Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Il Barocco 3 stars

Via Santa Maria La Nuova 1, 97100 Ragusa, Italy

#8 of 22 hotels in Ragusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 261 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Could Improve a Lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired. Staff weren’t very welcoming or helpful in many ways. Probably good for corporate stuff. One of worst breakfast on 3 weeks in Italy, Malta and Greece.

    Location great. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful and pretty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too short for me, but I'm used to it as I'm 193 cm tall.

    Everything was really neatly done, and the style is just beautiful! The staff was really nice and helped us find a bus to the train station. The breakfast buffet is very Italian, meaning there are lots of sweets. Surprisingly, there was also a lot of prosciutto and cheese, along with other options for those who don't fancy pastries. All the bathroom details were made out of brass, I believe, it was amazing to see. Everything was clean and pretty. The hotel is at a great location, close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Very quiet so able to sleep well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar was rather poor. I asked for a glass of wine they had just two whites, a sparking sweet white and dryish white which was not good. I had hoped to sit outside and enjoy it! However this is not a real issue as there are plenty of nice places in the city.

    Very quiet so able to sleep well. Room was very comfortable with enough space. Wifi worked well. The staff were very helpful indeed and location was central for everything. Lovely patio area with tables and chairs and very pretty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.0
    great location in Ragus Ibla. near lots of restaurants and the main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel. We couldn't get the air-con to work, despite asking two different staff members.

    The location of the hotel is great in Ragus Ibla, once you find it....we had a lot of trouble driving into the old town ... so many narrow one-way streets. Our GPS wasn't much use. Had to keep asking directions. Took an hour to get to hotel. Staff very pleasamt and helpful. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    A Disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is excellent for visiting the historic center of Ragussa, which we loved. Our second story corner room was absolutely charming with its shuttered doors and windows opening up to views of the town. Unfortunately there were two issues that made this a disappointing choice. First, the promised parking was the public lot which was full because of a festival in town. After driving around we saw some cars parked hugging a wall, leaving just enough space for other cars to get by. We did the same, then moved the car later in the evening when the festival was over. Lucky us. No ticket. More disconcerting was the smell of smoke in the room. We were able to open the shutters to air our the room but the smell still lingered. Fortunately we had booked for one night only.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous, quaint, cosy hotel with great location and friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work well in our room.

    We loved this quaint hotel. It felt like home away from home, since the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Very comfortable room, and great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice and quiet hotel in Ragusa Ibla, only minutes from the main attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi was a bit slow in the room, and I had to go down to the lobby for some things

    spacious room, in the center of Ragusa Ibla - everything is a few minutes away on foot. But no noise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    A good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The usual thing that many hotels lack and that is lack of consideration for women! The only mirror in the bedroom was in an area with no lighting so not possible to apply make-up. The mirror in the bathroom which had more light was too far away to easily able to apply make up especially by someone who has poor eye sight! There was no full length mirror which is Important to see one's self properly. Other than that it was great!

    Good breakfast choice. Good coffee and tea given at breakfast, which sometimes isn't always the case at breakfast in hotels. Great location.a

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location but tired place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi kept breaking down and someone had to come and reboot inside our room. The entire place is a little tired.

    The location is very good. The staff very friendly and eager to help. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Couldn't ask for a better hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet connection, but that was heavily outweighed by so many good things about this wonderful hotel.

    Welcoming staff, lovely room, sumptuous breakfast, central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Arrived after a very late flight to a warm welcome and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived after a very late flight to a warm welcome and instantly decided to stay a second night to explore Ragusa and delighted we did! Excellent location for wandering around the old town and lovely terrace at front of the hotel for taking the feet off after a long day. Great restaurants nearby. Would certainly recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location for Ragusa's sights and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not that good in my room, hard to find if travelling by car (as are most hotels in old cities). Rooms would benefit from more power outlets.

    Great location, welcoming and helpful English speaking staff. Very good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Very nice place, well located, perfect for two to three nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating system in the bathroom was not sufficient at that period of time (april).

    Location of the hotel in City center, close to pedestrian street. Hotel people, very good service Size of the room breakfast was outstanding both for quality and choice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    The property is 5 minutes away from the main Piazza where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is 5 minutes away from the main Piazza where one can find a lot of good restaurants. Il Barocco restaurant has very good food. Breakfast was good, bread, cheese,cold meat, fruit and cakes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    5.0
    A place to avoid
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The running of this hotel could not have been more amateurish. We arrived at the railway station in the modern city of Ragusa after a long journey. There were no taxis nor was there evidence of a bus stop. I rang the hotel. The woman who answered had no idea how to direct us to the hotel. I will spare all the details but after three phone calls, and much frustration, I asked her to phone for a taxi to take us to the hotel--wherever that might be. Just then a passerby appeared and pointed out the bus headed for Ragusa Ibla and asked the driver to wait for us as we rushed across the road. I cancelled the taxi (which later I learned was told to collect us from a different place entirely!). When we arrived at the hotel (with directions given at the Tabacchi) it turned out that the only employee was a young woman intern. This was her second day and her ignorance was so complete she did not even know that the hotel has a lift. The fault was not hers. She should have been working alongside someone with experience from whom she could learn. The next day the manager only laughed. After all the young woman was an intern. How could she know anything? The manager seemed unable to grasp the fact that the job of the hotel is to have staff that do know something about it. It is an attitude familiar tot hose who have experienced tourist traps. You don't like it? So what. You are not going to be a repeat visitors and we have plenty of other tourists lined up. I feel we should have been paid for providing work experience. I believe we were overcharged given the very poor quality (none) of the service provided.. A refund is in order.

    The location is at the entrance to Ragusa Ibla. The woman serving breakfast was pleasant and efficient. The room was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    10
    Loved this charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything. Really liked this place.

    I liked everything about this hotel and would happily return. It had old-style charm with all the modern comforts and amenities. The location was perfect (not far from the park at the lower end of Ragusa Ibla). We stayed in early January and the room had ample heating, was clean, spacious and comfortable, with a cozy antique decor and all the important bells and whistles, and had nice views of the village out of both windows. Impressive continental-style breakfast with loads of homemade baked goods. Parking was provided nearby and having someone at the desk 24/7 for consultation was appreciated. Even though it was January, several good restaurants and bars were open for business. Excellent value for money. Off-Season rates were impressive.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Good location, pleasant, clean comfortable rooms, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking can be difficult, the way in and out can be made very difficult by those parking right on corners and in illegal spots. Don't bring a big car or van and expect to park at the hotel if people around you park illegally.

    Good location, pleasant, clean comfortable rooms, good bathrooms, the breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice small chamring hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only getting there.Very difficult to find parking on their street but we found one to squeeze into and stayed there without a problem though designated no- parking area. A challenge to drive to in those small streets even with smaller - size auto and your GPS may cut out or not recognize newly changed one- way street designations.

    Location can't be better for being in the center of the historic old town. Room was comfy and decent . Breakfast had nice assortment of meats, cheeses and pastries. Has elevator. .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    An excellent hotel at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A great hotel, situated in the center of Ragusa just off the main thoroughfare. Clean and comfortable rooms, wonderful selection of pastries for breakfast. Staff helpful and friendly. Outside tables to relax at in a small courtyard. A first class hotel at a great price, I would recommend highly .Il Barocco

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.5
    Won't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we booked 6 months ago, on the day we were to arrive they called and said we would not be in the hotel, but in a private building (a nice room) a block and a half away.They did not honor our booking. Thus, we had to go to the hotel for breakfast and never got to feel we were in a hotel. When our room was cleaned, they forgot to give towels. We had to go to the hotel to get the towels (they gave us 5 euro a night off the rate for our trouble). Although breakfast ran until 10 AM, when we arrived at 9:30, there were no hard boiled eggs ("we ran out") or cold orange juice. I would not recommend this hotel. Other 3 star hotels have been much better.

    Staff were nice, when we couldn't find the hotel, they came and found us to lead us to the hotel. Can't say much about the actual hotel room because we were not actually in the hotel-see below, they did not honor our booking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    5.0
    We really loved Franceso from the reception desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is EXTREMELY noisy. As breakfast starts at 7:30, you can hear the slamming of the doors and people leaving their rooms. The walls are so thin that if someone is at the bathroom and flushing, you have the feeling he is in your room/your bathroom. It is completely impossible to sleep or rest in the hotel. What doesn't help is that the cleaning ladies are also very noisy. On the first day, the cleaning lady entered our room at 8:50 AM, while we were sleeping. There were no "do not disturb" signs in the room, but we asked for such a sign at the reception and ever since the cleaning lady didn't enter our room while we were sleeping. During our stay, when she cleaned the room, all she did was make the bed, the sheets stayed the same etc. Last but not least, breakfast was included. Every day we had breakfast, once we were in the breakfast room, we noticed that most of the plates from the buffet were already empty but never replenished. Most of the time, they were completely out of bread. One day, the leftover toast bread was so hard that you could break your teeth in it. On our last day, as the person in front of me took the last piece of baguette bread, I asked the curly girl from reception (weirdly enough, for breakfast they help in the kitchen as well) for some more bread. She looked at me and said that they are out of bread. As I knew this wasn't an isolated incident, I looked at my watch and told her it is only 9AM and breakfast is far from over. She shrugged and said that many people came for breakfast. How many people, more than were lodged in your hotel? This happened every day! All in all, as I couldn't rest, this hotel is definitely not a hotel I would return to or recommend.

    We really loved Franceso from the reception desk. Due to some problems with the car, we arrived very late at the hotel. The hotel and the reception close at midnight and we arrived at 2 AM. Francesco waited for us and even though it was a long wait and way after he had finished his shift, we didn't feel for a second that he was upset. He was very friendly and welcoming, one of the best reception staff we have encountered in all our trips. The hotel is very close to the main square, but then again, Ragusa Ibla is quite small and everything is close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.3
    Great place to stay - quiet yet ve
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right in the middle of Ragusa, just off the main pedestrianised street. There is very little parking in Ragusa Ibla for non residents. The hotel lent me a residents parking permit. Very extensive buffet and great made to order coffee.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Location, quietness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More like B and B , no room service or even drinks avaiable

    Location, quietness

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    We were upgraded to a suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a suite. Very nice. Charming place, close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Its location in the heart Ragusa Ibla, traditional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar displayed beer bottles but stocked no intoxicating liquors.

    Its location in the heart Ragusa Ibla, traditional atmosphere, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Retained the style of the city, the location is good, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Retained the style of the city, the location is good, the staff is friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Location was very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very convenient. Parking was difficult but we were lucky enough to find s spot in front of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel,charming and pictures do not do it justice.I enjoyed the quiet and good locati
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room away from groups.delicious breakfast and kind hostess. Maria at reception was very helpful and delightful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    A beautiful and comfortable hotel in the heart of baroque Ragusa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike, all was fine.

    Ideal location in the heart of Ragusa Ibla. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was mostly sweets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was mostly sweets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Ibla is the place to be in Ragusa. Beautiful and wonderfully historic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and very helpful staff. They wen out of their way to assist us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesnt have a restaurant/pool

    Great stuff always with a smile and ready to help and a great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Clean, good location, friendly personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on the street and not always available

    Clean, good location, friendly personnel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Excellence in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous place. Very helpful staff. Such a cosy room - very spacious. Amazing shower. Lovely toiletry extras. A pure gem in a gorgeous place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Franceso was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Franceso was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the street nearby

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Everything, location, parking, room, staff, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, location, parking, room, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Stay Here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attention to detail was excellent. More than we could have ever expected.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.3
    parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    is so complicate enter whit the car

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location close to center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is difficult, on a narrow and very steep sidestreet.

    The location is excellent, within easy walking distance of the main plaza.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic, relaxed stay in Ragusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great room, high ceilings. Breakfast was all you could so for. Very pleasant staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel in a fine city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything other than the difficulty of finding it! Very satisfied.

    Helpful friendly knowledgeable staff, great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    8.3
    Marvellous location, perfect for walking around old Ragusa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lacked seating downstairs in lobby. Triple room lacked light. Shower needs replacing. Perhaps overpriced by E20-25, but this is Ragusa.

    Marvellous location, perfect for walking around old Ragusa. Hotel is attractive from outside and had parking plot. Terrific breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    Location just a very short walk to the Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had trouble finding the hotel.

    Location just a very short walk to the Cathedral. And there was a huge free parking area (below the city park--with nice views of surrounding countryside) just 2 blocks away. (Ask a local if you can't find.) It was no problem to wheel our cases to the hotel. You can also park across from the hotel but it's on a narrow side street. Clean, comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Newspapers. An elevator! Breakfast was really really good. Patio will be just beautiful later in the spring.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    There were variety of foods (sweet and salty) in breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    N/A

    There were variety of foods (sweet and salty) in breakfast buffet. The stuffs were friendly but professional and give me lots of advices. The room was cozy, clean and spacious. The amenities was also plus.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    10
    Comfortable and pleasing room -- quiet, cheerful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have enough time to try all the celebrated restaurants within walking distance.

    Comfortable and pleasing room -- quiet, cheerful and well-equipped. Delightful, varied breakfast. Great location just off a minor street near the centre of Ragusa Ibla. Friendly helpful staff. Reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    8.3
    the breakfast selection was the best we had had in 4 days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    overflow parking in public car park was a concern with our car full of personal equipment, gladly all was ok the next morning. the room lighting was a little on the dark side.

    the breakfast selection was the best we had had in 4 days travelling in Italy. the staff were very dog friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    This is a 3* Hotel giving service that would be the envy of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - it was faultless.

    This is a 3* Hotel giving service that would be the envy of many 5* hotels.The location is tremendous, right in the heart of Ragusa Ibla. The room was beautifully furnished & extremely comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful room and excellent location to walk every where
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one small issue - very difficult to find

    Beautiful room and excellent location to walk every where Staff very friendly and helpful Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.2
    This is a family owned and run hotel with just 17 rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding the hotel is tricky if your car doesn't have satnav ... but it's worth persevering. The trick is to turn into Ibla at Viale Margherita, double back on yourself down Via del Portale, turn first right into Via dei Normanni and then pause where the road widens at the top. On your right will be the gates at the entrance to the Giardino Ibleo (you won't be able to see much of this garden, so don't expect to see a big public square with trees). Immediately on your left will be the narrow entrance to the Corso XXV Aprile. Drive very carefully up the Corso which will probably be full of people. If you've got a small car, try turning first right into the Via Montereo - and then first left into the Via Santa Maria la Nova. If that doesn't look do-able, carry on up the Corso and turn next right into the Via Orfanotrofio (don't go straight on, whatever you do) - and then first right into the Via Santa Maria la Nova. Hotel Il Barocco has dedicated parking at the Via Montereo end of the street.

    This is a family owned and run hotel with just 17 rooms created from connecting and refurbishing adjoining houses. The style is traditional rather than 'cool', but that feels appropriate in the setting of Ragusa Ibla. The location is brilliant: just a minute's walk from Piazza Pola with its gelaterias, cafes, bars and restaurants, and only a short walk further to Piazza Duomo. The best things about the hotel itself are the staff, who couldn't be nicer or more helpful - and the breakfasts, which are better than you will find in most business hotels: the choice of things to eat is huge and the quality of the ingredients is excellent. The hotel also has good water pressure, effective air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi. We thoroughly enjoyed a full week's stay and were quite sad when the time came to leave.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.6
    Centrally located, the hotel's excellent restaurant just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are rather basic and in dark colors but there's plenty of space to put luggage and hang clothes

    Centrally located, the hotel's excellent restaurant just outside, attractive decor of lobby, spacious bathroom where everything worked, sumptuous breakfast with lovely Cappucino and many sweet items in addition to fruit, ham, eggs, cheese, but most of all the kind and attentive staff especially the handsome and energetic Carmelo who booked us a taxi to Modica and saw us off so warmly.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in an excellent location, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Except for one occasion, failed to get reception on the Sky TV but not a major problem for us.

    Comfortable hotel in an excellent location, close to the bars, restaurants and the square where there was free music on several evenings. Friendly staff, good breakfast, including lots of fresh fruit.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Very pretty little hotel in an excellent location with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike about the hotel but if you are driving it can be pretty difficult to navigate through the Ragusa Ibla one way system and narrow streets to the hotel.

    Very pretty little hotel in an excellent location with friendly and helpful staff. Well maintained and clean. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant there is the excellent Il Barocco restaurant (same family) about 100 metres away.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.6
    Charming hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming hotel in a fantastic location. Staff were extremely helpful sourcing us a hire car and arranging transport. Breakfast is substantial and coffee very nice. Rooms are large with a great bathroom both very clean & well presented.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough parking places, no balcony in the room and a little noisy early in the morning.

    The location was great!Spacious rooms and opulent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    I just stayed one night after a flight into Cosimo airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    I just stayed one night after a flight into Cosimo airport. It is a delightful hotel, very welcoming and very clean with good facilities for one night. Near lots of restaurants but not at all noisy. They booked me a taxi next morning for the inter us station. Great value for money.great breakfast too.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    Quiet, tastefully & elegantly furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Quiet, tastefully & elegantly furnished. Very near centre of Ragusa Ibla, perfect for seeing the Old Town on foot, though parking available. Polite & helpful staff, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    10
    The suite was well-appointed (two balconies, table and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is plenty of parking in the street outside but the one-way system is a bit confusing (particularly since you have to ignore it to get to the hotel)...we parked nearby and checked with Reception before driving in.

    The suite was well-appointed (two balconies, table and chairs, sofa) and the bathroom state of the art, Really quiet, comfortable, welcoming place which is extremely convenient for visiting the old town. Very good breakfast and friendly staff. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    The reception staff were notably friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception staff were notably friendly and helpful. The quality and fit of the hotel - entrance, lobby, bedroom, dining area - were excellent. Parking was available right outside.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.6
    Best breakfast choice since we started using Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Best breakfast choice since we started using Booking.com Location and lack of noise. Very helpful staff. Everything worked apart from Sky News in English. Excellent room

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is ideally situated in Ragusa Ibla between the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are small, and not very comfortable. Mattresses should be better. Cleanliness is below the Italian average, which is actually very high. The windows were high on the wall of our ground floor room, and there was no view out.

    The hotel is ideally situated in Ragusa Ibla between the cathedral and the municipal gardens. It is on a pretty street that is easily accessible by car. You will be given a permit, at no charge that allows resident street parking privileges. The staff is very considerate and helpful. Breakfast is at the top end for a three star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    9.6
    Spacious, suite style room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tricky to find with car and to park.

    Spacious, suite style room. Big bathroom & shower. Close to promenade street, lots of options for dinner. Could stay several days.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    10
    We used the hotel as a base to tour south eastern Sicily and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We used the hotel as a base to tour south eastern Sicily and every evening it was a pleasure to return to this hotel located in eighteenth century Ragusa Ibla. We had a lovely room (108) with large double doors opening onto a small balcony, overlooking lemon trees, churches and old houses. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were brilliant and set us up well for the day! Car parking is easy in the streets around the hotel but slightly less so on Saturday and Sunday evenings. Most evenings we ate at Trattoria La Bettola, a good family run restaurant near the hotel, at 7 Largo Camerina -make a reservation as it fills up quickly! We also ate well at Trattoria al Castello Donnafugata just outside Ragusa; we asked just for antipasti for lunch, it was plentiful and delicious!

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    7.5
    good clean and well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small rooms. But is a very old house so can be understood

    good clean and well Located in the center of Ragusa Ibla. In the middle of the baroque churches and piazzas. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location in Ragusa Ibla, close to bus for Ragusa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing we didn't like, would recommend to anyone

    Excellent location in Ragusa Ibla, close to bus for Ragusa new town, close by to restaurants etc, friendly staff, good breakfast if you don't mind not having cooked breakfast, loads of meats and cheese, cereal, fruits , pastries etc.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    7.9
    Great location in ibla, nice view from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Check in person dismissed my (halting)Italian and instantly started speaking English no wonder we Brits generally don't bother!

    Great location in ibla, nice view from balcony

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    9.2
    The staff were wonderful and so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are arriving by car you need to arrive early to ensure a space close to the hotel.

    The staff were wonderful and so helpful. The receptionist stayed over her finishing time of midnight to book us in when our ferry from Pozzallo to Malta was cancelled and we decided to return for two nights. Although there is no restaurant for evening meals they have there own a short walk away. Il Giardiniera restaurant, excellent local specialities, well priced local wines and great service

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    10
    The hotel is perfectly located on a quiet street near to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is perfectly located on a quiet street near to Piazza Duomo. It's a delightful, period building with a welcoming feel and comfortable rooms. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    nice country atmosphere overlooking the temple sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    difficult to find restaurants

    nice country atmosphere overlooking the temple sites

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    Fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fantastic breakfast. Lots of fruits, cheeses, cereals and cakes.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking off site.

    Excellent breakfast. Wonderful staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.2
    wonderful breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    wonderful breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.3
    Friendliness of the staff and their disposition to be of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendliness of the staff and their disposition to be of service to the group. Very unusual for such a location.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    Close to town,nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to town,nice staff

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.2
    location, ease of parking, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, ease of parking, quiet

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Il Barocco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: