Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Imperial Rooms

Via Di S. Giovanni In Laterano 10, Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy

#2648 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 126 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 102 was very very noisy. You’d struggle To sleep if you book there ask for a higher room up.

    Location was brilliant - Very close to the colosseum. Staff were so friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from hotel was disgusting, the room was too small for 2 persons, service was very poor. Furniture too old, every time u were going out u had to leave the key to reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one available plug in the room to charge devices. No elevator so climbing the stairs was good exercise!

    The staff was friendly, helpful, and attentive. The room was small but it had a great view and it was comfortable. Though the hotel is close to a busy street, the room was quiet. Wifi in the room was good. Breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, water, and pastries.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a superior room with Jacuzzi. First and foremost every night we wake up as either one of us falling into the crack of the bed ( they provided us of two single bed that has been put side by side to create a double bed and didn’t even secure it so it wouldn’t separate from each other). We have put it to the attention of the hotel staff however, nothing has been done! Secondly, the jacuzzi is a ordinary tub with jets so I was thinking more of a jacuzzi that can fit at least two people comfortably. So, sayig that me and my husband take turn to use it instead of having a relaxing time together. Thirdly, they have not told us there were no elevator in the building and we are on the third floor! The 3 sets of stairs we climb everyday has a huge marble steps. Think about it as you have all your day walking around Rome visiting landmarks and by the end of the day you need to climb the building to get to your room. What a nightmare! Building are Reasonably close to most of the tourist destination, that’s a bonus, I would say. Another thing is we ask for a terrace and beforehand they say they only have one facing the garden not the outside. Lo and behold! Terrace is there however, there is no garden at all! It was facing all the back of houses and building so another let down, easy to say it is useless. The breakfast is a joke! They should have told us that the breakfast is continental one not a cook one, so that we could have told them to forget the breakfast included and we will just find somewhere to eat our breakfast. The bread taste of stale bread luckily there is a croisant and that’s it. Not enough sustenance to do all your walking all through the morning before hitting restaurants for lunch.

    Building are Reasonably close to most of the tourist destination. Lucky enough Dominico one of the staff and another girl are pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wirlpool bath was disapointing - very weak or non functioning jets

    Lovely position just round the corner from the Coloseum. Friendly and helpful staff :-) The room was very nice (didn't have breakfast so can't comment - but plenty of cafes and restaurants in the area) Only slight let down was the whirlpool bath :-( There was a fantastic, fun, lively and good value Tratoria a couple of hundred yards up the road - Always packed but worh the experience ;-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation feels like a set of bedrooms in a building rather than a hotel, but this wasn't an issue. Our room was on the 3rd floor (no lift) and breakfast on the 1st floor each morning. We weren't disturbed by noise, although there are lots of restaurants within walking distance. The building is within 2 minutes walk of the Colosseum, and you can see it as soon as you walk out of the building. There is a Metro station, bus and tram stops nearby making sightseeing and travel to/from the airport straight forward.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is located above 3 night bars, so you need to expect very noisy time. Noise can be till 3 AM, expect some problems if you like very quiet space.

    Close to Colosseum and city center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs a little challenging after walking all day around Rome! We were on the 3rd floor and there is no lift, but not really a dislike, just a result of being in an old building.

    Breakfast lovely and personal. Pastries yummy and the coffee excellent quality. Our bed was very comfortable and air conditioning made it very peaceful to sleep well. The shower was very powerful, which I love, nothing worse than a weak shower. Very clean room, spotless in fact. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location excellent, right near the Colosseum, which was wonderful to see every morning as we went out. Also a great base to tour the whole city, nothing negative to say and would recommend to anyone who wants a place to tour Rome from.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long stairs up to room, most difficult when we got heavy backpack when travelling. Would be good to have a lift.

    Bedroom and bathroom were good, loved the jacuzzi in the bath, help us to relax after a long day out. Air conditioning was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very noisy room on the first night above the bar but were moved to another room for the rest of the stay

    Very helpful and friendly staff, excellent location, comfy beds!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortunately, this hotel does not have elevators. Our room was in the 3rd floor, and it was terrible after a entire day shopping and walking around Rome attractions, at the end of the day have to climb 5 sets of stairs to our room. Worse yet was to go up and down with our 20 day Europe trip luggage when we arrived and when we left. The breakfast is very good, and the room has a safe, but with a very unusual key, and is very very smal, you can´t keep your notebook there. The TV is very very small too, maybe 14", and even with lots and lots of channels, doesn´t have international channels like CNN, news channels, Discovery, etc. The free wifi doesn´t work at all times. If you dont´t like or can´t climb stairs, go to Mercure, if you can find a date to book there.

    The location is fantastic. One street from the Colosseum. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Domenico and Ana are very nice. This hotel is located in Roma Gay street and there´s a Gay Bar just in front, that works until 2 AM. But our room was not affected by the noise, due to a special anti-noise window.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior was a little concerning.

    I loved the furniture in the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. you looked out the window and the coliseum was right there! There was a great restaurant very close by.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are directly above a very noisy bar, that operates untill 2 am on weekends. The single beds are unsuitable for children over 12 years of age. No extra bedding or pillows available. Television very small, channels mostly italian.

    Close to the Colosseum and hop-on-hop off stop no 3.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got my pocket picked at the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Location the staff the property was clean. Great air conditioning. Super helpful staff and great value and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room got a bit cold.

    Very good staff. Friendly and worked hard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful especially dominique

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had issues with the A/C. Had to sleep with the window open, thankfully it was cool outside. The room was rather small.

    not far from Airport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress a little soft

    Location was excellant. Very friendly staff. Spacious rooms decorated beautifully

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy on street side

    Great breakfast and very friendly service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located with a welcoming owner. Thank you Silvia.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning very poor, A few things could be done to improve the rooms, a bit noisy in the mornings

    Great Location, Very Clean, Helpful staff,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, serviceminded family hotell. Simpel but has everything you need.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Horribly noisy. The rooms are on the first floor, directly above a bar. Heavy bass comes directly through the room, until very very late

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet is not working.

    Very nice location, staff, breakfast. Rooms is cozy and beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    Location is outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly family rin business - helpful - no probs changing double into twin - away with 30 year old daughter - amazing location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shower head

    Great location!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View of roof tops from bedroom. Hardly views of the city as advertised. Leaking bath. Towels weren't replaced from being used to soak up water from leaking bath. Poor aircon.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They don't have a lift. But this was provided in the information so I was not really disappointed.

    The location and the staff. They are very helpful and friendly. Value for money as compared to other hotel near by. Not difficult to look for restaurants since its right outside the building. I love the vast bathroom and the quaint vibe of the room.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every night very noisy music from restaurans downstairs. Impossible to sleep before 2am when bars closed. Breakfast was very poor. Very small rooms.

    Good location. Near Colosseum.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience ,but was disappointed when booking i was asked to pay extra for gluten free breakfast which i didn't. So only had juice , coffee and fruit. But it didn't spoil our stay.

    room was very clean and comfortable. perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "jacuzzi" was a bit too weak for my taste.

    Best location. The two restaurants/bars right next to it are great. Super-helpful attentive staff, unlimited wi-fi and wonderful air condition.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No kettle available in room, could't make myself a cup of tea or coffee after a day of walking.

    The location is great. This hostel is just facing to the Colosseum, I could walk leisurely to this attraction on morning (just 3 minutes) after a break-first when there had not been very crowded. There is Jacuzzi in the bathroom, which is a really great 'treatment ' after a day of walking around Rome sights. The staffs were very nice, sorry for not remembering their names, but the staff who were on the first day I arrived helped me to carry my luggage to my room, and another staff in the following days was gentle, smiling on face. The girl in the break-first room was helpful, making coffee for their guest. I will choose Imperial Rooms again for the next time of visiting Rome.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would of liked tea or coffee facilities in the room but the fresh coffee made for you each morning at breakfast was lovely!

    Me and my partner stayed for 3 nights mid May to celebrate our birthdays. We had a lovely time staff were really helpful and the hotel felt clean and safe. You pay for the location, right next to the colleseum which we had a walk around most nights. The air conditioning was well appreciated as the weather was hot and good price mini bar for drinks.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no elevator in this motel, and after a full day of walking, climbing four flights of stairs was a little challenging. Leaving the keys with the front desk when you leave, is not ideal. The WIFI was slow and sometimes not working. The telephone is there for looks, you cant make calls on it in any way. Not that we were there to watch TV, but on the last days of our trip, one of us got sick, and the TV didn't work at all. The satellite had no signal. There is a bar downstairs that is very loud at night, but if you ask for a room in the back, it is very quiet. None of these problems was big, just irritating...Will be back if ever in Rome again.

    I really loved the staff. They had some special problems with us, and they handled it with smiles on their faces, and always were very helpful. The location was great. Very close to the Coliseum and subway station. Some very good restaurants near by.. Will defiantly stay here again if we ever go back to Rome again.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I was a little disappointed not finding the balcony in the room as on the pictures and we checked the other rooms it was the same there, and the room with the window to the backyard was a little damp. The spa bathroom is called like that 'cause it had just a bathtub, nothing else.

    The location is very nice really, just close to il Colosseo, the rooms are clean, as we ordered a superior room it was bigger than normal double-room. The staff was nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very very kindleny staff

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable bed .great room very clean with facilities

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location and a fantastic view. Personal touch. Nearby various public transport poibts

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The water was only warm , there was no hospitality tray.

    Comfortable bed warm quilt. I appreciated they had supplied gluten free cereal for me.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely amazing hotel and staff. Very Friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Group

    No elevator

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location, great stuff

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The friendly house keeper, she was a gem.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Family with older children

    Location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Car parking cost of €35 a day

    Location, facility, breakfast

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Imperial Rooms traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: