Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Castelluccio Country Resort

Via Ariano snc, 50031 Barberino di Mugello, Italy

#5 of 21 hotels in Barberino di Mugello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I slept really well after a long day at the track but I think in general I haven’t had the most comfortable beds in Italy. With that said, I would definitely go back despite this small issue

    This property was amazing! It was set way off the main road up winding roads until you get to this magical building. The grounds are well-kept in the pool and the views are amazing. I stayed at the property while attending a race in Mugello so the room Prices were a little more expensive than usual but im glad I did it! I’m also vegan and they went out of their way to accommodate me and made the most delicious three-course meal including some vegetables from their garden. In the morning that even had vegan cake and other options for me at the breakfast bar. Seriously a Rememberable spot that I hope to return to one day when I can enjoy it more and have some downtime!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool and hot-tub were beautiful but not warm enough for my liking

    Such a peaceful place with an amazing view! Super helpful staff! I wish I could have stayed longer! It is pretty far off the beaten path down a long, windy, dirt road but that is exactly what I was looking for...They have wonderful breakfasts & dinners on-site

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel was a nightmare. The coordinates and the post code on booking.com were totally incorrect. It took an hour to find the road in to the hotel which was behind an shopping mall.

    Beautiful peaceful Italian Farmhouse set away in the Tuscany hills. Very relaxing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls of the rooms are super thin so you could hear everybody and they could hear you. The stairs to the room are narrow and steep and if you are not super fit it can be a challenge especially with luggage. We also expected a hot tub but the second pool is just a little warm for sure no hot tub. On an overcast day it's not enjoyable. I booked the hotel mainly for the hot tub but at the end we were really happy and enjoyed our time.

    We loved the location and especially Giovanni who was there in the afternoon. He is friendly and super knowledgeable of things to do in the area. He also has the endless patients with his guests. We really enjoyed our stay and we meet some awesome people. I also had some of the most amazing local beer from Tuscany.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried unsuccessfully (more than 8 trials!) to contact the property via mobile phone, in order to get information re the best way to reach Il Castelluccio.

    Rooms very comfortable; cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the location on a GPS was impossible. Use Google maps.

    Beautiful location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hospitality was outstanding. One of my favourite places I have stayed. Set 3 course dinner menu locally inspired that was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's better to check-in before the sunset, as you need to drive almost off-road in the forest and hills.

    Location is at the same time remote from big cities and close to A1 highway which makes it easy to reach any place of interest by car. Dinner offering is outstanding, so is the food. Breakfasts are nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It smelled out of the siffon in the bathroom. The room was dark because it has only one small window.

    The Location has a pool, a Whirlpool and a nice view. The Service was very courteous. The dinner tasted very good and the Prices were acceptable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor hot tub only luke warm (booked stay because of a "hot tub") and lots of stairs and big climb up from parking lot. I have a bad leg and it might have been noted in info. No one there to offer assistance as staff wear many hats it seems. Bed was very high up and a challenge to get in and out of. Traffic noise in the distance otherwise very tranquil. Nice retreat.

    The food at dinner was limited but very good and staff was friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was amazing and the best one I had while on vacation in Italy. In addition the staff made the trip and location a great choice. They were all very accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the surroundings, the rooms were very nice and clean and the food at the hotelrestaurant was genuine and just fantastic! You could buy local wine at the Hotel. Taste the sparkeling white wine while you are here!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last morning there was no water in the bathroom. Dinners always changed from menu, to a cheaper alternative for the same price. Not as good food as expected, but still good.

    Beautiful place in the hills, surrounded with forests, romantic solitude. Very nice and comfortable house, cosy room, great terrace with a pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the gate closed at night and the staff failed to notify us and provide codes to gain access after hours. We called the phone number located outside on the gate and no one answered.

    Loved the grounds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will keep this short. Booked a Junior Suite for five days. Could hear every spoken word, movement and "physical noise" from the room next door. Complained next morning..all I got was sorry! Went out and bought ear plugs for the next night. Heard everything again. We were informed that nobody was next to us on the third night so we should get some sleep...how nice of them! We we offered nothing, not even another room even though many people were staying for single nights.The customer service was non existent apart from one lady who seemed to be very embarrassed. To call this a Country Resort and our room a Junior Suite is laughable. We told them we were going to leave and we're immediately told we had to pay for 5 nights which we were contracted to do through Booking.com. Had no problem with that but the room was not fit for purpose and the offer of knocking some wine off our bill was quite honestly pathetic. The next day we booked another hotel and left after paying the bill, the offer of a small bottle of Olive Oil as compensation about summed the place up! This was the sixth place we had stayed on our holiday and the worst.

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to dislike really but if I have to be picky the bed was a bit hard and the pillows weren't very plump.

    Nice quiet out the way location with excellent links to motorways perfect for exploring north east Tuscany, but most of all the staff were excellent Eleanor was fantastic. Pool was nice especially in the hot summer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was an wonderful, peaceful, private family hotel! Very clean, large room with lots of personal touches, very comfortable beds, amazing views. It's up on a hill out in the countryside. In fact, we had a hard time finding this hotel (took us a half hour extra.) However, when we finally found it, it was well, well worth the effort. Get the dinner they offer.......they must have a gourmet chef planning and cooking the meals. Our dinner was fabulous, and we enjoyed it out on the terrace overlooking the hills of Tuscany. We will come back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was - a wooden door pretending a wardrobe (?) between our room and someone else's! I'm guessing it isn't even noticeable unless you're sharing the door with a drunk couple who's yelling and laughing out loud till 3am and doesn't even react when you ask them to be quiet. Since we had to get up 6am and drive for hours, we were absolutely exhausted... I'm guessing it would be similar if we were sharing the door with a family with young crying babies. Not sure if all the rooms work this way! There was also no working WiFi but we weren't bothered about it much. We were not surprised it wouldn't work in the hills.

    We loved absolutely everything about the hotel - the staff is lovely and helpful, food and wine - delicious, the rooms are beautiful, it's quiet and away from the whole wild world.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both Claudia and Elena we're amazing. We are only English speaking, and even though Claudia did not know a lot of English, she was wonderful and helped make us feel like welcomed. Elena was full of so much information, and a joy to talk with. The stay was just wonderful. If we ever go back to Italy, we will be staying there again, fo sure!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road to the hotel is not so good for sportscars. Wi-fi in the rooms.

    Nice and authentic atmosphere like in the old castle. The hotel is the old farm house on tuscany hill. Very nice hosts. We arrived quiet late, but got delicious dinner in the hotel. Wine from local winery is nice, try it! Good location, close to Firenze and Barberino shopping outlet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi signal, very bad mobile data reception indoors (EDGE only), uncomfortable bed (soft & deformed mattress, tall bed (1m) - dangerous for bed-sharing toddlers), low pressure in the shower, gravel from the parking zone to the reception/rooms (bad for pulling trolley bags), car GPS couldn't find the address - use Google Maps.

    The location (great view, quiet, nature), the staff was nice (but they didn't speak English very well), spacious room, bathroom amenities, lots of towels, fresh water from the minibar, decent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no wifi in the rooms, only at the reception area which was not working on a day we arrived. we got a room with tiny spiralling stairs leading into the room. it was quite difficult to take the suitcases up there! also other guests were struggling to cary their suitcases into their rooms. poor breakfast.

    close to the highway, so good locations to have a quick break while driving. close to the outlet shopping area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pavement between the main road and the resort is not very comfortable (understatement) for very sportive cars. But, our Audi TT and we survived :o).

    Great location, extraordinary renovated castle with superb room. And: location is easy to find and perfectly guided with signs from the Factory Outlet Center of Barberino. The dinner menu is great value. Nice pool area with a regular pool and a warm water tub.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only "down-side" is" finding the hotel. It is not displayed on the GPS and there are hardly any/no indications when entering the town.

    A very nice little hotel in the middle of nowhere. Extremely quiet location with very attentive staff. The restaurant offers great value for money (the menu was at Euro 25,- - great quality food and simply too much to eat everything). Definitely recommendable if you want to stay "close" to Firenze and don't want to stay in a town but prefer a quiet place to relax.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were twice. Nice place for couple nights, restourant is perfect, beds were comfortable (7 and 1 rooms). But 7s room was good audibility.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect and freiendly service. Silent place to chill down.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small windy unpaved road up to the location. A bit scary at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room snd bathroom. No elevators. Noises from other rooms.

    Beautiful landscape

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recommend having dinner elsewhere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner each night was amazing!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn and tired in places, needed some TLC.

    Rustic design, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic country hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE BATHROOM DOOR WOUD NEED A FIXING, IT DID NOT STAY CLOSED

    WONDERFUL TIPICAL TUSCAN DINNER, ROOM WITH JACUZZI VERY ENJOYABLE

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La suite IL PARADISO DI DANTE

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't reach the room.

    The service and accomdations were amazing. The food was excellent. Beautfiul view.

    Stayed in August 2016

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Il Castelluccio Country Resort traveller photo gallery