Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Borgo di Villa Castelletti Country Hotel

Via di Castelletti 15, 50058 Signa, Italy

#1 of 15 hotels in Signa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location in the heart of Tuscany. Beautiful decor & very friendly staff. The pool is lovely & the restaurant is Bellissimo. Enjoy a walk around the lake in the Tuscan countryside. A must stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too firm for my comfort.

    The rooms and grounds were very well kept. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast that was included was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Stunning property, well appointed rooms, amazing breakfast and staff that went over and above to assist us, we can't recommend this place highly enough!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The taxi service but that cannot be blamed on the hotel. The manager Alexandro was very helpful.

    There was no shuttle service and when the taxi was ordered it failed to arrive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was just excellent, the staff was very friendly, Alessandro was super helpful and funny- every morning he made our day to start with a smile on our faces. He planned our days brilliantly, he recommended fantastic places to visit. The kitchen lady made lovely breakfast- hot and cold as well. We will definitely return to this lovely place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    Country location within short distance to train station to Florence. Rooms were comfortable, clean and efficient. Breakfast was exemplary. Service was helpful and courteous. Found very good restaurant nearby for dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a step in the living room that was a bit dangerous in the dark - it would be good to mark it with glow in the dark tape.

    The staff were extra friendly and helpful. The property was beautiful to walk around, the food in the restaurant was delicious and the room was very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host and staff were very helpful and looked after their guests. They had a lovely humor. We were upgraded, thank you! One day we parked our car near the trainstation in Signa (5 minutes by car from hotel), free parking, and took the train to Florence, only 15 minutes away, perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The big group coming from Israel was very noisy during the night. Singing under our windows was terrible. At the morning they were lying onto the sunchairs reserved for us. They said they didn't recognized our towels...

    The owner and the staff was very kind and helpful, they gave fast answers for any question. The breakfast was amazing, fresh fruits, different cookies, sweets, tomato & mozzarella, prosciutto, tomato bread, hot meals... The garden is nice, with a large, clearwater swimmingpool. The restaurant for the dinner closed to the castle is also a good opportunity to walk for eating without taking a car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was over 40 degs and a few parasols around the pool would have helped.

    Room very large and included cooking facilities. We loved the Manager, Alessandro who couldn't do enough for us including getting up late as we had lost our key. Lovely pool.Delightful breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is beautiful, surrounded by a park where you can have nice walks. Each room has a different painter name but the view and the sunsets will remind you Leonardo's works. Everything is quiet, friendly and perfect. Breakfast is very good and abundant. The restaurant is outstanding, with a special offer of local dishes and wines. To finish the swimming pool is very attractive and also useful for small children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, rooms, breakfast...all were amazing. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Tuscany. When we come back to Tuscany we will surely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect (even the smallest things). I enjoyed the spacious room, tasty and fresh breakfast and coffee. Wi-fi is working without any problems. There is

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes, it was noisy in the late evening and in the early morning.

    Super breakfast! Airco works always! Staff is fantastic! The restaurant, who belongs to the villa, is very recommended!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All the staff were fantastic. my wife and I have stayed in hotels all over the world and have never experienced the level of service we had at the Borga da Villa de castelletti. Allesandro,Marcella,Betti and all the others were a credit to there profession. I could not recommend this hotel more highly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked everything about this property. All the surroundings are a unique landscape. You can do great walks in the park near the lake which is in this property. The breakfast is homemade delicious and healthy. Our room was spacious clean and very clean. The only thing that is missing in our opinion is a bit of entertainment during the evening since after a day of exploring the cities and villages we where tired to go out, we would have liked some activities in the property even may be in the area where usually stayed for breakfast just a small suggestion. The great part of this property is the staff who are always very help full and ready with a smile. Start with the staff that helps in the kitchen which they use to serve us very gentle and always asking if we need more cafe a latte to the staff of the reception to starting with Betty, Alessandro, Stefano e Marcella and also the guy who comes to replace when someone is on leave and also the great staff who works at the restaurant. Thanks for this experience look forward to come again. Family Mifsud Malta.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite a few mosquitos bites and very hot room but air con was on and the hotel cannot do anything about the mosquitos. This would not stop us recommending, but take some repellant spray, and hotel were great when I told them I'd been bitten they gave me cream, really great staff.

    Great location for visiting Firenze by train. Great pool and table tennis for children after a hot day out. Very nice restaurant up at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool pretty small, and too many people in it to keep the chemicals balanced correctly. Not a super great area. Only one restaurant for dinner nearby. Close to Florence, but train strike (which staff did not know about, even though scheduled in advance), meant very expensive taxi ride home from Florence.

    Super friendly, welcoming staff. Large room. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch menu quite small and you need to tell the staff if you want to order lunch in advance - location a bit remote

    The staff were excellent - rooms nice and big. Nice pool. Excellent stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very isolated and quiet, but we were going to a wedding in artimino so it was fine.

    We liked everything! The staff were so so friendly and accommodating! I accidentally left my carry on at the reception and then we headed off to Florence! They put the carry on in a taxi on its own and made sure if got to me ASAP! Unbelievable service! Alessandro is an absolute legend!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We decided to go to dinner at the restaurant associated with the villa. The walk is very steep and was difficult for my aunt who is elderly. We did not know you could drive to the restaurant until we had already walked there.

    Everything was very clean and comfortable. Beautiful location. Breakfast was top notch. Huge rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints!

    It was an absolute joy to have found this villa! When you book a hotel you never know what you'll get but this was a fantastic surprise! The suites were large, roomy and comfortable. Everything was perfect! The people were all fantastic! Definitely a location to consider a longer stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    the rooms themselves are lovely. Spacious and clean. Breakfast while not lavish is good and gets you going for the day. The location is spectacular. Finally, the staff is excellent! Marcela and alessandro are extremely cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of traffic noise from the road.

    This is a beautiful villa. We enjoyed the apartment, the pool and the restaurant. The staff went out of their way to prepare meals and make our stay enjoyable! The taxi service from the train station and then to the airport were on time and easy to arrange! Would love to return for a longer stay!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location , staff , colazione

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager Alexandro was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant meal - not run by the Villa though.

    Breakfast, room very comfortable, beautiful area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Room excellent, food excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds was very warm....brekfast good... place very beautifull.. personal perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable.

    Charming , beautiful country feel. Very nice and hospitable staff. Great breakfast and beautiful views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Every thing was perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not much really

    Very cordial and helpful Staff. Lovely surroundings and environment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredible, so friendly and helpful, setting was great , stunning location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area, the ping pong area, the garden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hosts were amazing, so friendly and so helpful in getting to and from the train station in Signa throughout our stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been nice with a hottub :)

    Perfect place for a young family! Nice restaurant and really sweet and serviceminded staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment with Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing venue - excellent restaurant and awesome staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing. The place was terrific, and we'd stay there again.

    The friendliest staff at any hotel we've ever stayed at. The breakfast is amazing every morning, and the ladies who prepare it are very sweet. Wifi worked very well. The room was clean and the loft was so neat. Close to Florence (30 min), Pisa (50-60 min), and San Gimignano (50-60 min) so you can see a lot on a weekend trip. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful property on the outskirts of Signa. A friendly and interesting manager, Alessandro Giaccherini, who helped guide our two couples on our train trip into Florence, and some leather shopping. Great breakfast included by two wonderful ladies upstairs in a country like room. Would highly recommend this property when visiting Florence, only a 15 minute train ride away!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This hotel is not what is shown on picture it makes out that it is the large country hotel in the picture but this is not part of it . The accommodation is in a building next to the road and the picture shown is not really a true representation of the hotel at all and is misleading

    very good staff /helpful /lovely breakfast and helpful staff then as well

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a bad experience but although just out in the country the hotel is surrounded by the industrial heartland of tuscany. Ideal for seeing Florence, Sienna, Pisa and San Gimignano but about 50 miles from the rolling hills of Tuscany.

    Fantastic service from everyone we met. particular thanks to Stephano and Mr Allegri the " owner" who kindly drove us out to a couple of restaurants. The breakfasts were divine with a massive variation each of the days we stayed. the homemade flans were particularly enticing.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathroom is on the small side and the water is getting very hot while taking a shower. Beds are not the most comfortable ones.

    Breakfasts and the location. The ladies in the kitchen are excellent. Overall it was a nice experience.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great setting, massive rooms full of character, great breakfast with outside seating area Alexandro, the owner(?) was so helpful and gave us valuable info for the train to Florence and drive to Montepulciano

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mosquitos pretty prevalent and hungry.

    Location great for Florence. Breakfast excellent. Good pool and shaded table tennis table. Very helpful staff to advise on drives and routes into Florence. Restaurant good.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were in the area for a wedding at the adjacent villa and found the hotel to be really comfortable, the staff excellent and the overall stay very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    We loved everything about our stay. The staff and management are wonderful. The food at breakfast and the restaurant was fantastic. They made a wonderful stay of items every day. The rooms are all in a small building between the pool and a stream. They were clean and spacious and our view was lovely. The charm of being in the countryside close to both the vineyards and Florence was exactly what we wanted. The grounds are beautiful. There is a banquet facility attached to the restaurant up the hill and trails behind that lead to a georgous lake and horses that our kids loved visiting each day. The pool was a great way to to cool off after a long day of site seeing. We will definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the moment we arrived to when we departed the staff were excellant , helpful and courteous. Rooms were great and we made use of the pool in the sweltering heat.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Refrigerator in kitchen part of apartment was a bit to small. Missing wine glasses in the apartment, but got some right away after asking for it.

    Wonderful and helpful staff, Allesandro, Stefano, etcetera. Lovely breakfast, something new every day. A very nice restaurant with tasty dishes.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location for Florence airport, but much more relaxed than closer to the airport. Fabulous breakfast - best we had in Italy, including 5 star hotel in Siena.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No complaints. Bathroom was rather small and the airco was noisy but worked well.

    The breakfast was exceptionally good. Nice rooms. Staff was very friendly and always ready to help. Very nice restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathrooms were clean. Beds were great and breakfast was just right.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    excellent staff. excellent breakfast. excellent facilities

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were excellent. Pool was great for the kids. Breakfast was super.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location of rooms close to road.

    Very helpful friendly staff. Good choices for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not hot water

    Breakfast, hotel location

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant in the castle is not fantastic !

    Great breakfast for what is usual in Italy

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were fantastic and so helpful. The surroundings were beautiful.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Il Borgo di Villa Castelletti Country Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: