Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Iris Venice 2 stars

San Polo 2910/A, Calle del Cristo, Campo San Tomà, San Polo, 30125 Venice, Italy

#299 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2119 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.6

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    2.5
    I will not recommend this to my people. Very very bad place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast didn't meet the requirements. Bathroom door was broken. No lift. Steep stairs. Air Conditioning didn't work. Congested room. Not worth for the money spent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.6
    Old ... smelly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything very old,bathroom built about 40years ago- first day no hot water, room smelly. Breakfast from 8-9:30 -only jam and milk/no poper coffe .We had to paid additional tax...

    Localisation

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell from the rooms (especially bathroom) was disgusting... the rooms were dirty and mouldy with stains on the bedsheets.... the toilet wouldn’t flush in 2 different rooms, first I was told toilet paper wouldn’t flush in Venice (did at the second hotel weirdly enough) and then I was told the pipes were blocked.... I was then told any toilet paper should be put in the bin... the receptionist didn’t help one bit, he was too busy on his phone. I was unwilling to stay here because of the conditions of the rooms so went to another hotel. Stayed at over 50 hotels around the world and this is by far the worst of the worst I have seen, no idea why it’s being advertised on here.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean and perfect for short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were asked to change the room after 2nd day. However the 2nd room was bigger and a little better.

    Breakfast was basic but good. Croissants, toast, juice, water, tea, coffee, cookies, cereals...staff really nice and smiley! Room was cleaned every day, bathroom small but clean. Towels and toilet paper were provided. Location brilliant. Good value for money!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    It was only 5 minutes from the conference venue in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were virtually absent, breakfast was poor, the air conditioning was very noisy and there were no windows in my room. There were mattresses and paintings against walls in corridors - there was a dangers unmarked step to cross outside my room.

    It was only 5 minutes from the conference venue in the centre of an amazing city

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.2
    Could not have been worse. Literally the worst hotel (hostel) that I have ever used.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything else except for the location. It was dirty and not properly cleaned upon arrival. The shared toilet is broken. Bed sheet had hairs of various colors and sizes possibly from the previous guests.

    The location is convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.4
    Location was good, close to public transport and other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the toilet start smelling in the night and continues to the morning and it was so bad.

    Location was good, close to public transport and other amenities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly located and friendly budget hotel which even includes free breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast normally started at 8 am. If it had started at 7 am. that would have suited me even better.

    Fan, mosquito protection gadget, WiFi and TV provided in bedroom and at breakfast hot milk for coffee. Staff very friendly and helpful. Brilliantly located very close to Toma vaporetto stop.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    An average stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff that were on were nice on checkin but when it came to asking questions about what to do around the area they had no idea and did not want to help out at all. The room- the smell in the room was not pleasant. We found it very hard to have a good night rest especially with the beds. They were not comfortable. The breakfast was a standard cold style breakfast. The coffee machine was not working, and there was much variety. I would think twice before attending this hotel again.

    For the price we paid, it was okay. It was a last minute decision to go to Venice and this was the only accommodation that was available. The location was okay. If you want something close to San Marco then I wouldn't recommend staying here. it was a little difficult to get to and bit further out then we would of liked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    2.5
    Find another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Workers and hotel owner do not want to find solution related our question (for hotel, for city). For example of their answer “it is not my problem, you should find”.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    Not for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with shared bathroom. The room leaked when it rained. The shared toilets and showers were clean but the wooden doors were molding, there was nowhere to put your shower things, your towel would get wet, and they were on a different floor from our room. The room was tight for the 2 of us and our luggage (it was a box with slanted ceiling in spots). There was an armoire with a disgusting blanket, pillow and phone inside. Most places in Venice don't have A/C but the fan we were given was terrible. We could only go back to the room right before bed because it was so humid and smelled like mold. When the rain water got all over the floor the person at the front desk wouldn't even give us a rag - just said it happens all the time. 1 of our bags got soaked and the clothes inside were stained from the rain water. The breakfast was very basic and you'll end up spending money for food elsewhere so I wouldn't recommend paying for it. I don't know how the rooms with an ensuit were but I wouldn't book this hotel again. For the price there were other hotels that were better - this was like a hostel. Not worth the proximity to the train station.

    Great location and nice view outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.2
    Got bite by bugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean enough. I stayed two nights and got bite by bugs. Even worse, I found a dead bug under my pillow in the first morning. I got nearly 80 bites(from face to toes) by bed-bugs. So itchy and painful. Ruined my Venice travel. Staff is friendly and nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    3.3
    Very dated & not very clean nor comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny, dirty room, small, mean towels & bathmat & weren't replaced each day. Insects in the room. Small shower with broken screen & water pressure was low & kept alternating between hot & cold every minute. Rude Indian guy at reception continued to talk on his mobile while trying to converse. Breakfast was basic & terrible coffee.

    I guess the location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    It is okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location.. Venice is a great place to visit this hotel is within walking distance of boat taxi. but hotels standard in Venice is not comparable to their price tags. May be due to high tourist concentrations

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    2.5
    Health and Security Harzard
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not come to this terrible place if you have any concern for your health and safety. As you can see in the pictures: - The shared bathrooms are very filthy (low cleaning); - THEY LEAVE THE ROOM KEYS UNANTTENDED AVAILABLE FOR ANYONE TO GRAB THEM - THEY DONT CHECK WHO IS THE PERSON THAT TAKES THE KEYS FROM THE BALCONY. - The showers are filled with black mold (health harzard) and broken; - The bed sheets are filthy; - The entire "hotel" stairs have Trash that the staff doesnt clean; - The "breakfeast" Room is very filthy and has a distusting AC blowing mold infected air on you;

    Nothing. There is absolutely nothing you can enjoy on this hellish place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel, a short walk from the Rialto bridge.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t as great, but with so many bars local this didn’t really matter.

    Beautiful hotel, a short walk from the Rialto bridge. Lovely staff. Would love to go back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    Location was quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely small and the canal view was just if you put half of your body out of the window to see a gimpse of it. Shower changes temperature from hot to freezing.

    Location was quite good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    2.5
    Noting at ALL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at ALL

    Noting at ALL. That place is so disgusting . Will never go back front desk people are so rude. No hot water, water takes forever to drain in shower and sink. Broken toilet handle. Takes forever to figure out how to flush. No headboard k. Beds as it shows in pictures. Stinky place. Smells so bad.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    Horrible stay
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was rude, he did not print out all our boarding passes and asked for 30€ for 6 prints out. Unhelpful, bedbugs, could not sleep whole night, got next room there was also lots of bedbugs.

    Location , reception staff good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Very basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic. A/C was working but not cooling enough. Furniture is old and needs to be updated. Its a hostel rather than a hotel.

    Close of most attaractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Very close to the vaporetto service and near plenty of cafes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning which made for an unbearable stay in the heat, despite having windows open. Also had a couple of baby ants in the room.

    Very close to the vaporetto service and near plenty of cafes and bars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    I really didn’t feel like the furniture and bathroom were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really didn’t feel like the furniture and bathroom were maintained very well. Not super clean, the tiny bathroom stall door didn’t even latch so every time I showered it was just falling open and hitting me. Of course this is a small relatively cheap hotel by Venice standards, I don’t know how much better or worse it is at other places. The breakfast consists of some croissants and coffee, nothing to write home about. The rooms smelled musty. The staff were helpful when I realized they had booked me in a non air-conditioned room (I was not having that and had specifically booked a room that did) but they were happy to find me a more suitable room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    You may find better place for the same money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel requires repair. They try to keep it clean, but everything is soo old, that broken or almost broken. And walls need to be repainted as well.

    Good location, not too touristic, but nice area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    2.5
    Bed bugs available and should take more care about cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs available and should take more care about cleaning. Breakfast poor. Receptionist is not helpful and didn't accept early check in. Awful experience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    It was pleasant but would have been better if I understood the condition better when booked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a single room (with shower), and was not aware that the room is not like other rooms that appear in the pictures. It is a storage-like room with no decoration, no window, with just enough space to walk beside the bed. Shower water was only drizzles and mostly cold water which occasionally switched to hot water for a second. The toilet lid and seat were not properly fixed and it required attention sitting on it and cracks and damages on the walls and others. Probably it wouldn't have mattered if I booked this room knowing the condition was such, but I did not and was quite a lot disappointed and felt unfair.

    Staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent. Breakfast was minimum but enough to start the day. It was very pleasant to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay for the price, nice and clean. Very surprised by how close everything was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My parents complained that the bed in their room sank in too much and made it hard for them to get out of bed.

    So close to so many shops St. Mark’s square and the Rialto bridge. Nice restaurants nearby as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    2.5
    Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forget about a/c. The ac doesn’t exist. It doesn’t cool at all. The triple room single bed its not a bed a its a sofa bed where you feel the metal on your back. They don’t have a fan. They were rude they didn’t want to help you at all.

    Nothing the pictures are a lie

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good location, very close to the waterbus station. The price is good as you know everything is experience in Venice. The staff are nice, he gave me free map. I put my baggage after check out and it is for free. The breakfast is basic (milk, orange juice, croissant, bread) but very delicious,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    A place to rest your head!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled musty. No A/C.

    Loved the canal view from room 105!! I was able to open the window and take it all in. They did not have A/C but provided a fan in the room. Front desk clerks were friendly and they provide clean linens and towels. They will also store your luggage in the lobby if you want to explore Venice street check out (no charge).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.3
    The hotel have no air condition .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel have no air condition . the room was hot and you must open the window and live with insects. The breakfast was very very poor they even did not have cheese and you must eat jam and bread .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    It is a functional stay for one night, if you need to be close transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom rather small Tiny shower No elevator Very basic breakfast, mostly starchy food like croissants, packaged melba toast, etc

    Central location, which was important for us to get from the bus terminal and to the passenger ship terminal Room was clean, bedding was clean and comfortable Good, reliable wifi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice location with lots of restaurants, cafes, and some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice location with lots of restaurants, cafes, and some shops nearby. Thankfully, there was air-conditioning in the room, which was much needed during our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent short (4 night) break will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was adequate, but not a great choice. No bar or restaurant in the hotel but plenty very close.

    A excellent small basic clean and very comfortable 2 star hotel with really friendly and very helpful staff, very close to the San Toma water bus stop, only a few minutes walk to the bus station in Piazza Roma, 10 minutes or so walk to the Rialto bridge, great quiet location away from the maddening crowds of St Marks Square, but close to lots of good bars, restaurant's and a supermarket, a very convenient and excellent base to explore Venice and all the islands. Air conditioning and Wi-Fi free in every room. This was our first time in Venice but we would defiantly stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    Mixed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check in day the guy at the front desk found it difficult to make us feel welcome. It seemed a huge effort for him even to speak . In the wrong job. The italian gentlemen who was on the latet shift was great , friendly and willing to help.

    Location was great quiet but only a short walk to cafes and other attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Finding a place in Venice.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Another sad venetian machine of making money with tourists. Overpriced, rundown rooms, dirtiest dining room and stairs. Malfunctioning bathroom. Saddest breakfast EVER

    Finding a place in Venice. Clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    my best hotel in venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was great, no complains.

    awesome place. amazing view from our room, great and cozy. good quality double bed. sweet reception personal and nice breakfast. location is just perfect. i wish to Iris team a lot of customers and guests in this lovely place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.3
    Very dusty, not functioning AC. No Fan. Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pretty much everything is bad at this place. We were expecting the things listed in the room description. AC was not functioning. There was no Fan or Phone in the room. These were all listed in the description. The room was very dusty and a lot of the stuff was broken. The side table was broken. There was a bug in the room. There were mosquitoes in the room which made the night extremely unbearable especially for my 4 year old son. Also, they do not give you fresh towels daily. We had put the used towels on the floor thinking they would be replaced...but the lady working there just put them back on the bed. Would not recommend to anyone.

    The only good thing about this place is the location. Its very quick walk from the San Toma boat station. Everything else is not good. We were expecting much better amenities and much more cleaner room for the price we paid. The AC was not functioning and there was no Fan or phone in the room. Both of these are listed in the hotel room description. The room was very dusty and a lot of the stuff was broken. The side table was broken. There was a bug in the room. There were mosquitoes in the room which made the night extremely unbearable especially for my 4 year old son. Also, they do not give you fresh towels daily. We had put the used towels on the floor thinking they would be replaced...but the lady working there just put them back on the bed. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I had wanted to stay at this hotel...primarily because it was close to San Marco area. But, after visiting Venice, i realized that you can stay at pretty much any area since its easy to get around by boat or just walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.6
    Glad we only stayed a few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows very uncomfortable, woke up numerous times thru the night due to discomfort and numbness. Pillows are ridiculous hard lumps. No phone in room, a/c didn’t work because “it’s still cold at night”. The shower had black mould growing in it. No screens on windows so expect mosquitoe bites. No 24hr desk clerk. We had early flight and checked out at 3am and front desk was supposed to print out boarding passes but when we got to desk the lights were out and no one was around.

    Breakfast was basic but good. The coffee was great. Location of hotel really good. Asked for extra blankets and pillows and they supplied them grudgingly. Water pressure was good and shower had consistent hot water. The entrance is up a side street. Gate facing canal is padlocked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff who helped us to sort out our stay for 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are not spacious enough compared to the places we stayed.The breakfast is very simple but OK.Bathrooms are a bit outdated.But it all blends with the surrounding areas atmosphere.

    Friendly staff who helped us to sort out our stay for 3 nights apart from its initial one night.fine place around the venice and only a few minutes to the Bus stop and all the other attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.4
    Be prepared to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - I payed the room several months before my stay. When I arrived at 6 p.m. there was no room. I was sent to another lodging, 150 m away for the first night. There was no wi fi, no AC. For the breakfast I had to return to Iris. There I was given a room but only after check in time. So on the second day of my stay I was without a room from the breakfast until 2 p.m. - It seems that it is a hostel. Most guests are school excursions. It might be crowded. No WC in the lobby. -A washbasin in the room. A towel hanger in the bathroom. Impracticable. No glass, no mat in front of the shower. - Very very basic buffet breakfast. No tray or any mat on the tables. No small plate for coffee/tea cup. - In the breakfast room the hygiene was not so good.

    Although the price of the room was not high, my experience for the first time was not good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    They did not clean my room as I was staying there for two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They did not clean my room as I was staying there for two nights. I think that they were supposed to clean up my room after I left the hotel in the morning so that I would have felt fresh as I came back to the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    2.9
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold in bathroom, bug in washroom, sitting on toilet knees hit wall. Blankets were to thin and had stains on them. The light shade was broken and 3-5 light were not working. Tv was not working it kept breaking up. Wifi was weak. Entrance was dark and dingy and dirty. Extra bed was not stable, creaked and shook. The chair in room was broken and you could not sit on it. It looked like the floor had not been clean except for the space we walked on. You could open the windows but you could see in the window beside you.

    The sheets were clean. Check in early

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.2
    Dirty and broken room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was broken (toilet, electricity, shower, bed), there was no hot water. Room was dirty and very small. Man at the reception was unfriendly. Instead luggage room you can leave your luggage in the hall

    Location - 20 minutes walk from the city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Basic but ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our twin room was not available on our first night, but we were moved the following day. The first room had a big wardrobe which made it hard to get around the bed. The shower cubicle was very small in the first room. The second room was better but the base of the shower was very slipery when i washed my hair. Breakfast basic. We had to hand in our keys when we went out, but they were just left on the reception counter which was not always manned as the person was often doing other jobs in one of the other rooms.

    It was in a good location and very near the waterbus stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    . Excellent location, near Rialto Bridge and S.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    . The owners should pay more attention to some details (especially the cleanliness of the ceiling, which had a spot due to humidity, or one lacking light bulb in the bathroom); . The bed and the wardrobe should be renewed; . The stairs are a little bit steep and this could give some problems to old people or to parents with little children.

    . Excellent location, near Rialto Bridge and S. Marco Square; . Extremely kind staff, always available for information or my needs; . Good price considering the central position in Venice; . Nice restaurants near the hotel, with good food and no exceeding prices; . Good and fresh croissants for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    View from the room could have been better.

    The location in the middle of Venice in a quiet area was perfect. The standard was good and clean. Got more than I expected for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    I did not expect much of this low price hotel, but I slept well and the staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room was very small, and the selection of food was not very good. The bathroom did smell...

    I got a room with my own bathroom, when I expected to share with others :) The location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location and probably that's it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though it is a 2 star hotel, the room and service could definitely be better. We've stayed for 3 nights and not once was the bed made or the towels replaced. The breakfast was very basic but ok.

    The location is quite good, within the city and very close to the San Tomà vaporetto station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout is pretty early, and they didn’t tell us that the breakfast was included. It was a lot of dust everywhere.

    The location is great! It is a lot of nice wine bars and restaurants near the hotel, and it is a beautiful walk to sant marcus church. The breakfast was okay, bread with jam and juice and coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.2
    Awful, filthy room and below average hotel, with friendly staff yet below standard service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I begin... the room (124) was smelly and there was mould above the window. The bedhead had so much dust that when I accidentally hit my head on it the dust spread everywhere. The lamps on the wall were disgusting and the blanket we were given had big stains. The bathroom was another level of awful though. A lamp was missing (danger or electrocution) , a detergent bottle cut in half was exposed under the stinky sink (absolutely dangerous if you have kids),the towel rack was dusty and full of dirt, the walk in shower was a mess with cracked floor and the glass broken and hanging from a thread. Let's not talk about the state of the toilet brush (it has not seen a bright day since being placed there which I am sure was over 10 years ago) and the toilet seat was broken and discolored from the years of use. I put all our stuff and the towels in the wardrobe as it was too disgusting to hang anything anywhere else. Our towels were not changed on the 2nd day of our stay and I had to ask on the 3rd day for fresh towels and toiletries only to be given 2 bath towels (no face towels and in fact they left the dirty ones behind) and no showergel. The breakfast was a ridicule. Although there was a barista coffee machine no one knew how to use it (that is what I was told) there was only instant coffee already made available, a juice that came out of a plastic bottle laying on the floor, there were cold croissants in a basket and toast slices and a poor selection of jams. I have worked as a hotel waitress when I was in college And I can assure you I was ashamed for the state of that buffet. And before you ask why did we stay I would like to assure you that we tried to find an alternative solution but rooms were so expensive at that stage. The hotel was nothing like in the add here and I would not recommend anyone staying there. I am completely disappointed and feel cheated as the stay was 0 value for money.

    The view of the canal from our room was lovely. But in hindsight it was what we actually paid for. Just the view. The staff was polite and quite helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Still a wonderful experience although massively crowded with tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door didn’t close. Only very few water was flowing from the shower and it was mostly cold. The top of the box for flushing the toilet was only loosely placed upon the box that’s because once flushed, the water didnt stop flowing and you had to reach inside it to stop the water. I only got one towel and no feet towel to lay next to the shower. Even for the comparatively low price I would have expected the basic requirements of a hotel room to at least work.

    The hotel is located in the very center of the city and in the vicinity of many nice bars and shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.6
    Better hotels for the same price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2/5 lightbulbs did not come on. Lampshades we're totally busted. Breakfast was croissant and jam with guests that had ZERO buffet ettiquette.

    Sheets appeared clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    3.3
    Pity the Hotel could be much better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room shower was particularly smelly that we changed room for our last night. Better than nothing I guess!

    One particular staff, Silva, was very helpful and just did his best to make our stay as pleasant as possible!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    It was hard to find the hotel, but walking through these charming streets was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've booked a hotel with breakfast. I didn't want to take care about the first meal. I had checked a price and I was waiting for normal breakfast, but there were only croissants, cornflakes and jam. It was enough, but I expected vegetables, cheese. And the last day there was no butter... Patio was like a composition of unnecessary things. It could be a nice place...

    The place is near Grand Canal in a small, quiet street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    3.3
    Not like in the photos. Would not recommend. The only good thing about it - the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small room (the entrance door hit the bed upon entering), compared to the photos. Not very clean, repairs were needed in the room (light bulbs, handles etc.). Poor choices at breakfast (coffee pot was dirty). The bathroom was clean overall, but the shower cabin was not in good shape, the mirror was rusty. It just felt like the rooms weren't properly maintained.

    The position was really great, 5 min to vaporetto and 2 min to the nearest shop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.4
    Too little to offer for too much to pay, even in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers are simply terrible. I am aware that Venice can be very expensive if you want minimum comfort, but I don't think certain accommodations should be listed on Booking if a reasonable standard (even for budget stay) cannot be met.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    3.8
    One of the worst places I've stayed in, nothing matched the pictures or the description on the site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Those people have a goldmine but they don't know how to use it. Absolutely no customer orientation they're a shame for the Italian hospitality industry.They hardly open their mouth to give you a "hello" and hardly moving theirs asses to give you the keys. The room wasn't clean, the toilets still had "remainings" from the previous guests, the bed was making weird noises at every move, the bedsheets were clean but the blankets were full of dust. It's a miracle that they're allowed to operate.Definitely something to raise with the consumer protection and health and safety departments.

    To be honest I'm trying to figure out a positive thing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable accommodation in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few issues with appliances. Fridge was not working - required to change rooms. The new room, the washing machine was not working. Perhaps staff should complete regular maintenance checks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    4.2
    do not book, less than 2 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very old furniture and everything to be honest. Rusty radiators, miserable bath. Do not accept room 8 under no circumstances. Be aware, heating only after 5 PM and one of the days was after 7.30 because the owner didn't come in in time. Staff couldn't care less but they did moved us in another room after complaining.

    Location....that's it!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Does what it says on the tin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is all stuff I don't eat (bread, jam, cereals, croissants etc) Not knocking it too much though as I knew when I signed up what it was and for most people it would be ample. I'd already decided to eat out and because of the great price of the hotel could afford to.

    Price excellent, you get what you pay for but this was clean, functional. good location and staff very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    it fulfilled most of my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can only use the bathroom (Showers) in the floor your room is. i couldn't take a shower elsewhere while the cleaning staff was working.

    Very nice place, secure, frendly staff, good breakfast, and i could meet people from everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice and Cheap Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small but the price was still great. Staircase going to the room was quite steep and a bit dangerous.

    Nice Hotel to stay at, a big variety of restaurants around. Quite cheap which is good. Room was decent for the price. Not far away from the train station and only a 15minute ferry ride to St Marks Square which was stunning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    3.8
    overpriced hotel with staff that gave wrong information
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didnt like light fixtures hanging loose from the ceiling or the wire hanging from the wall for a one station tV. My request for an upper floor was ignored and I stayed for 4 nights and recieved no clean sheets or towels or replacement toiletries.

    I liked the free wi fi and plentiful breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    When we arrived we wanted to take a shower but there was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we wanted to take a shower but there was not hot water, they told us to wait two hours. But next day there was enough water for everyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.8
    old and dirty. Please guys make an effort to clean it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price it should have a much higher quality standard. The maintenance is significatively low and you can see it in every corner in and out the room. The room was not clean at all, and there was plenty of dust hidden under the bed. The toilet was old and very dirty.

    the only good thing about this place is that is relatively close to the train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.9
    The heating was good in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet seat in Room 118 was moving. The space to sit was very narrow for normal built people.

    The heating was good in the evening. In the morning, we missed it a bit, but was ok. The Staff was very helpfull.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Great WiFi connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet didn’t flush when we checked-in & there was no toilet paper (this also wasn’t restocked on a daily basis & we had to ask twice for replenishments during our stay) There was visible mold damage on the walls; despite appearing to have been cleaned the unsightly black marks were still visible & made the stay less pleasant.

    Great WiFi connection We had some issues when first checked-in, but the staff were very helpful in trying to rectify the problem ASAP (ie toilet not working)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    2.9
    heater was not working and we said the problem to reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    heater was not working and we said the problem to reception. unfortunatelly they did nothing. it was crazy cold all night and we were cold. Breakfast was so simple by including just two things: biscuit and crovasan! both of not tasty! I will ne ver choose this hotel! It is worse than a hostel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.3
    Staff didn’t let me to receive in advance a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn’t let me to receive in advance a small package/delivery at the hotel. And I was forced to wait for 2 hours in the DHL service point, until the delivery man would arrive. Their answer was “I’m not sure for your request” via email, and after calling and asking them about a possibility to send a package via post, DHL, to their hotel, and to receive it on check-in, they replied “You can send us any email and we’ll reply”. That’s funny, but really stupid.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.2
    They have a stair-elevator but they don't do the effort...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They have a stair-elevator but they don't do the effort to repair it, even they give they impression to give facilities for persons in a wheelchair, highly problematic to do about 20 steps ... once you're at the first floor, the room and the bathroom are big enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.2
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower on another floor , with no place to put your clothes or any thing, because it's too small. Bathroom looks dirty and smells really bad. You have to clean it up. Room needs refreshing, everything looks a bit dirty and falling apart. And I had an extra bad, with just a dirty mattress on it standing in my room for 2 days. (though they promised to take it out) It's freezing in the night! (Someone from the stuff put a heater in my room just for the last night) Dining room had a funky smell as well. And breakfast coffee is just a mess. Guys you can't charge this money for a place like that, just because it's in Venice.

    location friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location, basic rooms, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom contained someone's left behind clothes which means they hadn't checked them properly. Otherwise everything was clean

    I was quite worried about this booking given the Trip Advisor reviews but we found the staff helpful and good natured. The rooms were basic but perfectly fine and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.4
    Probably wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building, although old (it is venice) was quite nice and presentable. My biggest complaint was the cleanliness of the bathroom. The bedroom wasnt too bad although the floor needed a good mop. The bathroom was quite disgusting. There was mold all over the tiles on the walls that I was able to wipe off myself. It didnt look like the toilet had been cleaned in a while and the whole room therfore had a very damp feel.

    The location was perfect. 10 minute walk from Piazzale Roma (where the bus gets in from the airport) and only a 15-20 minute walk into St Marks square. Shopping right round the corner and the room had a canal view which was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    2.5
    Nothing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were rude ...the room was filthy especially the bathroom ...insects crawling in shower area ..sticky cement like floor ...broken bed ..furniture generally falling to pieces ..the blankets smelled awful ..I slept in my clothes !!

    Nothing !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    beds are comfortable and the breakfast was just right for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator. not good for senior citizen especially if you are travelling with big luggage

    beds are comfortable and the breakfast was just right for the amount we paid. they accommodate and resolve at once if you have a problem concerning your room. staff are very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Iris Venice traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: