Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais & Chateaux il Borro 5 stars

Localita' Borro 1, 52024 San Giustino Valdarno, Italy

#1 of 3 hotels in San Giustino Valdarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 103 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar service at the infinity pool was lacking. Asked for a bottle of water that never came. Nothing that would stop me from returning though!

    The Ferragamo family have managed to restore a medieval village into a stunning 5 star resort. Beautiful property, with 2 restaurants, 2 pools, a spa, horse riding, golf, tennis & a huge vineyard. We stayed in a deluxe one bedroom suite in the little village, which features a handful of local artisan stores. The room was comfortable, facing the hillside and very quiet at night. A short walk to both restaurants and pools, and the car service is also very efficient. We did the wine tour which gives a lot of history of the place with an emphasis on environmental protection which was a nice touch. The Osteria is definitely worth a visit, make a reservation as it gets filled up. The casual restaurant vincafe was also great food and has a nice view right by the infinity pool. I read a few reviews of the service at the reception being crappy but we didn’t experience that at all. Very warm welcome and generally the staff were all super friendly and attentive. Also very well priced compared to many other 5 star resorts in the area. Definitely recommend if looking at vineyards in the area (about an hour out of Florence).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole environment was just amazing and was able to relax and really enjoy the time during the stay. We also did accessory making workshop and had fan. Thanks Davide !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is one of those places where photos barely do it justice. It's a quiet, calm, magical place set in a little village on a hilltop. The rooms are lovely and homey, and while the grounds are spacious, a car will take you wherever you need to go. The team there couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We went during off season, but can imagine what it's like when the sun is out and the pool is open! The spa (while we didn't go) was peaceful and nice, and they make their own wine, which was delicious. Recommend renting a car, and a day trip to Arezzo (the hotel's suggestion) or Chianti.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered wine to ship, but the VAT tax cannot be deducted so we pay taxes in Italy and in Switzerland.

    We liked the food the staff and activities offered by the hotel. Also the horse back riding was awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't that good and the service at the pool was non existent! There should be more service around the pool so we could order drinks, cafe etc.

    I liked how everyone was very friendly with me and my pet!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is a little patchy in various parts of the estate.

    Il Borro is truly stunning! The care and attention given to the restoration of the estate is first class along with the service given by all the team. You really do wander through a little piece of Tuscan heaven in this beautifully restored village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were directed from a wrong place and therefore we only became aware of a lot of possibilities while we were checking out. They sent us to a pool which was not even opened, no service at all. Then we went to a new pool where you had to walk after the waiter everytime we wanted to order something. Problematic to reserve a table for dinner etc. I wanted to write an email to the hotel manager but there is only one mail adress available in their web page which is booking. Apparently they don't want to listen.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best location to travel within tuscany and staff although very friendly are missing the family cosy touch oher places have

    Decoration and overall setting is stunning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the medieval village with a modern flair. The setting is just like a fairy tale. Ever since we left I've been thinking of reasons to go back again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked everything. All was perfect. Village was charming, suites were tastefully furnished, breakfast was splendid. We enjoyed vine tasting, horse riding, walking in nature...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cappuccino at breakfast so weak it didn't taste of coffee - suspect it was made with one of those instant push-button machines!( but then, even in paradise there was a problem!), but this was the only thing I could fault.

    Everything! (and they have thought of everything)The subdued & tasteful decor, the wonderful salads at the VinCafe, the quiet, the walks, the prepared fireplace,it was like being in one's own little house in Tuscany.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Do not have to ask something at the reception which is far away in another part of the park and when very busy with the arrivals... 1 hour and 1/2 to have a plug, a bottle opener and ice cubes...

    The calm and the setting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We really enjoyed our stay at the resort every thing was really amazing !! The resort look more pretty at reality than the pictures ! The breakfast was very good , the staff were the best ! We enjoyed the cooking class & horse riding 💯 the best months to visit is ( sep -October ) & ( April -may ) Definitely were're coming back ! Thank you Relaid& chateaux so much for every thing .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing experience in Tuscany. Confortable, sophisticated. Amazing!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Everything, fantastic hotel with amazing facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having access to some of the facilities (gardens, additional spa pool) in the villa

    The medieval village with its shops and wine tour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect, I can't fault anything. Amazing place, people, food and wine. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    decor is quite basic. unexpected in this level of hotel

    lovely location. beautiful horses. structural village/building restoration very well done

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa prices are a bit high

    Location and facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the beautiful surroundings, attention to detail of all the property and the attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good suites. Clean and new bathrooms. Fireplace will be fired by the staff immediately on your request. Quiet and tasty breakfast. Horse riding inside the property. Wonderfool museum with exceptional pieces of art. Winery. The wine is good.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would be very useful to have some little shop in the village with ice-cream, milk etc. and spray from mosquitos

    the atmosphere is amazing like a proper little village with very friendly and helpful staff, cosy and the main swimming pool is amazing!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor attention to detail in looking after guests' needs. E.g. 45 mins at the dinner table before anything include water, arrived. No offer of aperitif. No soaps for 3 days in cafe toilets. bottled water not replaced in room.

    The physical hotel itself, and the facilities. Great cooking class & guided cycle ride.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I felt like I was in a Disney re-creation of Italy, not in the real Italy. I'm not sure why anyone would come here except maybe for a wedding or a function. This setting was spectacular, but everything else about this place fielt phony. Also, although we were paying full price, many of the facilities were not fully functioning. For example there was no one at the pool bar also, although we were paying full price, many of the facilities were not fully functioning. For example there was no one at the pool bar, and we had to wait 20 minutes until someone came to wait on us in the wine bar

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    exceleent experience

    I liked everything! the people working there are so kind. Everyone since the welcoming day . Beautiful facilities, delicious food! I would like to spend more time there, so quiet and peaceful. Very interesting and perfect wine tasting as well

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Aldeia, natureza, comodidade

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: