Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia 3 stars

Via Cannaregio 379 - Calle della Misericordia, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#208 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would come back!

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very comfortable and clean. Very good breakfast. Really close to Venezia Santa Lucia train station and Ponte degli Scalzi, lots of nice places to eat close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.2
    Never again in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs repair, uncomfortable, fridge wasnt working properly, curtain fell off the ceiling, room too smal for 4 people, breakfast too weak.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Traditional Venice hotel, good breakfast and good ac with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traditional Venice hotel, good breakfast and good ac with good location near the train station so you don't have to carry your bags over loads of bridges and steps

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Great value for quality and money for a room in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning and breakfast staff a bit rude and noisy since the early morning

    Room design and cleaning, with also a small balcony outsise and the view of a garden. The position close to the train station, the breakfast room in a “indoor garden”

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay if you need to stay near the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inclusion of the city tax in the final bill, vs. cash. Not sure if this is a booking.com issue or hotel. I probably missed the directions email, but the easiest clue (perhaps if not in the email) is a LARGE sign on the street itself (at your feet) ALBERGO S LUCIA is the marker at the small alley!

    Room sizes vs american hotels are always smaller, but we were satisfied. The breakfast available in the outdoor *covered* garden was outstanding; better than anywhere else that we stayed. Staff was always pleasant to us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Excellelent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok breakfast

    Excellelent service. Loved Emma. So different from our milan hotel experience. So helpful and friendly. Quiet street comfortable room and lovely chandelier

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.0
    The garden ans location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room: nothing like the photo presented online. I had a double room for single use. I was given a very dark, shabby room on the ground floor in am annex looking (if one can say "looking") on the narrow lane the hotel is on. Even with the curtains open it was necessary to have the lights on but because passers-by could see in the curtains had to be drawn durong the day as well. For the price I paid I was very dissapointed, (my hotels earlier in the week had been 4 star at a third of the price). I travel at least once a month within Europe or North America and this os the worst place I have ever seen for the price and the first time after hundreds of hotel stays that I have written a bad review or asked ro have my room changed, they said they had no other available rooms but would have changed mybroom if they had.

    The garden ans location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on 1st floor so sometimes, there are noisy

    The location is good. I have a big luggage so it’s better to stay near the station. The staff are very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.6
    Poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people who work at the hotel were extremely rude. I arrived late at the hotel due to train delay, and they had no meals, no connections to any restaurant or delivery service or couldn't help in any way. Moreover, I asked for a late checkout, which was agreed by the receptionist, and the day after I was ordered to leave the room one hour before the agreed time, without time to even shower. When I asked for a complaints' book or to fill a complaint, the receptionist refused to tell her name, and the manager did the same thing. No apologies and they did not even care about confirming the checkout time agreed with the receptionist of the night before.

    -

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Location and 24hr checkin were convenient, free breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the room in front of the kitchen and it was pretty loud during breakfast which is 7am to 10am; so don't plan on sleeping in.

    I chose this location because we were coming in late and this property has 24hr checkin. It was also minutes away from Piazzale Roma where we took the bus to Treviso Airpot. Reception was welcoming and helpful. They recommended a great restaurant for local Venetian food "Casa Bonita" within walking distance. It's also very easy to find your way back to the hotel from Venice's main tourist attractions and winding streets because of its proximity to the train station. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good for value, place is very close to train station and very friendly staffs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose this hotel because I like the fact that it is very close to Santa Lucia Train station (about 2 min walk from the hotel) as my friends and I had to travel to Rome the next morning by train. It is also close to the waterbus or vaporetto stops if you want to explore the Grand Canal. The room is exactly like in the picture! Beautiful Italian design! The toilet is very clean and heater works well (we visited Venice in January). Breakfast was simple but delicious and enough to start off the day. Gwendolina attended us during check-in and she was very friendly and helpful! Although we came 2 hours early before check-in, our room was ready and she made sure we would receive the best Venetian hospitality! She also gave us tips on the best areas to visit, the hidden gems in Venice and stuffs like that, advised us to visit Piazza San Marco and the waterfront during the golden hours to take pictures and it was spectacular! My first impressions of Venice were beyond my expectations. Grazie Mille, The Merchant of Venice Hotel! Our stay was great! Definitely will stay here again if I visit Venice in the future with my family. Oh yeah, Gwendolina said we were the first visitors from Brunei to stay at the hotel *happy and proud*. So fellow travellers from Southeast Asia, this hotel is highly recommended! Very good for value and Halal eateries can also be found around the area. Quanto Basta is located in front of the calle (alley) going to the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.8
    Near train station and canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff are quite impolite might be the Italian way to be. No instructions about places to go or show it on the map, we need to leave the key at the reception all the time, TV is extremely small and air-conditioning don't work.

    Near train station and canal. Breakfast included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable price, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast begins at 07:30, but if you need you can enjoy it earlier, everthing is prepared in the dining room. The girl on the reception was extremly helpful. This hotel 'll be our choice for the next time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    Everything is ok except those annoying loud voices of the staff that awaken us every morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are so noisy early in the morning (I guess housekeeping staff), I’m not sure if they are arguing or what, thier voices are so loud that can awaken those who are still sleeping.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    We liked the location, easy to find and nice and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise from below but we were prepared with earplugs.

    We liked the location, easy to find and nice and close to the train station. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Good location for all that we wanted to do. Very helpfull .and knowledgeable staff. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Possibly could have been tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    There was a good variety for breakfast. The traditional Venician wall covering. Staff were very helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    3.3
    Don't book here! Spend a little more else where, it's worth it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the worst place I have ever stayed. My room was on the ground level and it felt like I was sleeping on the ground outside. I was awoken by every person walking by as their conversations were so loud inside the small cramped room. There was also a bad smell that came from the bathroom. Overall very unimpressed with this hotel.

    Breakfast in the beautiful garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room

    Good selection of breakfast, lovely design in rooms. Comfy beds and perfect location. Air con works very well well! Clean and spotless room with a hidden mini bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    4 nights in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to train station and to ferry stop and lots of restaurants. Excellent pastry shop across the laneway to the hotel. 15 minute walk to Rialto bridge and 30 minute walk to Doge's Palace. Breakfast adequate with the basics. Friendly staff at reception. Comfortable bed and good air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Better than budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was concerned about the lack of air conditions but with the fans provided I was plenty cool in my room. Plus I slept better with the white noise of a blowing fan.

    It's hard to believe this place is considered a 1 star budget motel. The bed and pillow were very comfy, especially for European standards. The room and adjoining bathroom were spotless. And I loved the vintage furnishings. All of that plus exposed beam tall ceilings and beautiful windows made for not only a comfortable but also a beautiful stay. In addition the staff were very friendly and excellent tour guides. I received an upgraded room the first night of my stay because it was the only one available and stayed in my original economy accommodations for the remaining two nights of my reservation. Both rooms were delightful. I'll be recommending this hotel to anyone I know traveling to Venice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Good Sleeping Place Near Train Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smallest TV ever in the room, lacking satellite channels; room is good for sleeping (small)

    Good location near train station and vaporettos, friendly staff, room smallish but with AC, hotel is on a quiet sidestreet, good breakfast, good wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great people, good room and great bar nearby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the bedroom and bathroom.

    Great croissants filled with apricot jam. For those who want them, ham and cheese on offer. Good coffee machine with a lot of choice. Garden outside for smokers, and others, to go to, with limited but comfortable seating. Staff really pleasant and helpful. (For example, no problem leaving your luggage in reception after checkout to pick up when you have to leave for the airport/train station) Great bar/restaurant 100 metres away, the Osteria al Cicheto, with great wine, great snacks and great lunch and dinner. (But very small!)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    The location was great as we came on the night train from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for breakfast was downstairs and a little cramped so could only fit a few couples at a time but not a major deal.

    The location was great as we came on the night train from Rome and was very easy to find and a close walk from the station rather than having to walk through the maze of streets. The staff are at reception 24/7 and were always so polite and helped us with our car rental, calling them for us to assist in Italian. Room size was great and a lovely touch with a small terrace with table and chairs on it to enjoy an afternoon spritz on.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Awesome: The lady at the desk was very kind and helpful with whatever we wanted. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but still there were some glass pieces(minute) in the room when we checked in at a corner. I guess the cleaning lady put all the glass pieces to one corner while she cleaned the room before we checked in.

    Everything was good. But the lady was asking each person whether they need ham and cheese, which I loved the most 😊

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice friendly and cosy place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be improved. No hot or freshly made items in the menu. Maybe for a little extra charge they could improve the quality of the breakfast and the breakfast room.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had to order hot water kettle for tea a couple of times and we got that within a few minutes from asking the receptionist. Good hotel with personalized touch. Cleanliness is super and the rooms are nice. Certainly value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    Great, with amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy.

    This was in an extremely convenient location. The staff was very friendly and made me feel so comfortable. They also helped in many ways. They treated me as a friend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.3
    nice sized room, lovely balcony and a decent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was rather cold in the room as the only heating provided was the AC, an extra duvet would be a plus

    nice sized room, lovely balcony and a decent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    7.1
    Excellent room decoration, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi worked on and off, off most of the time, very week signal. Inexcusable in this day when travelers depend on it .

    Excellent room decoration, very comfortable. Easy to access from train station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.3
    Good location,nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bed but they dont have any only singles beds that they put them together. They dont have any view.

    The location was excellent near the train station,the staff was kind and they give us some good advices were to eat. The room inside was very nice,venice style.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Arias-Diaz
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    El cuarto

    Staff y location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel with great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very small balcony, no real view of Venice, though.

    Great location, right next to the train station. Staff was super helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift Had to carry bags upstairs

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Location is just perfect, and the stuff is very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doors are a bit strange, but despite that the place is great

    Location is just perfect, and the stuff is very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Feel we really lucked out finding this hotel randomly on Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only have hand held shower in bathtub

    Great location, mice room with quaint balcony, very friendly and helpful staff. Great amenities available

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle, which may be a common feature in hotels in Greece.

    Great location, near to the train station and bus interchange.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staffs .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staffs . Not far from venezia S lucia train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems

    Perfect location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel Stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An electric kettle with some tea bags in the room would have been great

    Fabulous location, nice clean spacious room, great hospitality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    Too expensive for one night 130,00euro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for one night 130,00euro

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Fairly basic and breakfast was little disappointing x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly basic and breakfast was little disappointing x

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    4.6
    Smelly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drains smelled really bad in the bathroom this could also travelled to the bedroom not a pleasant stay

    No

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    IT WAS AN EXCELLENT PROPERTY WITH NICE PEOPLE ....SHALL NEVER FORGET THE BRIGHT YOUNG MAN NICHOLA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    THE ROOM,THE STAFF & THE ENVIRONMENT

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    The outside private bathroom had terrible ventilation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outside private bathroom had terrible ventilation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Stay in venice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Good and comfortable hotel in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel, friendly staff, close to the station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    very cozy patio!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very cozy patio!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location and friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit pricey.

    Near train station, and lots of restaurants nearby. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff that were able to support and help when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioner didnt work but was fixed by staff. Shower kept breaking.

    Very friendly staff that were able to support and help when needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Near the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit old, but toilet is clean though

    Near the train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    3.8
    Location over comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dingy. Bed was very hard View to the maintenance room.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Good impromptu stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor was dirty

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Situated in an alley-like small street, so can be a bit hard to find.

    Friendly staff! Location is also near to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Location is excellent if you travel by train, easy walk 5-10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower doors need upgrade

    Location is excellent if you travel by train, easy walk 5-10 min.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was included which was really nice and the location was fantastic and we were able to leave our bags after check out.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy from adjoining rooms and the after hours buzzer.

    Friendly staff. Great location, not far from the railway station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    6.7
    Good, but poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very very very poor breakfast.

    Friendly reception, nice rooms in typical venice style, great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    The breakfast was so good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was so good! I loved the room's interior!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    6.7
    staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bad smell of the room

    staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.2
    Short break to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room a little small and cramped

    Friendly and helpful staff, rooms kept very clean. Overall a quiet but excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Nice room and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient, easy to find because very close to SM train station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.3
    Very close to the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The young girl receptionist was very helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.2
    very nice,,,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE exterior,,,,....

    Inside all. The breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.6
    amazing room in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was basic

    beautiful room right by the station

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.9
    They help me to keep my staff after chacked out so i can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They help me to keep my staff after chacked out so i can walk free in all venece

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    very good location, also quiet, the staffs are nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good location, also quiet, the staffs are nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    5.0
    I liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was much too small for me. Also, the bed was a bit uncomfortable, and there was an unpleasant odor. My room was located near the Night Desk - which meant occasional late night rings on the phone, and next to the Breakfast area - which meant early morning awakening as staff prepared the breakfast.

    I liked the location. The staff was pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.9
    Staff very helpful and kind
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Decoration in the room a bit dated, but who matters that, you're in Venice!

    Staff very helpful and kind Located close from Santa Lucia train station and main attractions in Venice

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.2
    Perfect staff, cozy but very complete breakfast, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The internet access and speed was not very strong. However, it was sufficient and good for ordinary online websites. but videos, photos and more complicated online activities was not very strong.

    Perfect staff, cozy but very complete breakfast, clean rooms. Everything was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    10
    Location fantastic, clean rooms, comfy beds, welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast - needs toast and butter option for those of us that don't live on sweet items first thing.

    Location fantastic, clean rooms, comfy beds, welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.5
    Location is great, next to the train station, it is good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is not trash pot in room, just one in toilet. The room where breakfast are served, is small,chairs and tables are old.

    Location is great, next to the train station, it is good when you recieve Venise at night.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    9.2
    The staff is very friendly and smiling!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too hard,the pilow was flat.

    The staff is very friendly and smiling! :-) The room was very nice. The brekfast was good. The location is very good. Thank you everything!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.6
    When I arrived at the hotel, I was told that they didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I arrived at the hotel, I was told that they didn't have my reservation (some mixup between their system and booking.com) and that they were out of rooms, however the concierge got on the phone with the owner and they got me a room in a nearby hotel for the first night (despite it already being 11pm) within a few minutes, the next day I moved back to the Mercante. I don't think they could have handled the situation better. The room was nice and clean and the location is perfect (just a few minutes walk from the train station).

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: