Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Il Convento 3 stars

Via Speranzella 137/a, Plebiscito, 80132 Naples, Italy

#14 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 552 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The consierge, Nello, was so very kind and helpful! We left our passports in our hotel in Rome and he had them sent to us! Nello was a great problem solver! He always had a smile to greet us each day and had a very friendly manner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Room was small, stepping out front door puts you in danger of a motor scooter hitting you from right or left, even though street is one way for cars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, it felt as though you were a local, a great experience culturally. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The bed a little hard however everything else was perfect. I was very happy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable room in a really interesting and well located part of Naples. Yes it is noisy but that part of its charm. Also the hotel provides earplugs so we always had a good nights sleep. Would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality was outstanding.Nello at the front desk was friendly and extremely helpful with suggestions and directions. Hotel is an easy walk from the cruise port and to local sites. It's located in the authentic Spanish District,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a 3 star hotel, I can't think of anything which requires improvement.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, ready to advise on giving directions for travel and suggestions about restaurants etc. The hotel is full of character , clean and in a perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a clipped toenail on the bed when I arrived so the cleanliness of the room was not great.

    This hotel had a very friendly staff and is as authentic as you can get. Located in the alleyways of Naples, surrounded by locals, it is a great way to experience the culture and community of Naples. The breakfast is excellent and free, they make you cappuccinos and they go out of their way to help you and really care about your experience with them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed clothes were very used and has a lot of holes. Breakfast staff wasn't very friendly and did not re-feel food so plates stayed empty.

    All was good, except a few things.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awesome with egg, cappuccino, meat, olives, tomatoes, granola, pastries, and more and the staff went out of their way to help us find places we wanted to visit, set up tours, and they have an elevator. Small intimate hotel on a tight, busy but quiet road with lots of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really, not much for a hotel of this class in this location.

    Because the hotel is smack in the middle of the Spanish quarter, I expected some street noise -- it's a lively area. And, while there was some until midnight or so, especially the occasional moto, it was surprisingly quiet in the morning (except for 7:00 church bells). But I loved Room 44 as it was on top floor, a little larger than many, I believe, and had its own little terrace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was the urgent ringing of what sounded like a fire bell at 6:45 am. It rang with increasing pace for a minute or so then stopped. Then again at 7 and 7: 15. Apparently there's a church next door, and this was a call to prayer. Every morning.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful -particularly when it came to time to leave. The young man we dealt with recommended an alternate method of getting to the airport that actually saved us money and probably time as well. The breakfast was great -plenty of choices and loads of everything. Plenty of great restaurants within a block, and the amazing Toldeo metro station worth a look too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed is a little lumpy

    The location is great just off via Toledo. As you walk down Toledo look for signs on the right side for the hotel. The hotel is a very short walk from the Toledo metro station. Room 42 has an outside patio where you can sit with a glass of wine and relax. The staff are friendly and speak english. The provided breakfast is fine. There are eggs, cereal, bread and rolls, fruit, yogurt and deli meats.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AN AMAZING find in the city of Naples that I know very well having lived there for over 6 years. Super central location, walking distance to many must see places. Excellent restaurants, cafes and bars on the doorstep. Main shopping area Via Toleda and Via Chiaia 1 min walk. Lovely staff, very comfortable room with terrace (we were lucky to be able to get an upgrade), excellent breakfast with a lot to choose from. EXCEPTIONAL price/quality ratio. Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three star accommodation, value for money , spotless , noisy as city centre hotel should be - ear plugs provided :) ! Located Bang slap where I needed to be. Very friendly and helpful staff . Even had a soya milk for my morning cappuccino - very rare in Naples indeed !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street side room is a bit noisy but earplugs are provided, bathroom a bit out dated but very clean so not really a problem.

    Lovely location, helpful staff, nice looking clean room, room was decorated for Christmas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was super nice, very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good (and you can even have breakfast in bed till 11am (for free) if you order the day before!) The location of this hotel is ideal to visit Naples.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise at night was pretty horrendous. I had to put earplugs in my ears because the motor scooters screamed up and down in front of my window all night long.

    Great position, great breakfasts and very warm, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi, but this is to be expected given the surrounds as I believe it would be the same everywhere.

    We loved living amongst the people in Naples with close access to all facilities and scenic spots. We had a balcony that looked out onto the streets to give you true atmosphere. staff were really friendly and provided a great breakfast and access to taxis when required

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been better, but that may be because I had breakfast quite early each morning.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, hotel was very central, with easy access to Metro.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A quaint historic hotel in a great location Naples Spanish Quarter, close to public transit, good restaurants and historic sites. The staff were all welcoming, friendly and helpful. I checked in on my birthday, the day was noted as the staff looked at my passport, wishing me a happy birthday. Later that evening a bottle of Presecco, a few sweets and a card was delivered to our room. A very thoughtful and memorable gesture. Our third floor room was nice size with a small balcony overlooking a side street, very busy during the day quieting down in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in our room dropped out but staff rectified this.

    Great location, close to restaurants (do try Hosteria Toledo for authentiv local dishes). Reception staff very friendly and helpful in organising day trips and taxis.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is on a narrow street. Only taxis & residents cars permitted. Most locals use mopeds & drive at breakneck speeds. Need to be aware & cautious when walking to & from hotel. Went in open top bus to explore Naples- both the Centro Storico & the longer tour - the Blue Route.

    We requested twin beds which were comfortable. The air conditioning worked well. We needed it in October as the weather was warm and sunny. Staff were very nice. There was a complimentary bottle of red wine & some pastries waiting in our room when we arrived. Plenty of good restaurants nearby & lots of fresh fish !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location within walking distance of all the main attractions. Clean, comfortable hotel full of character. Very friendly staff who recommended very good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked more of a hot breakfast... I feel that a lot of the things on offer for breakfast, were more suitable to a mid-day or evening meal, but this is probably just a cultural matter. There was quite a bit of noise outside on the street.

    I liked the location of the property. It was near to the pedestrianised area in the Spanish Quarter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location. Fabulous to stay and experience the local area. Busy during the day but quiet at night I was booking my trip in May but so wanted to stay here so changed trip to September. Great breakfast and helpful staff. Of my trips to Italy this hotel is the best. Very clean and comfortable 👍👍👍. Recommended their favorite pasta and pizza places. Could not have been better

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pulling cases up longer hill as only local taxis go up the lanes.

    Warm Napalise welcome and location within the lanes. All night staff with information and support.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed was quite hard.

    Il Convento is very well located in the Spanish Quarter. Our room was very clean, although the fixtures and fittings are due for an update. The staff were extremely helpful with suggestions for places to eat. They also arranged a taxi to the airport. The breakfast was good, with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a bit lost trying to find the hotel...they did send directions but the city is so old that the streets are hard to navigate...if they had been a bit simpler with the directions...for example..the hotel is only two minutes walk from Toledo...the main shopping area of Naples.

    The little extras the staff did were very thoughtful....they packed a breakfast since I was leaving before their breakfast started....also a little nibble to take for later...very nice staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The size of the original room .

    We booked a room and it was terribly small and were upgraded the next day to a larger room. Suggest that you book the larger room from the start. I must say that Nello the manager went out of his way to ensure our comfort and made several calls on our behalf . The other staff members were also helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi , internet was really poor ! And the breakfast

    Friendly staff, large room and quite place despite the area. The Spanish area in napoli is an amazing place to explore.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture, tiny room, a little noisy at night, bed is basically a mattress and a spring box.

    Great location, close to the subway station & attractions, very friendly staff, great A/C, good shower, affordable minibar & breakfast, 24/7 check-in/out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and clean. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the hotel is so close to via Toledo, where you can find all the food and shopping you could ever need! Short walk from the port and the metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all was perfect! Btw, I have read some reviews complaining about the noise of the street - but in my opinion this is not an issue... i really didn't hear the noise...

    I LOVED EVERYTHING!! Staff super heplpul and competent. Perfect location, in the "typicals" quartieri spagnoli (who are no dangerous by any mean, so don't be afraid!) - a few minutes walk distance from the beautiful historical city center. Hotel with an historical vibe but all the comfort you need... most of all the delicious breakfast, with home made pastries... You really feel at home! I can not recommend it enough: Hotel Il Convento - a magical place! I sure will go back again :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was plain but that wasn't really important. We like it very much.

    Location was perfect and convenient. Close to Metro, good breakfast, staff had excellent suggestions for places to eat and see. Neighborhood was very colorful. Got the feel of the real Napoli.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are lots of buses in napoli but sometimes difficult to know exactly where the bus stops are

    Good breakfast very large room in excellent position near restaurants shops and napolitian life

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel but the streets are very noisy at night ( and we were given earplugs) . Difficult to get used to the narrow streets and share this space with scooters and cars.

    Helpfulness of staff; very close to buses and the Metro; walking distance to the Archeological Museum; pleasant room for breakfast; plenty of food at breakfast. Bathroom was very clean and shower hot. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel mis brilliantly located in a typically bustling street in old Naples, close to sights and metro. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and full of advice about where to go, getting there and restaurants. Breakfasts were excellent - a good selection and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was ok, but below our expectation.

    Location and atmosphere was very good in this hotel. Although there were scooters and cars driving very close to this hotel, our room was surprisingly quiet. And there were ear plugs in the room, if necessary provided by hotel, but we didn't use them. Next building was church and they started to ring bells at 7.30am every morning. But that belongs to Italy. Everything necessary like metro, ferries to Capri and Ischia, shopping street, restaurants, small supermarket etc. were close to the hotel. Personnel was very nice. And finally there were a positive "surprise" waiting for us in the room and we got something special last evening too. So big thanks to personnel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi adequate but sometimes hard to get a signal in the room.

    Small, nicely converted former convent in the bustling, lively, noisy Spanish quarter. Friendly staff, welcoming, efficient and good at suggesting places to visit in the city. The hotel still feels like a convent, a tall, airy building with lots of stairs (and lift) and small but very clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast was great. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi wasn't always strong but when we told reception they rebooted it and it improved.

    The location of the hotel is very good. It is right among the small busy roads off Via Toledo and only a short walk to the metro, monuments or the waterside. Breakfast was excellent and we had a beautiful garden terrace to ourselves. I am going back there after I return from the Amalfi coast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, really!

    Beautiful room with mezzanine, perfect for a family of four. It was even nicer than on the pictures. Extremely friendly personnel who helped us with all questions regarding attractions or transportation. They communicate well in French. The hotel was quiet despite its central location. It is a perfect place to visit Naples, very close to the center and to the metro. Access from the train station by metro is very easy and fast. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and in Naples. I warmly recommend both!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that the Spanish Quarter is a lively part of town and there is street noise early (including bells at 7am) and late. Ear plugs are provided though!

    Lovely hotel in Spanish quarter with a great family room (2 single beds for the kids on a mezzanine floor in the room). Great location for many Naples sites and short walk to Metro. Staff very friendly and happy to recommend restaurants etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was a bit weak occasionally but nothing serious.

    Location, location, location unless you're a wimp. My hotel is in the Spagnoli Quartieri, one of the most intense, gritty, noisy, scary hoods of the city and not for the faint of heart. I loved it. The staff was so helpful about how to find things. The breakfast buffet was one of the best in my seven weeks of traveling.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection 0.2 mps, didn't work half of the time, very frustrating. Despite the double window our room was very noisy because of the traffic outside (room 14).

    Great shower. Personnel was helpful. Breakfast alright, location good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrific location, knowledgeable staff, charming decor. Our room had a private roof top balcony -- which was lovely, even in January. We would definitely return to Il Convento and have already recommended it to others.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My cappuccino at breakfast was tepid and not strong enough. Pillow horribly uncomfortable

    There was a kettle in the room which isn't always the case in Europe, with a good selection of herb teas etc plus instant coffee, so that was good. The breakfast was good, with some delicious hot scrambled egg - again not standard for Italy. Altogether il Convento is a nice hotel and very good value

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for seeing the whole of Naples! Tube station, funicolare and busses in the vicinity. Major attractions only couple of minutes away! Very friendly and extremely helpful staff! Very friendly atmosphere! Good breakfast! Thank You all at Il Convento!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location for short stay in Naples. The room was nice, the neighbourhood was stunning, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but good enough to start our day with smile :) At 7 am you will hear bells from nearly church, but you shouldn't worry - the hotel is taking care of its guests by providing earplugs. When we get back to Naples we will choose Il Convento again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff of the hotel was amazing, very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Excellent location. It was very easy to get around the city and to Pompeii & Vesuvius from there. Naples is a unique beautiful city! Friendly local people and delicious food!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't dislike anything.

    Location was close to all the action in Naples. Plenty of trattoria to choose from. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was ok, cereals, fruit although not a lot of choice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't brilliant and the complimentary ear plugs were needed. The positives far outweighed the negatives though

    The hotel was in an excellent position. The staff were very helpful organising a restaurant booking and a trip for us. The roof terrace rooms were lovely. The whole hotel had a quirky feel to it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a little bit small, but we didn't mind so much.

    Great hotel! The staff was nice, the breakfast was tasty and they even had eggs. There are a few parking lots in the area and they cost 20 euro for 24 hours. The location is amazing, right next yo main street, but we didn't get a lot of noise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    Staff were very helpful carrying luggage, bring up breakfast and looking up museum info. Despite downtown location it was very quiet at night. The location is in the very atmospheric area of Naples--maybe not for everyone--but very safe and interesting to walk around the neighborhoods and little shops.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because it's centrally located, it's very noisy -- mostly vespa traffic, and there is no view per se. But we knew that going in, so not an issue for us. Not ideal for exploring Capodimonte, although you can trek to the funicolare (doesn't operate Sundays) for easy access. Accordingly, we split up our trip to stay in another hotel in Capo area.

    The location was perfect as a hub for exploring the Spanish Quarter/Toledo (one block off the main drag, Via Toledo) area and attractions, including Spaccanapoli. Great restaurants, convenient banking nearby. Close to metro stop. Conscientious, amendable staff. Great breakfast buffet. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy at night with the traffic. Church bells ring at 7 AM... not a bad way to wake up!

    It was a good location to see Naples. Lovely establishment We had a room with a small balcony. Just lovely!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down point is it is very noisey. Having visited Italy many times I am used to the noise as it travel up he high building The church bells ring at 7 am

    The location was excellent for exploring Naples Ever thing with in walking distance. Plenty of choice for breakfast including soya milk. Situated in the Spanish quarter you get a real feel for the Italian life style

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Like many old areas, this one can be noisy from all the people and scooters and motorcycles. Fortunately the hotel supplies earplugs in the room. Personally, my wife and I didn't mind it since we expected it in this sort of area - it's part of the charm!

    Staff was extremely helpful. Location is great in narrow back streets of the old part of Naples. The hotel has kept its old world charm with modern amenities like strong wifi. The little balcony gives you a view of this combination commercial/residential area and the comings and goings of the residents. Great made-to-order coffee in the breakfast room!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower door was this strange folding glass screen that didn't fit, so taking a shower was awkward, and tub was very old and not inviting for soaking.

    The breakfast staff was great- very accommodating and friendly. And the food was wonderful. The female receptionist was very helpful and provided me a full day's itinerary. I loved the spaciousness and privacy of my room and the little outdoor terrace. The bed was comfortable. Lots of outlets and I had no problem getting some work done during my stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection a little limited, especially for those wanting healthier options. Church bells do ring early

    Roof terrace garden was lovely to come back to after a long day sight seeing. Had breakfast served here on the last day as a treat.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little out of the way so it's not so easy to get around unless you have your own car

    The owner/ manager was always around and extremely helpful with good local knowledge. Our toilet stopped working and it was fixed immediately. The hotel has wonderful views and good breakfast. Rooms are a little old fashioned but all in all a nice comfortable hotel. There is a free shuttle bus service to Sorrento which is useful if you don't have your own car.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little dated and the shower screen was tricky to open and close.

    The private rooftop courtyard included with our room. Close to the best restaurant of our trip, Hosteria Toledo. In a vibrant area of little alleys which make you feel part of the local life.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything about Hotel Il Convento.

    Beautiful rooms, great wifi, cool neighborhood, friendly staff, terrific breakfast. One of the best hotels we've stayed in and it is only a 15 minute or so taxi ride to the airport.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our family stayed in a room with a double bed on the main level and 2 single beds on a second level mezzanine. The room (including the bathroom!) was quite large and provided a separate space for our older children. In addition, the room was clean, modern (yet fit with the character of the hotel) and renovated with quality materials. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, our room and the hotel exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Location was great. Staff very friendly and informative. They went out of their way to assist at all times. Greeted us with wine and pastries to help us celebrate our anniversary. Had a terrace room. Nothing was too much trouble. Great position for shopping,restaurants etc. Close to Metro. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very good- in the old part of Naples. Easy to walk to interesting churches, sights and the old city. Plenty of good cafes, restaurants around. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was really good. Staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above: immediate neighborhood and ambience. Breakfast though ample was not very good quality food and the coffee for Italy was terrible!

    This historical building provides what one would expect in terms of size. The room- a quadruple- was actually roomier than expected including the bathroom. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The problem is really the neighborhood. Although central and easily accessible to the Centro Storico, it is on a cramped, dirty street just off of the Via Toledo which is unbelievably crowded. There are better accommodations of similar quality on on more pleasant streets.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Helpful staff. Situated in typical Naples street in the old part of the city. Very atmospheric and also good access to interesting parts of the city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Roof Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The roof terrace is amazing. You can get your breakfast bought up there free of charge. It's a 10 min walk to the historic quarter or down to the front.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel met all our needs. Getting around the little streets with motor scooters bipping, pedestrians and cars was something to get used to in Napolis..

    Hotel II Convento is a small hotel located close to the Toledo Metro station, a short walk through a pedestriant-only shopping street. There are restaurants in the next block or two and a pastry shop a few blocks north on Toledo. We got milk and banana at a little corner convenient store one block south on the same street. There were different staff every day of our stay. Every one was very pleasant and helpful. Our fourth floor room was clean and quiet, The church bell did wake us early in the morning, but did not bother us much.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we could think of was the odd "door" to the bathtub.

    Antonio was amazing. He helped us with everything we could ever need. Breakfast was great. Of the numerous hotels we stayed at on our trip, this was by far out favorite one.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only part we didn't like wasn't the hotel's fault at all. We were told by the hotel to park in a local parking lot. The guys there were extremely rude and it was rather expensive!

    Lovely little hotel. Couldn't fault the service. The location was great for us as we wanted to walk around the little streets of Naples and explore. The hotel is very near a great restaurant called Hosteria Toledo. Had the best melt in your mouth Melanzane (eggplant) Parmigiano there. It was in the 1st course menu. Our room was tiny with the bed pushed up against the wall. But it was a convent after all. Very clean. We spent a lot of time standing on our little balcony watching the locals speeding by on there vespers. The room was quiet. We didn't have to use the earplugs provided. Great service at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    A great location, good space in the rooms, comfy bed, good aircon, good breakfast, Helpful staff,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location in the Spanish quarter surrounded by great restaurants. Got to experience the real Naples!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, location

    Service and the people, clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable (not surprising but beware if you have any back problems).

    Great location and very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Il Convento traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: