Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Il Palazzo 3 stars

Via San Francesco 8, 06081 Assisi, Italy

#19 of 55 hotels in Assisi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 383 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location, close to everything. New and clean, modern design, the breakfast room is beautiful, great view from the room, and super comfortable bed. They have elevator!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    fantastic location in the high side of the town but lovely and quiet at night. Room was perfectly clean and well catered for. Views from our room were wonderful. Staff were attentive, polite and very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking directions need to be made much clearer. This hilltop town is made of very narrow one way streets full of tourists and it was difficult for us to navigate to the correct parking area. The name of the parking area is St Giacomo but the name on the tourist map given us called it St Francis. We spent an hour driving around the top and bottom of the hill, passing our hotel twice before we figured out the problem.

    Close to St Francis church, great interior design, clean, modern in an ancient setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was being replaced but we really didn’t need it. No on site parking, but you cannot really expect that in a historic hill town.

    Beautifully renovated historic building. The staff was friendly and the room comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Michael, the manager, is incredibly helpful. He carried my suitcase to my room and showed me how the fridge could be switched off for quiet during the night. The hotel had no vacancies for the following night, and so Michael contacted another hotel on my bahalf to make a booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a substantial distance off-site.

    Excellent location with wonderful views. Very comfortable room. Superb staff. A very nicely modernized hotel in an ancient building. Will definitely stay again when in Assisi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the place. It was close enough to everything we wanted to see. Staff was very helpful and engaged in making our stay great. They were helpful and generous with their time. Breakfast was also a very nice touch...great selection and value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and helpful, proving us with a map, telling us where to catch the bus and calling a taxi for our departure. The room was large and clean with lots of light flowing in. Beautifully furnished throughout with charming artwork. Room was equipped with a minibar nicely stocked with water, soda and beer, all reasonably priced. Bathroom was spacious with slippers provided. Hotel is located on the main road to St. Francis Basilica, which is about 10 minutes walking distance. They will also hold your luggage free of charge after you check out. Breakfast is provided in a clean, lovely eating area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very limited indeed, took ages to get coffee, air conditioning didn’t work, the room needs to have tea and coffee making facilities.

    Great room, good view very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in the centre of the old city was excellent, but it was difficult to drive there and it would have been a good idea to provide a map beforehand.

    The room was very comfortable, with an enormous bed and excellent bathroom. The building was a new, tasteful refurbishment of a historic building. The breakfast was a very ample buffet, with a wide choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beautiful lounge upstairs, seldom used - it would have been nice if there had been a small bar in there.

    Tastefully modernised hotel in ancient building, very handy for main square, Basillica of St. Frances and other tourist sites. Our bedroom had a stunning view out over the plain below. Super helpful, efficient, friendly staff! Amazingly renovated breakfast room, with good selection of buffet breakfast items.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the centre of Assissi - park outside the walls. Micheal was a great host and spoke v.good English - very accommodating and breakfast was great. Facility was excellent - highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no negatives

    We got upgraded to the top floor room with the most amazing view over assisi. The doorman/manager made the whole experience personal and it was amazing. Recommended some brilliant restaurants for us to eat

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful.

    Lovely boutique hotel in the centre of Assisi, decorated with beautiful local art. Comfortable beds with luxurious white linen. Friendly staff who assisted with information, directions and made the best coffee in Italy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near the Basilica of St. Francis. Staff was very accommodating and helpful (watched our luggage before check-in and accelerated cleaning of our room so we could get in early. Room was spotless and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from room 303 is excellent. The staff worked at front desk was very nice and kind. He helped us worth the luggage, made great recommendation on restaurant. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The hotel location is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Beautiful hotel! Room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were brilliant, so helpful in showing us where to go and recommending local restaurants. Perfect location for exploring Assisi with tonnes of restaurants & cafes close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, this is the best place I have ever stayed in Italy.

    Very good location as 300m to Basilica San Francesco and 300m to Piazza Commune with a bit further to Basilica Santa Clara. The hotel is a newly renovated, modern and very clean. Staffs are very kind and funny. They are nice and always ready to help. Unlike most part of Italy, their English is good. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is exceptional! Friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The property is beautiful and has such a wonderful Italian atmosphere. Everything was very clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding in every way! The location was fabulous; the entire property is like new; the staff were amazing and helpful; the breakfast was far better than most; quiet building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat from the radiator was excellent. (The day was very cold and wet.) Both Michael and Carlo were very helpful and courteous. We also enjoyed the very colorful art by a local artist.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not fast. Breakfast was lacking in some ways. Coffee and hot chocolate need to be better quality.

    The bed was very comfortable. Great shower. Slippers in the room are a nice touch. Great location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....we’ll be back if we ever pass through Umbria again.

    Hotel Palazzo is an absolute delight. It is perfectly situated in the heart of a historic little town. The gentleman on the front desk was perfect, very helpful and always on hand to assist. The room was perfect, spacious and clean. The hotel is a little gem and value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too clod in January! We thought that the room is colder than outside. And the bathroom was uncomfortable. The sink was bloked up and water leaked from the shower booth.

    The view from room was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The level of noise from the busy street below my window was a bit of a problem. You can't park near the hotel. I parked in the multi-storey car park, a 10 minute walk away, which costs 10 euros a day.

    The hotel has been beautifully restored. Comfy beds, crisp clean linen and an adequate breakfast which is included in the price of the room. My request for a kettle in my room was not a problem.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking on site, and it is a bit of a hike from the parking garage back to the hotel.

    The location is great and very easy to walk around the sites in Assisi from the hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is normal European blend of cheeses, meats, and breads.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were here for 4 nights and the hotel and staff were fantastic. We were greeted by Michael and Carlo who were so engaging, helpful and delightful. We had a large, perfectly appointed, spotless room on the third floor with lovely light and very quiet. Breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful stone room. The location of the property is close to everything. Il Palazzo and its wonderful staff made this our best ever visit to Assisi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was harder than I prefer.

    This is a lovely boutique hotel that has recently been renovated. Everything is fresh, stylish and clean. The room and public spaces are exactly as they appear in the photos. Reception staff are lovely and helpful. Breakfast was good contentintal plus and more than adequate. Assisi is a lovely quiet town- get you walking shoes on.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, I think it's an undiscovered gem.

    The hotel was ancient, built about 600 years ago. The rooms were most recently renovated in 2012 in a modern, contemporary style. The contrast worked beautifully. I was charmed!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My stay was in Hotel Sorella Luna because Il Palazzo was being refurbished. I was given a beautifully furnished room; the bed very comfortable, water hot, good choice for breakfast, staff very friendly and accommodating. A very pretty hotel, very close to the Basilica, but quiet. I was very happy at Hotel Sorella Luna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was about 500 metres away and not secure

    This hotel was a surprise . I think we must have been upgraded because the room was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing.

    Great location near Basilica of San Francesco. Friendly helpful staff. Clean comfortable room with great views. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything It was a wonderful surprise Will be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners have preserved all the historic bits, and added wonderful modern touches

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful little hotel - very relaxed atmosphere and polite staff. Great place to recharge the batteries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is very good, the staff very helpful, rooms were clean, comfortable. A great place to stay. Great value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny towels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refrigerator is not cool,even likely not work.

    Fantastic view and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very friendly staff and extremely helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very well located, friendly atmosphere, delicious breakfast, very nice and clean roon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and quiet rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was lovely, the staff was extra helpful, led us by phone to the location on winding streets

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking issue is horrable

    The place is wonderfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Molto bene.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small thing but - the paintings were really nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were amazing. Thank you to Michael and Carlo really did an awesome job of making our stay so special

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Nice staff. Very comfortable, clean feel to the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent local n comfortable room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely room. Good bathroom. Perfect location. Sensational views. Warm welcome from friendly, efficient staff with good English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Michael specically cooked me scrambled eggs which wasnt part of the breakfast on show

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Very friendly and kind staff. Very clean and cozy Hotel. I will come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing perfect. Special very friendly staff. Many thanks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all fine

    Great breakfast Easy check in hours

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and nice rooms. Very good value for money. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful hotel. The staff were very accommodating and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in June 2017

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Hotel Il Palazzo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: