Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of In Riva Al Lago

Via Crespi 4, 22100 Como, Italy

#40 of 66 B&Bs and Inns in Como

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1777 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location right near Lake Como, train & bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange arrangement of rooms - like apartments with too many locks, keys, and key codes for each of several doors.

    Great location right near Lake Como, train & bus stations, hilltop tram, and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early check out at 10 even though we were told 11 was ok. Told to leave right away after 10 without giving us a few extra minutes.

    Very friendly front desk staff. Breakfast was great and had lots of selection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic! Great location, excellent value and comfortable room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, we loved our stay. The only thing to be aware of is that there is no elevator, but this was no problem at all for us. The staff assisted us with our bags, and made our stay very comfortable.

    In Riva Al Lago was fantastic. Excellent location - right next to the bus station, close to great restaurants, and a very short walk to the ferry terminal and the historic Como town centre. Our room was very comfortable, clean and quiet, and had a nice view out to Lake Como. The staff were great - they provided very useful information on things to do in Lake Como and surrounds, which was very much appreciated. We were in Italy for a month, and In Riva Al Lago had the best breakfast by far! It was fabulous! We would definitely recommend this property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    Como - crowd, many cars, turistic and not so pleasant. Real pizza at Pizzeria da Benito.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The following factors are to be improved: - the check-in was difficult, we reach the reception at 8:00 pm and there was a person at the desk who try to resolve our reservation, a reservation for another person and in the meantime respond on phone for other reservation. In conclusion, we have to wait for other persons a lot of time and we just want to lay on bed and rest. - the condition are strange: shower is allowed just until 23:00 (only on rooms with shared bathroom) to avoid noise and derange other people - the access is very poor, old and no renovated for years. The Hostal have only the second floor and was renovated, but the rest it is old and access in the internal court is also old. - the access code, to reach the room you should introduce two code every time, this is a bit annoying. - the toilet is also protected with code and if on receptions is nobody, access to the toilet is restricted - the room (number 8) with double bad have two mattress instead of one, and this should be mentioned on the site, we didn`t want this type of bed, we request a double bed size specially, not a big bed with two mattress.

    The factors that I will keep in the same way: - the room, we was pleased to find clean and nice room. - the breakfast, which was very good and fine with fruits and everything - the staff, which was clear and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    sweet welcoming guest house in a great location on the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes the reception was closed as staff needed to get away to mind other guests. The waiting time was never longer than 10 min so it was OK.

    I had a renovated double room with a great bathroom. Spacious, clean, with separate entrance from the reception area. Great location - I think the best in Como. Great breakfast with lots of choices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hospitality and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Very supportive team with great local knowledge. Two brothers run the motel and the adjacent restaurant, and both are wonderful people who run great businesses. Great food, drinks, very welcoming. One block from the lake, yet quiet and very convenient. One of the most welcoming hotels we have stayed at in Europe. Great value for money. We will return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told there was parking near the accommodation,which had gone already. Although lots of parking bays nearby, just make sure you have plenty of change for meters.

    Very spacious apartment. Breakfast was very good & there was a lot to choose from. Great location in Como.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Great great breakfast, just everything you need.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small(narrow)

    Great great breakfast, just everything you need. and very close to como lake! Nice and clean bathrooms and room in old and beautiful surrounding. .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Just a few feet away from Lake Como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding breakfast . Very helpful hosts and staff. Short walk to the buss stop and train. In the central location for just about everything you may need. Small grocery store nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    I would highly recommend this place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. It’s making a bit difficult to take your bags to your room ( especially if you have a heavy luggage).

    Great breakfast. Very clean bathroom and room. Carmelo was very professional and polite with a great sense of humor, he gave us all info about the area and the best way to travel to. It was very peaceful and quiet on our floor (no noise after 10pm).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    1 night in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't the highest standard but for the price its good. Also the view from the tables outside is not the best but again for the price you can't expect an amazing view

    Friendly staff, great central location, very accommodating with the motorbike parking, helpful at explaining where to go and what to do. Clean facilities throughout which was really refreshing to see. I would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Everything was pretty perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was pretty perfect. I’d 100% come back just for the breakfast. My friend and I stayed in a private with bunks, shared bathroom and it was excellent value for the money. Very clean facilities, bed very comfortable with functional AC, not to mention a perfect location just a step away from Old Town, the funicular and many restaurants on the Riva. Wifi was also the best we’ve had in Italy. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Very nice stay and fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is loud during the nights with the metal chairs, we had to close the windows to have a good sleep. Kitchen can only be used by paying an extra (closed with keys, water turned off). No glasses or cutlery available in rooms.

    Very helpful staff, easy check-in. Spacious rooms, good aircon, cleanliness. Very close to Como bus station and Como Nord Lago railway station. Boat stop is also very near. Old town to 10 mins of walking, Carrefour to 15. Very good restaurants nearby, the hotel's own (El Merendero) has great prices, amazing staff and very delicious food. Breakfast provided by the place is amazing, with great choice and fantastic tastes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Lovely little place near the Como Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are paper thin, you can hear the neighbors

    The place was really nice, very clean, good location. Only a few steps and you reach the lake. Very comfortable beds. Great breakfast, great coffee!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Cleanliness and location, and the detailed explanation about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are on the 2nd floor or higher and there’s no lift, so keep that in mind if you have a lot of luggage.

    Cleanliness and location, and the detailed explanation about the hotel, parking and the town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms are shared in the economy rooms.

    Great value for money. Excellent breakfast. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Very helpful staff and central location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location - very close to the lake, port, restaurants (for us the best were next street “La vita e bella” with different salad choices and “Napule E” with perfect mussels, downstairs “El Merendero” offered very good pizza). Even more perfect breakfast - a lot of choices, fresh fruits, different italian hams and cheeses, fresh croissants! Very helpful and friendly staff - fast check in and and check out, information about exploring Como different ways. Although there were stairs to the room, there was an option to leave the baby stroller downstairs. Babychair usage during breakfast. Spaceous room. If we came back, we would definately stay at the same place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Location was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on third floor, with no elevator. Steps were steep and narrow.

    Location was fabulous. Very close to station, and the lake. The room was a little small but manageable . Air conditioner and ceiling fan worked very well.Bathroom was good Breakfast was very good with a huge spread to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Overall was happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking ended up being about a 15 minute walk away and not included in the price

    Great breakfast! Good location and very good value compared to other accomodation in the area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Great location, very friendly staff, amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small issue was the privacy in the shared bathroom - the two showers for women face each other with just frosted glass between, but’s it’s a small place so you are often there alone anyway.

    Great location, very friendly staff, amazing breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    room was in ajoining property, not a very desirable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was in ajoining property, not a very desirable enterance and stairs, but was fine once inside secure floor to rooms. good breakfast and location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff so accomodating, hotel facilities excellent, breakfast had everything you needed was great. the location is excellent next to resturants and bua station, more importantly it is lakeside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location. Could be a little difficult to find if you didn’t know where it was. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Amazing breakfast. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a stay in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Some people were a bit noisy during the morning

    - Excellent location (5 min walk to the funicular, 5-10 min walk to the ferry station, 5 min walk to the train station) - Superb breakfast with a nice variety of dishes - Helpul and kind staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    The hotel is located next to the city center close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located next to the city center close to restaurants, bars and the only a 1 minute walk to the lake. Its super clean and the staff is very nice. We liked to breakfast a lot. They serve a buffet with fresh fruits, bread and croissants, cheese etc..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff, clean rooms and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds on economy room where not so sleepable upper bed os dangerous becuse there is nothing stopping you to fall down from there. Beds are pretty narrow.

    Nice staff, clean rooms and bathroom. Staff was really welcoming and and had suggestions for everything 😀

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Great Breakfast, however it felt like eating in the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was beside a bus central station. The room was tiny with bunk beds.

    Great Breakfast, however it felt like eating in the street. The location is wonderful.. any other place nearby would have cost a lot more. It felt like genuinely experiencing Italian living

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Book a room just for the breakfast alone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a power cut when we stayed which got resolved, not sure how it happened. Wifi was intermittent

    EPIC Breakfast! One of the betters one we had in Italy, great value. They offer a varied buffet spread with lots to choose from to help you get set up right for the day ahead! Clean room with AC and simple bathroom. Central location near to the lake

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel with great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room (but more than ok to stay one or two days and than travel further on).

    Good location in the center of the city. Great breakfast ! Sympa staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    nice & helpful staff; limited opening hours of the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    could not join the hotel during the opening hours of the reception due to heavy traffic jams

    nice & helpful staff; offer to receive keys at nearby restaurant after 11pm; cannot assess other features of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great personal, great breakfast, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great personal, great breakfast, great location!!! Not that easy to find in case you go by car. My navigation system couldnt find the address. Hotel has 3 parking spots at the address Piaza de Orchi just around the corner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved it and if possible we would have stayed longer,definitely would stay again and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not call it didn't like it however everyone should be aware there are no elevators,therefore is a little bit inconvenient to go up with luggages and bags. If you only carry one piece,no problem in case you carry more than one piece of luggage it can be a good workout...

    Amazing breakfast not sure they could do any better. Amazing staff and the owner operator always available for help and suggestions regarding activities. Amazing location as well is perfect; literally One could not ask for a better location. Not only a central location just by the lake, also right by the bus,train station and the port so you can access any location around the lake in addition to visiting locations further away from Como. Good value for the money. Parking available right on the hotel premises.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    A day spent in a location worth visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view of the room towards the enclosed courtyard, wi-fi inoperative in the room, only at reception and on the terrace

    Good value for money, very good breakfast, central location - close to the lake and the historic center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    This is the place folks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was fantastic, clean, modern, and all you could want for a stay in Como. Breakfast was top notch and constantly topped up. Meals served in the evening are amazingly huge for a very reasonable price and the choices are nearly countless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location & nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at the reception gave us a room without aircon, although we had paid for airconditioned one. After finding out there was no aircon, we complained and were moved to another room. Furnitre in the rooms is old and beds are a bit uncomfortable.

    Location is definitely it's biggest advantage. Breakfast was pretty good also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Top location, superb breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a gem in a perfect location! Steps from the funicular, short walk the boats and next to the old town! The rooms were clean and the breakfast is to die for! The manager/owner is one hardworking man!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    it was ok but it could be better.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the building was too old. it didn't have kitchen and any facilities for cooking and coffee and tea.

    the room was clean. staff were ok. the lake was very close to this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon noisy but effective

    Very close to the water, restaurants and places to visit We booked last minute en route from Rome to Amsterdam and would have been happy with clean and quiet but we got so much more. Wonderful staff, amazing breakfast and really comfy beds. Avoid restaurants in the square, th hotel’s own restaurant is good but Gordo S’agostino (to the right on the waterfront ) is really good. We stayed 2 nights and would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location and very comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom- Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to walk up some stairs to our room which was a bit difficult with suitcases. Building is very tired on the outside but beautifully renovated on the inside. Bathroom was down the hall and not lockable when having a shower.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We got a free carpark very close to hotel. Hotel is in a very good location which is very short walk to restaurants, the main town and Lake Como including boat departures. Room was much bigger than expected and very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic with a huge variety of beautiful Italian delights. We wish we could have stayed longer. Would definitely stay here again. We spent 5 weeks travelling around Europe and this was one of our favorites.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was great and it was in the heart of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was a little bit rude and prim. And the Wifi was not working in our room.

    The breakfast was great and it was in the heart of the city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    In Riva Al Lago Como - Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stay for only 1 night and was perfect. This small hotel has decent rooms very well equipped, only a few meters away from the lake, the bus stop, the funicular. The breakfast with high quality and wide variety food, Wifi signal (room was on the second floor nr. 8) was strong. Lots of security cams and doors that make you feel safe. Definitely recommended and the restaurant below is also great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    Ugly expensive hotel, gentrification is destroying Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was not a polite person, he seemed stressed and urgent to get rid of the clients as if we were a charge to be removed from him as soon as possible. I understand that Como is overloaded from tourism (I do not advice to visit this particular place in Italy, gentrification has definitely erased any trace of originality from this place), and I understand that the amount of rude tourists he might see per day can be overwhelming. I would like to know why the responsible person for the hotel management is not taking care of setting the work conditions for him to deliver careful services to the new customers arriving to the hotel. Remind to myself, do not go to touristic places.

    The bed was big enough for two people (two individual beds set together...), the toilette was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful welcome awaited us and nothing was ever too much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame we didn’t get to try out their breakfast but it’s understandable at this time of year why it isn’t available. Not really a negative, just something we will return for!

    A wonderful welcome awaited us and nothing was ever too much trouble. The location is fantastic, you couldn’t wish for better. The room was huge, plenty of space. A big ceiling fan in our room kept us cool. Also, we booked parking with the hotel beforehand well in advance and this was excellent and good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Cool vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cool, clear and comfortable. The lake is very close (50m), bus station in front of thr building, and the train station cca 15mins walk, ferry station and the main square also close. A really cheap kebab street food also next to the door, so I recommend it to stay. The recepionists are very kind, nice, helpful and friendly, they always give advice when we wanted to know something.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoy the beautiful town & hiking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As to the bed, we are asked if two beds are OK. We thought it's a twin room, for our reservation is one queen-bed room. We found out that there are one bed and the other is a 2-story bed, which seems to be equipped in a youth hostel. We are too tired to claim it, after more than 20 hours travel time from the far east to Italy.Too bad!

    Everything is OK. Location, smooth check in, a friendly owner, restaurants, bars, cafes nearby & beautiful nature. Take a cable railway for a one-day outing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Was a short visit to Como but if we come back we will definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for a wedding,delighted with location was close to everything,great price,nothing fancy but clean and comfortable and great price for the food and wine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    The receptionist was extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was extremely helpful. I could leave my baggage and I received some advices what I can see in Como and how to get to the main attractions. The room was clean and nice, a bed comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Best property for reaching Bergamo airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As is situated on the main route from train station to Cita Alta(the old town) there was a little noisy during the day.

    The property was perfect for reaching the Bergamo Airport, the bus to Bergamo has station in front of the property. The place was cosy, the owner very friendly and the breakfast very diverse. I will definitely come back here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The extremely friendly staff, who also gave us tips for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extremely friendly staff, who also gave us tips for local activities, a really clean room and a superb location (2 min from the lake and 15 minutes from the train station) made this hostel the perfect choice for us, will definitely return in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    I decided to upgrade to a room with a bathroom and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I decided to upgrade to a room with a bathroom and the management were very very helpful. They found a room as soon as I asked, despite there being a Textile Exhibition on (and rooms in demand/almost fully booked) and helped me carry my cases upstairs. They couldn't have been more helpful. I am impressed with the new room as it's renovated very tastefully, has a kettle and lovely bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and clean hotel in old town Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable accommodations near the lake and old town Como. We were traveling with a baby and were upgraded to a larger space with a fridge. The staff was friendly and helpful. Everything was clean. We didn't use the air conditioning, but there was also a ceiling fan that kept the room fresh. We could walk to anyplace of interest, including the main train station. We would stay here again on our next visit to Como.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Shower a bit dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Riva Al Lago located near bus station, and across the road from waterfront. Short walk to ferries, town and restaurants. Host was great. Secure parking available at 13 euro/night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Como como como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is small and the bathroom is shared for whole floor (but it is pretty big and divided to boys and girls). These are minor things, we loved it!

    Staff was really friendly and helpful. Our room was exactly like in the photos on Booking.com and the location - superb! In the quieter part of the city, just at the shore of the lake, surrounded by small cafes and restaurants. Very close to the funicular and Como Lago train station. All in all, great stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location in friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware there is no lift if you can't manage stairs to well. We were on the top floor with a big Case so hubby earned his first drink at the top Gent on reception helped me too.

    2 mins walk to the lake. Restaurant part of the hotel has good good and friendly staff. They only have a few parking spaces. Guy on reception really helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    The best things that are absolutely amazing - are hosts and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The best things that are absolutely amazing - are hosts and staff of the hotel and very clean rooms! The hotel is in good place, just a few metres away from the lake, and funicular. There are a lot of cafes and restaurants near the hotel. Small but good parking place. You just need to know that there are no elevator in the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    This is a great budget option for people licking stay in Lake Como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a long for flights of stairs to get to the hotel and there's no elevator. The room was quite small.

    The property was very clean and well maintained. It's a great location close to the lake and the historic center of town as well as many restaurants. Although the bathrooms are shared, at least in my case, they make them feel very private with the way their setup

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Mid March- great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, staff were very helpful and friendly! We booked a double ensuite which was superb! Bar/restaurant downstairs was also great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Very reasonable price for a comfortable room in a pleasant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    It's in a very good location near the lake, and was quiet and comfortable. The member of staff at reception was very helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable and it was very good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    A hotel at the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was confusing that we had the room on the third floor instead of the second, although I had received before the confirmation about second floor from the hotel. Anyway we settled the issue but I'd suggest to be concrete in requests when booking and maybe better correspond in italian.

    Near the lake and not far from Como San Giovanni railway station, on foot approx 15 min. The room was spacious with a bit mountains view, there was a kettle, 2 cups and a couple of tea and coffee bags, so for breakfast drink that was good. At the reseption we received a map and useful infpormation about the sights and what to do at the season.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    Large room with ensuite toilet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room with ensuite toilet. We did pay more for this facility though. Easy check in easy check out, close walk to the lake and to the main business area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful place in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They upgraded us to a nicer room (originally we had a bunkbed and a shared bathroom, we got a queen sized single and a private bathroom) for free, which was fantastic, except that I was travelling with my brother and not a romantic partner. We asked for a room with two beds or for the beds to be separated, but it unfortunately never happened. A minor inconvenience at a lovely place though!

    The staff spoke enough english to avoid a bad language barrier, and the location is very close to the city market and the gondola. The staff gave us a rundown of all the attractions and events happening in the town, and provided us with a map to help us find things to do!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is at an incredibly good place, just a few metres...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is at an incredibly good place, just a few metres away from the lake, with grocery shop, train station and buses nearby. The room was nice and clean, and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Could be the best deal in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't serve breakfast during low season

    Perfect position with a few steps away from both the lake and the train station, and is literally not far from any place. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and would tell you anything you want to know about your travel there. The security system was solid as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location. Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is not served in the winter months...but then It was not necessary, as down the road, ample Italian bars to get a 'cafe & cornetto' for just €2-€2.50. They are also rigid about check out times, inform before hand if you need to leave the hotel early, as they are strict with the 8.00am-10.am

    The location was just perfect. In the hub of Como. No sea view, but for the price i paid...excellent value for money, and the restaurant below the B&B is jus great. If i were to go back to como I would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    The shared bathroom were really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's just a detail but it would be helpful to have a pair of glasses over the table.

    The shared bathroom were really clean. The room is basic but the price was cheap. Very well located, next to the bus stop ant the lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Very convenient and reasonably priced hotel next to Lake Como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    A nice hotel one block from Lake Como. Comfortable rooms and very convenient to restaurants right along the Lake Como shoreline. The desk staff in the evening were very helpful from explain the area to arranging a taxi for our early departure the next morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend this accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs a bit hard with luggage but staff kindly carried our suitcases up for us and gave us lots of advice about local things to do and places to eat etc.

    Very central to everything. Staff very efficient and helpful. Right near a bus station so transport from train station very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Probably quite a bargain by Lake Como standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The security systems are a bit intimidating and hopefully unnecessary. The sensor lights in the bathrooms are annoying. You can't turn the light off, you have to wait for it to decide when.

    The property is very conveniently located near Nord Lago railway station, the bus terminal and the Lake Como ferry wharf. Although a little expensive for what you get, it's probably quite a bargain by Lake Como standards, and is well fitted-out with new bathrooms. It also has what is probably the best cheap eats restaurant in town on its ground floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    We had a fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. We really had everything.

    We had a great time in this small hotel, had great buffet breakfast, clean and quiet rooms. We were really happy and satisfied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    The location was great the food excellent, the town awesome. Avoid the town tourist office
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were pretty small but who sits in a room in COMO

    Restaurant down stairs was awesome. The guy in the office was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast café was fantastic and the gelato mmmmmmmmmm

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is fairly basic and doesn't serve breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is fairly basic and doesn't serve breakfast over the winter but it is clean and comfortable. It's in a great position, close to the lake and the Nord Lago train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Just wonderful. Lake Como is superb. Be sure to take the SLOW BOAT lake trip to Belaggio at least.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would had been a lot nicer to have a minifridge in the room..one cannot find an ice cold coca cola in the local supermarkets.

    This is a great place to be checked in. The personal is super friendly and helpful, we received a city map at check in and visiting advice from the owner. There is a restaurant at the hotel. The rooms was super clean and large and had a lake view. You can make your own tea or cofee in the room. It is close to the north central station and it is very quiet. Should i ever return to Como I will try to book a room here again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice, clean and comfortable room, basic, but tea-coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little fridge would be great.......Also we could hear voices from the courtyard, probably from the restaurant stuff, a bit annoying.....

    Nice, clean and comfortable room, basic, but tea-coffee making facilities in room was a bonus ! Clean bathroom. Our room had a window overlooking the little street but quiet. The location was great, just 50 m from the central lake front, restarants and caffes , just behind the bus station at ''Piazza Matteoti'', if arriving by bus . Just 50 m from ''Nord Lago'' train station or a 5 min taxi drive ( 7.5 euro) from ''San Giovanni'' main train station.( there is also a bus connecting these 2 stations). Warm and helpful reception stuff. Great Wi-fi . Fan on the ceilling . Very safe building. Very good value for money ....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly owner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom- Annex (bunk bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small for 3 people.

    This place is a bit basic but is only one block from the lake and right near bus and taxi. The big bonus is a fantastic restaurant (breakfast included) and a nice surprise from the owner on checkout!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, close to bus and train and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was that you weren't allowed to use the kitchen as it was end of season, and unfortunately there is no elevator, which seems to be the standard in Italy.

    The breakfast was amazing. Matteo was extremely welcoming and helpful. Easy walk from San Giovanni Station and local features.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse In Riva Al Lago traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: