free (you could buy a razor and shaving foam, body lotion, etc)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms could be more warmly furnished and the bathrooms require more wall or door hooks and shelving for placing personal bathroom items.

    The hotel was wonderfully located, excellent and friendly staff, with breakfast and restaurant offerings at the highest standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect for us—5 min walk to the train station and 10 min walk to the main square. Room was standard European size and very clean. We arrived early and dropped our luggage which was in our room when we can back a few hours later. The restaurant on the terrace is beautiful but unfortunately it was raining so we couldn’t enjoy it’s full benefits. We had a balcony in our room as well which was a nice perk. Good service, no frills & reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for the price. Quick walk in accessing everything you need to see in Bologna. We grabbed a super deal so in regards to value for money it was worth it. Rooms were clean, check in and out fast with no nonsense. Just what we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a big problem with noise. The noise from passing buses in the early morning was horrible. There was also an intermittent banging that was so bad on my third night that I barely got any sleep. My fourth night I spent at another hotel. I did ask at the front desk about the noise but they didn't get back to me. I don't know how staff are treated but generally they didn't seem that happy.

    Breakfast setting and breakfast itself were excellent. Head of staff in the dining room was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    na

    The building itself is amazing and the way they'd renovated it makes it a gem in Bologna. Service and staff shows top attitude towards the customer. Charming atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Slippery shower floor.

    The room was bright, clean, quiet. Great amenities in room. Helpful staff for the most part. Super location. Nice welcome glass of prossecco. Super restaurant on terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be improved. You can get better at orher hotels for less money.

    Everything was great, it was close to everything confortable bed, clean room. Thank you for upgrade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room. Tiny Bed. Don't get caught by the value of the room. If you go for the cheaper room - you go for a smaller room , a smaller bed - that does not fit two medium sized adults. Bed was uncomfortable. Staff didn't really care that I had a terrible nights sleep, nearly ended up sleeping on the floor to get some space. Lesson learnt!

    Locality to the centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double was an odd bunk bed on a box. We had to climb up the bookcase steps to get into bed

    Location to main square in one direction and train station in the other. Terrace for pre-dinner drink was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedroom was noisy. The constant AC flushing? and the road noise were loud. Staff friendliness was variable. Didn't feel the breakfast restaurant staff were welcoming. They didn't replace items that had been depleted. If you arrived at 9.45 they were already clearing the food away. No orange juice for 3 days. No bacon.

    Bed was comfy. Shower was powerful. Nice double view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room given to us on arrival was minute and the bed was 4 feet wide we complained and insisted we have a larger bed ,which we got however the room was very dark and windows were at about 9 feet high,the bathroom was very dark with a very small light on the wallI ,my husband could not shave because it was too dark,coffe was provided but no milk or sugar shampoo conditioner and shower gel had to be paid for

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noise. Poor price quality. No soap in shower. Had to request it several times. Zero welcome package. Not worth the price and certainly not 4 stars worthy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV remotes didn’t work once the TV was turned on and we couldn’t turn off the TV or lower the volume or change the channel, so we had to unplug it. Also, the bathroom floor was dangerously slippery.

    The food and coffee was excellent and the staff were very cheerful and helpful. The beds were very comfy. The balcony was great and we spent most of our time out there enjoying the sun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very little to complain about, but we were upgraded to a suite from a luxury room. The room was wonderful, but it had no real windows, only skylights. I feel they should mention the suite didn’t have windows.

    Lovely staff, beautiful hotel and bedroom. Very stylish and functional. They’ve really thought how the room works for you. Upgraded to a suite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only reason for marking hotel down was because of the excessive cost. It was 180 euros for a standard double room without breakfast!!! Last time I stayed it was about 90 euros with breakfast. I understand there was a book fair on in Bologna hence rates hiked up!!

    Great hotel in great location. I’ve stayed before and enjoyed the stay last time. It’s modern, clean and great central location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature control didn’t work. Too hot at night and keeping the window open meant noise from a busy street. There was a smell of drains from the main lift shaft between the stairs. Parking too expensive. Use the city underground parking next door.

    Beautiful ceiling and bedroom window view. Amazing terrace overlooking park. Great dining room which was once a theatre auditorium. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first hotel I find where they do not even provide a free bottle of water in the room. Even the toiletries are for sales rather than being included in the room. the staff do not seem courteous. They respond to requests with a bored attitude

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a need for change of policy and attitude at the management level. The room was uncomfortable, space was limited. This wasn't the room for a £200- per night stay! There was not cupboard! We didn't have sufficient space to hang dress. We kept our costumes in the luggage!! Awful.

    This was a really bad experience. Nothing about the hotel was as expected apart from the location. I do not recommend it to anyone. Your question regarding "traveller type" does not include "none", so i chose "Solo".

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have BBCworld news channel. Needed more light near the mirror to see yourself.

    The shower pressure was excellent. The room and its facilities was perfect for one person but it would have been tight for two people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, space, comfortable beds, location, nice staff. A truly excellent hotel in a very nice place, it feels new and clean. My top choice for Bologna.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was typical smell in the elevator - they need to take care of this issue.

    Location: Very close to train station and central bus stand. Front desk team was very helpful in guiding on the best possible way to travel to other cities where we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the standard room given us initially was very small , with a bed that good for one and barely for two, The staff was very helpful to find another room after two trials

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good, firm bed. Well-designed modern accommodation within an interesting classical building. Friendly staff, effective service, very good at understanding non Italian speakers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only few rooms have nice view from windows despite what is shown in pictures. Red beans should have been part of breakfast.

    Liked everything. Location was excellent. Breakfast was very good, delicious and a very wide choice of dishes. Breakfast hall was a theater and live instruments being played on weekends which gives an authentic touch to Italian style. Staff helpful at any hour of the day. The building is very old but kept in excellent condition. Photos seem there would be small spaces but lobby is big space with an open garden area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stylish hotel next to a park and only a short walk from the railway station. Very large and comfortable room with excellent bathroom. Excellent breakfast with an egg chef to cook your eggs as requested. Good coffee shop attached to the ground floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slight problem with heating/AC which was resolved.

    Very friendly and efficient staff. Great Location. Fabulous breakfast with harp accomplement at weekend!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could not supply decaffinated coffee on the room coffee tray

    Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast selection not huge but delicious. Saturday and Sunday we had live harp player at breakfast! Rooms and bathrooms spacious. Modern interiors set in an old palace so beautiful old features. The Bistro is great for a reasonably priced meal with beautiful views of the Pincio grand stairs and balustrades.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated just perfect: near to the Bologna Central train station, near to the city center. The staff is verry friendly and the room is super.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite the price and the 4 stars, unfortunately we've got only a ground floor room with the only window facing the reception hall. This meant we were not free to open the curtains without losing privacy or preserving our privacy without enjoying natural light. I would suggest to double check your room and, if needed, go for an upgrade.

    Location is great to visit Bologna as well to explore Emilia-Romagna by train (it is 5 minutes walk from the main station and 10 from Piazza Maggiore).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was an extra 15 euro per person so not selected as an option, since the 100 euro per night for such a bad room was already overwelming. Really bad room, looked like a semi refurbished dungeon. The bathroom was extremely small and the toiletries below basic. The tv was not working. The window was extremely dangerous for kids to fall. The hotel is located 1.1 km from the city center and only a few meters away from a park frequented by drug addicts. Overall, the lobby and some of the rooms were minimal, clean and nice. The rest was a semi refurbished, dark and depressive place.

    Great croissants and coffee at the café the service was bad though. The breakfast was an extra 15 euro per person so not selected as an option.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was really excellent - far better than any of the other hotels that we stayed at during our trip. Clean. Rooms were a little small but comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room felt more like a 3-star. Room with no view. One single bulb in the bathroom. Kept awake by a noisy reception on 2nd floor. Continental breakfast took 20 minutes to organise a coffee, orange juice and croissant! Long wait to check out. I had a better experience before.

    Very good staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small (though ceilings impressively tall!). The bathroom felt like an afterthought e.g. only one light switch by the entrance to the room and not one next to or in the bathroom itself. Rooms were both poorly lit. Our room looked into via independenza and insulation wasnt great so one night we woke up due to road noise. The other night we woke up due to the dodgy air con coming on and off at 3am! The hotel communal areas were very stuffy.

    Really central location, lovely bar / terrace. A great selection of pastries at breakfast and good coffee. Shower was very good. Comfy bed. Staff reasonably friendly though I'd like to have been asked how our stay was when checking out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The hotel was very modern and smart. The staff were extremely friendly. Received an upgraded room on arrival (free) and the room was lovely. Glass of wine and snacks at the hotel bar on arrival for guests was also a lovely touch! The hotel was along one of the 'main streets' in Bologna and the shops were literally outside. It was only a 8 minute walk from the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room this visit - I have stayed before - looked on to the internal courtyard so a tad claustrophobic and despite the signs which told you that no-one could see in (i.e. one way glass), it was disconcerting to look out of the window and see people in reception apparently looking straight into your room. The open parking lot, albeit with a gate which I presume they closed at night, is expensive at 25 euros a night.

    Good location, serviceable hotel - integral café with lighter breakfast ideal for those who don't want a large breakfast - or are going out to lunch!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a awful dining experience in the I Portici Restaurant. We decided to go as a birthday treat as it is Michelin Starred. Apart from service, it was a huge let down. Owning two restaurants myself and my partner being a chef, we travel and dine out alot. We were so confused by the menu as each dish arrived, it tasted and smelt exactly as the one previously. We were aware that there would be alot of fish arriving and being from Ireland and a pescatarian and loving fish, we were not expecting to feel ill from the same aroma and taste of each dish. We stopped eating and asked for help from our servers as we were so confused. We were offered some pasta dish to break up the menu which was OK. When the next dish arrived, it was some plain blended cauliflower with plain pasta and an oyster, we just couldn't continue. The Maitre D's attitude then quickly changed and refused to come to our table. We wanted to stop eating and sort out what we could do in regards the bill etc. but they kept bringing dessert. At the end of the night, we tried to talk to the Maitre D about it and he was visibly angry with us and offered us no compensation. The bill was €329. We asked to speak to the head chef but he was gone home!! We took the complaint further when checking out and spoke to the Restaurant Manager who was acting very nice to us but we could see through it. Eventually he took two glasses of wine off the bill after alot of convincing, this should not have come to this. We left still feeling like we were looked down upon. At least he told us they were changing the chefs tasting menu that week! Much needed!

    The male receptionist was very nice and welcoming, explaining everything to us. The room was beautiful, we had slippers and robes, coffee making facilities, bluetooth radio and a lovely big shower. The welcoming drinks was an added bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The specific room I was in though it was beautiful room, it’s was located next to staff room where I imagine from the sound they store cleaning and maintenance stuff, there was constant noise, lots of door opening and closing and speaking between staff from early morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance hall and reception are impersonal and soulless. There is no lounge or decent size bar to sit in. It was less welcoming than a travel lodge. The standard double was tiny, airless and the air conditioning control had no effect. The publicity photos were wholly misleading as, unless it was daylight and summer tome there was no likelihood of the place looking or feeling like a palazzo.

    The mattress was comfortable. The room was quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I Portici was a wonderful hotel. Right on the edge of old downtown and a 5 minute walk from the train station. The service was excellent. Our room was beautiful, with 20 ft windows and a patio. My only issue was that they informed me of the pet fee after the cancellation window and once I arrived at the hotel. However, in the end it seems the forgot to charge for my Yorkie.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird constant dripping sound (air conditioning? Drain pipes?) behind the wall all night.

    Very luxurious room. Lovely hotel and location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Amazing location with car parking facility - although you have to pay for it! The staff were amazing and very helpful. They assisted me with ordering a cake for my husband’s birthday. Restaurants and shops all close by which made it even more convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very noisy as overlooked street and not much sound proofing on windows. Heating was permanently set to 24 degrees which was too warm - we asked for it to be turned down but they wouldn’t which made it quite unbearable at night

    Great attention to detail turning down beds while we were out. Well located and reasonably priced

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely appalling storage space in the rooms. Not one set of drawers so everything had to be laid on surfaces. The bathroom had only a tiny inadequate light. The shelve above the mirror was poorly attached to the wall consequently toiletries tended to lean forward and topple off. No hooks in bathroom to hang up bathrobe or anything. The rooms are very noisy from people upstairs who do not take their shoes off so walk around early in the morning and wake you up. The hotel should have a sign in the bedrooms asking residents to consider other guests who are below them as the floors are mosaic so there is no noise absorption. Food ok but limited one restaurant offered gluten free pasta but when we tried to get it in the other one it was not available,which was crazy for a hotel that had its own pasta making shop. Don't eat at the Michelin star restaurant as it took over 4.5 hours for the tasting menu. Bar does not open until 6.00pm so if you want a drink at the bar you have to go elsewhere. Very dissappointing and not worth the money.

    The hotel was very central for all tourist sites and shops but that's where it stops. Too many other flaws out way location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a superior 'quiet' room but were disappointed to find the room was relatively small and positioned on the main road.

    The staff were particularly helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff could be more friendly for a hotel of such standing. The Wifi especially was a nightmare to use : what customers want is just to enter the hotel wifi and log in, not having to create an account in a 3rd party website to get a password and access the hotel wifi.

    Very close to the station, very nice property, very clean, very comfy beds. Had a room on the courtyard side and enjoyed a quiet sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately they do not have a Spa or other such facilities like Sauna or Steam Bath. Breakfast is fantastic but the cut off time of 10:30 is taken by far too seriously. I´ve seen people arrive at 10:31 and refused entry I think there should be a bit more flexibility for the price and level of hotel.

    Location is fantastic and the building is truly nice and stylish. the breakfast room is a treat in itself. Rooms have nice high ceiling and are well decorated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was out of order on departure - had to wonder around a little to locate alternative lift (third floor + heavy suitcase made lift availability a must).

    Smiling and helpful staff, beautiful elegant large bright room (as expected), comfortable bed and pillows, technogym cyclette in the room was a superb plus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in the bathroom and room in general was poor.

    Very nice room, we were upgraded to a superior room with a very nice terrace / patio. The staff was very friendly and helpful! Great location, close to the train station and covered portico sidewalks to Piazza Maggiore. A mix of old-world charm with clean and modern design. Great breakfast at Restorante I Portici with eggs to order and wonderful buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds not very comfortable, with hard mattresses. The floor of the room was very dirty and after walking around for 5 minutes barefoot after a shower I had to go and wash my feet again. I also found a contact lens on the bedroom floor. I would stay here again but would bring slippers.

    The building is stylish and the location is great. Staff were very helpful at check in. The breakfast, and food in the Terrace restaurant were very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In a renovated old palace of European style. Not much sound insulation as in the American style modern hotels. You hear noises of the hall and the running water in the toilette. Expensive (room, food, drink) compared to others in this city but inexpensive compared to France and Germany and to the other high tourist cities (Rome, Venezia) in Italy. (The station nearby houses a supermarket with inexpensive foods and drinks.) Slow WiFi. No curtain in the windows.

    Good atmosphere in 2F bistro next to the park. Close to the station and one the street to the city center. There is an inexpensive eating place by the hotel restaurant on the street. Good bed for sleep (but no comfortable sofa chair).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every thing was lovely, attentive staff, wonderful service and food. The location was very convenient for my needs. Appreciated the extra attention paid to the prep of the room in the evening. My only recommendation would be to get rid of the "fussy" hanger system and just have real hangers. The current system is outdated and not consistent with such a classy establishment. My sincere appreciation for a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Michelin restaurant somewhat overrated. Some dishes were very good, some not noteworthy despite steep prices.

    Great service, everyone at the front desk always helpful and polite. I was given the 5th floor suite along with a friend (both had booked single rooms) which was very pleasant and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to take care in the breakfast room, because the staff of Young girls serving there will run You over if You don´t move quickly between the tables. And no one took notice of You, except for the man that seated You at the table ! The only person with a smile and good service there was the man preparing Your omelette. We ordered our coffee after asking for a Cappuccino and American coffee, but had to remind them after ten minutes. It seemed more important to talk to friends at the table next to ours several times during our stay in the breakfast room. (I noticed her name)

    Staff in the reception was really friendly and helpful. Always quick and always a smile. Location is perfect in the beginning of Via Independenca, close to bars and shopping and to the best winebar in Bologna, Enoteca Italiana. That enoteca has a fantastic range of wine and Grappas !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of actually.

    Beautiful building with a fantastic restaurant with outdoor patio overlooking the park. A ten minute walk to the train station. Just lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange high bed with a closet underneath that wouldn't suit a lot of people

    Great location and very stylish. Terrace restaurant and bar was stunning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything

    The staff were extremely helpful and kind, the site of the hotel extremely convenient for the Old Town and the railway station, an excellent hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircond is on the louser side when auto regulating temperature

    Very friendly and helpful staff from the front desk to the bellboy . The welcome drink on 2nd floor balcony is a pleasant surprise, nicer if at night. The cafe is good too!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse I Portici Hotel Bologna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: