Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Chiostro Del Carmine

Via Della Diana 4, 53100 Siena, Italy

Review score

Based on 988 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    A peaceful oasis away from the crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed at Il Chiostro del Carmine over Palio weekend - our reason for visiting Siena on this occasion. The location of the hotel was ideal - a short walk away from where the event takes place but far enough to be away from the crowds. The hotel was cool, in a hot city, and our room large and comfortable. Breakfast was good and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in the heart of Siena’s Centro Storico
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No big dramas for us, but room for improvement. The air conditioning was very noisy and came on by itself, even when switched off, so we had to switch it off through the safety switch (fuse). The fridge was not clean, somebody must have spilled something in there, and one of the four water bottles in there were half empty. No complimentary water bottles in the room, the ones in the fridge cost €1.50. And the plastic cups for juice/water at breakfast don’t fit to the rest of the nice breakfast, so I suggest just to provide sufficint number of glasses.

    The hotel is very nicely located in the Centro Storico of Siena, and everything in the old town is within convenient walking distance. However it was also easy to arrive there with the car, and very convenient to park it in one of their parking spaces around the corner after unloading the baggage in front of their door (make sure you enter the old part through Porta San Marco, and let the receptionist know your arrival time and number plate). The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was of proper size with an amazing view over some valleys outside the city walls. Breakfast was appropriate with cereals, rolls, Italian cakes, fruit, joghurt, juices. Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location. The hotel is a refurbished Monestery and located within the city walls. We loved this hotel. It has an open courtyard and views out into the valley. Parking was easy but make sure you contact the hotel prior to arrival. All places of interest were within walking distance. The rooms were wonderful. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were courteous and extremely helpful. There are wonderful small restaurants and little stores close by. We would all certainly return to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Very very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool or leisure facility like that - to be fair it doesnt market itself as that sort of place.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. It was a unique place to stay. The 14th century fresco in the breakfast room along with view were certainly very cool. Also the courtyard in the evening was relaxing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice cloisters- not much used. Noisy air conditioning
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The VERY VERY VERY noisy air conditioning! We ended up switching it off ( and this with some difficulty- through Reception), opening the windows in the middle of the night! Fortunately it was not very hot weather and there were no mosquitoes! But.... really... they should get some modern air conditioning units!!

    Make sure you enter Siena via porta San Marco even if your satnav has other ideas. Otherwise you risk getting very confused and possibly get a fine like we did!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Super converted monastery, comfortable, parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely old building - converted monastery, yet very comfortable. Beautiful courtyard. Excellent breakfast. Staff spoke good english and were very helpful. Parking convenient, 100 yards away. 15 minute walk to central square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Hospitality in an old convent turned hotel. Lovely place inside Sienna walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful old cloisters revamped into hotel well located in Sienna. Turned out to be a lovely place to stay inside the city walls. Annika and the rest of the staff were kind, hospitable and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay in a beautiful medieval town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some minor problems regarding the cleanliness: for the first two days our room was hardly made up and new toiletries were not supplied. We had to remind of that in the reception, after that everything got settled pretty fast. If you came late to breakfast, the food was also likely to have disappeared although I am sure the staff did their best to refill the plates. One night we came home late and the door was closed, however, we could open it by swiping the room card.

    The hotel is situated in the building of an old convent and the location is superb - just a minute's s drive from the Gate of St Marco which is the only gate the non-residents are allowed to drive through to Siena. As we came we were concerned about the parking options but the hotel staff offered us a parking space in the street next to the hotel (for an additional charge), and it was really convenient - the fact rather than the space itself which was quite tight, but in the end we learned to park quite efficiently. It also has to be mentioned that the staff member came to our help once when we were not able to park due to the overcrowded parking space, so hats off to the nice guy in Chiostro.:) The staff all in all were kind and tried to help in all cases when help was needed, e.g., when we had to have laundry done. The room was on the third floor (no elevator, but that was not a problem for us) and with fantastic view on the Tuscan landscape. The room was spacy enough, bathroom pretty well equipped, breakfast was OK too, if got a bit boring after 7 day stay, but that was not the hotel's fault, of course - and they made you fresh coffee on demand, too.:) All in all it was a very good stay and we would gladly stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    An oasis in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the mattress had a big hollow in it room 16

    Beautiful cloister entry is an oasis, spacious rooms, great breakfast selection, helpful staff. close to duomo

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice property in a great location in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi would have been handy

    Bed wasn't particularly comfortable, but the property was ideally located and the staff very friendly. The wi-fi was not so good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Grand Abbaye, grand view and exceptional rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was a little pricey.. but ok

    Beautiful location with exceptional view in a grand old Abbaye. You feel the history and can easily relax over an aperitif in The wonderful garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    The atmosphere was just great, I will never forget sleeping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was too weak, and there could be more choices for breakfast.

    The atmosphere was just great, I will never forget sleeping in an old monastery, rooms with old floors and ceilings. In the same time all bathrooms and Other facilities were super clean and modern. Very friendly and helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful building, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My squeaky bed. Breakfast room, never seemed to be quite ready for its guests (ie some tables not set, all breakfast items not out, etc.

    Quiet location with short walk to Duomo & Main Piazza. Hotel room clean & tidy but furnishings tired. Bathroom spacious & clean. Terrace with room a bonus. Staff welcoming & all requests were met.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Location is pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is basic which is in line with the historic building but the bathroom definitely needs some care. The breakfast is a disaster with plastic gobelets, packed cookies,...

    Location is pretty good. Outside courtyard is really nice. Building has a lot of charm. View from 2nd floor was nice from our room on the roofs of Sienna

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    The staff really nice, the room so vintage but have really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi really slow, even in the main room, sometimes disconnected.

    The staff really nice, the room so vintage but have really good bed, also breakfast so good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.4
    The building is beautiful and the courtyard and view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar, disappointing breakfast, air conditioning in room not working, bedroom very basic.

    The building is beautiful and the courtyard and view from room was stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful building, nice breakfast with amazing view if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service was good, but wanted a second cup of coffee, but never received. Not much to not like about this place. Most rooms upstairs with no elevator, but had a handicap seat lift.

    Beautiful building, nice breakfast with amazing view if you can get the table by the window. Nice pastries, cold cuts, yogurt, fruit, cereal. Cute room with nice outdoor balcony. Everyone very nice. Would have liked to stay longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    I loved the property and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    softer bed

    The property has been in use for 700 years, yet it has all the conveniences of modern day life. It is located meters from the village center and offers free and convenient parking. The cloister garden is a plus. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Historic charm
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anything here would be due to age and it's the age of the building that was is charm. Better if it had fridge in room.

    Position, size, parking, people and breakfast. Did all we needed andrea more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    If you want to feel the spirit of ages you should stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We lived in an ancient building with tower and big terrace. Feeled like kings here) Despite the coffee was the best I have evere tasted. And the king-size bed was a plus. Oh! The view to old Siena was terrific!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall we enjoyed our stay at Il Christo and s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs a shelf to hold soap and shampoo. We ran out of toilet paper twice and had to go searching for more from staff, not always easy. You could have a spare roll in the bathroom.

    We liked the aroma of fresh baking croissants. Staff was very helpful with directions and any questions we had.overall we enjoyed our stay at

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location but wouldnt stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff to help with luggage unless asked. I am traveling for two months so traveling with large suitcase. Lots of steps, which should be noted in description. Breakfast consisted of burned croissants and always had to ask for coffee because the staff was too busy talking to one another. When we were leaving not one person said goodbye nor ask how was our visit.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Very nice to stay in Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Stairs were a problem for us because of my fysical hartcondition. Douche and bath were not good functional. Airco was not functioning.

    The room was perfect. Nice bed with good maintenance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Good for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mind a lot of stairs to get to the room. No go for elderly people. No help offered to get the luggage up to the room.

    Interesting building and quiet location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    3.8
    I definitely do not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all it is not a 4 stars hotel. It is old, tatty, makes an impression dirty and has not been renovated for a long time. The rooms smells bad, bed sheets are end-of-life, as are all other things in this hotel. Breakfast very poor and unappetizing. When we entered the room we wanted to escape.

    Beautiful, old building and patio.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is available beside the hotel in a tiny car park. You have to drive down a restricted road to get to it. We managed to scrap our hire car trying to get out of the car park

    Brilliant location inside the city walls. Beautiful big room and huge bathroom. Good breakfast- lots of choice. We loved Siena and found the hotel a good position to explore the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Magical. The hotel is magical, the city is magical, the food was magical. Highlight of our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com said parking. Parking however is not exactly on-site, and anything larger than a minicar is impossible to get into the hotel's "parking lot". Not exactly recommended if you have to drive to Sienna.

    Convent in the heart of the old part of the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Quiet, quirky, clean, functional, historic, hidden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Info on parking wasn't esp clear: do read the smallprint. However, hotel had space for us to park for 15E. Breakfast ok though things weren't topped up when they ran out. Staff seemed a little tired - check-in and check-out was rather paperwork-heavy and clunky so factor this into your schedule as there's not much space in the reception area.

    Great location; really modern bathroom; v quiet; v clean; quirky, stylish and full of history; stunning cloister and yard; little oasis in city that you can't imagine when you see it from the street. Good value for such a non-mainstream place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    A sound choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite being given a lovely room with an amazing view, something didn't quite work for us, hence the lower than 9 rating. Perhaps it was the staff: some confusion, lack of follow-through on a request - we got the impression that they weren't that organised. But probably just bad luck and on a different day things would have been perfect.

    The old convent has the potential to be something superb. Amazing views and just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of the town. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend staying there - but it wasn't 'magical' in the way that some stays are.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in interesting old convent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything.

    The room we had was spacious, the bed huge and comfortable. It was warm and light and the shower was good with plenty hot water. Breakfast was a buffet so you could eat as little or much as you wanted. There was a lovely courtyard to sit in outside, but it was a bit too cool to use it while we were here. This is a lovely old convent with interesting nooks and crannies and is central to everything. You can take a No 3 bus from close to the railway station and get of at Porta Tuffi from where it's a ten minute walk ( uphill).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing is strange. The room smelt like drain but the bathroom door was always closed. Not sure where it came from. But it didn’t bother us too much as we were out most of the time.

    Staff are friendly and helpful. Parking is available at 15 Euros a day. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    When in Siena - stay at this property! You will not regret.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect! It exceeded our expectations, especially the value for our money! In appreciation, we tipped big time! (-:

    The staff! Super friendly and helpful!! Love love love! The location was bang on! The awesome views! Especially the breakfast room! Magical. And oh oh oh our balconies!! We had adjoining rooms. Wow wow see! We could drink and smoke (cigarettes) to our hearts' content! Lol not healthy, I know. The parking was a challenge. Overall: I will come back and spread the word that this property is a definite 'find'!! Thank you. Grazie mille !!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration in the corridors leading to the bedrooms: flashy colors and modern paintings do not fit in such an old convent.

    The stunning view from room 19, and from breakfast room. The excellent location and the useful tips received from desk staff for local restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    First choice for a sojourn in Siena!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the not so nice smells emanating from the bathroom, probably from not so pristine plumbing.

    Everything actually! Starting with the staff, extremely open & friendly, giving us on demand excellent tips (in Italian) regarding sight-seeing, restaurants, the history of Siena, etc.. The structure is an ancient monastery, that’s been very well preserved, including a delightful inner court (probably very nice in summer) and a historical room. No lack of modern comfort, too. Quite central location, but apart from touristic agitation. We had the luck to be allotted a room in the 1st floor, nice & quiet, with wonderful view to 2 sides. Generous breakfast in a bright & ample ambient. And ending with the staff: Impeccable to the last second! Mille grazie, arriverderci!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    The patio at the entrance very picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some bits of the decoration a bit decadent

    The patio at the entrance very picturesque. Very good breakfast. Very friendly and quick response staff. We complained about a funny smell coming from our bathroom and were offered to be changed to another room without hesitation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Overall, I enjoyed staying at this hotel in a historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was not very conveniently located though nearby and I had to pay 20 Euros for it.

    The location is good, close to old town. Breakfast was also good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The porter helped carry 2 pieces of heavy luggage upstairs. Hotel used to a church itself. We enjoyed staying at this old building of 600 years history.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location looking over the city; close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were quite massive, but we got help with our bags. The balcony could have been more private.

    The historic cloisters were beautiful. Good breakfasts. Carlo was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Good choice at Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to settle the bill for our stay by Cash as the Hotel was unable to process any credit card transactions??? It was broken when we arrived and still not fixed on the morning we checked out. The tv did not work and the Fridge in our room was broken.

    Good choice at Breakfast. There was a lot of character to the hotel as it used to be a convent. Really liked the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful tranquil hotel, in a lovely historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything.

    We really enjoyed our stay here. We particularly liked the courtyard garden surrounded by the cloisters of the original convent, with lovely outdoor furniture. A lovely place to have a drink or catch up on some reading. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants plus the cathedral and main square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location very close to most Sienna atractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of lift is a great drawback as well as not working card payment facilities. Nothing has been done to have them repaired as we stayed in hotel.

    Perfect location very close to most Sienna atractions. Good parking space given local circumstations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.4
    enjoyable but not reccomended for old people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no lift.(historical building), should have been warned. NO parking at hotel, drop bags off & follow directions to parking. not easy at night & 1way system. bath very deep, asked for non slip mat, none. breakfast 2nd morning, literally ran out of croissants & other items, kept having to ask for plates.

    location in the heart of siena, centuries of history in the building itself (monastery), large room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    A delightful place to stay when visiting the old town of Sienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift but staff helped with our bags to the first floor. Minor issues with an ill fitting toilet seat and the air conditioning which was controlled at the front desk.

    The bed was comfortable and the sheets were fresh cotton. Pillows just how we like them. Breakfast included a mix of cereals, breads, cheeses , sweet tomatoes, fruit and delicious buffalo mozzarella and good coffee. Staff were very helpful as we had problems renting a car (please note if you are not from an EU country you need an International Drivers License to do so). Location was quiet. View from our room was over the pretty countryside. Delightful courtyard to sit in. The hotel used to be a convent so the historical influences internally were interesting. Location was handy being inside the old city walls. Taxi service is prompt. Great Wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Delightful! Great staff; clean and comfortable, a perfect layover in Siena!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything!

    The staff were friendly and helpful; very kind! It's in a fantastic location, and very quiet. The courtyard is delightful and it's within easy walking distance of restaurants and sites. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Cute ups and downs in beautiful Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs, after a day's walk in Siena ;) But what a beauty of a city!

    The view from our room windows were amazing, beautiful Tuscan valley lit here and there by other villages. Breakfast was fair, amazing cappucino!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Well positioned hotel in an old monastery / convent with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well positioned hotel in an old monastery / convent with some lovely old features. Would certainly return and would recommend to friends. Nice breakfast in the courtyard beside the cloisters.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    This is a beautiful property with a great courtyard, &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mention of no lift when the booking was made. Our rooms A/C was extremely noisy. Tea & Coffee facilities in room but no Milk.

    This is a beautiful property with a great courtyard, & very peaceful sitting rooms all on the ground floor. There are 50 stairs to reach the 2nd level with no lift as the building was built in the 13th Century. No good if stairs are a problem. Staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    The service and staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and staff was excellent. Really nice place with lot's of history. Moreover it was quiet and the parking slots are just behind the hotel. They cost 15€ per day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice old building, helpful staff , clean tidy place for an old historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    problem we came across was the toilet was fitted so high, might sound silly but it made going to toilet uncomfortable for my wife so high that her feet did touch the ground, Some mornings had to wait if the waitress was busy up to 5/10 min for hot water to make tea , so it seems to much trouble to get a second cuppa, I think much better to have a hot water heater and could help ourselves , can understand for other coffees but for a pot of hot water seems a waste of waitress's time

    Overall good room, and very helpful staff, beauitful location for breakfast , normal basic breakfast, cheese,ham, coffee/tea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Will definitely be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No dinner service

    The hotel is very central, not a far walk from Siena Square. The staff are all friendly and really helpful. We used this hotel to house our wedding party and they did everything they could to accommodate us persistently changing the bookings! The courtyard is lovely to sit in and have breakfast. For the cost, it is great value for money. Highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    I like everything in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit old fir example stairs and carpet On the stairs. Bathroom Bed is old and not really comfortabel

    I like everything in this hotel IT was again really special to stay in this monument as 5 year before⛪️👌👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Well-run and centrally located in a landmark building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy AC that needs to be fixed.

    Truly charming reception and restaurant staff. Tasteful decoration that respects the building's heritage. Breakfast was above average.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely views from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Regrettably for us on our day of arrival there was a wedding reception which meant that on returning to the hotel after our meal all we could do was go to our room and sit on the bed no Tv as all in Italian! No bar so no drink of wine! Felt like they did not care what happened to the guests as priority was the wedding reception think this should be added that they do host receptions.

    Our second day was better as bought a bottle of wine in the town and the receptionist not only opened it for us but also provided glasses. We sat outside in the cloisters and enjoyed the garden and the surroundings which are very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    A fantastic Italian hotel, perfect for a stay in Siena.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The courtyard in the hotel was really nice to relax in and share a bottle of wine with family and friends before heading out for dinner. The breakfast was also very nice. The hotel is also situated in the centre of Siena and convenient to come and go throughout the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Magnificent sunset
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel occupies a piece of a convent from the 14th century. The breakfast is excellent, but it has no eggs or bacon. It is not too far from the Piazza Del Campo. The view from room 18 is magnificant. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Great unusual hotel in beautiful Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Set in a monastery, this was a really unusual hotel. The room had a fabulous high beamed ceiling and the bed was lovely. Bathroom was good too. Location was good, very near to everything in Siena. Parking was fine once we found it - very tight entrance! Recommend that you read the directions on the hotels own website to make sure you enter the town through the correct gate - we didn't and got hopelessly lost - but that was our fault not the hotels!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Away from the hustle and bustle and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of water provided in the rooms. The room temperature was too high

    We made a mistake with the number of nights we were staying and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful booking us in the extra night. Breakfasts were lovely. The courtyard was beautiful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Historic building makes a wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The view from the hotel bedroom was sensational. The building - a former monastery - was exciting and fascinating. The courtyard was a wonderful retreat. It was the perfect distance from the historic centre of Siena, an easy walk but away from the crowds. The staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Discover a wonderful hotel in a 13th century building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had the best view of Tuscany. Didn't mind the 55 steps climb for this lovely room with high ceilings. Our luggage was carried up by the staff. Friendly and welcoming staff, very accommodating. Good coffee and cheeses for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    The character of the place : this is a nicely renovated old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The credit cards were (temporarily?) not accepted.

    The character of the place : this is a nicely renovated old monastery. We had a wonderful panoramic view on the roofs of Siena and on the hills of Tuscany. The breakfast was good and the area of the breakfast room was very nice. The bed was ok. The short walking distance to the main tourist attractions makes the hotel very convenient for the sightseeing. Very quiet place with character.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in beautiful Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only okay but could be better with some hot food.

    Beautifully preserved historical building. The rooms are big and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and location perfect with just a short walk to the centre. Free parking was nearby, about 7 minutes walk. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Unique and historic, not your run of the mill hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shame there is no rooftop garden as the views are just wonderful.

    This was a fantastic find, great value for money not far from the Duomo. The room was very spacious, breakfast was good and the staff were all very helpful. There is a lovely little outside garden courtyard for relaxation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very helpful and cheerful. The receptionists were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, helping with local transport information etc. Walking distance to all major sites and public transport and lovely botanical gardens just around the corner. Beautiful old building. Would certainly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Charming hotel in a brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Charming hotel with elegant bedrooms. Very handy location Breakfasts were lovely especially the coffee. Staff very friendly and helpful There are a lot of steps and no lift so this hotel would not suit anyone with walking issues.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.5
    Well done. Reccomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is very limited. You have 30 min to enter the old citadel find hotel and move the car out. The hotel have a privet parking for 15euro/day

    Very near piazza del campo

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    Very good location would be better if the hotel had bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should take care over the replenishment of the mini bar tea and coffee and tissues small things that do add up

    Very good location would be better if the hotel had bar facilities for the evening and perhaps offered room service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely room, spacious, comfortable with a big armchair, desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal dislike of fixed head showers with no flexible shower head. Also, had to keep shower gel, shampoo etc on shower tray as no shelf.

    Lovely room, spacious, comfortable with a big armchair, desk, huge double bed. Large bathroom with good towels. Very good and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay, while enjoing Siena!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bed was old (or heavely-used :-)) + no elevator, everything else was perfect

    The views, the atmosphere of the old palace, the courtyard AND the staff - ideal blend!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.6
    Cozy Ancient Hotel with excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This well maintained Hotel will transport you back in Centuries.The Hotel is cozy, the rooms and baths are spacious bringing your mind back in time. Very well located close to the main Siena´s landmarks allows you to be on the hotspots in no more than 10 mins. walk. Breakfast is good enough prior to begin your Journey.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.6
    For a charming stay in Siena
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something more for breakfast...

    The hotel is a short pleasant walk through the narrow lanes to the town centre. The ambience of the hotel is charming and the staff very friendly and helpful. A memorable stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Really nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a very nice stay.It is a unique place. The staff was really nice both in the reception and in the restaurant . The room was big enough and of course we enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel, would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant at the hotel but there are plenty near by.

    Good sized rooms, staff very friendly and helpful, excellent location with lovely views. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    An honor to stay in such an historic building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little elevator would help people with physical challenges and older people, but may not be possible in such an historic building. The breakfast could be improved.

    The location was right off the main entrance to the town and close to major sites. The building was historic with outdoor and indoor space that was spectacular. Staff was eager to help - extremely energetic and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    5.4
    Nice place, awful service and cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved with better juices. Cleanliness was not up to standards. There were white stains over the red blanket and it did not look clean. Minutes after check in, we requested a room move because the TOILET was not cleaned. Since they were sold out so it was not possible. Then we ask to have somebody to clean the toilet in order to use it and the receptionist instead, came to check "what the dirt was" and I had to show her myself why it was not clean at all. Afterwords I ended up cleaning due to no staff at 6pm to do it. It was totally disappointing that no one followed up with us after having to discuss the cleaninless of something that is supposed to be immaculate as the toilet.

    Room was very quiet and considering that is a historic building it was old but nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    breakfasts were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a elevator would have been easier on "mature" knees, but then there is a sense of grandeur in descending a centuries old staircase.

    breakfasts were wonderful. staff went above and beyond to be helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    Very central location within the old town walls, but in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was rather small - nowhere to put a suitcase - probably the smallest room in the hotel. Being an old cloister, the rooms are high and the stairs long and old and worn, so therefore a bit difficult to negotiate; 56 steps to the 2nd floor, and there is no lift, but there is a luggage lift on the stairs. As with all the hotels we stayed at in Italy, there is no hair conditioner supplied. Siena's parking laws only enabled us to enter the parking zone once, so we had to find other parking after driving out during the first day of our two day stay.

    Very central location within the old town walls, but in a quiet area. There was a generous amount of towels, for every possible use - bath, hand, face, bathmat. Very friendly service at reception.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: