Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Casale Del Cotone

Località Il Cotone, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#18 of 44 hotels in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 372 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe a little closer to town. It was a bit far from the village and no restaurants close by so unless you had a car you had to rely on a taxi to get anywhere.

    .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After breakfast no food is provided for the guests. After a long journey it would be nice to be welcome with same snacks, coffee or wine . Stuff was brilliant !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location with view on a typical Tuscan valley! Close to all nice spots of Tuscany; max. 1 hours to all famous places. Beautiful house, rooms and garden for a romantic stay in the heart of Tuscany. Bonus is the host Alexandro; don't miss the dinner he proposes! which deserve a Michelin star! An unforgettable dinner with his family! We are just dreaming of going back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got to there , we could not find a key. The owner forgot to put the key on the table he said. So we were outside trying to contact him for 1 hour. There is no public transportation We didn't have a car. So we had to call a taxi.When i asked the owner of a good place to visit he looked irritated and unkind. I was not happy with him.Dinner was not so satisfied.

    I like a quiet and peaceful place in country. So the view is really good. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The owner and all the staff were extremely friendly and attentive. We had a wonderful, quiet room with a little patio for our use (we didn't use it, because it was still too cold to sit in the shadow, but in summer this might be very much appreciated). The heating worked very well, so we were never too cold neither too hot (the heating could be regulated to our needs). The host even put off his own heating just not to disturb us by its noise. As our room viewed on the patio, there was no view from the room, but this didn't disturb us, as we stayed there only at night. Otherwise you have a superb view from the house - you can sit on the terrace and have a nice view over the olive trees. The breakfast offered a great choice until the very end (cooked breakfast, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bred, cheese, sausage, croissants, etc. - we once arrived a bit late and a table had been set for us with a plate of different food. Unfortunately there were not enough guests after Easter for the dinner Alessandro offers when there are enough guests, but he recommended us a place where we could eat very well. The rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day and towels were changed when visibly used, so that there was no need of putting them on the floor or anything like that. A new role of toilet paper was also provided when the one in use was close to the end - there was an extra role on the shelf (I added this just because other guests complained that there wasn't enough). Before coming there, I had seen, that the accommodation had an average of 9.1 points, but that there were also people complainig about different things. I cannot understand these complaints at the least, as Alessandro and his staff always do their best to please everyone and even stay calm and friendly when a guest is not so friendly or asks stupid questions. We will stay at that place again, when we come back to Tuscany, and we will recommend this house to friends and family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was not welcoming nor particularly friendly for some reason. The room wasn’t convenient. No extra outlets to charge phones, not enough room to place suitcases. Figured out too late that they would have fit under the bed.😏 We had very little toilet paper initially. We asked for more and the owner questioned whether my husband was blowing his nose with it? There was no tissue paper either. Strange... To be fair, we arrived early and the housekeeper let us leave our bags and we took off. I would assume she was interrupted in her work and didn’t leave TP in our rooms. Breakfast was fine. Our reservation came at the end of the season and the inn is closing in a week. The owner might be tired😔

    The property was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - breakfast somewhat restricted in choice and need to go half an hour before it finishes - not very flexible for extras (late check out etc.)

    - Great location close to San Gimignano - Nice estate, park, and pool - Offer of special barbecue dinner in the garden

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative .

    A beautiful property (an updated villa) with excellent accommodations.The owner Allesandro (who is a chef as well) is a character and very entertaining. We were there for five nights. An excellent supper (all prepared by the owner) with good wine was served on sight on two nights. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We reserved a 2nd floor room with nice views, but it wasn't available. Ist floor room was sufficient, but views were not as nice and less private as it was close to outside dining area.

    Pretty Tuscan villa. Clean and comfy. Breakfast good and outside dining area lovely. Pretty views around villa. Nice pool. Had an entertaining dinner served/cooked by hosts who are brothers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the dinner, although delicious and wonderful, wasn't shared with us until we checked out. A bit high but worth it for the food, ambience, and company.

    The location just outside of town is perfect. Beautiful room with a gorgeous view of the vineyards, wonderful host, delicious breakfasts and a dinner ob evening prepared for all the guests.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The setting is stunning and the staff are charming and very helpful. The owner Alessandro makes you feel at home straight a cooks excellent food if you decide to join the evening meal on the veranda.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a charming stay - let down by motel style amenities ie soap in plastic, plastic cups covered in plastic, no tea/coffee making facilities in room, and 1 x set of keys. Breakfast was disappointing.

    Location was good and had a lovely setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast inside a little tight with the tables.

    Excellent stay. Very friendly host. Beautiful location . spotless. Owner has maintained everything to a very standard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check clearly your reservation for the type of room you booked. You may find differences there (depending on how full they are). A call to them upfront might save some frustration.

    The location, the location, the location! It is a gorgeous construction, incredible gardens, swimming pool and of course the view, what a view you have there. While not exactly really close to the city, you can walk there while enjoying the view. The outside dinner (when possible outside) is also really nice. All cooked by the owner himself. I would recommend if you are there when they offer it. Overall great experience, many of the customers are returning ones. Not the cheapest place in the region, but you can guess this is a differentiated place with lots of qualities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better.

    Great location, typical for Tuscany. We enjoyed every moment there. We had an excellent dinner (sorry for not organizing it every night). The pool was a very good addition to our stay there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard would have like a better mattress

    The tranquility the Tuscan countryside the people the surrounding towns the art the history the food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a fan of the cappuccino, but the espresso was great!

    Beautiful house and location, the pool was a great bonus in the heat and made the stay even more comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Annexe Triple Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful area with fantastic views over the lanscape. Friendly and professional staff. Clean and nice room. Wineyards and many nice places to visit nearby, i.e. Easy to get there by car. Good brakfast. Very nice dinners arranged every 2-3 days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place, everything was perfect. The rooms are very clean, very well organized, it is so toscan feeling everywhere. I enjoyed every minute of our stay. The garden is beautiful, the view is incredible, the pool is just perfect. I cannot find anything negative. Alessandro was the perfect host.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only wish that there would have been some towel hooks or else towel rods in the bathroom to hang our beach towels and swimsuits and even just to hang the regular bath towels to dry overnight or during the day. With a small family of three, we had to get a little creative to find ways to hang things up to dry overnight. Otherwise, no complaints. :)

    The owner is very attentive to details and helpful. He remembered us, despite our last visit having been seven years ago. The room and amenities were great and clean. The pool was also very nice, especially with the hot summer days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We inquired about getting to the property from San Gimingnano (as we were travelling by bus) and were assured that we just had to get a taxi. However we arrived to find that the couple of taxis that operate in the area were not available for the day. Phoned the hotel and when they finally picked up the phone (after more than an hour)they were dismissived and said they couldn't help. Luckily a local angel took pity on us and gave us a lift. Otherwise we would have been stranded for the night.

    The views are breathtaking and the two separate buildings that the accommodation is made up of is beautiful. Diner at the terrace was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was the least comfortable one of the many places we stayed during our 3 week trip. It was quite a thin mattress and probably needs replacing .Apart from that our room and bathroom was adequate and clean. We stayed in the annexe section, which we enjoyed because we could sit outside in the evenings chatting , enjoying a glass of wine and the views, without disturbing anyone. There is a lounge area attached to the annexe which is nice, but it was too hot and stuffy to sit in. It is a walk/ drive from the breakfast which is served at the main guest house over the road. There are no coffee facilities in the annexe, which was disappointing , as breakfast starts only at 8am. Coffee could easily have been set up in the lounge area of the annexe. Breakfast itself at the main house was the same each day and disappointingly average. The staff member who showed us to our rooms and also served the coffee at breakfast was very friendly and helpful. What was also a little disappointing was that dinner was not available for the following evening when we enquired about it. There was no flexibility about this and the fact that it is only available on certain evenings was not communicated to us up front. Whilst Il Casale Del Cotone is in a lovely area and has many positives I can't say that we would return there . There are many other bnb's in the area which we would rather try.

    The location of the bnb is very good, especially for traveling for day trips to nearby towns , such as Siena and Florence. It has great views of surrounding hills and wine and olive farms. The gardens at the bnb are very pretty and well kept. It was incredibly hot so we were very glad that there is air conditioning and a swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only booked one night. Two more days would've been better.

    This was more beautiful in person than shown in the pictures. The entire staff was incredibly nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at Rocca degli Olivi (the so called Annex) and it was quite nice, quiet, very very clean, private parking, terrace where you can enjoy a drink peacefully. Staff is very very friendly, even though the Annex is about 50 meters (across the street) from the reception, you still have access to every facility of the property. By the way, the pool is fantastic and clean as well!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Location is great if you want to experience the Tuscany country side: 5 mins away by car from San Gimignano and in a strategic location to also visit by car Valle del Chianti, Siena, Montepulciano, Volterra. It is relatively close to Florence (1 hour by car) and Pisa (1 hour and 20 mins by ar) if you land there. Staff is extremely friendly and perfectly know the area, so they gave us very precious advices. They make everything to make your stay pleasant. The place has lot of charm and it very clean. Breakfast is good and even more pleasant when you have it outside! Swimming pool is perfect to relax after the long walking days. Restaurant is not.always open so you need to check with the owner at the reception (we were there during the low season). Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just keep up the good work!

    Il Casa del Cotone – a true Tuscan paradise We decided to book a place at casa del Cotone after reading really good reviews on boking.com. Well, all the good reviews are correct. The hotel is located in the middle of the wine area of Tuscany; the scenery is like a postcard. The yard is very well kept and well maintained (very beautiful garden) The atmosphere of the hotel is family, intimate and good. The rooms are big & clean. The staff of the hotel and the owner – Aleccandro is very kind; they will do everything to make you feel at home! (They do succeed in doing so) The hotel has a great swimming pull located very close to the compound; in general the hotel is a true Tuscan compound which is well maintained, a true pleasure. Once or twice a week the owner Alessandro & his brother are preparing a true Tuscan dinner for the gusts. The dinner includes Pasta, meat , fish and more, of course escorted by fine wine, DO NOT miss this dinner!!!, do NOT miss the dinner, do NOT miss the dinner. We easily understand why for some a gusts staying in the hotel it was their third time, we are also coming back there. If you want to enjoy, great hotel, helpful staff & best of Tuscany – Casa del Cotone. Anna & Kobi - Israel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Annexe Triple Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The real value is opting in for the dinner onsite. It made the trip unforgettable as we wined and dined in the best atmosphere and flavours possible. Rocca is truly a pleasure to be around and a joy to be a guest under.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not get wifi in our room., walls too thick I think! We found bed too hard and pillows lumpy, but we are very fussy!

    We had an amazing stay it this beautiful place, loved the views, Alessandro was great, cooked us a wonderful 4 course dinner the night we arrived, breakfast was fine. Our accommodation was massive, we had a bedroom, huge kitchen, storage room and bathroom. The swimming pool looked very inviting but too cold for us. Would not hesitate staying again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Annexe Triple Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was poor at our room, but management new of the problem and it is being attended to.

    Lovely position. Excellent breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet did not work in our room (room 6 in main building) Also no 3G or phone connection possible. In the reception area all OK

    Location is super super super !! The food from the host is excellent and if you stay there you need to have minimum one dinner there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on foot and the hotel is 3 - 4km twisty road walk off the Via Francigena route and with better research on our part, we would have stayed elsewhere. No evening meals available, so a taxi ride into town, about 10E each way. An excellent hotel for guests with a car but not for walkers.

    A beautifully maintained, traditional Tuscan villa building, superbly furnished giving a great ambience. The owner was friendly, helpful and informal. Very pleasant grounds with a super pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Annexe Triple Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think off

    Alessandro has a beautiful property and a fantastic location. The best in our itinerary! He is someone who spent time and effort to make sure every guest is well taken care off. Lovely guy with loveky property. Will come back for sure..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt really stupid paying so much for this hotel. It is a farm house but feels like a hotel. Nothing special about it, no view from the room, no moscito nets so we were eaten up by the moscitos. Room is not more than ok. The owner is nice but that didn't give us our money back.. It was just fine and we will not come back

    Ok breakfast, nice pool. Very close to san Giminiano

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast and dinner were amazing. The staff were super friendly and the entire grounds and surrounding area were beautiful. Highly recommend this place for everyone. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked room with two single beds for our teens and got a big double bed, but finally they organized a comfortable additional bed.

    The dinners on the terrace. Alessandro and his team cooked incredible copious Italian food and treated us very well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant location for day drives out into the Chianti region or visiting Siena , brilliant staff that made our stay very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing too dislike.

    The whole experience was wonderful. From the staff to the beautiful rooms and outstanding views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is wonderful and is a perfect destination for a holiday with the baby. Is very quite and the staff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is fine.

    Location and breakfast is very good. The two dogs are very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attention. From the owners in undescriptible

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great property with wonderful views over the valley from our room window. Peaceful and scenic accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Annexe Triple Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location, the pool and the scenery. The property also has its own chapel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location, wonderful view, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, great service and the food was first rate!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average breakfast.

    Lovely views, well kept gardens. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed the restaurant was closed and as we had no car we left a day early. Owner was less than helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean place with an excelent view. Close to the City.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fill-up at the buffet if you were late for breakfast

    Large, clean and comfortable room good location if you don't want to be in the city

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Villa in the Tuscan countryside surrounded by vineyards and olive groves

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ABSOLUTELY LOVED everything about it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Annexe Triple Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner Allessandro, the location, the view, the room, everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff Swimming pool Location Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Annexe Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing dinner.... Worth a try... The best food in Tuscany

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The manager was very non-welcoming. The room was very cold, but they didn't want to turn on the heating. There was no kettle in the room. Only my husband got his tea for breakfast, me and my son didn't get any...

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Heating was not controllable and inadequate. It got very cold at night as heating came on only every 2 hours. Blankets may not be suitable for allergy sufferers. No tea or coffee in room. Description on booking.com mentions minibar but it was just an empty fridge.

    Location. Helpful staff. Breakfast. Plenty of space.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was a nice superior room however out bed was very uncomfortable. It was very soft as a result of no base or slats to support it. The breakfast room was not big enough to cater for the guests. It became very cramped.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only negative is that directions provided through Booking.com lead our GPS system to take us on a dirt road through a vineyard. If Bookings.com provided better directions the trip to the hotel would not have been so "adventurous"!

    People were exceptional helpful and nice. Facilities were wonderful Bed & Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You have to cross the road to get to the Anexo.The rooms in the Anexo are not as good as the main building was not clear when booking was made.

    The friendly staff and any requests was no trouble by host AlessandroThe peaceful and beautiful country side not too far from San Gimignano .

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds were very firm and no room coffee making facilities.

    Position was very handy to many areas we wanted to see. Breakfast was lovely and we were catered for requiring gluten free meals. Beautifully kept surrounds, peaceful and charming. Alessandro went beyond, and helped us with our car problems for which we were very grateful. Relaxing and beautiful counrty side.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have appreciated the opportunity to make tea/ coffee in our room.

    We liked the house, the location, the food, the pool and the general attendance to good service.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is nice, quiet and typical toscan's landscape. But there is two different buildings. The main building, with the swimming pool and a beautiful garden, and the "Anexo", which is separated from the main building. You have to cross the road to get to the Anexo. The rooms in the Anexo are not so good than the main building. Just pay attention to the rooms are you going to book because is not clear if you are booking in the Anexo or in the main building. In our case, we feel quite disappointed because we expected being in the main building (the only one that you see at booking.com)

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful stay, beautiful location, excellent views, but what made it so special was Alessandro the manager oh and of course Balloo the dog! We will be back, a magical place

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lack of connection to Wi-fi sometimes.

    This was a special holiday, one of the best we have ever had. Perfect place in the heart of Tuscany, wonderful house, perfect cleanliness in room and in the resort, smily and kind personnel, fresh bakened croisants at the breakfast which smell so nice and amazing owner who made us feel special with his kind attitude and amazing dinners!Grazie!!!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place breaths the Tuscan feeling. The room was well equipped, the breakfast was very generous and tasty and the staff is very very friendly. We had nothing to complain about.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner seemed a bit tired like he really didnt want to be there.

    It was very hot and the swimming pool was great to cool off! The breakfast Lady was great!

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The property is simply amazing: the setting, the room, the pool, the surrounding, the way the owner renovated I with incredible care. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Would have like more direction from inn keeper on what do to in the area. More informational.

    Rooms very nice, lovely terrace and wonderful pool, land scaping beautiful. Breakfast attendant was very friendly and inviting.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pretty much everything! Very beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside and close to San Gimignano which was a big part of our visit. The owner had great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. There was some confusion on the type of room we thought we reserved and the staff did a great job with finding another room for us which worked out great.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small things but they did put us off returning: greeted by notice to always lock outside door everytime, which didn't self lock on closing, and was a real pain during a long stay. It meant you couldn't come back to the rooms at different times to your partner. Surely its sufficient to remind everyone to lock their room doors? Also, another unfriendly sign, asking guests not to consume own food in villa, which I noticed that everyone ignored. The whole point for us was to have a glass of wine & snack sometimes instead of a full meal. It was cool at times, there was no real comfortable lounge area inside, except by reception which wasn't always open. So we ended up in our room some evenings, which although beautiful, was dark due to the small windows and old lighting. Lovely character lounge area was chained off as 'private' but not used. Large area devoted to stainless steel kitchen for occasional meals & drab, dark café tables & chairs. Very odd! Not their fault, but really noisy from traffic even though a small road. Sorry to do so negative.

    lovely villa & grounds. Well kept. Great swimming pool. Get a room with own terrace. Rooms dark otherwise.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything from staff to amenities to sheer over the top attention to detail so appealing in this gorgeous property.. Alissandro and his staff have created a magical, luxurious place to visit. We didn't want to leave.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Evening meal (dining experience) not available when pool not in use (out of season). No tea/cover facilities in room. Need to travel by car to get to SG to eat out on an evening.

    Setting. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was wonderful. Beautiful location and facilities. Cozy, comfortable rooms. Friendly, welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The owner was more like family than a hotelier.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful setting great views and great location for day trips to nearby towns

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful athmosphere. Love the place will go again.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: