Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ippotur Medieval Resort

Via Degli Ulivi, 19033 Castelnuovo Magra, Italy

#14 of 15 Holiday rentals in Castelnuovo Magra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 543 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Alberto is waited for us and he helped for all luggages to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bath, you must wait for the hot water to come, because cottages are settled on a high backyard. For the breakfast we could not be able to find even a croissant at 10:00 :( the lady offered if we have time she can bring some croissants from somewhere else but we did not have time.

    Alberto is waited for us and he helped for all luggages to carry with his truck. Cottages are comfortable enough, clean. Terraces in the front are peaceful and relaxing areas. You can fell the real Tuscany as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Perfect Weekend Getaway!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every aspect of our stay was incredible!! The food was some of the best we have had in Italy, and the staff went above and beyond, ensuring my family had a perfect family vacation!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.8
    ruined our vacation, we had to leave earlier because the conditions were to bad to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    one member from the staff was very unpatient and rude with us, the cottage was not similar with the photos from this website, the smell in the cottage was horrible, very old and dirty furniture, the bed was on wheels and couldn't be blocked (very inconvenient), we had to leave earlier because of the bad conditions

    one member from the staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Cheap but not relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We weren't too pleased with this place as we were looking for something relaxing and rustic but ended up in a mishmash of a slightly down-at-heel resort. Perhaps we should have taken more notice of the name. This is a series of 'cottages' up a hillside in a beautiful part of Italy but surrounded by a less-than-romantic cluster of residential and main roads. The rooms are plain, horribly lit and furnished and seemingly cheaply done up, to be honest it was a bit depressing. There's not much medieval about it and anything of genuine historic value is being repaired with concrete and crumbling brick. While we were there they were doing work on the neighbouring cottage so there wasn't much in the way of privacy and quiet in the mornings. I'm not sure that the main restaurant - the picturesque one featured in the photos on top of the hill - was ever open while we were there, but maybe that's because it was out of season, so there was no Aperol Spritzes overlooking the always-wonderful sunsets. We only had lunch at the pool-side bistecceria/focacceria restaurant and while run by very nice people, the food was of average quality and foccaccia pizzas were stale and coffee watery. It's a beautiful part of Italy as I say but the surrounding land is more industrial and some seedy outlying towns that turn into unsavoury stretches of road at night, with residential clusters that are fine with amenities and a nice pasticceria (on the main road) but not quite as attractive a proposition to hang around all holiday. On the brighter side, it's low cost meant we were able to spend the money on dining out at some great restaurants, buying oil - some of the best in Italy - and cheese, and renting the umbrella at the beach. Our conclusion was not to return here again because a nicely kept place with a good space is important to relaxing we felt. Hope this helps!

    It was mostly Italian families staying when we were there who were lovely and it was a relaxed vibe in the evenings with family meals being eaten outside each of the cottages on plastic picnic tables. The pool was big and clean so we spent more time there than we thought given that it's quite rough around the edges, but it was great to swim surrounded by huge pines and sky and mountains. It was quiet for the majority of time, but the pool is open to the public so when the school holidays are out it'll probably get crowded. The staff were friendly and helpful and clearly have a good community of friends there, which meant it felt comfortable and safe. We chose to leave the sad cottage behind each day and took the car out as there are really fascinating places within 20-40 minutes drive, including the beaches and restaurants in and around Massa and Ronchi, plus small beautiful mountain towns of Collonata and Carrara, where there's a really good tour of the marble quarries and delicious plates of lardo and pecorino to be found.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Independent cottages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a atleast a rental car.

    You're in reach of everything middle italy has to offer.. they are fully independent cottages so they have that at home feelings.. and a natural habitat.. the place has one of the most amazing views.. me and my girlfriend really enjoyed our stay and travelled a lot to the surrounding towns. .. La- Spezia is amazing, Cinque Terre and never ever miss the amazing Lerici..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.0
    We had the apartment just above the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the facility should be renovated.

    We had the apartment just above the restaurant. The location is very convenient and the apartment is plenty of room for up to 8 people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Reasonable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    difficult to find...

    Restaurant was wonderful. Nice view and very carm. Low price and not far from cinq terre. We ewally enjoy our stay! If you want to cooking a bit difficult, because there are minimum cooking stools. Bring washing soap.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    It's so beautiful, from the narrow road to arrive,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's so beautiful, from the narrow road to arrive, until the medieval castle with a cozy and fabulous restaurant, with "La Tagliata" delicius kind of steak and a amazing view from all of the mountain to the sea, is so peaceful, the staff are amazing, from the gardener's to to manager, really polite and helpful, i definitely will come back wen the pool will be open.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Location was great.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dirty. Everything was new but was not clean. Lots of dust and dirt inside and outside. They didnt gave us soap and dish towel.

    Location was great. Nice nature. It was very peaceful and pleasant. Nice cottages. The place is great for families and it is pet friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Very nice, cosy houses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not so comfortable and the access road to the cottages it's a little bit soliciting for the car, but quite a pitoresque place.

    Very nice, cosy houses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Stunning location & fantastic pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in cottages, small bathroom and hard to drive up the steep and windy hills. Also very hot in bedrooms and fans didn't help.

    The pools were amazing! Kids really enjoyed them. Stunning views. Lovely staff. Wish we had seen this place before and booked to stay for a few days. Unique hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    Pictures are not entirely representative!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con in the room didn't work. Only very basic equipped kitchen, and no light where needed in the kitchen.

    Nice pool area with good views over the Med.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.8
    Very diffucult to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very diffucult to find. Very steep access. Very old bungalows. Now light in the first floor. Dirty kitchen untensils.No normal lighter. But warm if to use warming. Very untidy environment. Dirty backyard furniture.Forest is of accacia. No pines. No view to the see and more overe novhere. Jus smell of accacia blossoms, bird songs and church bels were pretty. So so as camping. Price correspond service as prices in that region are really high

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    6.3
    Character, authentic, good value for money... but 'unfinished' decor, hard to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in mid-March. Bedroom on mezzanine, very good heating and décor, but downstairs no décor to remember, no heating in kitchen or bathroom. They lent us a space heater. I had to beg for a bathroom shower mat or towel for the cold marble floor. Radiators in place but don't work! Not easy to read the bungalow numbers on the cabins at night... you will need a flashlight! Better have a strong auto or jeep to reach your bungalow. For two nights, we had to use the GPS when leaving the town Castelnuovo Magra to locate the hotel, even then we were confused. Get ready to turn around and around... climbing past country villas. Even the GPS gave us wrong directions!

    Overall, Good value for money, and plenty of character! The bungalow is very basic, 'unfinished' look, situated in the countryside up a steep, windy, bumpy road at this medieval resort. Has a kitchenette. We stayed 3 nights in March. We adapted to this and cooked a few meals. Has a frigo, cooking plaques (no micro-onde or oven). You will have hot water after it runs awhile. Very nice towels. Very good bed, very good heating in bedroom and pleasing décor. Beautiful view over the village at night from this vantage (like a view from a plane!) Restaurant very charming, great food. Focaccerria Bistecceria. Beautiful romantic views. Pool outside. Locals come there to celebrate special dinners etc. On the main road going into Sarzana you will find all the big shops for buying food, petrol etc. If you plan to go hiking in Cinqua Terra, you will drive abt 45 mins, crossing La Spezia to get there. I recommend you visit the Old village of Castelnuovo Magra on the nearby hilltop. This is on the border of Tuscany/Liguria.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.4
    Overall good amenities, you can prepare your breakfast or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise almost every night as they rented the place for weddings etc. Not a/c in all houses, but that could be compensated with opening windows as they have a mosquito net.

    Overall good amenities, you can prepare your breakfast or dinner with a good choice of kitchen dishes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    4.6
    Not meeting expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the cabins are quite run-down. It was not very bad, but for that money and from the pictures, we had expected more. Badly maintained, old bathroom and kitchenette with noisy refridgerator and a not-so-comfortable sleeping couch (the kids got the double bed and they seem to have slept well). Also we had the cabin quite far away from the reception but still the karaoke was disturbing till late.

    We had high expectations after seeing the pictures. The location is excellent, on the hillside with plenty of trees to offer shadow and a short drive to the sea.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    3.3
    Avoid at any cost !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not like on the photos ! Buildings are old and not comfy at all ! We manage to stay only one night out of 6 booked ! Not recommend at all.

    Nice staff that's it

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    3.8
    Very bad place. Nothing like the pictures show
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The appartments are old, outdated The road to the appartment is hard to walk on You can not ask more than 50€ a night for this place, backpacker hostels are better than this

    The pool was ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    It’s a great price for a reason...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive up to the room was horrible! So steep, it was absolutely nuts!

    Great pool & great price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    It's unique position, value for money and caring staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of towel hooks in wc, loose wc seat, no first floor mirror

    It's unique position, value for money and caring staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice quiet location in the nature on the top of the hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quiet location in the nature on the top of the hill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and great food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.6
    The food was amazing
    • People with friends
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    4.6
    For the price you can not find something better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms really little

    The position, the price, the restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.0
    Very poor interior in bungalows, no hot water and wi-fi, a...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor interior in bungalows, no hot water and wi-fi, a bit dirty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.0
    It served its purpose a place to lay the head !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sockets that worked had to ask for one in the living area. No kettle for hot water. Stairs very tiny and steep with no hand rail

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    2.5
    None
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor accommodation parking difficult with low car

    None

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Relax after a working day
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    la tranquillità di un luogo immerso nella natura

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.7
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot the air condition was only at the first floors

    View

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice place for for offered price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice place for for offered price. Pool was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was great, but a far away from the harbour at Le Spezia

    Great location up on the hill. Facilities are clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    4.2
    Nice lokalisation and good place to visit historical places
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Generaly dirty homes and I'm sure housecleaninng is weak... Spiders, nets of spider was everywhere and many dust inside...

    Nice lokalisation and good place to visit historical places

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    Nice poor with friendly lifeguard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cooking facilities are poor. Needed a car to go anywhere.

    Nice poor with friendly lifeguard. Good location with easy access to many local attractions. Air conditioning on second floor worked well. Read a number of comments regarding noisy weddings but we enjoyed the atmosphere on Saturday night and it didn't go on too late. Kids loved the pool.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.5
    The houses are placed in a wonderful location on the hill...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There air condition are placed at the ground floor, it means that it's necessary to sleep with opened windows at the 1 floor. During the weekends the restaurant at the site arranging weeding party's etc. It makes a lot of noise, so don't expect to sleep before the party is over.

    The houses are placed in a wonderful location on the hill side. Both day and night you have view to the valley. Due to the fact that there is only 32 houses, there is a lot of room for everyone. Good place if you don't expect five stars. We can recommend both the house and the site...

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Beautiful nature around!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All is ok!

    Beautiful nature around! Not big, but comfortable bongalo with terrace. Very polite and responsible personal: in the reception, in the swimming pool. Swimming pool is clean. In the reception work competent personal, ready to help in the different problem situations.With pleasure will visit Ippotur again!

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    3.3
    1 hour drive to Cinque Terre and to Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are looking for place which is in poor condition, not clean and hard to reach, choose this one. Stayed here for 5 nights and needed earplugs for quiet sleep in three of them. There was open-air party with loud music in nearby property, karaoke on the other night and staying-up-late-neighbors on the third. Last renovation in the bathroom was probably in the mid-70's. Kitchenette poorly equipped, no decent knife and cups. Ants on the floor. We did read opinions here beforehand and despite them decided to get this place with remarkable discount price. But still feel like we were paying too much.

    1 hour drive to Cinque Terre and to Florence. Fridge.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    3.3
    Lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Booked room with air co but didnt have in the room we were given. Had a terrible nights sleep as main room was in a loft and it was SO hot and no air ciculating. We complained the next day and owners tried to blame booking. com but when we discussed with them they advised that it is the owners responsibility to update hotel info on website. Overally we were very dissapointed, the room was nothing like the photos online, it was very dark and run down inside, pool was ok but closed too early given it was 34 degrees!

    Lovely views

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    3.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The cottage was not the same as I have booked. It was old and eith different furnitures.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bad WIFI connection No restaurants at the resort

    Good value for money Pool

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Very nice place to be, helpfull and friendly people, italian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Loudy friday karaoke - not possible to sleep well before the long way home...

    Very nice place to be, helpfull and friendly people, italian feeling

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    3.8
    Only stayed 2 of 7 nights booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rust, mold, musty smell

    Only stayed 2 of 7 nights booked

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    5.4
    Swimming pool from 9.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool from 9.30 a.m. to 7 p.m. During hot evenings in Italy is nightmare to see beautiful swimming pool and can not use it.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.0
    location was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location was amazing! the view of mountains and see ;)

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    6.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Immediate area, room not to good

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything

    Nothing

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Ippotur Medieval Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: