Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Vicario

Loc San Andrea 1, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#13 of 44 hotels in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Great staff and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not well maintained and the sun beds were old/ partially broken.

    Great staff and good value for money. The rooms were decorated with attention to detail in country style.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Incredible location, with beautiful walking tracks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible location, with beautiful walking tracks. The bed was super comfy, a great breakfast with amazing cappuccino. The people treated us like family. Fulvio, Katia , Martin and Karen always went above and beyond to make sure that we were catered for. The cooking class was excellent too. The food was out of this world - 4 course meal! We will definitely be back!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    A real hidden gem with superb cook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything! Just a remark: put better/more visible road signs, markings so the place could be easier to find :)

    We loved the whole layout, it is decorated with much taste and really has a special feeling. The host was ultra nice and friendly, we stayed only one night but already felt like at home. Although arriving late, he prepared us a delicious dinner (some very tasty cheese, salami, tomatoes, olives and pate for starters, then tortellini filled with mushroom paste covered in butter and sage sauce, and finally saltimbocca with salad, and delicious cantucci biscuits with almonds to dip in grappa + few glasses of wine) - for 50 eur we found it good value for money. Breakfast was great as well, and the host even provided us with lots of tips on what to do and see the next day. We definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    It was a beautiful property and a beautiful stay. Fulvio really made out trip worth while.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. Everything was lovely.

    Honestly I mostly liked the feeling that Fulvio gave to my family and I. He was so welcoming and warm and it made it feel like we were right at home. His cooking class was amazing and very fun. he was very accommodating to my family and their needs. He helped us find places to go that were close but also how to get a better experience by some restaurant suggestions and shop suggestions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Historical country vicarage close to San Gimignana. Hosts excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Decor of for era suited the room & property. Bed was big & comfy good atmosphere host was friendly good English. Always offered drinks when returned. Breakfast good & shared with other guests. Location perfect to visit old town & surrounding. Parking on site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    The absolute highlight to our Italy tour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was amazing! Fulvio, Katia and the full staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed the cooking class and the truffle hunt. The local site seeing is breath taking from all angles! San Gimignano is a beautiful walled city and a true Tuscan treasure. this location should be on your Tuscan tour plan!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful authentic Tuscan villa experience, with warm, welcoming owners, and a fantastic cooking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our truffle hunting experience was a bit of a bust - the "expert" lost the dog within 20 minutes. We spent 30 min watching him call for the dog to no avail, then he went off looking for 45 minutes while we stood around in the woods. We finally walked back to the car where the dog was running around it. Ha! He later admitted it wasn't his dog!

    Katia & Fulvio were wonderful - very welcoming by and personable. Katia's cooking class was phenomenal - lasted 4 hours! We learned 2 kinds of homemade pasta, a sauce, chicken saltimbocca, and summer tiramisu! Absolutely fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Perfect. Place to stay after a long day travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was good but basic.

    We asked for a meal on arrival which the owner cooked for us even though this was not included. He cooked a beautiful 3 course meal with wine pairings for 4 people for the princely sum of 102 euros inc tip - perfect!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    The entire location was awsome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    The entire location was awsome. Especially the terrace is beautiful. It is exactly as on the pictures. But the best was the owner who is very friendly, helpful and speaks good english.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Amazing place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hosts - warm and friendly! Beautiful setting, gorgeous room, lovely pool, incredible cooking class. We absolutely loved it! And their recommendations were great for all of Tuscany. Will absolutely be back :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Tuscan countryside and home feeling!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our messages sent via booking.com were not received/read by the hosts. As a recommendation for future guests, better call the property directly, don't write through booking.com.

    The owner and his niece are very welcoming and kind persons. Although we were not able to experience the cooking class ourselves, the dinner we had on the night we stayed was a great experience. Very nice place in the countryside to do short walks with little children discovering the simple and beautiful nature around.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Tuscany at its best! Great host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. We enjoyed everything.

    Friendly , family welcomed us. Beautiful view. Helpful local knowledge. Wonderful host. Tasty breakfasts.Recommend it to anyone travelling by car. Only 3 kms from San Gimingnano, but a real country feeling. Interesting details in the room, full of character.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Host are very friendly, he showed us all the rooms and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host are very friendly, he showed us all the rooms and we can choose the room we like. The dinner was special, although it's very different with my hometown, but it's good. If i have time i will visit here again. Bathroom is clean. Bed is cozy, i felt at home. And thanks to host because he need to understand our bad English. Haha

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Cooking course delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to do a brilliant Tuscan cooking class this is the place for you. The food we cooked with Katia and Fulvio was the best we ate in Italy!! They are lovely people and great teachers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Il Vicario is very good place for family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Il Vicario is very good place for family holiday. We stayed there just one night but it was unforgetable. We had a very romantic dinner on the outside terrace with a variety of wines for each meal.The owners are very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like about Il Vicario - its location and hosts!

    Katia and Fulvio were wonderful hosts. We feel as though we were with family. On our first night, we arrived later than expected but this did not matter and they were so welcoming and inclusive- offering us refreshments and lovely big smiles. We attended a cooking class with Katia - great fun and she explained the history of Tuscany and its food also. Will definitely be back 😊

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Il Vicario- lovely stay just outside San Gimignano's old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed meeting so many people from different countries during our stay. Fulvio is a wonderful host and his recommendations for restaurants and day trips were always great. We especially enjoyed San Martino 26 Restaurant and the walking paths he suggested. Katia teaches cooking classes that were so booked up, we couldn't take one! She is really nice also and both speak English as well as several other languages. We recommend Il Vicario to anyone who wants a quieter atmosphere with the opportunity to learn more about places in Tuscany. They also serve an amazing 4 course dinner with wine for a very reasonable price!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A fantastic place to stay for anyone wanting to explore Tuscany while enjoying great hospitality. Fulvio was a wonderful host, as was Katia who was also around regularly, both able to offer great tips regarding the surrounding areas and happily helping with anything we needed. The daily continental breakfast was plentiful and varied, and our room was spacious and very much in keeping with the authentic Tuscan aesthetic throughout the place. We also took part in one of the cooking classes they offer in house which was both informative and great fun, and while we ate out most evenings, we made a point of eating in house on our last day and despite a few dietary restrictions on my part, were treated to possibly the best meal we'd had all week. The location is also fantastic, we flew in to Pisa and picked up a rental car at the airport and it was about an hour and a half drive to Il Vicario. From there it is just a 10 minute drive to San Gimignano, which was by far our favourite bit of Tuscany, we ended up going back there every day even after we'd explored it thoroughly on our first day, even if only to get an ice cream from the parlour in the main square which is voted as the best gelato in Tuscany. Loads of other great locations are also within an hour's drive such as Volterra, Sienna, Monteriggioni and the Cianti region, to name just a few that we visited. Florence is also only about an hours drive away although we decided in the end not to head there as we felt Siena was enough of a big city experience for us. All in all, we can't recommend Il Vicario enough and would return in a heartbeat if we ever get the chance

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice stay in countryside combined with fun cooking class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some problems finding the pace. Our GPS took us on a looong trip.

    We had a wonderful stay at Katias and Fulvios place a few kilometres from San Gimignano. Very relaxing! We also had fun joining the beginners cooking class with two other nice couples. Katia was a nice and patient teacher. We delayed in arriving to their place and did not come in time for the start of the cooking class but Katias was kind enough to continue with me and my wife afterwords so we actually dod not miss anything. Perhaps we can come back for the advanced classes later or just to stay at their layback place. We also went swimming in the pool which was nice since it was +30 degrees. Regards from Lars and Sonia

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    We had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a lovely stay. The hosts were very warm and welcoming, and gave us excellent advice about places to explore in the surrounding countryside. The setting was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    5.8
    Beautiful scenery but sadly I cannot recommend Il Vicario
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointed with the cookery class that we booked charged at 60 euros per person we hardly did much except make the dough for 3 spaghetti 'strings' and stir the sauce pan for 2 minutes. This was tremendously disappointing because I had book this as a gift. This was probably the case because the class was rammed with 6 people- where 6 people stirred one saucepan. Unfortunately I have to also add I found the owner was not always very approachable, and we felt somewhat 'in the way'.

    Stunning scenery and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The owner and Katia were extremely friendly and helpfull!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner and Katia were extremely friendly and helpfull! We booked a cooking class which was very nice and educating!! 10/10 for hospitality !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous location, very nice,peaceful and inspiring place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location, very nice,peaceful and inspiring place. The owners are very pleasant. True Tuscan experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    It was as close to staying in a family home as you could ask...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was as close to staying in a family home as you could ask for

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful. If I go back to the area it would be an easy choice to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was so friendly and helpful. The group dinners were wonderful as well - I recommend going every night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.0
    Very nice old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice old building. Warm hospitslity

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    The reception was friendly and always ready to provide...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The reception was friendly and always ready to provide things we needed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Great hosts good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool / pool area could have been better kept

    Great hosts. Good locTion

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Great stay, cooking class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was beautiful! Great pool and air conditioning! Hosts could not have been more friendly!! Cooking class was amazing!! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Best agriturismo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a small fridge in the room for cold drinks.

    Nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    Location, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little hard

    Location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful countryside setting within 5 min drive to San...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful countryside setting within 5 min drive to San Gimignano. Character house and amazing hosts with great cooking skills, our second visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Most amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Every minute of my stay was a pleasure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.6
    View of Tuscany priceless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of Tuscany priceless

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely difficult to find the place. Need more signage

    Bathroom was really big and great shower. Nice size room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing and well located for exploring Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not good in rooms due to thick walls. Finding hotel difficult as address not specific enough for satnav

    Cooking class great fun Pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Excellent accommodation & food in great location Fulvio...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation & food in great location Fulvio & Katia were great hosts with brilliant local information

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    You can relax in a historic cottage surrounded by vinyards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's better to take your own car or call a taxi in advance.

    You can relax in a historic cottage surrounded by vinyards and greenery scenery. Their tuscany cooking class is what you shouldn't miss. Big breakast was also surprising.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    10
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is perfect. The authenticity of the place is well preserved which add more value to the stay. The owners were very nice and helpful with many tips for Tuscany. All in all, great experience. Worth visiting...

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.2
    We stayed for 5 nights and had an awesome time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed for 5 nights and had an awesome time. Fulvio is and excellent host. He is always willing to offer advice on your daily plans and cooks a great Tuscan dinner. The cooking class is a whole lot of fun as well with his niece Katia. One of our favourite places in Tuscany.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    We have visited Il Vicario on numerous occasions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    We have visited Il Vicario on numerous occasions. The location and premises are devine and Fulvio and Katia who manage the place are fabulous hosts. Everything is to like about Il Vicario.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Fulvio and his family made our 4 night stay very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fulvio and his family made our 4 night stay very comfortable. He was very happy to help us with advice about the area and we had lovely relaxed meals each evening.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.5
    Large room in an attractive building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited breakfast with packaged products (though the coffee was good). Bedroom on ground floor with window looked directly out into courtyard with sitting area for breakfast and evening conversation, so there was a definite lack of privacy. Mosquitoes: there was a screen on the window but it had been left with a gap, so many bites on the first night. Swimming pool across the road, and it was out of use for maintenance on the first day (one of the hottest days of the year).

    Large room in an attractive building. Convenient position close to San Gimignano.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.8
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The promised view of San Gimignano is not possible at all. The swimming pool area was desolate and obviously not maintained. The room was cramped and dark. Maintenance level on the property was fair. . No air conditioning , only cheap and very noisy floor level ventilator. (Ok if the temperatures are moderate but not ok at 38C). Room views are to neighbours or own courtyard, not to San Gimingiano as suggest by description

    Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. The owner/manager was helpful and considerate. The room and bathroom were clean

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    This was the authentic tuscan experience- warm welcome by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This was the authentic tuscan experience- warm welcome by the owners (Fulvio & his wife), large canopy bed, nice old furniture, beautiful nature around, view of San Gimignano, swimming pool, quiet surroundings; very close to San Gimignano; delicious breakfast served by Fulvio

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.2
    Great place to spend time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were disappointed the pool was not open other then that nothing.

    Great place to spend time.love the location, a few minutes drive from San Gimignano. Fulvio the owner is extremely nice and helpful. A great host, we will definetly return.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    7.1
    Location was convenient to San Gemignano by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi access was almost non existent. Not a bad breakfast, but could have had more homemade, not bought, ingredients. Only average.

    Location was convenient to San Gemignano by car. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    We had a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a great stay! The hosts are very nice and warm and we received useful tips for visiting surrounding cities. It's unforgettable when we arrived in a rainy late afternoon, the host welcomed us with a glass of wine.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Nice simple place in great location near to San Gimignano -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice simple place in great location near to San Gimignano - friendly welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.6
    Fulvio was an excellent host, cooking amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fulvio was an excellent host, cooking amazing. Property well located for easy access to San Gimignano and other Tuscan delights

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    8.8
    Location, area, the house, the owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing so far

    Location, area, the house, the owner

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    10
    Everything 10 point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything 10 point.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.8
    Locality and the owner very helpful and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Locality and the owner very helpful and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    3.8
    Dinner was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    5 years ago, much better then now! Terras and swimming pool were not maintained!!! Breakfast was very poor!!

    Dinner was good

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    Beautiful location, great host, and we loved the cooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Going home.

    Beautiful location, great host, and we loved the cooking course.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    The welcome, position , food .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The welcome, position , food . Lots to do in nearby towns . Lots of advice about what to see and restaurant recommendations .

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: