Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Il Cavalier D'Arpino 3 stars

Via Vittoria Colonna 21, 03033 Arpino, Italy

#1 of 9 hotels in Arpino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 339 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints about our stay here.

    This is a hidden gem. We found this beautiful property because we wanted a day out of the big cities. We enjoyed it so much here that we ended up staying two nights. A great location for country side day trips. Sonya and her team are great! Wifi good. Breakfast good. Parking. The 3 rooms were clean, spacious, updated. Views are amazing. You can see by this hotel that Sonya isn't just running a hotel... it was her dream to run a hotel. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dangerous exiting driveway, hard to see traffic approaching. Possibly putting in a traffic mirror could help.

    Rustic retreat with friendly staff, parking and nearby restaurants, sites and towns worth visiting. High ceilings, stunning views, comfortable beds and large fluffy towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Much better than many 4 star hotels. Fabulous breakfast, delightful room, quiet location, fridge in room. Tea room. Helpful staff - Sonia -actually walked me to a hairdresser !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful building with lots of nooks and crannies to visit. Owners were very friendly and because of this the hotel had a lovely family feeling about it. Excellent breakfast and great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a wonderfully old building in a town which could almost be a film set. The buildings and the town are centuries old with such character and breath taking views. The staff in the hotel speak very good English and were very helpful. The rooms are very pleasant and the bed was comfortable. Air con is provided and breakfast, as well as free secure parking. The shower was very small but other than that I wouldn't have any complaints. A very pleasant stay in a very pleasant hotel in a beautiful town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows extreamly hard. Shower tiny. And I don't think the crossaints at breakfast were fresh daily. Also they had cappacino, espresso etc but was never offered. You needed to ask or else you just had filtered. I think the only thing lacking at this hotel is a restaurant.

    Perfect position in Arpino if traveling to nearby towns. Room was huge and comfortable and very clean. Staff helpful and attentive. Very knowledgeable. Breakfast room very authentic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling by car and when we left the highway one of the roads was blocked by some local weekend event so we had to take another route. It was not much of a issue, just be advised.

    The town is very picturesque - with its architecture and surroundings which are seen from the hotel, also as it was weekend there was a town market open which we were advised to visit by hotel staff. Breakfast was surprisingly great, served in the banquet hall of the hotel. The territory has a free parking and a beautiful garden. It was surprising to find tea rooms in it - something that i have never seen in Italy before. We had a corner room for three persons so it had windows on three sides of the building - so even in summer heat you could sleep without AC. The hotel is worth staying, even though it is a bit off the highway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was great. Couldn't ask for more.

    This hotel is absolutely beautiful, converted from an old wool mill. Stunning location in a peaceful setting although a short walk into the centre of Arpino reveals little restaurants, cafes, winding cobbled streets, picturesque views round every corner. Also has an interesting historical element as Arpino birthplace of Cicero. Rooms were classic and tasteful. The garden was a gem and we loved he little tearoom too. Breakfast was served in a delightful dining room with the best choice we have had in Italy and local homemade cakes by Annamaria. The whole place exuded an ambience of Italian class and beauty. Staff were fantastic and Rudolfio went out of his way to help us out with getting there and out again by public transport! I will always look back on my visit as 2 days of serene loveliness. If you have ever dreamed of quintessential Italy, this is it. Enchanting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - everything was nice, no improvement possible

    - nice, friendly helpful, cheerful staff - great view from the room, on three sides - authentic , very charming, late medieval building - private parking - comfortable sleep, room had good noise isolation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very gorgeous place with wonderful garden and friendly staff, room was clean and beds had really good mattress, we slept very well. Breakfast was delicious too, we would like to visit this amazing place again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We received a warm welcome when we arrived at the hotel. The staff did their utmost to make us feel comfortable and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We asked to change rooms and they moved us to a better room at no extra cost.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no restaurant on-site, but good one close-by

    nice surprise. huge, ancient building, recently renovated, large flower-garden, lovely small city on hill-side, excellent breakfast, quietness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Large comfortable room with garden view. Spacious gardens. Secure onsite parking. Lovely breakfast with delicious home made cakes..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A very special place, old but well maintained and with character, very big room, big lift, breakfast generous and served in a very impressive restaurant, very clean, nice garden, sorry we stayed just one night...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As I said, the hotel would benefit from a good lounge or seating area. I felt this was missing. The pillows were a little to stiff for me!!

    The village of Arpino was absolutely gorgeous. The hotel was quite quirky and different. The staff were exceptionally friendly. I hear they hope to add a small swimming pool over the next year or so, and this would make a fabulous addition. The hotel would benefit from a small bar area to sit and have a glass of wine. There is no bar or good "cosy" seating area currently. Very small "basic" tea room / area only. Overall we really enjoyed the stay and the area / views were just lovely. Nice delicatessen attached to hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was just wonderful - even the sun shone throughout our trip.

    Comfortable bed, cleanliness impeccable, warmth and helpfulness of patroness and staff truly exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not fault this hotel!

    Everything was perfect! Wonderful old building, family owned and operated. Thank you Sonya and Rudi for your kindness! We very much enjoyed the tea room, the warmth and the hospitality. Wished we had stayed much longer!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't fault this hotel and I know if you are not happy with anything they would try to accommodate you.

    Lovely breakfast. Good choice of food. Delicious cakes and coffee. A warm and friendly greeting from the staff who are always so polite and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT!!!

    -MAGNIFICENT HOTEL!! -INCREDIBLY FRIENDLY & WELCOMING STAFF! -GORGEOUS ARCHITECTURE -FABULOUS MARBLE BATHROOM & HOT SHOWER -DELICIOUS BREAKFAST IN THE MOST BEAUTIFUL DINING ROOM -AMAZING HISTORY OF BOTH THE HOTEL AND THE CITY OF ARPINO! PERFECT LOCATION FOR SEEING THE ENTIRE CITY! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    One of the nicest hotels we have visited anywhere, at any price. Comfortable rooms and beds, nice showers and baths, all spotless, and very nice, family-directed staff. Real pride of ownership was obvious. The topper was the outstanding breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing letting them down was the mattress, it felt a bit old and therefore not comfortable, they should consider changing them. Not very easy to find the first time, need a GPS.

    The room was big and had an amazing view of the hills. Breakfast was big with a lot of choice both sweet and savory and always someone around to make you an espresso. All of the staff was friendly and helpful and we loved the company of the cat Lupin that you can find wandering around the garden.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big bathroom but shower cubicle on small side

    Good communication prior to Visit - owners very helpful booking us a table at local trattoria. Lovely setting - ideal overnight stay - 1 1/2 drive from Rome - enjoyable onward drive to Amalfi Coast - hope to stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not very powerful but the water was always hot so only a minor issue.

    Warm,friendly and helpful staff. Lots of choice at breakfast.Good coffee.Delicious homemade cakes. Spacious room with a lovely view. Location near the central piazza of Arpino.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Softer pillows would have been appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little cramped, but minor issue really

    Very friendly staff/owner. Beuatiful common areas in hotel, and nice grounds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing views from any bedroom. Huge rooms and wonderful breakfast. The town was hidden from tourists as well so a realy special stay with Cicero.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The bed was very comfortable, the surroundings most relaxing and pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Was sorry to see their restaurant close and no longer available.

    Always love staying at the Cavalier. Sonia and Rudolfo are wonderful .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like being at home, only more grand! Wonderful staff and wonderful property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delightful and helpful proprietor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant facility open in the hotel as claimed

    The tea room was a bonus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy walk to city center, friendly staff, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful staff, the building and its gardens are beautiful, great location in Arpino, with beautiful views of the surrounding hills.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything!! Just perfect!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small town, not so many things to do.

    Beautiful hotel, nice garden, helpful staff, good breakfast.great place to rest

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed overnight on the way from Rome to Puglia. A nice hotel with friendly staff in a nice town!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast omelette was a real treat. everything is just perfect about this hotel First class from start to finish.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxed location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, it was just perfect. The staff, the room, the building, the location. It truly is a treasure, we were so fortunate to have been directed there. Can't wait to return. Even if you are on the way from Naples to Rome you must take the opportunity to visit just to chill, breath the clear air, and just be - priceless !!!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Group

    Located in the mountainside town of Arpino. It's a bit of a drive up the mountain but the views are fantastic. There are a few restaurants within walking distance where you can get a great meal with wine for under €20. It would be a great location for a wedding or romantic getaway. If you're spending a few days in Rome, try a bit of the Italian countryside and stay here also. Staff was very helpful and gave us advice for dining and sightseeing. Ask about the olive farm tour; it was fantastic. The hotel itself is a remarkable building with a very nice courtyard and dining hall.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi-fi could have worked better in the rooms.

    Lovely atmosphere like in a medieval castle! Very friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms with wonderful views, amazing garden. Delicious breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hot water in the shower was a bit hit and miss but the owner was looking into this.

    Lovely hotel in a lovely village, will be returning. Hotel owner was great and made us feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location , very friendly hotel and the breakfast is excellent, very fresh. Many thanks to all for one of the most memorable holidays we've had! Will return!

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel itself is marvelous. The structure is beautiful, the rooms are classy, and the owners were helpful and friendly. True, they do not have a pool, and they don't claim to either but they have beautiful gardens where you can enjoy your meal. Right next to town, it is a gem of a place.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The town lacked restaurants of any great significance. There are restaurants and good agriturismo restaurants about 3km from the town though. Arpino loves cats. Everywhere you go around the town you see cats. There were two overly friendly kittens in the gardens of the hotel.

    The town is short 1.5 hour drive from Rome. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was a substantial buffet. Cicero came from the town. Sunday morning markets were fun to get a bargain.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This hotel is beautiful! We relaxed the moment we saw it! The beds were the most comfortable we've had on our trip. They're hard, but so much better than bouncy!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hairdryer in the bathroom.

    Room immaculate with spectacular view over the garden. Warmth and helpfulness of hotel staff 'out of this world'.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water in the shower wasn't reliable

    Style and ambience;breakfast with coffee to our liking and great service!

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would love to have a kettle in the room.

    Staff very friendly. Breakfast excellent, gorgeous cakes! Stunning view from front rooms

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice place 5*

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything perfect. Safe in room was not working but attended to immediately. Can't fault it.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding the hotel is a nightmare. They need to install better directions.

    Breakfast is a joy.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of a good restaurant in the evironment.

    The location, the town, and the setting of the hotel are superb.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Couple

    Delightful personnel and location. lovely room, views, parking.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location and buildng - incredibly beautiful

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loud music at the hotel during a wedding reception but it ended at midnight.

    Very friendly staff and Arpino is a pleasant village.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed.

    The owners......and staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    This was our second stay at this lovely hotel and everything was perfect!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Hotel Il Cavalier D'Arpino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: