Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Borgo di Vescine 4 stars

Loc. Vescine, 53017 Radda in Chianti, Italy

#15 of 31 hotels in Radda in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    A special retreat in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was very good for dinner as well as breakfast. The atmosphere is very calm. The room was comforable with a large bath/shower. If you want other restaurants, you will have to drive to reach them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    The property itself is amazing, the staff is so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing I would change about his perfect little property

    The property itself is amazing, the staff is so accommodating and so sweet. The restaurant was incredible, one of my favorite meals EVER and the service was great too. The wine tasting was also soooo good. I wish we had more time here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Great stay in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments.

    Accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable. Air con worked well which was essential in high summer temperatures. Staff were very friendly and facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful Tuscan get-away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really sparse. During the day it was difficult to find anyone to serve at the bar or for snacks. At breakfast and dinner there were plenty of staff.

    It is fairly remote - defitently need a car. But this does make it a really peaceful and relaxing place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.4
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was terrible. We had booked a cooking class in advance and we were not notified that it was cancelled until we arrived at 3pm for the start of the class. We asked for help rescheduling with an alternate provider and they were zero help. The older man, we believed was the manager, kept shooing us away when we asked for help. The room was small and dark. Air conditioner barely worked and there were bugs in the bathroom and holes in the towels. I would not recommend staying here as there were plenty of equally beautiful gardens in nearby hotels.

    The property was pretty and the outdoors well maintained, however any winery/hotel in chianti had the same caliber of outdoor beauty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    Staff very service minded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have enjoyed outside chairs and table as most other rooms

    Staff very service minded Breakfast with excellent variety of choice Very quiete and relaxing place with no stress, which we enjoyed a lot

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Perfect honeymoon retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel grounds were so beautiful and peaceful. It was the perfect spot for 4 days of relaxing and romance on our honeymoon. The breakfast was amazing, with really delicious chocolate crossiants! Beautiful views and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.7
    Great location but staff disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unprofessional, unfriendly and unhelpful from check in to check out for the three nights we stayed there. Not a happy pleasant atmosphere. Seemed to lack senior management.

    Fantastic location with splendid views. Very good food in restaurant. Peaceful and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Excellent, I wish I could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was beautiful, the food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location for exploring the area by bike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    End of season feel to the pool area.

    Room (suite) very spacious, spotlessly clean. Restaurant staff excellent, food and wine very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    - Two single mattresses in a double bed room: very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Two single mattresses in a double bed room: very uncomfortable - Not possible to have a late check-out - Laundry service is too expensive

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay in Chinati
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent there 5 nights. Beautiful hotel, rooms, view from the pool area. Friendly staff, especially the superkind Stefano 😎 🍾

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    An ideal location near Rada in Chianti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It met our expectations for accommodation in the Tuscan countryside

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    6.3
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - it's impossible to reach d place without your own vehicle...located 6 kms from Radda in Chianti...

    Nice place

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    What an amazing place, everything about it was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What an amazing place, everything about it was fabulous. Just a ten minute drive to Radda, a beautiful little village. A trip to Montepulciano and Pienza are a must too.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    3.8
    The view from the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The basic and dark room, the absence of service, the badly maintained gardens, the chaotic restaurant and the fact that the hotel is used as a base for large groups of rowdy motocross riders.

    The view from the pool

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    This was our 2nd visit to Il Borgo and it was just as good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This was our 2nd visit to Il Borgo and it was just as good as we remembered. Quiet and beautiful location outside of Radda. Lovely pool and spacious accommodation. Good food and super wine.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    7.5
    Beautiful scenery, Clean rooms, and great dinner options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff didn't seem inviting. I would honestly avoid asking anything as they seemed bothered about it.

    Beautiful scenery, Clean rooms, and great dinner options.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Staff was very friendly, and the location is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    AC is only in the bedroom, and the TV is tiny/reception is spotty. That said, you shouldn't be staying in the room or watching TV...

    Staff was very friendly, and the location is amazing! Wi-Fi is really good.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful "village like" facility perched on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Beautiful "village like" facility perched on the side of a hill overlooking the amazing Chianti countryside. Peaceful, classy, wow...can't say enough good things about Vescine!

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    4.2
    great location in Chianti, very nice place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast, I would describe this as a very typical middle level Italian breakfast, but however the staff is also important and they were absolutely not motivated and interested to take serious care of their guests. An Example: we have asked for cleaning the breakfast desk in front of the restaurant with the nice view to chianti mountains, but the staff just said (and this didn't happen once and happened to other guests as well) that they were in the back more seats available and we should sit there. Overall the staff is not really motivated and very frustrated. Pool: there is almost no pool service, pool cleaning is every two days and you can see all time little insects in the pool (btw: the pool is a plastic pool, not stone which is ok but some guests don't like this), which is fine when you are in the place with a lot of trees etc, but however the staff didn't come once to clean the pool during the day. Guest used the big insect bug and cleaned the pool during the day. Again it is a very nice place, but the service and facility is very middle class and the price for a night doesn't justify the overall customer experience.

    great location in Chianti, very nice place to relax

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    This property was gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This property was gorgeous! It was picture perfect. The pool was wonderful and the views breathtaking. The wine at the winery was very good- we had several bottles shipped home. The bartender helped us with a wine tasting, which was excellent! We then took a bottle of wine and sat by the pool to relax. We did not leave the property- dinner was outstanding and breakfast equally as good. We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    This hotel is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is amazing. We stayed here for our honeymoon and could not have been happier. Fantastic food and wine, great location (if you have a car) and the staff were wonderful. Would love to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    5.8
    t was a nice traditional house in the middle of toscana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was quiet unfriendly. Especially a skin headed guy at the reception was unpolite and unfriendly and left a bitter taste of the whole hotel. His english was really bad, too and communication wasn`t possible. All in all the staff seemed not really motivated, was slow and forgot orders continously. The breakfast offering was good but it was not good replenished. I would have spent my money more likely if the staff would have been more friendly hospitable.

    t was a nice traditional house in the middle of toscana. I loved all-terrain. Really ramoantic. With a nice pool and veranda. The breakfast was good, for dinner I would recommand another restaurant. There is enough parking space. Rooms where traditional too, with old fashioned furniture. My friends had trouble in their room with air conditioning and their door lock, it was repaired immediatly.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    Perfect pool, super location, excellent food and wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For several days there was no internet connectivity - the problem was supposedly outside of the hotel.

    Perfect pool, super location, excellent food and wine.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    8.3
    Location and setting, proximity to nature, pool, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms can feel small and "not airy" (limited number of windows, no terrace on our room). Staff occasionally not available at reception when needed.

    Location and setting, proximity to nature, pool, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.8
    Excellent WiFi coverage in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant may fill up quickly. Room could be cleaner.

    Excellent WiFi coverage in the room. Quality wine tasting. Top quality restaurant. Lots of hiking opportunities nearby.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.6
    Super stay in a beautiful room, very nice people, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super stay in a beautiful room, very nice people, great breakfast, we enjoyed the pool a lot

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Franchesca. Breakfast was excellent, and the cooking class was very fun. A beautiful property.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    View was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    View was great! Excellent room. Two bathrooms were wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    Simply put .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Simply put .. It's a piece of heaven !

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful place, amazing views, the best breakfast I had in...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful place, amazing views, the best breakfast I had in a hotel!!! Wine testing, staff, atmosphere…just great, and unforgettable place!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    Relaxed country location within easy drive of several small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed country location within easy drive of several small interesting towns. Excellwnt wine and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    EVERYTHING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    EVERYTHING

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.3
    beautiful landscapes, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The first night in the room with noisy and not functioning air condition

    beautiful landscapes, very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    8.8
    excellent location, free footwear to wear in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was not comfortable. Bathroom tiles were dirty.

    excellent location, free footwear to wear in the room

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: