Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Gabbiano 3 stars

Via Pasitea , 310, 84017 Positano, Italy

#33 of 36 hotels in Positano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 877 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    We had the most wonderful stay at Il Gabbiano, located on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the most wonderful stay at Il Gabbiano, located on the cliffs of Positano. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel which made it easy to reach the centre. Alternatively it was only a 15 minute walk down the steps to reach the centre as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.6
    A good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Internet was spotty. The view was ok. The location at the top of Positano is fine if you are using the local bus. But if you are using it as a beach vacation, it’s too far up the hill. We had to take our wet towels back to reception if we wanted clean dry ones. The porter service almost caused us to miss our ferry. I could go on, but i think it will fall on deaf ears. In my opinion this hotel should be 2* at best.

    A good shower. Our family vacationed for one month in Italy traveling from the Italian Lakes to the Amalfi Coast. Staying in 9 different accommodations along the way. The three of us did our own separate reviews. Il Gabbiano came in at #8 by two of us and #9.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Great view but slow wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was fine on the terrace but unusable in the room. Air conditioning made a continuous high-pitched noise.

    Great view from the terrace. Friendly and accommodating staff. Good shower pressure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful views from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a long way down to the beach and town. so you only wanted to make one trip per day as coming back the 650 steps was challenging.

    loved the view from our balcony - there were some nice restaurants not to far away .. it was great the taxi could stop right outside the hotel so no lugging bags down steps. a laundromat across the road that did loads of laundry for you for a reasonable price and a small store where you could take away pre-cooked meals to dine in your hotel room if you wished too. also loved the hotel bar so you could order Bellinis to drink on your balcony...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful view of Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very hard in Positano, but of course it has nothing to do with Il Gabbiano. Nevertheless it's possible to rent a parking space with a daily fee

    Great ciew overlooking Positano. We moved up 2 stories on the second day, which they need not have done but were kind enough to make us happy. Our room was so wonderful that we bought a tske away cheese plate and a bottle of wine to eat dinner on the balcony. Overall fine hotel and very nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Very nice stay for the value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spotty WiFi. We think it shuts off around midnight bc you get kicked off the WiFi and then you can’t log back in until the morning. This was frustrating. Also, we wished that either there was a coffee maker in our room or there was tea/coffee set out all day for guests so we didn’t have to order room service. There were a few times we wanted tea that we brought with us, and felt like we were bothering the front desk to ask for hot water or didn’t know if we had to pay for hot water.

    Continental breakfast was nice. Friendly front desk staff. The view from our room (#12) was very nice, but the room next to us (where my brother and sister in law were staying—#11) does not have a good view of the sea/mountains, but it is a bigger room with a walk-in closet, hallway and a bigger bathroom. Extremely clean, and we never had to ask for towels as they were replenished daily.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    The property had a great view of one side of the Positano...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi hardly worked when connected and even when it was working you had to stand in one spot to receive/send anything.

    The property had a great view of one side of the Positano cliff side. Bus stop just right outside of the place if needed, but a short 10-15minute walk down to the bottom. The property had a nice large bathroom and balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to hand keys into reception every time we left and couldn’t access the property after 11pm meaning no access to nightalife. Also terrible wifi in rooms.

    Clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    View from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a hefty hike from beaches and marina. Noise travels well within the hotel and neighbors are right on top of you with thin walls. Staff could have been friendlier and offered suggestions when asked. Cleaning staff made a lot of noise.

    View from balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, excellent views as is a bit higher up on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, excellent views as is a bit higher up on the hill, but it is a bit of a walk down to the bay and beach. Also great we could park the car at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Good comfortable but next time will stay closer to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s about 300 plus steps above the main city and beach level. If you have small children or people that cannot climb this to east a couple of times a day uoi will need a car or can. Cost of cab is 20 WiFi’s per trip one way. We would’ve liked to stay much closer to the beach.

    It’s a nice clean property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    The staffs need to learn more about hospitality how to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs need to learn more about hospitality how to respect guest, especially tourist from asia, just keep in mind..we have travelled from far and paid the same amount. In fact the price is a bit too high compared with the room and hotel facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.3
    The location is very easily accessible with a great view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is very rude and not welcoming. She is not helpful nor cooperative. The breakfast is very poor and limited, the room floor was not clean, WiFi was very slow and there was only one power socket (not even next to the bed).

    The location is very easily accessible with a great view of the coast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Marvelous overall !!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was super friendly and the view from the breakfast area was breathtaking.... Our view from the balcony was amazing and I would wake up by 5:30 am listening to the birds and daylight, and went straight to the balcony to enjoy the view.... Breakfast was delicious and Pablo was very helpful with accommodations and restaurant information. Loved our stay!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Fair but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for the value. But somehow that’s the way it is in Positano. Not great WiFi. No new bottles of water per new day (only once at check-in) No kettle. Gotta buy water from the reception.

    Great sea view with private balcony. Nice private car park and lift. Ideal for big luggages. Okay breakfast, and great view from breakfast tables.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    lovely hosts but definitely not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our apartment ceiling had a balcony on top so you can hear EVERY time a chair gets moved or someone talking at night , sounds like thunder ! We can also hear the guy next door snoring through the walls The area outside our door with deckchairs and umbrella and view was really nice EXCEPT it stinks so bad with cat piss that you just can't sit there and enjoy the view , really disappointing . No hot water sometimes. And hit us hard at $40 Euros per night for a fold up bed for 9 year old.

    Il gabbiano is a family run hotel and the staff are all lovely people , really friendly and helpful and Grandpa has the best veggie garden ever ! Its right near a bus stop and deli , market and laundromat .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    WHEN I go back to Positano we are staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    High up on the hill, but not a issue. Not many restaurants near by, but the ones that were, were very good.

    The staff here was just amazing, very friendly, helpful and very easy to speak with. Room were clean and comfortable. The breakfast included was always very fresh and good. View was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    The location and view was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price of this place you would expect a comfortable bed. They are all not comfortable at all. You can hear through the walls. We heard everyone around us all night. The hotel should be a 2 star. The linens were not nice either. Overall I would never stay there again nor recommend it to anyone.

    The location and view was very nice. The staff was okay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful Italian hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is a bit tiny, but not a deal breaker. Need more counter space in the bathroom.

    Wonderful Italian hospitality! All of my communication was friendly and they responded quickly. Warm friendly greeting upon our arrival and departure. Answered all of our questions and they were a pleasure to talk with when they had time. Sits about 900 steps from the beach (not counting the walking on the roads), and is close to great restaurants and shops. Beautiful views from our room and the breakfast was so delicious along with another beautiful view. Wifi worked good all over the hotel. It was quiet during our entire stay and the beds were comfortable. Wish we stayed here the entire time and just took day trips to the other locations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    would recommend this hotel, but ask for a room higher up, hopefully less noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    quite a noisy hotel as it echos down the hall & doors are noisy when closing. Also the toilet in our room was very noisy & very noticeable if used during the night

    The facilities were great & spacious rooms. Loved the location & view & had a nice family feel from the staff running it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.6
    Enjoyed the small terrace with sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff interactions were superficially pleasant and requests were met but there was a degree of inflexibilty that goes aganst providing a welcoming environment. Too far out of the centre. Tired bathroom+++++ which needs renovation. By comparison Royal Prisco on same street much better value and quality.

    Enjoyed the small terrace with sea view. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is quite uncomfortable, the walls are really thin so you can hear everything from the neighbors and the breakfast. We were woke up at 7am... also, when I got sick the receptionist was not really supportive with my boyfriend looking for medecine.

    Some staff were really welcoming and the view from the bedroom is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful views of the coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was small and you had to take the shower head off in order to prevent it from leaking out into the bathroom.

    Beautiful views of Positano, a lovely property with a friendly staff. Our room had AC which was great given the summer heat!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Delightful and would love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weren’t allowed to take towels for the beach so it would be good if they provided beach towels to take to the beach and bring back

    Views were excellent and breakfast lovely! Staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    We stayed for 3 nights at the end of April.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the beds hard and the pillows flat but that is a personal preference. It seemed to be the norm at most places we stayed.

    We stayed for 3 nights at the end of April. The weather was great so we sat on our balcony everyday afternoon and enjoyed the view after lots of walking. The locations was great, restaurants and wine shops close by. It is basic but spotlessly clean and the family running it are very nice. The breakfast covers everything you need for a light European breakfast and comes a beautiful view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    The view from the balcony is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit too flat, and so was the mattress. But this is a super personal opinion.

    The view from the balcony is amazing! It’s an awesome place if you’re looking for the dolce far niente! All the staff was super kind and helpful, they have a really nice team working there! The hotel is clean, everything works properly and it’s super close to the bus station!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel has spectacular view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You hear everything, even when your neighbors snore you hear it. You hear when they walk on high heels too. You hear flushing as well!

    The hotel has spectacular view. Rooms have terraces that makes it even more enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.0
    Customer service was horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was horrible.They forgot who was the customer.Price was to much for quality of room.Bed & pillow to hard.Maids wake you up early in the morning while cleaning other rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other rooms and corridor very loud

    Amazing views from the room, big balcony, good shower, spotless clean, 24 hour reception, staff super friendly, breakfast with a view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.8
    Not what I expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To start with our room was poorly decorated, cheap furniture... not at all like the pictures in the web page. Very noisy, water running though pipes is too loud. Distance from the beach is definitely not 10’ and there was no bathtub. We were told that there was only “one room” with bathtub... therefore the description of the room was not at all accurate. Poor explanation and lack of good will. They blame on “booking.com” all the misinformation. I never had to give a bad review but I feel obliged to other travelers.

    Only the view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The room terrace was amazing - great view and lots of space...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfasts had little variety and nutrition. There wasn't anything warm except for the toasted bread. The room was really small and there was hardly anywhere to put your stuff or unpack.

    The room terrace was amazing - great view and lots of space with sunbeds. The receptionist was very friendly and provided us with lots of useful information.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely room with terrace and views, close to town centre and run by very nice family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi dropped out in evening with multiple usage

    Room with private terrace, ocean and hillside views, friendly and helpful family/staff, good continental breakfast, nice walk into town (but somewhat of a challenge walking back uphill), lovely restaurant steps away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice location, next to the great restaurants of the area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the villa is old, they need to work on their soundproofing of the rooms, and to improve the WiFi

    Nice location, next to the great restaurants of the area, away from the messy centre but still close to walk to

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    The views were incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air confitioning in the room did not work and we told the receptionists and they never fixed it. This made our room extremely stuffy at night and during the day.

    The view from our room was incredible and the staff was extremely helpful when we had questions about where to go for dinner and about to go get back to Salerno for our early morning train to Rome. The breakfast that was included was very good, nothing extremely special but it was sufficient. Additionally, the water pressure in the shower was amazing and the room was nice for a family of four.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views and great location! An affordable place to stay in Positano near restaurants, too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was two smaller beds put together (instead of one large mattress).

    Views were amazing! Breakfast was lovely and more than ample. All staff were friendly and helpful with whatever we asked. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Reception staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like my room ,it is not look like the pictures.Very thin walls, you could hear everything Beds were very hard. AC condition not working Very poor WI-FI

    Reception staff friendly and helpful - Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff and view. The room was very clean. It’s a little bit up the mountain however it only takes 5-10 mns walking ti get ro the center. I would stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Gorgeous balcony and extremely friendly and helpful staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin--lots of carryover if you have noisy neighbors. We were lucky but maybe a gamble for light sleepers.

    Gorgeous balcony and extremely friendly and helpful staff available at all times. Good value and easy walking distance to phenomenal restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    This is my third time staying at this great find - very close to many hotels that charge a lot more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard. But still fine! And the 523 Steps from from beach back up to the hotel were a good workout!

    The staff was amazing - always ready to help with whatever we needed! The breakfast was amazing - great way to start the day. The food was delicious and they were so helpful to make decaf coffee for me every morning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Great autumn days at La Costiere Amalfitana and Capri!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A really caring family ran the hotel. The hotel was easy to find, had a good (but understandably expesive) parking with great service. Lovely view from our nice and clean room. Good refrigerator but so-and-so TV. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyed it and would use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to the beach. It was a good workout going up and down each day. Didn’t mind it much.

    Great staff and location was easy to get to from other areas. Room was good size with great views. We enjoyed our time and would use them again if we ever went there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Rude greeting; rest of staff was a little helpful; underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The woman who greeted me was rude and unwelcoming. I was a little flustered as none of the locals could guide me to the bus and I ended up walking from the dock with my suitcase; this included numerous stairs etc. since Positano is one big cliff on the side of a mountain. I walked in covered in sweat and looked like quite a sight and was a bit flustered. I felt obligated to address my state and said "I walked the entire way; no one was able to point me towards the bus" and she looked at me and said "Why? It's so easy." That is NOT how I envisioned the last two days of my 10 day solo trip around Italy to begin. She then condescendingly looked me up and down and said "You? You booked the apartment? By yourself?" Yes. Yes I did. Because I'm tired, I deserve this vacation, and I decided to treat myself. I found the whole town to be very rude toward solo travelers and had poor experience over all. Really disappointing.

    Beautiful view and apartment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Good value for staying in Positano but could be more comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reviews about the noise levels are no exaggeration. You can hear almost everything. Breakfast was a typical hotel continental. You also have to turn in and pick up your key at the front desk when you leave/return to your room.

    Beautiful balcony and breakfast room views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location and friendliest staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could have been a little cleaner. There was garbage in the hallway outside that had smelled bad.

    Staff was absolutely incredible. The location in Rome was perfect. Perfect proximity to the main tourist attractions. Great view from our hotel room of the opera house.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Had a great time in Positano and this hotel definitely added to the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to know where to get off the bus at the closest stop. No lift, so heavy luggage has to be carried up/down stairs.

    Fantastic view from the balcony. Very friendly helpful staff. Close to some excellent restaurants. A boutique feel to the place and met some really nice travellers. Easy walks to the main town, beach, ATM, ferry and lots of restaurants, shops and bars along the way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    It was a nice, pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could hear everything, doors slamming (instead of being closed gently but thats not the hotels fault), people talking but not a big deal since it wasn’t consistently throughout the day, only when people were checking out in the morning.

    It was clean, good bed, good towels and had a nice view. Staff was friendly, helpful and they clean your room daily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    Great views, average location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were pleasant, but not exactly friendly. The hotel was on top of a very steep hill, meaning anytime you wanted to go down to the beach or shops, it was a long walk down and back. About 2000 stairs! While not the hotels fault, they could have made more of an effort in describing this in their profile. Wifi was shockingly bad, almost unusable.

    Comfortable room. Great views out over the ocean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place, amazing views and friendly helpful staff. Would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I was disappointed with is that there was not a kettle in our room, and no iron to use ( luckily we had brought a travel iron as I had asked the hotel prior to our visit )

    Fantastic staff, amazing location, views were out of this world. Breakfast was good and we also had pizza in our room which was also good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Unbelievable location away from the main tourist trap areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to say something negative it would be the free wifi was slow and the walls are thin, but these are very minor things to complain about.

    Unbelievable location away from the main tourist trap areas. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Great views, very average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and very dated. We were disappointed especially due to the price. There was no information booklet in the room and we couldn't have a tab for drinks, having to pay in cash which was a little inconvenient. The pictures made the place look like we would have sunloungers but we had a very small balcony only. It's about a 20 minute walk with ALOT of steep steps. We were fine but anyone with an injury or that's not very mobile may struggle. I have a knee injury and any more than 2 days and I would have had real issues. But this is how positano is.

    The views were spectacular. The breakfast was lovely. The staff were nice and very responsive when communicating via this app.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Great location and views, but very outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is extremely outdated. The beds were not comfortable at all and the breakfast wasn't anything to rave about. They only give you 2 pillows for a large bed. The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor every time it was turned on. The walls are also paper thin, and you have almost no privacy outside.

    The staff at the hotel were lovely! They were helpful when you asked them a question and very pleasant. The location of the hotel is great, higher up with beautiful views. Not to long of a walk to the center of town (about 20 min) and a 25 minute walk to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Great view and logic price comparing to other hotels of the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All suggestions they made were bad: take the train from Salerno to Rome?! They told us no ferry was leaving to Capri but they actually did.

    Spectacular view of the sea and Positano.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Wspaniały pobyt w doskonałym miejscu !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a nice, clean room on the floor -3 with very big terrace. View for the see was spectacular. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Breakfasts were very tasty: tea, coffea, juices, ham, eggs, cheese, croissants and other sweets. Staff was kind, helpful and provided many valuable information. We had really great stay! I highly recommend hotel Gabbiano to everyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    absolutely increible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing!

    the staff was amazing and place was incredible. Pablo was a super nice host as well as the entire family! great recommendations on food while there as well!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    View was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had our hotel in Rome call to ask the best way to get to the hotel. They suggested coming by train to Salerno and then by boat from there. That was a very scenic journey, but getting to the hotel from the boat launch with our luggage was really challenging. We had small roller bags, but that didn't help when there were stairs everywhere. You still had to get the bags up to the point where the bus or taxis were. And that area was so crowded that getting us and the bags on the bus was a problem. I think coming by bus instead of boat was probably a better option, or the hotel should share information about using a paid porter to get the bags, which we read about later.

    View was wonderful! Room was comfortable. Most of the staff was very nice, even willing to bring our snacks down to the room from the bar area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Good family run small hotel. I would request a room with a sea view if you stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi connection in my room. Mainly no connection at all. Although I'm not sure if we were meant to have a connection in our room. I just assumed there would be.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is poor , location is a bit far from center by walking , to the beach you have to go down for 650 steps and then climb to return but there is a ring bus very near to the hotel . But for this prices you can find better options closer to the center .

    the view from balcony in the room was fantastic , the staff is friendly and smiley . the room was always clean , bathroom very comfortable , AC was working well .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent for the views and restaurants around but room service not the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem we had was that they were not very thorough with cleanness and forgot to replenish some toiletries(eg, shampoo). This was annoying.

    The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning; the family room is very comfortable. The only problem we had was that they were not very thorough with cleanness and forgot to replenish some toiletries(eg, shampoo). This was annoying.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Good view from breakfast area and room, family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's Positano so there are steps every where and you can walk just about anywhere. Every morning we took the steps down to the beach. There is also a laundromat close by. The hotel is run by a lovely family. We got a lot of FaceTime with the father. We loved the cappuccino's made at the hotel they helped us survive our long European Vacation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    Location was good and view was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were paper thin. There was a baby in the room next door and you could hear him/her every time he/she cried. You could also clearly hear people talking in the hallway. The airconditioner would also start to making a high pitched whining sound. So, we didn't get a good night sleep. Staff was not accommodating and seemed in a rush.

    Location was good and view was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Charming bnb with amazing views/people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pina, Martina, and the entire familia that run/own Gabbiano are amazing and it's what really set It apart from all other places. Be prepared to climb some steps but I need a little workout after all my eating and drinking!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.6
    Extremely rude staff, and rooms did not live up to the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't look at all like the pictures. We paid 250€ for 1 night and when we checked out, I had to wait until the cleaning lady had checked the room. They told us there was a small hand towel missing and that it was illegal to steal towels from the room. I have never been accused of something like this ever before, and I travel a lot. I have neither experienced a hotel checking for missing items before they let the guests leave. Of course I hadn't stolen a towel, but because of a broken glass in the room, i had to use the small towel to wipe up the glass so nobody could get hurt. I told them This and I was still not allowed to leave until I showed them where I put the towel. Just a really weird and extremely uncomfortable situation I hope I never have to experience again.

    Beautiful view from the balcony of the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful place to stay with breathatking views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a family run hotel, and everyone was so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The view from our room was stunning. It's the sort of view you always dream you might get but feel you won't be able to afford, but all the rooms at Il Gabbiano appear to offer stunning views. Positano is of course the most beautiful place made even more special by our choice to stay at Il Gabbiano. Of course there are hundreds of steps down to the beach but 'it is Positano' - you expect that to be the case and especially if you want a view like we had. The staff told us on the first day to walk down but get the local bus back to the hotel, which we did everyday, and that made it much easier. There were lots of restaurants near the hotel though so you didn't have to go far for meals if you didn't want to. Also the hotel did light snacks and drinks all day. They do the best Bruschetta by the way. We have recommended this hotel to friends who will be staying there in September. It's a great place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The minibar wasn't stocked, so at times when we felt like a drink in the room, we simply went without rather than going upstairs to the bar area, though having said that, I'm sure they would have acommodated accordingly had I brought it up. That's about it.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms were simple but clean and well kept. Very effective air conditioning (a God send in August). Given this place is family run, the family vibe was transmitted through the hotel and owners would regularly show themselves and have chats with patrons.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.2
    hard beds stiff sheets
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No restaurant, just snack bar. They don't a big variety. If you walk out the restaurant next door has a nice restaurant with a view over looking the water. (food was salty) but breakfast was good. To go down to the beach the best way to do is walking up to a gallery and then heading down 276 flights of stairs and then keep walking down the road, still you reach the entrences to the pedestrian alley. Bathroom, I'm way too picky for the bathroom area, large sink take ups tu much space, outdated shower and floor was tile not completely sanitary. I needs upgradin to be done, pronto. A/C vents are directed towards our bed, and their as no way to stir them away or down-word. Window shutters from the balcony did shut, so we had to place a chair inferno to they could remain closed at night so the A/C could work. Rooms and comfort - The beds are hard, sheets and blankets are hard and stiff the pillow was flat not comfy at all, and the tv was 32', small and far away.

    Location, its on the hillside entering Positano on your left facing the water, beautiful view. It has that Beach Italian look and feel to it, but a little out dated. No restaurant, just snack bar. They don't a big variety on food. If you walk out the restaurant next door has a nice restaurant with a view over looking the water. (food was salty) but breakfast was good and until 12. To go down to the beach the best way to do is walking up to a gallery and then heading down 276 flights of stairs and then keep walking down the road, still you reach the entrences to the pedestrian alley. Complementary breakfast was good, very fresh. Soft bread, the cold cuts were place in their package on the table not a nice presentation but o well. Staff was very kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    3.3
    Hospitality is not good. Not recommended. :-(
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is damp, smelly as if it was not used or opened for the long time. There was not enough toilette paper, We had to go down the receptionist to ask for more paper roll. The air conditioner is centrally controlled and the remote control had a problem. The breakfast was acceptable but coffee was not good. When we arrived to the hotel the greeting was not great. :-( The young receptionist who works in the evening is more pleasant.

    The place has a great view, good location for Sita bus as well as for the city Internal bus. Surrounding restaurants are good. We enjoyed the supper at Saraceno d'oro. The food is good and the waitress is very pleasant!! :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was in a great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in a great location . we had a room viewing the ocean which was amazing. The hotel and room was outdated, but the hotel was very clean. in addition the staff were very welcoming, lovely, and helped in everything we need. I will defiantly go back to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    The perfect view over the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is good but nothing special. Positano is very expensive in Summer. Price of the room was very high.

    Best part of the hotel are the room with private terrace/balcony and their stunning view over Positano. Beautiful view on the sea. Helpful staff. Hotel offers car parkig at an extra cost (EUR 20.- per day which for Positano is a fair price). The hotel is located in the upper part of Positano approx. 15min to walk down to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    You can't go wrong in Positano!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is nothing to write home about.

    If you are looking for a place to sleep in Positano, this does the job. The views are second to none. The room is cute and quaint, but I'd leave it as just a place to sleep. We were on a budget and Positano is obviously super expensive, so we decided anywhere was fine. The hotel was extremely accommodating and the staff super nice. The man who worked at the desk late at night was so helpful in finding me a late pharmacy and recommending late dinner. His directions were on point, even though he didn't speak English and we didn't speak Italian. Also, the hotel allowed us to leave our bags well after checkout (until 5pm!) since we had an excursion. Our bags were safe and nothing was taken or anything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    We had to leave before 8am, 7:30am to be exact in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave before 8am, 7:30am to be exact in the morning to catch our Ferry to Capri; upon asking for breakfast the lady at front desk replied with "nothing is ready", which we understood since they start their breakfast at 8am but upon asking for perhaps something to drink (coffee or water) the same answer came "nothing is ready" (machines are apparently set on timer for coffee???) Ridiculous and unacceptable, to think that you pay the room rate (290Euro incl. breakfast) for that matter and they would not get out of their way to offer you at least a glass of water or a cup of coffee! Mind you we were there with our 16 and 8y/o sons. So no consideration towards children as well! Thanks but no thanks!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.8
    Wasted trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff gave us wrong info we were there to walk the walk of the gods, the hotel staff told us the walk was closed due to fire, however we found out later ( and too late for us) it was opened and this was upsetting as it was the main objective of our trip

    Nice view from terrace next to apartment room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    Positano and Amalfi coast is a beautiful place and the view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The transportation around the Positano was very hard and not comfortable, but it maybe because we were there in the high season. The room was not we were expecting, the bed was very uncomfortable, the bathroom felt old and dirty, the shower was very small, it was not like the ones in the photos. Also the breakfast was not very good. We felt the hotel was a little overpriced.

    Positano and Amalfi coast is a beautiful place and the view from the hotel/room was amazing. Also the terrace in the room was very good, we have sit in the terrace and enjoyed the beautiful sea view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Great views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi was pretty hopeless in the rooms. Some minor personal property in a sealed clear plastic bag went missing from on top of my bag in my room and was found in the main rubbish collection without the clear plastic bag; was sternly told that I'd put it in the rubbish bin (in an another room##?). Very weird.

    The view was spectacular. The breakfasts were great and the cleanliness couldn't be faulted. Having a lift was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Some may find the location far from the main beach area but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a mirror in the room would be nice to check oneself (The one in the bathroom is never enough).

    Some may find the location far from the main beach area but it is not that hard to walk and come back via the mini bus that stops a few meters before the hotel. The views are great from the rooms and the breakfast area. There are nice restaurants around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Lovely family-run hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the quad room with our daughters...nice size, beautiful view with balcony, very clean, and the AC worked great! This hotel is run by a wonderful family who will make you feel right at home. It was a fantastic finish to our Italy vacation. Would go again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Il Gabbiano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: