Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Isola Bella This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Nazionale 196, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#58 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1039 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    5.0
    The view and location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt suspiciously like bleach when we arrived. We had bites and found bedbugs in the bed.

    The view and location was great. The staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The aircondition was a bit too basic, it took us a while to understand how to adjust it to our needs. The cleaning in the morning was done a bit too late, we had to wait for our room outside the door, after breakfast...

    The location, the terraces, the view to the bay was splendid. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.1
    Great time in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Missing the air con played up a lot. Really needed it especially in the heat.

    Great location awesome view, staff were lovely, single rooms tiny, bad air con, good breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.7
    Worth it for the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities are a bit old and tired, the shower door was hanging off, the bed wasn't comfortable. Very basic facilities.

    The view twas absolutely amazing, beautiful. If you can, try to get a room with sea view because it's worth it, for all the other faults of the hotel it's still worth it to wake up to the view of isola Bella. The pool was a nice area and staff were really helpful. Breakfast was really good selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.5
    Super nice sea view and good swimming pool. Don`t expect very much comfort from single rooms.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was very tiny - even for a "S" size women. Room need a little renovation.

    Good location, nice swimming pool, breakfast was very OK for 3 star hotel and staff very helpful. Super sea view from balcony!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    8.8
    Top notch location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can only recommend this hotel. The staff was very helpful and welcoming, and always with a smile 🙂 The breakfast was excellent, and the view from the balcony, overlooking Isola Bella, was stunning. 👍👍👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My bed was really uncomfortable for me, but that is just my opinion. Internet was very slow and kept breaking

    Lovely hotel with friendly & very helpful staff. Beautiful location, and town is easy to access, even when you are backpacking, just more information how to get there would be good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Amazing spot with great amenities and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had expected from the photos that the pool was looking out to the view rather than being covered by the whole building but it was still nice.

    The view from my room was incredible I was right in front of Isola Bella and it was a great location to be close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    6.3
    Great view, great location, stay awhile!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were hard and uncomfortable, the room was tiny, and it was quite dangerous walking along the road to get to the beach or cable car to see Taorima

    Fantastic location! The view from our room was amazing! After the fact we found out the bus actually stops just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    Nice experiencie getting to know Taormina...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This time I do not have complaints

    The hotel Isola Bella in a prety good facilitie located just in front of the Isola Bella itself. Most of the restoran and shops are in the high part of the town, so yu need to buy tickets for a Funivia that runs every half and hour from downtown to the beach and viceversa, the trip takes like 3 minutes. It is not cheap, 3 euros one way, 6 euros round trip. So it is better to buy daily tickes or more. Taormina is a totally turistic destination similar to Sorrento, near Naples. The breakfast was prety good with friendly staff and enough diferente types of bread, brioches, cafe and salami. It have a pool in a terrace behind the hotel with an awsome view of the beach, the Isola and the sea landscape.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Isola Bella wedding stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all loved it

    Great location lovely views v close to beach even though down a lot is steps to the beach but well worth it staff helpful great value for money hotel a little dated decor and rooms wise but will definitely be going back close to cable car which takes you to the main resort area with aĺl the shops bars and restaurants which there are a plenty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.5
    - Great view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The hotel could do with some refurbishing. - Extremely cramped bathroom with the most prominent place (not for the sink, the shower or the toilet, but) for the bidet. I could only stand sideways in the shower and I had to pull the shower screen back to be able to sit on the toilet. - Small bed.

    - Great view from the room. - Good location, close to the beach, funicolare and bus stop (to the centre of town), and even on walking distance from the train station. - Good breakfast included. - Fair price. - Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The outside of the hotel needs a make-over. There is a lovely pool area but it lacked decoration and bar service.

    Fantastic location with beautiful views. Our room had two balconies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    8.3
    Good value and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only issue really is the ability to have a great night's sleep; the beds are very hard and pillows are extremely lumpy so that you can to wake with stiff or numb limbs and neck, and if you're not a heavy sleeper it can be pretty noisy as you can hear flushing and showers from other bathrooms, doors banging and furniture moving during the night and early morning. So if this was sorted out and decor and furniture updated, it would make this hotel really good.

    Staff are really friendly and helpful, the hotel is super clean and location of the hotel and its pool is fab. We also had a lovely sea view which we weren't at all expecting from a standard room which was awesome. Overall it's good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.3
    Sunrise over the bay was fantastic as I had a sea view room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small shower, lack of power sockets in the room. Small balcony.

    Sunrise over the bay was fantastic as I had a sea view room, good breakfast with a lovely terrace overlooking the bay. comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very small bathroom. Pool could be a little nicer.

    Incredible value! Very clean and comfortable hotel with spectacular view of Isola Bella and excellent location! Staff is very friendly and professional. My room was tiny but had a balcony with breathtaking view! The road did not bother me at all. Breakfast was wonderful. Like I said, great value for your money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.6
    The unforgettable view from the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a little dated as the owners would accept but this is taken into account in the price .The road can be busy at times.

    The unforgettable view from the balcony . It is at the foot of Taormina’s hillside by the sea. Fantastic .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was so comfy, the bed was comfy too excellent cleaness . Breakfast : everthing was really fresh and really good. Stuff so helpful. Amazing sea views, will go again definitely and very central location too what would you ask for more..........NOTHING.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms and facilities a little basic but adequate. The road which is immediately in front of the hotel could be a little noisey. No dinner available.

    Good value for money and easy to get to the centre of the resort. Very good view over the sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    The view is a delight and impeccable service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing that would put me off staying at the hotel again.

    Exceptional staff and unbeatable view! Well located for access to a public beach and for the cable car to connect to Taormina centre. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom too small and room furniture very old but all you need is in the room.

    View from room is excelent. I needed gluten and dairy free breakfast and the staff had everything ready for me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    6.3
    An experience not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very noisy with no view at all (only a concrete wall), the bathroom was the smallest I have ever encountered. The shower itself was so small, I had trouble turning around in it. At nights it was rather cold so we wanted to use the extra blanket from the wardrobe, but it was so dirty we decided not to.

    The view from the restaurant where we had the breakfast was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.5
    Good value for that money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very very small.

    The location is perfect, very close to the beach. The hotel is what you could expect from this value, we even had a nice little balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    10
    Fabulous views and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked it all.

    Stunning location overlooking the ocean. the staff were all very helpful. Our top floor room had a huge balcony overlooking the beach. Taormina is a beautiful town and the hotel is in the ideal location for beach lovers, although the beach is very pebbly. The main town can be reached by cable car, bus or hundreds of steps. The buffet breakfast was very good. What a treat to enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the ocean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    9.6
    Taormina is beautiful =)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very very small cabin for shower in single room. I am very slim girl and even for me it was a little uncomfortable to take a shower. And to use toilet near cabin. Take into account. Small jellyfishes in sea were angry and sting people but it is just unpleasant. Not harmful.

    Amazing beautiful panoramic view!! Not all rooms have this view. Breakfast if full and deliiicious! Fresh juice that you can make by yourself, eggs, yogurts, scrambled eggs, toasts, butter, cheese, ham, corn flaces, coffee, tea, porridge, croissants, fruits. In general rather quite location despite of the car road near hotel. If you are sensitive as me may be you will hear 2-5 cars per hour in deep evening with opened door or window. If you close you'll not hear. In october traffic was poor in evening. Rooms are in classic style with enough good furniture. It is not modern and not fresh but of good quallity and look rather well. Pleasant staff. Taormina is beautiful =) Nature. Calm relaxed atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel as good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    7.1
    Good location to visit Taormina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremly noisy. We felt our bed was directly on the road with heavy traffic. We couldn’t sleep at night.

    The staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel is O.K. The breakfast is good, you can have it on the terrace with seeview.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic break in beautiful Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor is a bit old fashioned.

    This hotel is well situated for the beach which is beautiful although stony! The staff were fantastic. The hotel is spotless although the decor is quite old fashioned. It was great to have the swimming up at the rear of the hotel which was lovely and quiet. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    Fabulous experience.. we didn’t want to leave!
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very helpful and stored our luggage as we arrived earlier then check in. They made suggestions and organized our ride back to our airport connector. The views were stunning and we enjoyed the outdoor pool with views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    7.1
    Easy stay in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room decor and lack of facilities. The bar hasn't got a wide range of selection for women drinkers – some were very old-looking bottles.

    Plenty of choices for breakfast and great access to pool!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money but tight space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking in the street is becoming more and more difficult with more spaces being excluded. Also the triple room worked for the two of us but if we were indeed a group of three - it would have been really tight.

    You can have breakfast on the terrace overlooking Isola Bella - no sandy beach can beat this view! And you don't have to drive into Taormina city centre while being close enough by jumping into funiculare.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    6.7
    Great location for beach access, but there are nicer accommodations nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is in a desperate need of a refurbishment and some general maintenance very old furniture pool not clean

    Excellent location in front of Isola Bella with easy access to the beach / island. Public Transport stop exactly in front of the hotel Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    7.5
    not bad really at a price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no restaraunt poor brekkie...parking some what haphazard.......crap tv no international

    good staff. great pool. warmish .nice.... we had economy room a smoker with shutters openng onto Isole Bella....great view nive terrace for late evening....must mention Guiseppe on counter reception very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    7.9
    Ok but needs to be bought up to date a bit very old fashioned furniture An bedding but staff excelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our friends view was a brick wall an all the the laundrey drying but our view was brilliant didn't have any red wine in building went an bought from shop to join our friends on terrace for pre eve drinks for at least the time we were there four days

    Hotel very tired location good beach lovely but pebbly need jellies

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay in perfect location, would definitely stay again!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very thin walls, you here everything. A bit annoying when you're trying to sleep and the neighbours come home at 2 am, speaking loudly. Or at 8 in the morning when the cleaning ladies phone is ringing constantly.

    Stunning view! Superb staff and great breakfast. Perfect location and only 7 min walking distance to funicular, bus stops right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    Great breakfast, so much to choose from!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite old-fashioned interiors, old equipment (hair dryer e.g.), but actually everything works well and in a good condition, so it is not rather a minus but just a remark.

    Great breakfast, so much to choose from! Really spectacular view from the balcony to Isola Bella, couldn't help but seeing it 24/7, the better thing was just swimming around it! Helpful and kind staff; There is a lift just out from the street, no climbing with heavy luggage up the staircase ;)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    7.1
    great location but you have to be very lucky to find a place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is no parking, I had to spend a lot of time trying to find a place to park my car.

    great location but you have to be very lucky to find a place to parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    7.5
    Expensive stay in old 3-star hotel with amazing view to Isola Bella.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price!!! Too much for old 3-star hotel. And - the way to the beach. You expect just to go down for 2-3 minutes to reach the beach, but instead you have to go long way - for 300 meters down the street, close to buses and cars (almost no way for pedestrians), then down the long stairs, then back to Isola Bella beach, which appers to be stone beach, not sand! It is impossible to enter the water without special shoes (which you can buy from strange people there for 10 EUR). The Isola Bella itself can be reached just by walking through water, there is a National Park on the island, but entry is for money. To go back to the airport, you have to catch airport bus (6 EUR per person), but the bus stop is upstairs in Taormina, and you pay 15 EUR for taxi! And no channels on TV, except Italian.

    The view from our triple room on last floor (sea view) to Isola Bella was incredible!!! The swimming pool is an excellent option. Breakfast was normal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    6.7
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A/C was week. Staff entered the room with the do not disturb sign on. Elevator was not working when I checked out, so I had to carry luggage down several flight of stairs. Parking is far from hotel.

    The best thing about my room was the view of Isola Bella Island.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room for three.Cracked. and broken floor tiles.Outside door broken.Broken coat hangers .Hotel very tired and old.Pool was falling apart and all towels were very worn.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    8.3
    All in all, it was a pleasant experience despite the couple of faults.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From our booking confirmation it looked like the breakfast was included but we were told upon arrival that it wasn't and we would have to pay 10 euro each every morning for breakfast which is a bit ridiculous. The beds are seriously uncomfortable, like some of the worst beds ive ever slept on.

    The service to the local beach was excellent and worth the money. The location was great and the swimming pool was fantastic. Was there everyday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    4.6
    It's not worth the huge amount of money you pay for this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got a room in next to road and it was impossible to sleep the fisrt night with the noises. Next morning we asked to change the room and we got a better one. Rooms are equipped with old furniture as beds and AC. First morning we arrived 20 minutes before the breakfast ended and there wasn't almost anything and we asked to refill it and kitchen stuff were really rude and complaining and they didn't refill anything.

    The staff in the reception was super nice and friendly and they tried to help us with everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.6
    Taormina Family Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower was poor, but didn't detract from the overall enjoyment. Poolside could have been improved by a little extra decoration / planting. My wife's costume was also stained by the paint off the pool.

    Breakfast was superb and the view was great - however, this is room dependent. Staff at breakfast and at reception were very helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.2
    It has a terrific location close to restaurants and near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have the smallest shower cubicles you could imagine. The breakfast could do with more fruit.

    It has a terrific location close to restaurants and near the cable car to Taormina. The Isola Bella beach is directly across the road and easily accessible. They also have access to another organised beach down the road. It was excellent value for money and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.2
    Phenomenal Location & Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would recommend booking your excursions in the nearby town - there are tons of travel agencies there that have much more competitive prices that can pick you up from the hotel.

    We were so blown away by the location of this hotel! The room was basic but the view and balcony made our stay so fantastic. The hotel is a five minute walk from the beach and to the cable car that brings you to Taormina town. It's located just ten minutes drive from the train station so it's an ideally located hotel. Francesco was the most delightful man, he was so helpful and ensured our stay was enjoyable and memorable. Not only did he ensure we had the nicest room, he also booked in our quad biking excursion to Mount Etna. He also recommended the most delicious restaurant, a seafood place about 1 minute walk from the hotel. We would recommend the sea view rooms as the view is better than most 4 and 5 star hotels in the area. It was an extra treat to have a swimming pool at the rear of the property. The breakfast was lovely - we enjoyed our freshly squeezed orange juice. They even offered a room service breakfast for no additional cost! All in all this hotel is the best three star I've stayed in - the location, the staff and the views all made it a great trip! Would recommend to anyone looking to enjoy the sights of Taormina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    9.6
    Best Taormina Hotel for Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are a bit small. The elevator shut off occasionally, but was repaired within hours. You have to climb about two flights of stairs to reach the pool area. If you walk to the public beach which is beautiful, beware that it is a very stony beach and there is a very long set of stairs to navigate in order to get there. Walking along the narrow street in front of the hotel feels precarious. It may be difficult to find parking near the hotel if you are driving.

    The view from the hotel is incredible of the Isola Bella island. The staff is very helpful and competent. Francesco helped us to park our car for the duration in front of the hotel. Our room (65) had two balconies with wonderful sea views. The pool is large with lounges and shaded areas. Once I was the only one swimming. The hotel has a shuttle service for 6 euros to a beach with lounges and umbrellas, which we did not use. It is about a 600 meter walk to the finuvia cable car up to Taormina- a great ride for 3 euros each way. Taormina is an incredible place, only wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    8.8
    Hotel Isola Bella was a nice stay for a single traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The single bed room was very small, so someone who needs a lot of space would not enjoy it. The bathroom was a bit cramped as well, but for my needs, everything was fine.

    The breakfast was well equipped and expansive. There was a working elevator and air conditioning, so the stay was comfortable. The tv seemed to have many channels. The beach was basically a 3 minute walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    7.1
    Truly lovely view and very pleasant room, but tiny bathroom, poor shower and noisy road
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Road traffic and people on street very noisy so hard to sleep with windows open. Road outside also very busy and with no pavement, not a pleasant walk to beach. Bathroom is tiny and shower poor, in urgent need of updating. Shops nearby have limited choice of food and snacks. Hard to find a decent restaurant nearby.

    The view from the balcony, very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.9
    Perfect place to stay by the sea and just outside Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was clean and air conditioned and the bed large and comfortable but the decor is very dated and the bathroom in much need of some titivation and attention to the shower/bath screen, plugs etc. The breakfast was adequate but even the freshly squeezed orange juice (squeezed by us) was downgraded by having plastic glasses. Shame! We didn't enjoy walking along the road in front of the hotel - it was 10 minutes or so walk to the Funivia lift up to Taormina and a little way to the steps down to the beach - due to the crazy driving, particularly of scooters and no pavement. But the locals seemed quite relaxed walking along so I guess they were used to it.

    We loved the view over Isola Bella itself from our balcony. Francesco at reception was charming and helpful. The swimming pool was a lovely place to cool down after a hot morning sightseeing in Taormina. The reception and dining areas are quite smart and there is a little bar available for refreshments and mini bar in the room. Francesco helped us book a guided tour up Mount Etna which was well worth it. A brilliant place to stay by the see from which to enjoy Taormina without having the expense of staying the busy town. Found a great restaurant, Il Gabbiano, just down the road. Good food, lovely service and beautiful over the sea and the Island.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    4.2
    The hotel with a perfect view, it's only good feature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel. The pool was grubby, after you have to climb 3 flights to get to it. Breakfast was ok at best. The room had no aircon, they thought a bidet wedged against the shower was a good idea. The fire alarm cable had been installed. But no fire alarm.

    The view. The location is pretty much perfect. Even walking around the 5* resorts in the area they didn't come close to the positioning of this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    8.8
    Views to die for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was hard and pillows lumpy but Iv come to find that is normal in Italy.

    I had low expectations for this hotel as I walked into my miniature single room. But then I opened the blinds to the most incredible view I could have asked for overlooking Isola Bella. I highly recommend asking for a third floor sea view room and you won't be dissapointed. The pool at the top of the property is also lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    10
    Serene setting in beautiful Taormina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rocky beach is hard to maneuver. My husband cut his foot on some rocks so be sure to wear water shoes. Taiwanese women comb the beach offering leg massages. Some are better than others.

    Beautiful views. Comfy beds. Full breakfast very helpful and friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    7.5
    A front room with view to die for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel rooms very dated but clean. The hotel le plage on beach below very inconsiderate with emptying countless bottles into bins at 1.30am one morning and 6.30am. Road can be a little noisy too so take earplugs!!

    View, view and view. Brilliant outlook fro room 89. Nice sized balcony. Air con. Tea, coffee and fridge. Staff very helpful. Pool large and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money for Taormina and lovely staff but very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is noisy at night due to the road and nearby railway. Also the rooms could do with an update.

    Incredible view, great staff. Swimming pool which are hard to find in Taormina. Buffet breakfast €10 which is reasonable for the area. Reasonable prices for drinks. Hotel is value for money for the area. Shuttle to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    10
    The lovely warm pool and the varied tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only negative asoect is the hotels proximity to the main road and railway line. Exceptionally noisy

    The lovely warm pool and the varied tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    7.1
    Property is on a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single room is very small, especially the bathroom. It is very noise during night due to main coastal road and railway crossing just below the hotel.

    Property is on a great location. Close to the beach and also from the cable car to go to the city center of Taormina. I find easily free parking on the street very close to the property. View from the room was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    9.2
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No childproof lock options. Hallway noise leaks easily into room. Beds were not too our liking, rather stiff. Hotel furniture dated. Walls needed obvious patching. Small bathrooms. No private parking, only street parking.

    Stunning views of Isola Bella from Panoramic View Room (3rd Floor) Great breakfast selection with another great view of Isola Bella from the terrace. Amazing pool behind hotel with views, lounge chairs and umbrellas. Shallow end that my 20m daughter enjoyed. Close proximity (10 minute walk) to cable lift and dinning options. All staff friendly and eager to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    4.6
    Good location But dont try and take a shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower in our room was rediculious It was that small you could not wash your hair wiyhout hitting your elbows on the walls To bend down to pick anything up was impossible (we are not large people) Large people would find it impossible to use the shower

    It was close to resturants and beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    8.3
    Loved the view from our balcony .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little small and rather dated.. The traffic in front of the hotel was busy and noisy. Walking on the street with little or no sidewalks was a test of your nerves.

    Loved the view from our balcony ..centrally located between the beach and and the lift to Taormina. Lots of restaurants and convenience stores nearby... the staff was accommodating and the pool was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    7.9
    Exceptional views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed and pillows were not to our preference but we managed to sleep fine!!

    Beautiful views, great breakfast selection, very helpful and friendly staff. Ease of access to the beach and a short walk to the cable car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    7.5
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tha parking is not private. Everyone can park. And it is really difficult find place for your car. The shower is very weak. No pressure at all.

    The location. It is very good. Close to the sea. The room is not bad and staff are very polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    8.8
    5 mins walk to Bella island, and the cable car to Taormina...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom is the tiniest I have ever seen... as a slim tiny person, I even feel very stressed when I took the shower in the "box"... 10 euros breakfast... the furnitures are a bit old, the mattress feels old too

    5 mins walk to Bella island, and the cable car to Taormina old town. 5 mins taxi (10 euros) away from train station. Clean, and VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL staff. Fantastic view from the balcony, I enjoyed reading my book and doing nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    6.3
    Room with a view, very old furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Furniture is just out dated, super old. The bathroom was extremely tiny and the shower cramped and old Noisy

    The view on isola bella is absolutely stunning Awesome location Good variety of food served during breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    8.8
    Sensational outlook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wonderful views far outweigh the negatives but it is difficult to walk safely from the hotel to nearby places as there is little or no footpath and the road is the major coastal thoroughfare. Rooms facing the road can be noisy due to traffic below and passing trains-around 2 an hour. We had a mosquito problem in our room. The beach across the road is difficult to access.

    Staff were great. Apologetic about the inconvenience caused by G7 Conference and consequent security/restricted access to old town. They were helpful with our questions about transport and kindly printed boarding passes for our flights. Views were fabulous from our big balcony. Great seafood restaurant nearby

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    7.5
    View and position is very good, staff was very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in ground floor, it is really dampy and smells. Another problem is that these rooms are very noisy since it is near to a very common road. It is better if they find a solution for noise and damp. I advice people to stay another floor.

    View and position is very good, staff was very helpful and kind. It is clean and has really good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    5.8
    Amaizing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Deposite the total recepit twice at booking from application and at check out Was 195€ the booking + amount check out same amount There is many mosqitoes

    Amaizing view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    6.7
    The pool was nice, although it needed to be cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is rather over priced and is on the main road with no pavement or sidewalk so it is difficult or dangerous to walk along the beach road. When we stayed the cable car was not working (locked down ahead of the G7 summit, apparently!) and was replaced by a totally inadequate bus service

    The pool was nice, although it needed to be cleaner The staff were helpful and speak good English The restaurant in the hotel next door is good and not too expensive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    7.5
    Incredibale view feom the seaview bedrooms therefore worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom is small and as soon as the sun will rise lots of hot air in the bedroom and no ac or fan available free

    The ciew from the bedroom as it was a seaview

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    9.6
    Great value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast should be better by raising fees perhaps. More quality cheese salami etc

    Best view of the bay clean and has all you need. Staff proud of hotel and attentive

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    8.8
    Very nice welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too bad that there is a problem to park near hotel.

    Very nice welcome. Good and rich breakfast, great location for sightseeing and exploring. Good hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    10
    Such a treat. What a location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Gobsmackingly beautiful location! Great fun getting the cable car up to the town (5 minute journey). Easy bus journey to train station (5 minutes away). Lovely pool too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    8.8
    Well positioned hotel for Taormina but with plenty to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you get the chance ask jot to have room 42. The next door property wall has fallen down and has been covered with plastic sheeting and rubble (April 2017)

    Stunning views from the front rooms. The breakfast is good especially when taken on the terrace. Well positioned to take the 135 steps down to the beach (they will lend you towels to go to the beach with) or the short walk to the cable car up into Taormina.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    7.5
    View, food, culture !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We didn't like the fact that in evening there was a powerful bulb with a strong light to our balcony. Breakfast was basic with very little choices.

    The view from our room was amazing. The staff was kind and helpful. Pool area was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    7.5
    Fantasic holiday, beware of Taxi Fares
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very disappointed with transport from airport. Our flight arrived after public transport finished 9pm. Taxi driver ripped us off and charged €150 from airport to hotel, approx 55km. Fare should have been discussed and should not have been more than €90.

    Hotel is basic. Facilities could be updated. Location very good with excellent views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    10
    Excellent stay for visiting Taormina, Etna and relaxing on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good quality breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff and pleasant rooms. Front rooms have sea view but moderately busy road. We had a back room, which are quiet (but without the sea view). Short walk to cable car for Taormina centre visit, and short walk down to a nice little beach to relax.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    7.5
    The view from the balcony was amazing at any time of the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The corridors were a bit noisy when the rooms were occupied... the rooms are not sound proof and could hear everything that was going on while I was trying to take a nap

    The view from the balcony was amazing at any time of the day. So glad we booked a sea view room.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Isola Bella Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: