Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Giardino Segreto

Via Condotti 13, 53026 Pienza, Italy

#3 of 16 B&Bs and Inns in Pienza

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 327 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    We loved our stay in the 2-bedroom apartment with kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved our stay in the 2-bedroom apartment with kitchen. It is very central and accommodations are attractive and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again if returning to Pienza.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Great if you know Italian
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin is at 4pm and if you arrive early there is no one at property until then. The lady dont speak any English so you better know some Italian. The garden is a bit rundown and not exactly inviting to sit it.

    We were given a small apartment after I booked a double room. Probably because she wasnt overly sure where to put us!! The location is good and parking close.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Lack of flexibility with checkout time made getting ready...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of flexibility with checkout time made getting ready for the wedding we were due to attend quite difficult. Particularly as check in times are so late on the afternoon

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    I would definitely recommend to my friends and family and I would stay here again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived a little early but (despite some language issues) they allowed us to check in straight away, which was really helpful. Good sized bedroom with a smaller room off it to sit in and enjoy breakfast in the morning. The garden! The place is right in Pienza but you wouldn't think so with the garden and good windows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Lovely setting, beautiful hostess and right in the heart of Pienza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gardens were beautiful and we loved eating on the tables with our friends. This was the second time we stayed here. The first time we had a 1 bedroom apartment — that was 10years ago. This year we had 5 friends and we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and 1 friend stayed in an apartment with a loft bedroom. Unfortunately our other 2 friends booked too late and stayed at another boutique hotel, but we all convened in the garden for wine, cheese and dinner that we made in our apartment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    If you fancy staying in a house that was built about 70...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must have rudimentary understanding of Italian language. Hostel speaks very very little english

    If you fancy staying in a house that was built about 70 years before our founding fathers signed the Declaration of Independence, this is the place. Beat6fully updated to modern standards. The garden is a great secret retreat after a day of sightseeing. Go there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Pienza is a hidden gem in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - For a place called "Secret Garden" with such a nice outside area, it would be expected to have a more variety to offer to have breakfast. They only serve a small selection of pastries and an espresso machine. We ended up having our breakfast at a nearby coffee.

    - Location is great, just outside the historical center which is perfect if you want to leave your car in a free parking nearby; - Room was very spacious and beautifully decorated, like a rustic cottage; - Bathroom was extremely clean and also spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place with charm in the centre of town. Excellent rooms & en suite bathroom. Medieval town is all pedestrian so parking outside the walls and you carry your luggage - not too far.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    The garden is a haven from both the scorching Tuscan Sun...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you do not speak Italian, it's very hard to communicate with the host. However, she was very friendly & tried her best to make us at home.

    The garden is a haven from both the scorching Tuscan Sun & the heaving crowd of day-trippers passing through Pienza. The host bid us goodbye with a bottle of Montepulciano- how thoughtful & personalised.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and cozy place to stay with possibilities to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi Fi sometimes didn't work.

    Very relaxing and cozy place to stay with possibilities to keep your windows open during the cool nights, enjoy fresh air coming from the garden, have your breakfast under the trees. Caring owner who helped me to get back my bag which was lost during international flights. Beautiful elegant Pienza with a great possibilities to explore Toscana away from crowds, go by bus to Montepulciano for one day, enjoy the view from the hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    A place with caracter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a place with lots of character. Perfectly situated in the town centre. Very friendly, clean, nice garden. There is no airco, but our room was naturally cool (north side), and there was a fan.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    So nice host caring all the time we are fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    So nice host caring all the time we are fine. Beautiful premises with garden, perfect also during the hottest days. Delicious breakfast. Close to centre. Heaven on earth.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautifull garden a romantic place to enjoy the breakfast.The apartment was perfect and clean.Rosella was a friendly host together with turtle Arie who lives in the garden.We were verry happy to stay here Ciao Rob and Pat😊!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Pleasure in Pienza
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located in a wonderful secret garden. The facilities were first class, breakfast brought to us fresh each morning, it was a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most fantastic place, couldnt be closer! Just Beautiful with amazing host.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Great location to old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    This is a great property with a garden in a medieval village a rare treat. But Parking is difficult
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking

    Wonderful garden and welcoming bottle of wine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety for breakfast

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Comfy and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The garden, location, breakfast, amazing shower, bedrooms, did I say garden? Not cheap but best place I’ve been.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice lady very helpful at desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Package meals

    Brasic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Good location, engaging hostess, and lovely garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only sweets for breakfast

    Delightful suite with exposed beams, tile floors and antiques.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Spacious room. Overall quite comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    very nice staff, try to help anything we need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very nice staff, try to help anything we need. appreciated. Good breakfast and coffee, can enjoy breakfast at garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    A charming stay in Pienza
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, parking (would have been better if closer)

    Charming, clean, great location in a great town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    the kindness of the staff, the location and the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning.

    the kindness of the staff, the location and the beautiful garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    great accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice garden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful unusual garden spot l, next door to an unbelievably good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loft bed was a little dangerous for us retirees

    Beautiful garden

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Best B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Best

    Great location Fabulous B&B

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Garden is nice in the summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast really should be better--there is no bread !! You can check in at 16.00 earliest--too late

    Garden is nice in the summer

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Bellisimo posto, e molto acogente.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bellisimo posto, e molto acogente. Best place I've been for long.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    My Home In Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect spot for traveling g around, lovely , friendly town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Fond memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the garden setting, and the manager was delightful - she made us feel very welcome. We'd happily come back and stay longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Comfortable apartment for two couples, typical Tuscan style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The garden

    Comfortable apartment for two couples, typical Tuscan style. Right in the centre of town but very quiet. Breakfast is a do it yourself affair, which means one must go downstairs to make the coffee in the foyer and bring it back to your room. There is a fridge stocked with fruit juice and milk and a stove, microwave etc. we only spent one night so can't tell you more.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful garden and location, very friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful garden and location, very friendly staff, delicious sweet breakfast, great coffee, excellent bed and quite environment, great value for the price.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.5
    the room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on the ground floor, next to the entrance and the coffeemachine. So we woke up early, as soon as the first guest decided to make a coffee, or people leaving early.

    the room was beautiful. nice to relax in the garden!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Rooms were spotlessly clean, well appointed, tastefully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were spotlessly clean, well appointed, tastefully decorated, with a view over the private gardens where each visitor has their own private table for breakfast. Rossella could not have been more welcoming or helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    7.5
    The rooms and location are just wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staffmember doesn't speak English. I missed some sandwich filling; the breakfast is alright, but practically no filling for on the toasts and cakes.

    The rooms and location are just wonderful! For breakfast the manager bakes cakes herself and the rest is provided in the room.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There are no comments available for this review

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    10
    We had a lovely time at the Giardino Segreto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a lovely time at the Giardino Segreto. Rossella is delightfully friendly and helpful. Everything was great.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    8.3
    Room, the comfort, very nice garden outside, the owner is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room, the comfort, very nice garden outside, the owner is very kind, hospitality. The B&B is closest to the major attraction of Pienza village

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    Clean, neat, own bathroom with shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, neat, own bathroom with shower. East access and free parking within walking distance. Fresh fruit and pastries for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.6
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good location. Nice people and very clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    small family atmosphere;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small family atmosphere; private garden

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location for visiting Pienza, and a quiet getaway to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perfect location for visiting Pienza, and a quiet getaway to escape the crowded streets when you need some quiet....

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.6
    Location, very friendly reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, very friendly reception

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    10
    I liked everything .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked everything .... I'll stay there again

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: