Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Salviatino 5 stars

Via Del Salviatino 21, Campo Di Marte, 50137 Florence, Italy

#84 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 212 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is very expensive and food is not worth. We received cold pasta and gnocchi. When u traveling to Tuscany you want to eat more traditional food then asian taste dishes. You should really think to change menu. Other think when u pay so much for the stay all breakfast should be included in rate but they charge separate for pancakes.

    Everything besides restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, the building itself is lovely. However, the heart of a hotel is in its people. Here, this property comes up short. While many on the staff are wonderful, the attitude of the management is lacking. For example, we had a poor experience at the hotel restaurant - a restaurant that should be a fine dining experience given the prices. When we attempted (on two occasions) to politely let the management know of our concerns, they did not seem interested. Even worse, one response was defensive and argumentative. In my opinion, this is one of the worst mistakes a business can make. Without listening to and encouraging customer feedback, it is impossible to improve. Frankly, this experience made us feel unwelcome at the hotel. I would encourage the owners of this property to impress upon the management the importance of showing a genuine interest in guest feedback and concerns. In my opinion, this will be needed in order to make this a truly great property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive: To pay for pancakes extra 14 euro in a 5* hotel is ribbing off. (Italian) Wine costs three to four times the price in a shop. That's not reasonable. Overall restaurant has very small portions and is too expensive. The rooms are not in good shape, needs to be colored urgently, shower was broken.

    The location and the building overall, some staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the dinner was wonderfully presented and the desert was delicious, we come from a high end food city and we both felt that the quality of the meal didn't quite live up to the price. The staff was great though.

    The staff was so helpful and friendly, the room and restroom/shower/bath were so relaxing and wonderful! The property is absolutely stunning and relaxing! The upper terrace was a perfect place to watch the sun set over Florence!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in the bedroom and the staff could’ve cleaned our room slightly better but I’m really just nitpicking here

    Gorgeous place , wonderful staff , beautiful view , amazing breakfast buffet . We had a stunning room with a private patio .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't much not to like

    The hotel is fabulous perfect views, relaxing a real treat. Shuttle bus to Florence good. Best of both worlds - idyllic location. Breakfast excellent with views of Florence. Didn't want to come home!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Certain ares could use a bit of maintenance, and AC was barely working. Staff and service at breakfast were not great, although the food was very good.

    Beautiful facilities and views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was outside but unfortunately the experience was negatively influenced by the frequent visits of wasps at your table; it seemed the hotel was okay with that because no actions were taken. Also, you could hear next door neighbour guests very well when in your room...

    The view on Florence old town and surroundings was magnificent; the reception desk support and staff were very kind and helpful; the atmosphere in the hotel is exactly that of an old Florentine villa where you could feel a bit more privileged than ususal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was truly excellent.

    Bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts excellent. Entertainment system in room very good. Shuttle to and from Florence pretty convenient up until 8 pm, but off during lunch from 1:30 to 3. Staff and Hotel outstanding. Old World elegance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite-Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The general lack of attention to detail, this isn't a reasonably priced hotel ! and we personally had higher expectations. The booking wasn't correct from the start with the wrong dates being confirmed and a bottle of prosecco which should have been in the room for the first evening wasn't - we chased twice before it arrived on our third night, but it was more that when we mentioned it on the first evening the receptionist commented that she would need to check our booking - the same receptionist that confirmed our booking in the first instance and at £800 plus a night - really ! Whilst the garden suite was lovely the bathroom wasn't huge and the room we booked on line should of had a bath and our room only had a shower. There was only one sink and only one mirror in the bathroom; more of a ladies issue. The room was always tidyied well, however, it wasn't hooved dead mosquitos, cobwebs and general fluff on the foors remained throughout until our last night. We used our flannels which were removed but not replaced until we asked the maintenance man for some..... Our room was at the end of a row and whilst it was light, you had people walking past to go to the pool/spa so wasn't private. The restaurant food was good but limited and the staff were generally all great but struggled a little when busier. We both felt that if you stayed one or two nights you wouldn't notice some of the points above The hotel position is enviable but we will not be returning.

    We primarily chose this hotel for its location as we wanted a good base to tour Tuscany, we stayed 5 nights in a Garden Suite. The location of the hotel was perfect, not too far outside of the city but far enough away to enjoy spectacular views from the hotels veranda. The shuttle bus provided enabled easy access in and out of the city and as we were touring, the access to the both the SS roads and motorways was good. The room had a separate seating area which was really light and the bathroom had a reasonably sized shower. Whilst there was no fridge, drinks/snacks were available to purchase on a tray instead. You did receive a bottle of water each night in a cooler and the ice bucket was topped up. We had a recurring problem with our lock and the gentlemen who came to fix it was superb. The restaurant staff on the whole were really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely informative and accommodating especially Carolina, the rooms are magnificent and grandiose with high ceilings giving it an air of luxury. The bathroom is something else with an exquisite sink unlike anything I have ever seen. I requested laundry and it was washed, dryed and ironed on the same day! The breakfast area is splendid with beautiful views to the garden as well as Florence in the background. I did my wedding in Florence and requested the photographers come to the room to take some pictures of myself getting ready and they couldn't stop making me pose around the room next to the paintings, windows and the room. My wife fell In love with the property and she told me I couldn't have picked a better hotel for our first night as a married couple. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone who would like to stay in Florence with comfort and style.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had an earlier shuttle in the morning and a later shuttle from the Duomo at night.

    Location and views of the city The comfort of the room The beautiful gardens

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb service . We arrived 5 hours late due to awful delays caused by the incompetence of vueling air. Carlos in the bar allowed us to eat room service on the stunning terrace and saved our evening

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like. The shuttle bus only ran until 8.30 and finding a taxi back took a little while but overall worked fine.

    The whole experience was wonderful - a very special place to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We loved the amazing terrace overlooking Florence for our breakfasts and special dinners.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices are a little high. But the quality is good.

    The staff was incredibly concerned and helpful. The location and the city view are very good. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable. The breakfast is very good. There were many varieties. The internet in the room was very fast and free. The number of channels on the TV was too much. ( French, German, Arabic, Turkish etc ) It is very good that you are always shuttle to the city center. ( Free ) The pool was very enjoyable. The snack food service is very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough beds by the swimming pool.

    Great hotel with wonderful views over Firenze, very nice personnel, great taste in decoration, good breakfast, impeccable service at the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- the location was very far from downtown. 2- the way of the hotel was uncomfortable. 3- the suite was very dirty and so many insects inside the bathroom and on the furniture. 4- the service of the hotel like 3 stars hotels. 5- they charge us for room service by mistake and after discussions with them they canceled. 6- photos of the suite in booking.com doesn't match. " completely different " 7-I told them before " I'm coming for honeymoon " but they disappointed me the suite was not ready. 8- bad service in the restaurant of the hotel.

    > Nothing 👎🏼 > I don't like the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it was time to leave!!!

    Stunning property. Lovely staff. Delicious food. Well appointed rooms. Great free shuttle service into town centre. Could not find a single fault. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to note. Just stay here!

    I think this has to be one of the nicest hotel stay I had (without exaggeration). Staying in this hotel is special because it gives you a feeling of being in a big old mansion. Beds are very comfortable and the ceiling is high, giving you a very comfy night sleep! View is fantastic and breakfast is great. You get a "personalized buffet" on your table; and the staff remembers your preferences. Location is good, isolated on top of a hill but still close to the city (plus there are convenient complementary hotel transfers to Florence, takes only 10min to 15mins max). Plus food is good and view of the city and the hills is fantastic Just stay here, you will love it :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiter service could have been a little quicker and more responsive in both restaurant and terrace. For us the location was a little far from the city centre but it depends on what you are looking for - quiet and picturesque (it is) or more central (but then possibly noisy)?

    Extremely friendly and professional front of house team. Nothing was too much trouble. Great service provided with a regular shuttle bus into the city and back. Wonderful recommendation for an authentic lunch in the city. An excellent personal tour guide was arranged at very short notice. Comfortable room. Good terrace with heaters for evening drinks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything went wrong including many service issues that management should fix if it's to stay a lead hotel in Florence. These basic issues should not be happening in such a place. We stayed in the Ojetti suite and room service was very weak and the room itself dark and underwhelming. Had to chase for room cleaning and many things did not work, such a shame as this place has such promise

    Design is impeccable. Concierge great View is wonderful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast buffet trays are just odd! Remedied by requesting just eggs or croissants and coffee etc. Dinner menu also disappointing, however, the food in Florence is amazing! I can't imagine being disappointed anywhere you choose. Even the Mercato Centrale was brilliant! Tuscan food is the best!

    Spectacular Tuscan Villa and Garden. A most generous upgrade to a suite, so we decided to stay for 8 nights. Heaven. Coming home to the lovely garden in the evenings. Professional, well mannered staff. The property is beautifully maintained.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the concierges was rude and most unhelpful and the waiting staff were mixed in attitude.No mini bar but ice delivered on request

    A wonderful building in a great position.Mostly a delightful hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had two Deluxe Rooms but the lightning design in one room was not good. However, I did not complain about it since overall experience was excellent.

    Location is breathtaking in the middle of Green Park and overlooking Florence City. Staff are friendly and make you feel at home Breakfast choices were perfect My Wife and Kids ranked this hotel as the best hotel out of the 6 Five starts hotels we stayed in during our recent summer holiday

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whats there not to like-just keep the same level of service!

    Everything!!!! If knew how this hotel would be I would definitely extend my staying. Very peaceful, beautiful environment and gardens; extra delicious food. To city centar maximum 15 min drive and organized by hotel. Staff very attending and supportive. I travel a lot, business and private and this is definitely one of the best hotel I have ever styed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't up to the prices charged

    Loved almost everything. If any criticism it would inconsistency. Great room service one day and none the next

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed is very uncomfortable just on the floor no refrigerator so drinks are warm coffee machine is in the wardrobe no small table to sit and work

    greate terrasse and good restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stunning Scenery , Pool and Rooms. Short journey into town through a very friendly shuttle service. This was a second time back to Il Salviatino and we may be back again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes communication with the staff seemed to get a little lost in translation and the spa treatment could do with a little work.

    Views were amazing and room was stunning. Close enough to town it was easy to visit but far enough away to feel secluded and out of the way. Staff extremely friendly. Dinner on the terrace was a lovely experience too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast were forgetful and inexperienced - poor service. Looks like there were too few staff, but they were nice people.

    Library, pool, location, style, furnishings, size of room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Il Salviatino gives feeling of moving back in time. Wonderful villa high in the Florentine hills with charming garden and picturesque view of the city. Perfect place for relaxation.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most perfect hideaway place in Florence. A+ in everything, just fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. The room, the service and the location was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great facility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing everything about this place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place! Amazing views!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad concierge

    Free shuttles to center Luxurious, unique

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing as well as the views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nit picking but pool was a little small

    Almost everything, decoration was beautiful. Style was supreme.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, especially breakfast, was really bad. Extremely slow service.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. Price is quite overvalued.

    Breakfast. View. Garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit of a walk down to the pool

    The room was large, nice large bed Breakfast was great Shuttle bus service was good into Florence

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smaller than expected.

    Excellent staff, highly helpful. Very friendly bar staff. Great views. Good parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great views and beautiful garden with a pool. Cosy room with comfortable bed and solid cuisine. Shuttle service from the city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is amazing. So romantic, stunning views. Lovely venue. Very comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet really good and service and staff perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this place!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out a bit slow

    The library was a very relaxing area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Service from the Reception is outstandig! The staff is extremly friendly and helpful. Very service focused.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    extra comfort bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the room , quiteness and it was a romantic environment

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Location was fabulous.Food and wine excellent. A complimentary shuttle to the centre of town and back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I prefer a softer pillow but this is just personal preference

    Loved the service, the food, the view, the pool, the peacefulness. We will return!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive, quite small sweaming pool

    Location, personal, food, hotel, atmosphere, etc

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dirty, dust in the corners is not deleted years, shower was broken , the staff is unpleasant

    View

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location with a most beautiful view at the city. The service of the hotel and the staff as well are outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful relaxing getaway , city is only 15 mins away

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you drink from the bar you get little for a very high price.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are super friendly, hotel is so cozy, breakfast experience is exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location , good staff !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short

    close to perfection

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choice

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and the property were amazing. we really enjoyed our stay there. the staff were very friendly and helpful, they effortlessly assisted us in renting a car to drive around Tuscany, and it was brounght to us in the hotel, very convenient. The view from the terrace was breathtaking, if only it wasn't cold and raining most of the time. The thing we loved the most was the historic background of the property and the interior of the hotel and the rooms. we would definitely come back again, during warmer weather perhaps

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food and drink were very overpriced. I didn't mind so much with my room service which was absolutely delicious but the cheeseburger and fries I had the following day weren't nice at all. The burger was seriously undercooked and the bun was hard! And my G&T cost €20! A selection of films were available in the room but the hotel wanted €7.50 each for them. I found this unnecessary and a way of extracting more money from guests who had already paid a lot to stay there. This was the only thing that took the shine off the hotel.

    This is a really great hotel full of character. The decor is really old worldy and magical and the staff are very attentive. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in, the rain shower amazing and the breakfast huge and delicious. In the morning, the views of the Tuscan hills and the birdsong are the perfect things to wake up to.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ...nothing...

    The rooms were amazing with huge beds and lots of views over Florence. Fantastic staff and wonderful escape from the city in beautiful surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is far from the center. But, you still have the best view from the top.

    I liked the staff and the view of Florence from the terrace is amazing. The staff makes you feel like you're living in a palace.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Grounds have many neglected areas. Strange room design and layout. The entrance to the shower was through the wardrobe, while the toilet facility was in a separate room. When we ordered a room service there was no trolley table because of hotel design features, so we had to huddle together on a small side table by the wall. We had three but had a chance to put only 2 chairs. We forgot an iPad while checking out and the hotel didn't bother to contact us. However after our call they packed it and handed it over to the courier service which we had to book ourselves.

    Nice location and views, huge grounds. The building is atmospheric, but a bit gloomy to my taste. The hotel provides a complimentary transportation to the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a suite and it was awful - right at the back of the property in the dark + cold. Also, when we checked in we were told we could choose between two rooms.....then when we chose which one we like we were told that it was £150 extra per night?? why were we shown that room then? it was like we were being charged extra from the moment we walked in. next time we will return to the westin.

    The breakfast was nice

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a property with so much space they could have a proper spa with sauna and hammam. The restaurant is also a bit quiet and boring at night.

    Impeccable service, beautiful setting, top notch rooms, great atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is amazing, the staff are wonderful & the breakfast was to die for. Huge rooms, beautiful gardens-a true Tuscan grand experience with a free shuttle to the centre of Florence

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It seemed that most of the food was prepared a day before and it was cold. There weren't fresh bakery. What we liked were the scrambled eggs and omlet. Also the new outside dining area is too cold in style.

    Everything except breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is a bit far from where the attractions are, however there is a complimentary shuttle buss that takes you to the city every hour. Only two small bottles of complimentary water are provided at night time.

    Elegant boutique hotel. Room and hotel are nicely decorated with beautiful paintings and nice furnature. Very clean. Breakfast is very rich and enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We slept in Junior Suite room: Breakfast concept (not self service and you have to ask for everything even butter...), room full of spiders and spider webs, cleaning staff did not replace towels and forgot cleaning product in room.

    I have liked the location (including free shuttle to go downtown) and the view over Florence, the upgrade to the junior suite free of charge once we expressed our disappointment for the Deluxe room (35) in which we stayed the first night. Excellent Double bed.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food is wonderful but choice limited and menu is on a 3 day rotation. But this is a minor point.

    Wonderful hotel on a hill overlooking Florence with beautiful gardens. It allows you to relax in comfort away from the buzz of Florence.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - the door should isolated more than its - cleaness of cups and glasses - room 37 there is noise form AC - they should but a rapper at the edg of shawer door to protect the water

    Location, view, staff, quit, historical place and facility

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Il Salviatino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: