Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Il Guercino 4 stars

Via Luigi Serra 7, 40129 Bologna, Italy

#42 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1255 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Depressing room, spa closed, noisy renovation activities, staff at reception desk lacks warmth, colleague slept in unpleasant room under the roof

    breakfast ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn't have a restaurant on site.

    It's an amazing property exquisitely decorated. And very comfortable. Also loved the free bikes to ride around town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an odd smell to the room, kinda of musty....

    The reception area was quaint, the room was a little outdated but sufficient. The property was with 1.5 miles from all you would want to see, very walkable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is easy to reach from the station and also the city is within walking distance. The hotel is a beautiful building and the room has a lot of space and a very nice bed. The breakfast is good and one of the first times in Italy I had the option to chips between a lot of teas. The staff is very helpfull with suggestions, renting the bike or using extra towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in our room was extremely poor (no ceiling lights and little natural light). Decor was not to my taste (touches of traditional Italian, mixed with African paintings and Asian lamps and and outdoor chair). I think the piping in the building was quite old (we could here the pipes rattling when the room next door showered early morning).

    I rate the breakfast and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no lift in my part of the hotel (the annexe not the main hotel). The room was rather dark, the decor was dark. The walls are thin and you can hear the people next door and above. However the other guests were quiet and considerate and this is the kind of hotel it seems to be. There was nowhere to put clothes other than to hang them in the wardrobe - no drawers. The hangers in the wardrobe were of a poor quality and anything other than a shirt made them fall out of the hooks. The mini bar broke and they were not able to fix it but they took my stuff and put it in the fridge in the kitchen. The room was a bit cluttered - no need for cushions etc as nowhere to put them. It's quite a walk into town but close to the station which is good. I found the wifi sporadic and had to go to Reception area to connect.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. Window in the room which opened which was very nice. Room was quiet - I asked for a quiet room and I got one so the staff had looked at the reservation requests. A/c worked well. The bathroom was a good size and clean. The whole place was very clean. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was being renovated so lift didn't work, spa and gym wasn't open (was advertised as being renovated but would be finished when we went) and various bits still being done round hotel. Please note also room rate says twin or double room, I clicked the double room icon but unless you write double room in the comments they assume you want a twin? Hotel moved us after the first night though.

    Decor of hotel was lovely. Staff were friendly and would organise taxi for you. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was closed for refurbishment but this wasn't reflected in the already fairly high room rate.

    Brilliant breakfast, great location and friendly helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited electricity sockets. Towels smelled vinegar. The room and the facilities were very simple for a 4 star hotel. For me this was more like a good 3 star hotel.

    Nice interior decoration for the lobby. We left very early in the morning and the front desk arranged the breakfast for us before its opening hour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, no sound proofing, could hear the drain pipes of other rooms Noisy renovations Limited cafe/bar facilities Only italian tv channels

    Good location, very clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but nice and in quiet part of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. Staff were nice and engaging, especially Isabella, who organised and booked our dinner reservation and was always smiling. Thank you. Location is under 10 minutes from main railway station. Breakfast was good with some nice rolls and cold cuts, eggs and sausage bits. Nice breakfast room and the staff worked hard. This is a good hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was near train station but a bit way out from the centre so a bit of a walk but we did know that when booking.

    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Hotel was delightful & full of character.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Aside the otherwise rich breakfast buffet, we missed some fresh fruit salad. Some shelves would be more convenient in the room and especially the bathroom; this would allow for better usage of the already limited spaces.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Most of them speak English, and the few who don't at least give it a good try. Easy check-in and out. Hotel decoration style is somewhat eclectic but not cluttered. Room and bathroom clean. Good beds. Room temperature controllable as desired. Breakfast with plenty of choice, good coffee, etc. with the staff carefully watching and replenishing. City center is a 20 minutes walk, but some convenient bus stops are quite nearby too; the hotel desk sells bus tickets too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was hit and miss - I was there for business so that was slightly annoying.

    Really nice hotel, about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Bologna, so away from the tourist trap places. Lovely decor and very cosy. No restaurant on site, but Pizzeria Jari around the corner is a great spot. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable, two joint twin beds bending toward the middle

    beautifully decorated, not far from Bologna city centre, just a short walk from the main train station; staff were always very helpful. very good breakfast! Absolutely great value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly rooms, safe with no handle that couldn't actually be opened, working key cards.

    Convenient to railway station. Were able to sell us tickets for buses.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To make it short, everything is an option. Parking ? 18€/day. Early arrival ? 18€. Late departure ? 18€. Town fee ? 16€. The spa is also a bad joke, limited to 32 degrees and yes, you guessed it, 18€/hour/person. To add insult to injury, the staff is unfriendly, incompetent and arrogant. First day "you booked a double bed room" as my reservation was a single bed ! "We'll try to find you another one" ... really ?! Then the room was stinking like old toilets. As we asked for a new room, some had a walled window (how romantic !) or dwarf bathroom, and even "superior" ones were cramped. Also, don't expect fresh fruit juice for breakfast. Bottom line, this wannabee 4* is barely a soulless and superficial 2*, to avoid.

    The bed was OK, as the breakfast and the bicycle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast as the cooked breakfast was over cooked. A bit further from the centre of Bologna than expected. Charge for Spa high.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, very comfortable bed and great wet room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small. Not enough privacy in spa, sauna did not work properly. Good price and services for 3 stars hotel.

    Great breakfast, comfortable bed. Very good location of the hotel, close to old town and to train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelling rooms. Someone was smoking in the no smoking rooms before. Water was smelling also. My child refused to have a shower there. :((

    Only the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not a great amount of space for movement between the bed, the table and the bathroom door - one can manage however.

    The proximity to Bologna Centrale train station, easy walking distance even with luggage is a definite bonus. While it is a good walk to the town centre, a bus stop is also close by

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked in the gentleman checking us in wasn't very helpful when we asked about shopping and restaurants later we met Susannah and she helped us with all our queries. She gave us directions to a great trattoria, also some shoe shops that I requested. She was extremely friendly and helpful.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent, a great choice and the servers were very helpful and welcoming, great coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbourhood not as appealing for evening strolls, Café or people watching as City Center or university area

    Decor and finiahings. Enjoyed having a terrace

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The equipment in the bathroom needed renovation, the smell from it was also not nice. And one feature that was already described by me during the last stay in this hotel - the walls are very thin , so you must be extremely quiet in order not to be heard by your neighbor. But you cannot have everything for reasonable price.

    Very good location, the staff is friendly and the breakfast is good. The hotel is situated near to the Bologna Centrale train station, but it is in quiet surroundings. Shops and restaurants can be found quite near. The room was quite spacious and I had my own "camera di bagno" - however not for the full use, but this is something for "contras". Generally the hotel can be recommended without hesitation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Terrace (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was mediocre. No proper bread, cold omelette, bad coffee. The rooms were raunchy. Things were falling apart. Our suite was not prepared at all once we wanted to check in but this was not a problem. The problem was that the rooms we got instead were really run down.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coming from Scotland we like our tea and coffee very hot but that is our personal choice which I found is not the case on the continent.

    the room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast had a good choice of everything. The staff were excellent from Isabella at the reception to the domestic lady who tidied our room all very kind and friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, staff and location was brilliant. We had a superior room which did not live up to its name, apart from a very comfy bed, there wasn't a wardrobe or chest of drawers just a hanging rail and trunk. The kettle was no where near a socket, we had to put it on the floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hidden gem a few minutes walk from bologna central railway station, and short walk to centre of town. Small room but very clean with decent bathroom, friendly staff a nice atmosphere and excellent breakfast, would recommend and will visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be churlish to try and find something to say just for the sake of it.

    The hotel was excellent: within a few minutes' walk of the train station, and about 15 minutes from the city centre. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was brilliant, with a wide selection of food available. It's situation is good - very quiet at night. Our room was on the small side, but perfectly adequate. We'll certainly stay there again, and would recommend it to visitors to Bologna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We started in a room not serviced by lifts.Bar area very confined and rooms were small.

    Location to the railway station and the helpful staff. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt bad (especially the bathroom). Very small bed. At the reception was a man who kept us to register at midnight( when we arrived) 20 minutes (although there were not other tourists before us). The room has very small window.

    The breakfast was good and the design of the hotel interesting. The location is a good one. The internet is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very small and the hotel corridors very dark. The whole of the reception area was being retiled during our stay, so was a little messy. The hotel was across the bridge from most of the sights, but we knew this when we we booked, so weren't surprised.

    very convenient location in proximity to the bus station and airport shuttle, which is why we booked it. Price was not bad

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The hotel was generally good. Staff were friendly and helpfull. The rooms need some TLC really with some of the decor and fixtures looking tired and need replacing. Could not quite understand that there was no draws to put clothes like underware plus no trouser hangers so could not hang any trousers up. The bathroom was tiny could only get one person in there at any point. Had some strange fittings like a showe they had all different lights flashing not quite sure the point plus a beada that’s was not heeded or had room to be used . Breakfast was good lots of choices for continental would have like more fresh fruit but thet is my personal choice They did have a anniversary party for the hotel which was a bit strange as guests were not invited so we went out to dinner and the evening but looked fun

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that spa was show on website and no indication that it would be unavailable during our visit. Also sun loungers/ area shown also but not available. We were walking in mountains and had planned spa and massage etc. Thought ideal. First we were told spa was being renovated. Then told it was too hot to use. We had option to cancel and would have done so had we know facilities were not available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from our window

    The hotel is a little island of calm in a busy, slightly run-down area, close to the railway station. We were a little worried as we walked to it but once we had turned into the gated courtyard, we could see that it is actually a delightful little hotel. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the opportunity to have crystallised ginger in the meusli!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, nice quiet location near train station. Hotel is nicely decorated, much better to stay here than in a bland chain hotel for our brief stay. Couple of good restaurants very close by and a great bar on the same street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Terrace (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No problems at all exc

    It was all excellent. Breakfast staff extremely cheery and helpful, nothing too much bother. Family room very quirky wallpaper , tiny balcony. beds comfy, sheets spotless. Food choice at breakfast excellent. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound insulation between rooms could be better - we have heard almost all talks and TV shows of our neighbours...

    The hotel is really situated in a quite enough suberb in 10 minutes on foot from railway station. The breakfasts have a lot of snacks that were super fresh and delicious in comparison to the other hotels we have visited in Italy! And the breakfast room has a cute design with chichens :) The room was equipped with all necessary and even has a balcony!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point but slightly odd configuration of sockets/switches in the room I had - the unmarked switch in the bathroom is for the mini fridge in the main room! Also no sockets near the bed/desk that I could see, they're at the foot of the bed.

    Nice looking place set in a courtyard just off the main street. Interior decorated well and quite interesting to look around. Rooms were good quality, mostly quiet and location wise it's 5-10 mins from Bologna Centrale, 15-20 mins from the historic area. If I'm ever in Bologna again I'd stay with them again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms require renovation and the one I stayed in had almost no light, with a tiny window.

    Location is minutes away from the train station and 15 min walk to the main attractions. Breakfast is good and overall lobby looks really great. The restaurant that is next door to this place is fabulous and highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There could be shelves in the cupboard and in the desk - it was a problem to find an appropriate place for souvenirs and other tiny things.

    Location is very convenient both for walking in the city and for travelling by train to neighbor cities. Th stuff of the hotel is very kind and seem to be happy answering visitors questions. Especially we grateful to signora Izabella, who was the first one we met arriving the hotel and whose kind and very informative answers to all our questions during 5 days of our stay in Bologna were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had ants in the room, in the bathroom, on the table, even found 3 ants in the bed. If you leave something like biscuits or anything, the ants will gather in laaarge number. And the noise! The walls are paper - we heard EVERYTHING from our neighbours rooms. And of course this meant we couldn't sleep properly.

    The design is very nice, the location is good close to central station, very good breakfast, clean. A good hotel all in all, except 2 things.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All great

    lovely friendly staff, free bikes to get around on. easy location for train station. Staff member who has her own red bike was exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I walked from the train station. It's about a five or six block walk but nice after a long train ride. There were signs along the way so easy to find. My single room was tiny but very comfortable and had an AC which was important in this heat wave. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great. Lots of variety and the kitchen staff couldn't have been nicer. This was just a quick stop for me but very pleasant and made me want to return to Bologna. Thank you Hotel Guercino!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what we wanted the hotel was perfectly adequate and in budget, so there is nothing really to have improved our stay.

    Air conditioned rooms were wonderful in the 36 degrees heat. Our room was very quiet. Breakfast is great, with an outdoor seating area if you want to eat outside. A huge bonus is that the hotel lends bicycles to guests free of charge and the city is an enjoyable 5 minute cycle away. We would stay at this hotel again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC in one room never never did anything, I checked at front desk and they said I was adjusting it correctly. Our room was always hot even though AC was on. My in-laws room the air worked good and got to 24.

    Staff was nice and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great position for near the main train station, less than 5 minute walk with luggage, and signposted all the way from the north side of the station. Very attractive boutique style hotel. REALLY HELPFULL staff! Great local restaurant recommendation...and good advice of where to go in the city. Able to keep our room until 12 without even asking...it was offered as part of the checkout process. Lots of nice little extras in the bedroom....toothbrush & toothpaste, even a razor! Great!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the matress (it was really soft), but that depends on taste.

    It is close to the railway station and the staff was very helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What was written few times here it is true- the walls are thin. It means that if you want to have peaceful and quiet staying, just be also quiet. But honestly saying the owners (or management) could do something about it as the water flushed and going into pipes seems to flow just through my room. It can be heard all (even sneezing of my neighbor). But this is the only minus.

    The hotel is lovely. With the courtyard. Maybe for someone it could be too itchy with this dark interactive or wallpaper with hearts, but this is the profile of it, and it all can be seen in pictures. However all is well think out. The air conditioning is quiet and very effective. The room was quite spacious and clean. It is not full of light, but com on - we're in sunny Italy - if you want to have a lot of sun, just go out! The breakfast was excellent, with eggs, bacon, sausages, but also in Italian style - with pastry of your choice. But most of all the stuff - no matter in the reception, or during breakfast - the were so helpful, warm and sympathetic. If I would choose the hotel in Bologna once more, it could be Il Guercino for sure. Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was small and dark - this was not helped by the wallpaper which had a black background.

    Cleanliness of the room was excellent. Very efficient air conditioning which was a must as the temperature outside was sky high. Breakfast was varied with lots of choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed with our room which had the waste pipes. outside on a small balcony which you could not stand on and could hear the waste water running away from other rooms. Seeing their video at reception they had some fantastic rooms - we got what we paid for!

    An excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Il Guercino is well located being a short 10 minute walk from Bologna Centrale. My room was quiet, comfortable and fairly spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was quite ample and got you off to a good start.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very very slow! Sound isolation could have been better from the other rooms, but from outside noise it was great.

    We had a superior room and everything were as we hoped it to be. Nice bathroom, great bed, a small fridge, (small) tv, good AC, but most of all a lovely balcony. Breakfast was great and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con a bit temperamental

    Good location. Very friendly & helpful reception staff. Excellent breakfast. Quirky style but nice to stay in a hotel with an individual personality. Thought the chickens were great fun.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is only average.

    Excellent location and friendly staff. Very convinient to reach train station and downtown. There are free bicycles to ride and it is really pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No display of emergency evacuation in the event of a fire. Eveything else was fine. There is an excellent restaurant adjacent to the hotel

    We were able to get an early coffee before our tour started. Our 7.00am pick up meant we left before breakfast so we appreciated the coffee! The following morning we had breakfast before we left in the outside dining area. Staff were very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from town centre was a long walk. Not much in way of restaurants nearby. Air conditioning brought in foul smelling air.sometimes worse than others. Very noticeable when returning from a day out. Room decor a bit tired.

    Quiet. Lovely courtyard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their bikes were nice way to explore city. Nice room with slippers, toothbrush, shampoo, razor... The staff was really nice and helpful. Extra thanks to guy on the night shift. Tastefull breakfast, continental in Italian style. Only 4 parking places (needs advance reservation) but there are more on the streets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small. Another bad thing is that you will hear absolutely everything what is going on in neighbor rooms.

    Easy to access if you use train station for your trip (5 min walking). Approximately 15 minutes walking to the city center. The breakfast was very good, cappuccino was amazing! Overall I recommend the hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite old fashioned furniture but "not" really a con.

    Best location if you are attending a trade show in Bologna Exhibition Center. 20 minutes walk only, same distance to city's historical center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was $180 the night we stayed. Price may have been high because of an event in Bologna (some kind of a half-marathon?) that weekend (May 13-14). Our room was very small, hot, and poorly designed. Because of the poor window design we couldn't open the window for fresh air. Thus our room remained hot and stuffy even though the weather outside was pleasant and cool. The bathroom was poorly designed with water leaking from the shower stall. For $85, the hotel would have been OK, but for $180 it was ridiculously overpriced.

    Hotel had a good location, in a quiet area close to the Bologna Centrale train station. It had a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Terrace (4 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge Isabella was so kind and helpful. She made sure our stay was very pleasant, and went above and beyond to help us with our Ducati tour. I would highly recommend this hotel. The breakfast was very good also.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very dark, needed the light on even though full sun outside. Black flowery wallpaper on all walls, window faced a wall.

    Fabulous breakfast, everything you could want.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel's location is very convenient for Bologna central station and the airport shuttle bus, but the hotel is not in an interesting part of the city and the historical medieval quarter is quite a walk away (about 20 minutes).

    Very smart, well-run, modern boutique hotel, with well-appointed rooms. Very helpful staff (provided extra-early breakfast on last day) and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely hotel in good location for the train station. Staff, all pleasant and helpful and spoke good English. Room was lovely although it was our second choice. The first room offered was next to the outdoor terrace and smoking area. The staff were very helpful about the room change and we were very happy with the second one offered. The breakfast was brilliant, lots of choice from scrambled eggs and italian bacon to croissants and cakes, fruits and cereals and fresh honey.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite dark and bed not that comfortable; You could hear everything through the walls in the room

    Friendly and very helpful staff, good rental bikes for free

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough electrical sockets

    Very helpful staff, they helped with places to visit and recommended good restaurants, great decor, cosy rooms. Good breakfast included, remember to ask for a cappuccino or espresso if you don't like filter coffee.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were a bit thin. We could hear our neighbour cough, talk and snore. But fortunately the hotel and its guests was very calm and quiet.

    Spacious hotel with lots of character. Very cosy. Breakfast was one of the best I had in Italy so far. Lots of choice. Very close to the central station. Comfortable walking distance from the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child) with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room called Junior Suite with the balcony. It was... rather terrible. Old decor like from the old, kitschy movie, wallpapers from witch spins in your head, very small bathroom with a clogged sink... Balcony was overlooking awful old dirty walls. They say that this suit was about 22metres, but they don't say that there is an ugly separate bathroom only with the useless spa bath and a separate corridor which only takes space, so the room itself and the proper bathroom are really very small, ugly and old. Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. And it was not so close to the centre of the city as it was recommended, and the area rather uninteresting. I will not come back to this hotel again! It is obviously not 4* hotel! Rather 2*.

    The room was clean. Perople working at the hotel were very helpful, friendly and nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child) with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    i discovered the i paid more than double on booking.com for my junior Suite.so next time shall call direct.

    very cozy with excellent helpful staff,rooms are comfortable,and a grand breakfast. 5 mins walk from the station. call the hotel directly for rates half the prices shown on booking.com,also heard that the area a bit unsafe at night,so after hours use a taxi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bed were on the smallish side but not unusual in a hotel in the medieval city

    Staff were very helpful and it was very convenient for the station and city centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular .

    The decor of the entire hotel was idiosyncratic, and fun. The breakfast supplied just about anything you could wish to eat. The staff were helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front door lady was not that kind. Since we needed wifi for an urgent matter, we asked the wifi password first but she respond in a rude way and made us waited till the end of the check-in process.

    Breakfast was various and tasty. It was one of the best we've ever seen in Europe (including 5 star ones). Design of the room was neither perfect nor bad. Room was warm enough. It is 5 min walking away from central train station, in a quiet and safe location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    almost no english TV channels, bbc world news is not enough , didn't feel like 4 star accomodation

    close to the railway station , located in quiet area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room, 115 wasn't the quietist room thankfully we where so tried each night from exploring the city we fell asleep quickly. We heard every time the lift being used, the room above using their bathroom and various other guests on our floor in the room.

    The breakfast has a lot of options and is one of the better ones you can get across Europe. Hotel had a good location to the train and bus station. It was a lovely location just outside the city away from all the tourists and busy streets.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Il Guercino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: