Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Granaio dei Casabella 3 stars

Via Tavernelle 84, 84063 Paestum, Italy

#2 of 31 hotels in Paestum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 391 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit neglected. Shower handle centre damaged nd fell out . Towel rail holder broke because it had lately been eaten by woodworm .

    Decor , breakfast and quiet charm .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite bare and not as charming as it appeared on the internet, however ok for a single night stay

    The location was very convenient for visiting the ruins and the stuff was very friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main road from the station is full of fast moving traffic, but if you go through the Porta Sirena and walk past the archaeological park there's very little traffic until the last 100 metres.

    Owners and staff very helpful. No lift but my suitcase was carried up to the 2nd floor without my requesting it. Good sized room. Comfortable bed. WiFi, A/C and TV all functioned effectively. Restaurant (Bistrot 73) accessible via the garden and served an excellent meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure is very weak, wifi does not reach upper floors and thus have to move downstairs to use it.

    Delicious traditional italian breakfast, particulalry enjoyed the baked goods, fruit and yoghurt. Lovely spacious room, big bathroom all housed in a beautiful country villa. Safe parking on the property. Excellent Bistro 73 nearby for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good featuring homemade sweets, great expresso and a staff that was attentive to our needs. A great country hotel that is clean, comfortable and has a friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Paestum temple site is Outstanding. Hotel is well lcated within easy walking distance to site Breakfast was excellent and served in charming room. Chiara at the front desk and breakfast room staff were helpful and earnest. The level of cleanliness was disappointing. Bathroom tired.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds are public rooms in the hotel are beautiful and accessible. The breakfast - and the room in which you have breakfast - are a wonderful way to start the day. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and so professional. We went for a superior standard and could see one of the temples from our bedroom window. (We also had another large window, which I believe sets the room apart from the two standards our friends had.). All of the rooms had plenty of room and excellent bathrooms. There are so many nice little touches - just when you thought you needed something, there it was. And the price is very, very reasonable. The hotel is located on a short street boarding the north side of the temples. There are serveral restaurants along the street and it is a very short walk to the temples. Laura could not have been more attentive. She arranged for a taxi to pick up up at the train station. She even searched for a pair of trousers we thought we left at the hotel and got back to us right away. What a great find. Thank you to all at Il Granaio.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was Ok. Very hard but also very shaky when partner turned over. Room at top of stairs is a bit noisy, had to use ear plugs. Be aware you need reservations for dinner and if you want to go to buffalo mozzarella tour.

    Great stafff. Amazing homemade pastries. Close to ruins. Very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel - an oasis of calm and lush greenery. The perfect stay after a holiday touring from North to South Italy. We booked at the last minute after an Airbnb didn't work out and we were thrilled with our stay. Our room was quiet and spacious with gorgeous views across the gardens. The lounge areas felt like something from a different age, peaceful, elegant and utterly tranquil - yet only five minutes walk from the Paestum museum and park. Just lovely all round.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk to the sites somewhat disconcerting because of narrow to nonexistent sidewalks.

    Great place and incredibly sumptuous breakfast from professional staff. Beautiful grounds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beds need to be softer...much too hard.

    the staff were wonderful... friendly and very helpful! Both Carmen and Chiara went out of their way to make our stay very special. The breakfast was wonderful and Chiara bakes all the pastries...and they were absolutely luscious!! Il Granaio was an old farmhouse, the owners have kept all the charm and rustic feel of the property while adding the comforts we all desire.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night, bed rock hard, lights shine in window, traffic noise. We’re moved to better room second night. Only gave us a 10% discount on our first sleepless night.

    We got a good bed and room on the second night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely farmhouse like building with garden surroundings, a short walk from the Paestum ruins. Owners are lovely and very friendly, and whilst they have an onsite restaurant this was not open when we were there so they directed us to a Bistro a hundred yards from the hotel which was excellent. Breakfast was European style with all home made cakes and pastries too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    Beautiful old home/hotel. Large and comfy rooms. Secure on-site parking. Excellent breakfast and dinner on-site. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance to Greek ruins. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    Friendly, helpful young woman at the front desk took the time to offer extra assistance with our transportation plans. The food in the restaurant was top notch and the atmosphere was relaxed. The whole place is artistically lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thre are no elevators. Third floor is a chore with baggage. Inadequate plugs for a mobile electronic age.

    The restaurant was excellent. The hotel was a period piece from the early 20th century.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An enchanting place to spend a nite! Public spaces filled with fascinating regalia. I wanted to sit on every chair in every sunfilled room and explore. Even my room had an old cash register on a top shelf. It also had an alluring enclosed verandah - perfect for watching the sunset. I had dinner there too. mmm! First an amuse-bouche - wild mushroom bruschetta followed by tender pesto squid and best tiramisu of trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry, I can't think of anything I didn't like. I'm an experienced traveler and can be quite critical if need be.

    Great rooms, staff, location and food. Overall, it was the best place at which we stayed on our trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, except for slippery shower stall floors

    Lovely staff and owners. Charming and beautiful decor. Relaxing atmosphere. Five minutes walk to the ruins. Great breakfast with lots of home made items. Great value. Lovely hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only that we could not stay longer

    Location a short walk to the Paestum archeological site (across the road). Hotel building was spacious & very comfortable. Staff were pleasant, welcoming & helpful. Dinner on site was excellent & breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Il Granaio dei Casabela is beautifully decorated and has a wonderful location so we could see one of the Paestum temples from our room. It has loads of old-fashioned charm and is very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a spread of homemade jams and other dishes, sweet and savoury.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely accommodating. The young lady at the front desk spoke excellent English and was very helpful! The food was very good. I loved the olive soap in the bathrooms and wished I could buy some!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hospitality, very knowledgeable and happy to share people. Beautiful public spaces, garden and dining rooms. Very comfortable and well maintained room. Excellent location - just next to Paestum attractions and museum.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are very hard but my experience is that many are like this in Italy so certainly doesn't detract from the experience.

    Old character property, feels like old world country Italian estate, rooms large and well set up. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and had a beautiful meal at reasonable prices, other guests were friendly and assisted as I struggled over my Italian ordering. Felt formal yet relaxed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing we didn't like, it was perfect .

    Everything! This place was outstanding and staying here was such a pleasurable experience. The building itself is so beautifully restored and maintained. Our room was lovely and the staff English speaking, attentive and helpful. We ate at the restaurant on site and the evening meal was excellent with more than enough choice . We asked for vegan options and whilst there was nothing on the menu, they came up with some excellent dishes for us. Breakfast too was very good. The temples are within walking distance as are numerous cafes, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has a boutique kind of flair. It is a spacious country house with an amazing well-kept garden that is in walking distance to the ruins. The rooms are exceptionally large and comfortable. And the staff is very helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend it also for families.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no (good) pedestrian zone to walk safely (without light at night too), although the archaeological site and options to eat there were extremely close, so it was OK.

    Very nice room with a large and very comfortable bed. Tranquil bedroom and with enough light from the wooden windows! The extra room for our luggage with the mirror was a very helpful one. The breakfast was nice; very friendly staff! We had a great encounter and conversation with Angelo too! Thank you! The recommendations for food and beaches were very nice too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Country House with outstanding accommodation and lovely gardens. We loved it so much for the one night we had booked for on our return from Puglia we stayed another two nights. Best breakfast in Italy with lovely helpful staff. Paestum is a lovely place to visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like.

    Il Ganaio was easy to find and the parking, on site, was very good. The staff were outstanding, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. The room was large and had a view of the Temples of Paestum. The location, just across the road from the Paestum archeological site was brilliant and it made the visit to the temples very easy. There is a restaurant on site that serves good evening meals.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite of what the description told us, the restaurant was closed and it had been closed for a long time. The atmosphere of the hotel is not what the photo's tell u. Our room had only small windows just above the floor. The water pressure on the shower was really poor. The room was not comfortable. The staff at the reception wasn't really helpful, only at the check-out. We think this used to be a great place, but due to circumstances we didn't get clear, it isn't anymore. They are trying to survive.....

    The short distance to the archeological site Paestum. The private parking space. The breakfast was OK. The suggested restaurant (Domus Clelia) near the archeological site was good. We also had a great lunch at restaurant 'Nettuno' at the end of the archeological site. Ask for the 'light-lunch'.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great at this property. It's within walking distance to the archaeological site and museum, in a quiet surrounding. Our room was nicely furnished, spacious, clean and it overlooked the garden. Within the house there are many lovely seating areas where guests can relax, the breakfast room was very nice as well. The garden is beautiful, worth walking around. Overall this was a great experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our entire stay was incredible. The staff is beyond helpful. The location is incredible. The breakfast was beyond our wildest dreams. We will return to this lovely slice of heaven.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have been met at the train rather than having to spend 10 euro on a five-minute taxi ride, but given the remarkably low price and high value of Il Granaio it is really too much to expect this. I regret that the restaurant was not serving the night I was there, but the staff's recommendations for other places to eat were fine.

    The temple view from the window was wonderful. The garden was a delight. The breakfast room was airy, relaxing yet efficient. The staff was exceptionally helpful, giving a sense of genuine engagement with the needs, wishes and wellbeing of the guest that cannot be faked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close proximity to archaeological site and museum; several excellent restaurants recommended by helpful reception staff; stayed two nights; no crowds; relaxed location; nice contrast to coastal hotspots; great to wander the Main Street at night past illuminated temples with no traffic and relaxed people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wouldn't change a thing!

    Everything about Il Granaio dei Casabella was fantastic. It was an easy walk from the train station. Our room was very large, with a separate porch area. We overlooked the extensive garden. The inn was comfortable and charming. We had a delicious dinner at the inn and found all the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was incredible--what a spread! We only stayed one night and really wished we'd stayed for two so that we could have fully taken advantage of the peaceful setting and the lovely inn. We spent a long time in the museum and at the site of the temples and so had less time than we had anticipated to just relax. If you are looking for a good place to unwind after several days in Rome, this would be the place!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little problem with wifi in the room, but I had good wifi access in the lounge off the lobby. Was able to order wine and appetizer in the lounge while I used the wifi.

    It was located walking distance from the Greek ruins, great location. The grounds of the Granaio were beautiful and well maintained as were the rooms. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners, Laural and Angelo, were incredibly welcoming and warm people, as were all the staff. Our room was lovely, with comfortable beds, overlooking a beautiful garden, where all we heard were birds singing in the morning. Our breakfast was superb and in a lovely dining room overlooking the gardens. And the hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the entrance of the archaeological site. When I am next back in Paestum, I won't even think of staying anywhere else. Il Granaio is a very special place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was somewhat disappointed in the view from the room, which was not a courtyard, garden or the Greek temples, which I expected based on descriptions I'd read. We arrived by train and found it to be a substantial hike to the property. The road on which the property is situated carries a good bit of traffic and the sidewalks are not in good repair, so it was a bit treacherous. Travelers with a car will fare better. The staff was adequate, but not overly warm or helpful.

    The property itself is very nice with huge public spaces. Our room was large as well, nicely appointed, and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to speak of. If you feel uncomfortable about the walk from the train station, you could certainly get a cab, but then you probably wouldn't be comfortable with walking around the ruins and that's why you go to Paestum!

    Best description of the grounds and building is 'rustic luxury' with gardens, building and furnishings all done with thought and grace. Very comfortable and sizable room and bathroom, lovely breakfast, very nice on-site restaurant though we did not have dinner. Easy, level walk from train station, probably not more than a half mile. This would have been nice at twice the cost. My recommendation for someone wanting to see the Amalfi Coast is rather than hire a driver and ride the congested road and have a very long day with limited time in each town, take the train from Naples to Paestum, enjoy the ruins and museum in the day and nite lit ruins over a nice dinner or drinks, stay here, then next day a brief train to Salerno and ferries to each of the towns you want to enjoy, ending up in Sorrento, or even break it up with a night in Ravello as we did. You'll do all this for little more than a private driver would charge two people!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location very close to temples. Attractive building in lovely grounds. Good light evening meal and breakfast. Would recommend it highly to anyone visiting Paestum.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our sunny bedroom was very hot on arrival so the next day we left the curtains closed, but they were pulled back whilst we were out.

    This charming hotel is perfect for visiting the wonderful archaeological site. It has secure parking and a peaceful garden. The staff are friendly and helful, especially Philomena, who kindly made an emergency dental appointment for my husband. The rooms are spacious, with tasteful decor and furnished in keeping with the period of the house. We also enjoyed the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit weak in the room, but worked fine in the lobby. But everything else was so good, we didn't care!

    Lovely breakfast, very friendly, helpful staff! Comfortable large room and bathroom. Quaint and feeling of privacy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a problem with the water pressure in the shower and the water wasn't quite hot enough. The water pressure problem was sorted as soon as reported.

    Very good breakfast with lots of choice, and excellent evening meal. Peaceful, rural location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our windows lacked--and needed--screens. (Too late at night to ask by the time we realized this.) It's just a little too far to walk with luggage form the Paestum train, at least in the summer. Spring for the taxi.

    This is a beautiful property, with gardens and extensive lounge areas. The breakfast was outstanding--barista-made coffee, great pastries, and a selection of healthy options as well. Front desk personnel were charming and helpful, with good English.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. One of our party was in a leg brace and she had to climb and descend two long flights of stairs.

    Park-like setting just off the Paestum archaeology site. Large, comfortable rooms, gracious staff. Easy, free parking. Lovely setting for breakfast, but only moderate food provision. We stayed for two nights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was sooo hard. Pillows too.

    Charming hotel. Could see it as a wedding reception site. Great location regarding access to temple site. Super breakfast and so nice to have dinner in the restaurant right on the property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff. Located within a short walking distance of the Paestum excavations and museum. The property has secure parking. The property has been lovingly renovated and is furnished with care. There are two lounges for relaxing in. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was plentiful, homemade cakes, fruit, cereals etc. The staff were very friendly particularly Philly and Lara who were very obliging. The gardens were beautiful. Very tranquil and peaceful place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant ambience was a bit lacking.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location was great. The food was tasty and well-presented. The public lounges and the breakfast room were very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Greek temple site. Very good restaurant with lovely staff. Strongly recommend a stay here, the setting is truly atmospheric around a lovely old mill all set in beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing bad at all, but they should post a sign to ring the bell for entry. Somewhat confusing entrance.

    Charming room and surroundings. Romantic Close to monuments.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was just beautiful. The rooms were large with many antiques and large wooden pieces. The gardens were lush and included a tower that looked Rapunzels. There are many public areas with comfy couches and chairs. The staff was helpful and everything was clean - and the price was reasonable. You can walk to the Paestum ruins. Loved it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the ruins of Paestum. It's a 10 minute walk. Restaurant for dinner at the hotel was perfect and relaxing outside and under the trees. Breakfast was the best start to our day!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We picked the room with the view, unfortunately it is also closest to the road, ask for a quiet room and you will not be disappointed.

    If you intend on visiting the archeological ruins at Paestum, the you must stay at this wonderful establishment, a stones throw from the ruins. This is a wonderful establishment oozing with character and charm.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came to Paestum to catch up with friends who had booked somewhere else out of our budget. We chose Il Granaio and thoroughly enjoyed staying here. Elegant public areas and bedrooms, in a peaceful garden setting. Staff were always helpful and accommodated our particular needs. Especially the breakfast cook who opened early so we could have breakfast before an early train. Our friends came for dinner one night and we were had a lovely evening with drinks in one of the sitting rooms and simple local food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    A delightful experience. Staff could not have been more pleasant or more helpful. Dinner in the restaurant was superb as was the service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position is excellent, we could see Templi from our window. Everything was great: comfortable hotel, clean, friendly staff. We appreciated the restaurant and the hotel design - its owner really has good taste!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was turned off at midnight and it was very hot which made sleeping very uncomfortable

    Great dinner very reasonably priced and delicious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a refrigerator in room to be able to make iced water to help hydrate our bodies from hot days.

    The breakfast was very good and the young man serving made excellent coffee.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The nearness to Paestum Archaeological Park, friendliness of the staff, charming, quiet and secure building, breakfast was good the loudest noise was that of the Cicadas very quiet village

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I didn't like was the disappointing dinner. We had read some great comments about the food here and so we were surprised at the lack of choice in the menu which is fine if it's seasonal but the food itself lacked taste.

    The room was lovely and the sitting areas around the hotel were great.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, excellent location for visiting Paestum, spacious and charming room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advice to walk from the station - too far with wheelie bags, too much traffic.

    Nice people, very convenient to explore area. Wished we stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from archeological site and public transportation.

    Lovely gracious rooms and public spaces.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needs updating.

    Quiet and peaceful and very a short walk to the extraordinary ruins. Parking secure and conveniently in the garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our party said her bed was extremely hard.

    Fabulous environment, gardens, interesting and welcoming. Great breakfast too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best place in Paestum, full stop. Nothing to complain about. We stayed here twice and would love to come again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent position. Very good breakfast (both salty and sweet). Beautiful hotel attention to details.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The warm welcoming, the flowers, the style and quality of the place and people. I would go back without hesitation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nithing

    Everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast. Proximity to the temples.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was some of the best we had in Italy. It was creative, different and enjoyable. The staff was warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming, friendly,quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely sitting areas in various parts of the hotel. Spacious and homey room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is perfect! Hotel is charming and temple view from the room is beautiful~^^

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Il Granaio dei Casabella traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: