Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Il Viandante 3 stars

Via Cala D'Ambra 8, 08020 San Teodoro, Italy

#1 of 15 hotels in San Teodoro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 438 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Il Viandate is locate in the center of San Teodoro, all the shops and restaurants are really close by. Bear in mind, San Teodor is not exactly coastal town, so to get to the beach you need longer stroll. The hotel was very clean and cozy, despite being in the town center is was hidden from all the noises. Our room was very clean with large bathroom. All rooms are facing small swimming with direct access. Breakfasts are served in very pleasant hall with few garden tables. Breakfasts itself are quite large with coffee, bread, cheese and ham, eggs, fruits, delicious homemade marmalade and many more. There are beach umbrellas and some books for customers pleasure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nice beach is a little far away and the walkway to get there is not easy to find or not so nice. Better take the car.

    Nice and quiet place in the center. Staff was reacting immediately, when there was a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast could have had a few more cereal options and a better variety of fruit and bread. However they are trying to do what suits the majority. Don't let this put you off this hotel as it is really good value for money.

    Friendly helpful staff. Extremely clean room. Late checkout.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not that comfortable and the pillows were pretty flat. It was an old style bed.

    The staff was very nice! We had a good sized room with the terrace out front. It's older, European style. The bathroom and shower was great! It was nice to sit outside and overlook the pool. There was a European breakfast and we had cappuccino and pastry in the morning. It was very quiet. If you like to stay up late or make noise, this is not the place for you. We saw families and couples. It was a very good location to walk to many restaurants and shops and to visit beautiful beaches . Despite the bed nor being so good, we would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One small tip for the owners: hotel has own parking, but I had to park in the city center first because the parking was a little hard to find. Maybe some directions on the road might find it easier to find the parking for new guests.

    Excellent, friendly service with extra tips and recommended places to visit elsewhere on the island. Breakfast sufficient, especially considering Italian standards. Room and bathroom very clean. A lot of affordable restaurants and bars in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Central location but quiet at night with shutters and sound proofing. Power shower, staff excellent, good breakfast, Roberto and Maximiliano are superb hosts!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breaky could be a bit better and stronger wifi in the rooms

    Hotel was overall great, great location very centre of town, very clean, Great aircon, and pool looked lovely, basic but good breaky, staff helpful, however wifi in our room was terrible had to stand out on the far corner of our balcony to even reach it, couldn't get wifi in our room. Breaky could have had a bit more offering eg more fruit and vege and eggs etc but other than that great stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a problem with finding the way to the hotel parking and when it is evening the main roads in San Teoodoro are closed and no cars are allowed. In these cases it is a bot difficult someone finds their way to the parking.

    the owners/ receptionists were really helpful and friendly. The hotel has a Sardninian traditional style that was matching perfectly with the atmosphere of the place. Just in the center of San Teodooro, the walking around is very easy (without having any noise). Breakfast basic, i would recommend to add also eggs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It would have been nice with a waterkettle at the room to make our own coffee and the.

    A quit nice atmosphere at Il Viendante. We liked to stay at the hotel at the first part of the day and go to the beach at the second part. Everyone were very nice and friendly. We liked the breakfast with good variety. Even if the hotel lied close to the street we heared no noise. The two owners were serviceminded and talked English very well 😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little dark and it was hard to find a BBC channel on the tv (my partner wanted to catch up with Wimbledon) apart from that it was excellent.

    The pool was stunning and had the sun on it all day. Roberto and all the staff were really helpful and friendly. The bed was comfy, the shower was a power shower, the room had air conditioning , a safe, and wifi all free of charge. The rooms were authentic and clean and breakfast was laid out buffet style in a morning with cereal toast jam and continental style food. The hotel is also near all the markets at night time and about a 15 minute walk to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!!

    The owners and staff could not do enough to help, the air con in mine and my daughters room was fantastic and so efficient. The swimming pool was very very clean and was checked every evening and cleaned. The beds had really good mattresses. Could not find any fault with anything- superb!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to moan... only thing that we couldn't stay longer! :-)

    It was an extraordinary stay at this place. The entire hotel is impeccably clean, filled with beautiful flowers and the staff (led by the owner Roberto) couldn't have been any more friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. A beautiful place, quiet but centrally located. The restaurants and supermarket plus various other venues were within a 5 minute walking distance. We got great dining recommendations where we returned to on various occasions. When we went to the beach we took a nice walk of approx. 12 minutes and passed beautiful mansions, olive trees and flowers. What a treat! Roberto and his team assisted us with arranging a rental car and also a transfer back to the airport. When we arrived (with a nearly 5 hours delay by the airline!) we got to the hotel by 2.30h in the night, even this was not an issue for them. I could go on and on with all the pleasure we experienced in this hotel... Fact is that we thoroughly enjoyed it right from the very first second and will surely recommend it to our friends. A wonderful place run by great people!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Squeking bed :) - Optional: some entertainment for kids would be nice (playground or so) :)

    Very nice hotel, in a very good location. In the middle of the city (not far away from beaches), but very calm and quiet environment. Nice view. Rooms are cozy und comfortable, pool very nice. Breakfest good. Near hotel are many bars and restaurants. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Definitely worth a visit!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most romantic of set ups but good for families. San Teodoro is geared up for tourists and this location is very convenient for reaching everything. For us, however, we were maybe hoping for something a bit more secluded.

    It's a cute place for families wanting to be in a central San teodoro location. It was quiet and clean, the staff were polite and friendly. We stayed only one night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a bit hard, specially the pillows but I think this is across the board usually at Italian accomodation.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, specially the owner who is at the check-in desk. Gave us a map of San Teodoro and tips to the best beaches/restaurants. The room was spacious and comfortable, with hairdryer, tv and mini bar. Lovely pool and breakfast service. Great location too, you can walk straight into the town!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The brothers Roberto and Masimiliano have a great hotel / B&B. Great staff, great rooms and great breakfast. Even opened up half an hour early, because we had to catch the plane!!! THE hotel, when you visit San Teodoro!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing is that the rooms can be a little noisy in the morning when people start to come and go & cleaning starts.

    Friendly staff, very clean, spacious bathroom, plenty of closet space, nicely decorated rooms (Tuscan style). The location is perfectly central near the main town, close to shops, cafes, restaurants. A welcoming, family run place.The pool is small but clean and good for lounging and relaxing. We also liked that each room has a balcony with table and chairs. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge wasn't working but as we weren't using it we forgot to tell Roberto - sorry! Room 103

    Was an immaculately clean and cared for family run hotel with character rooms around a little pool right in the middle of the town but within easy walking distance of La Cinta beach. Great parking space at the back and easy access to all roads for day trips in the area, all very quiet in September. Lovely breakfasts with smiley friendly staff. Drying rack on balcony a really useful touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast advertised as between 8 and 10 however got there on our first morning at 0930hrs, only one croissant left and we were told 'no more all finished' following mornings similar issues after 0930hrs although we did get there earlier as we had learnt not to arrive too late. Towels not changed on day 3 as advertised.

    Location excellent in the middle of San Teodoro close to local restuarants and beaches. The on site pool was great although on our first day all beds were taken, fortunately this did not happen on the next few days. In house snack bar serving the pool was good with a wide choice of food and drink.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The wall between our room and our neighbours was quite thin and when they came back at 2.30 am and were talking very loud, it woke us. We spoke to them to let them know and there were no more problems.

    The owners and staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. Their aim is to ensure you have a fantastic holiday.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Overall, there is nothing really negative, in my view. I would only keep improving what is already a great hotel....and the owners plan to do that year on year, I am sure.

    Roberto and Maximilian, who are brothers, and who own the property, cannot do enough for you. I have to say, in all my years of travel, and having stayed in so many different types of hotel, 5,4 and 3 stars, none of them beats the service levels at Il Viandante...it is superb ! The staff are so friendly, the location is great, as is the pool area and the air-conditioned rooms...cannot wait to go back !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Mosquitos, but they are everywhere on Sardinia.

    Very friendly and helpful English speaking staff. Nice landscaped territory with many flowers. Delicious croissants for breakfasts. La Chinta beach is within 5-7 min. by bike.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing would be an ironing board, if the hotel had one for guests to use during their stay.

    The location is in town but you don't hear any noise, staff very helpful and the hotel has beach umbrella's that you can use during your stay which is handy and saves money. The beds are firm which was perfect for my husband and myself. All the hotel is spotless including the pool. Clothes airier is provided on the balcony for washing, towels and swimmers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the heart to a bustling beach town. 10min walk(up a hill) to quite beach or 20 min walk to busier beach both lovely beaches. San Teodoro is a great location for a beach holiday with plenty going on in the evenings with market stools, lots of restaurants and bars. Hotel great small family run by bothers who are so helpful they recommend restaurants to go to and ones to avoid! Breakfast good. Great the hotel has a pool which is perfect after a hot day or when you fancy a day a pool. Would highly recommend hotel and location. definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Great location, in the middle of the centre but it is still very relaxing. Close to many beaches, you can walk to la cinta beach or take the car, The staff is very friendly, the rooms are great, very comfortabel. Nice pool with a little bar for drinks and snacks. And it is very very clean. I have never seen such a clean hotel. C

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing as far as we remember

    Staff very friendly and obliging pointing out where to eat and visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegetables and egg for breakfast

    Location and pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    slightly noisy restaurant next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it.

    Lovely place ,friendly helpful staff,excellent breakfast with large variety of homemade jam,right near center .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No suitable options for showering after checkout as we had an evening flight.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    San Teodoro's confusing road network.

    excellent location, fantastic pool area a good place to sit back and relax.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly staff, clean, comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent breakfast, short walk into the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nulla

    Gentilezza staff e location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall facilities and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car park access is a bit complicated at first.

    Staff friendly and welcoming. Very close to the centre. Good car parking. Pleasant garden.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was perfect - staff, breakfast, rooms, swimming pool, great location in the city centre, very friendly owners...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything was okay

    location practically in the centre of SanT, though very tranquile

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice garden with swimming pool.Friendly staff And Excellent position. Really value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some popular breakfast items ran out soon after breakfast room opened and weren't re-stocked which was a little frustrating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super nice and friendly,the room was comfortable and the pool was great!we really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Amazing staff who helped wherever they could, nothing was too hard!! Comfortable rooms, great pool, delicious breakfast (can't forget the homemade peach jam, oh how yummy!). Very clean and well kept hotel. In the heart of San Teodoro. Highly recommended!!!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast could be more varied

    Was my second time staying here, they have a pool now! Owners are very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean, close to lot of restaurants and shops, 15-20min walk to La Cinta beach. Will stay again.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    /

    The hotel is run by two brothers who are just great, helpful in recommending the restaurants, booking the excursions, answering the questions about the city and the island. The room was in a sardinian style, very cute, and most importantly very clean. The breakfast was great, with lots of fresh fruits. Night life is within a walking distance, beaches too

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have loved some eggs at breakfast but apart from that everything was great :)

    Amazing time at this wonderful bed and breakfast. The location couldn't have been better with the peaceful garden and pool on one side of the hotel overlooking the mountains and then a 20 second walk to the main square out the front of the hotel! We didn't hire a car and didn't need to either, the best beach la cinta was a 15 minute walk and this was absolutely fine for us in 34 degree heat. There is a great little beach bus which takes you up and down the coast for 5€ so that you can visit further away beaches. There are so many choices for bars and restaurants, great food at brilliant prices. I can't recommend this town or hotel more, we really hope to be back thank you for having us!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the staff was so friendly it was lovely, however his counterpart at times was very frosty. Chalk and cheese!

    Very friendly hotel and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the middle of town, yet very quiet. We had no car and walked to the long crowded Cinta beach and to the Ambra beach (not the nicest, but quiet, with fewer people). Both beaches have lunch opportunities. The walk is no more that one needs, with all the lovely food around. The people who work at The Viandante are all wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Finding the hotel (maybe add some instructions/ better GPS coordinates), and driving on the narrow streets is difficult - but I suppose the hotel can't change the traffic layout ;)

    The staff let us park in their parking lot for the day (even after we checked out). They provided a beach parasol that we could take with us (for the day after we checked out). They were very pleasant and accommodating. Was a nice, short stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we must leave Sardgena!!

    Everything. The location - very good, city centre near to all fine restaurants (I highly recommend Da Nardino). Room was spacious and cleaned every day. The pool was clean and with proper water temperature. Main beaches are near at maximum 30min driving. Free wifi was working very good. At the end, we really thank you for explanations and great help to two brothers which own the hotel - they make us feel like at home!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was very firm. But that is just personal preference.

    Me and my partner had a lovely time here. Great location right in town and just a short walk to beach. Staff are friendly and room is great with excellent air conditioning and wifi.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    We were warmly welcomed from our arrival, the 2 brothers who run the accommodation are kind and helpful with anything you should ask. Grounds are kept immaculate, and swimming pool super clean. Rooms are tastefully decorated in traditional Sardinian style and beds comfy too. Rooms cleaned daily and were always spotless. Great location in the town and was easy to walk to all the restaurants etc, but you would need a car for the beaches, Cala Brandinchi being our favourite which was about a 15 minute pleasant drive. I would recommend this property to anyone wishing to stay in San Teodoro

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had some issues with the room WiFi.

    Nice cozy hotel right next to the center. Allows you to have your afternoon walk and your dinner, just a few steps distance. Free protected parking in the property, and very friendly staff. We totally recomand this hotel. P.S the matress is extremely comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Un posto molto accogliente, curato nei dettagli, vicinissimo al centro ed alle spiagge ma allo stesso tempo sembra di essere lontati da tutto e tutti nel tuo comfort. Ricca colazione con marmellate e crostate fresche. Le ottime camere si affacciano su un giardino con piscina molto curato. Parcheggio custodito con cancello automatico. Voto d'eccelenza per Il proprietario Roberto! Ci ritorneremo appena possibile e nel frattempo non esito a consigliarlo a chiunque voglia avere un piacevole soggiorno a San Teodoro!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, great service, friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, room was excellent, brothers very hospitable and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find but worth it - park then go on foot!

    Great pool

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: