Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Italia 3 stars

Via Geppa 15, 34132 Trieste, Italy

#32 of 43 hotels in Trieste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    A lovely place for a few days holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was delighted by the service at the hotel. I was travelling with my mother, who is visually impaired, my mum was in a specially designed room for visitors with disabilities and I was next door. This specially adapted room was next to the breakfast room, the breakfast was ever so good. The hotel was as advertised, the staff were ever so helpful and kind. I would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Great staff, but I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was unacceptable, and in fact offensive. Instead of being free, it required that you register with a 3rd party company. providing name. email, gender, age and telephone number. Obviously so you can be targeted for marketing spam. I didn't fall for that; I used the data on my phone. Secondly, the a/c did not work at all. Zero. I had to keep the windows open all night, listening to traffic and cats meowing.

    The staff was exceptionally helpful. The room was large and mostly comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    An afordable option for Trieste
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of breakfast could be better I had a room near the breakfast hall and the coffee machine was loud enough to wake me up in the morning. My advise is to avoid rooms near the breakfast area.

    The location is very convenient situated with access to main important places in Trieste. The staff was very supportive

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Completely satisfied with my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There didn't seem to be many decent cafes in the immediate area for the evening.

    Very pleased with the size of the room, the heating, hot water, cleaning, quiet (looked out into the well of the building), and the staff. It would certainly be amongst the options for a return visit. Well situated for the railway and bus stations, the tram when it's repaired and the buses from Pza Oberdan. About 10-20 minutes walk to central areas.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Quite large one bedroom hotel with high ceilings, good breakfast, and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    Good location in Trieste with large shutter doors providing great views of the quietish street below. Breakfast was basic but staff very attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    A nice quiet and conveninet stay for 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was basic and small. It was a 3-star hotel and I normally do 4 and 5 stars. But for the 2 nights in Trieste and the location, I cannot beat it. It's all good. Just expect a 3 star hotel as they indicated.

    This is a 3 star hotel as they advertise. It is very close to the train station and also in walking distance to the main square. The front is very much urban and they have a small elevator and large stairwells. The breakfast served was continental and it was a nice stay. I would recommend it for anyone saving a few bucks. Don't expect the Taj Mahal or the Hilton, but do expect courteous, clean and respectful service from the staff and the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice and very helpfull staff especially young man at breakfast room and girl at reception when we arrived,room on the first floor,very good internet,so will come next time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing I did not like that the parking is far away, 800 meter and it cost 10 euro for 24 hours or 6 euro up to 6 hours. You are charged every time you drive out and in again, so it is not possible to pay just the 10 euro if you want to use your car. On booking it is said that the parking is available at the hotel, which is not . At the end of the day for me no problem because I like to walk and I parked outside of the charged zone on the street,

    Place is perfect, nice people , very helpful. I liked the breakfast, especially the coffe was really good and the sweets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.0
    Good for a quick stay, comfortable if slightly faded, great location for train/bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was unusually warm on the day I stayed and the AC had not yet been turned on, so the first room they gave me was a bit stuffy. I asked for a fan, but they had none to provide. However, they did move me to a different room in a cooler location, with two windows, and that was cool enough. Hotel still uses old huge keys that you must leave at the front desk and also insert the huge wooden end of it into a slot to turn power on when you enter the room. Many hotels still use these ancient keys - wish they would upgrade!

    Location near the train/bus stations was great short stay in Trieste. The walk into the center of town is quick. The hotel feels a bit old and slightly faded, but it is clean, the room was big, and it was comfortable. Good bathroom. Front desk staff was friendly, helpful, spoke English. I was able to buy two bus tickets from them. Breakfast was OK, nothing special.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is in a good location, near city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was the same in all days and very poor.

    The hotel is in a good location, near city center. The staff was very responsive to our requires.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.5
    The location is great very close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately the wifi in rooms was not working during the period of our stay. The bathroom in our room needs some upgrade.

    The location is great very close to city centre. The staff was friendly. Even the hotel has no parking place the garage at railway station was very close.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.4
    Very basic, you can do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi in the rooms, even though wifi was noted as a hotel facility. Breakfast was very basic. Room could have been cleaner. You can do better.

    This is a very basic hotel. There are plenty of options at this price range so keep looking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    7.5
    Great location, helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Something dripping in the bathroom all night!!!! Difficult to sleep.Walls too thin. Could hear somebody talking all night. There is outside noise as well, but it is the center, so it is not unusual. If you want a good night's sleep-find another hotel!

    Great location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All was fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location, clean, okay priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use some new beds and better air conditioner maybe.

    Good location, clean, okay priced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    No parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Central location and happy englishspeaking staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, the old city centre about next block, and not far from Silos car parking. Trieste is a beautiful and historic city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Great location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    very kind staff at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very kind staff at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls. You can heat everything.

    Excellent location and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Close to train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room really small. Unstable WIFI.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    close to train station and to city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    close to train station and to city center

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location and nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Enjoyed staying here , good location to everything, nice breakfast, clean rooms . Close to railway station and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Good price for being near city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was goid for the price and was right in the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Big room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room and bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful stay and will visit same place next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    booked for one big bed but was given a twin bed instead

    Breakfast was excellent with variety. Early check in was granted to me

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    no parking, small hall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no parking, small hall

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast was good , the person at the breakfast room took...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was perfect.

    Breakfast was good , the person at the breakfast room took extra effort to serve anything that I asked , she made fresh coffee which was very sweet of her, amazing staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.9
    internet did not work in my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    internet did not work in my room. reception said it worked at their desk so it should work in my room...that made no sense to me. if you dont need internet it is a nice place, quiet and clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    8.8
    Good location near the train station and city center, quiet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wi fi in our room on 2nd floor, nor in the dinig room on the first. Only in th lobby.

    Good location near the train station and city center, quiet, clean. friendly & helpful staff. Fair breakfast for this kind of hotels, fair parking arrangements with public parking spots nearby

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.3
    Perfect location, good cafe with the breakfast, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free wi-fi has been promised, but practically not available nor in the room neither in common places.

    Perfect location, good cafe with the breakfast, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.5
    great stuff, super location, easy to find the hotel, payed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    old bathrooms, bad water pumps a little bit ruined the impression about hotel

    great stuff, super location, easy to find the hotel, payed parking is not far away, easy access to town center and nice places and restaraunts

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    Only stayed one night, but were made more than welcome by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing that we noticed.

    Only stayed one night, but were made more than welcome by all staff. Close to both bus and train stations, and just short walk to good restaurants. Comfortable room, and pleasant bathroom. More than adequate breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Situated incredibly close to the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Situated incredibly close to the train station. I found a really available and smiley face at the reception that answered every question and gave me all the directions I needed. Clean and comfy bathroom, and a nice bed to rest.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.6
    Super location - just near the rr sta, but not in pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints

    Super location - just near the rr sta, but not in pretty downtown/tourist atea. Super nice and helpful perfect-English-speaking staff. 4 star room for 3 star price.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    Good hotel with all needed amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good hotel with all needed amenities. I stayed for one night on my way from Slovenia to Venice and the hotel offered me everything I needed: good price, location close to the train station, walking distance to the center, free wifi, okay breakfast, air-conditioning, friendly staff...

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    6.7
    Hotel is 5min walking from center, very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very slow internet, there is no private parking close to the hotel, not nice neighborhood, small room, overpriced

    Hotel is 5min walking from center, very friendly and helpfull staff, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    8.3
    The breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast! The locatization: near the train station. The hotel is simple, old furniture, but ok.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.8
    Friendly and competent staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor wifi. No controll on heating in the room.

    Friendly and competent staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    10
    staff efficiente e cordiale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    staff efficiente e cordiale.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.8
    Friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful staff Quiet comfortable room good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    Wifi is very slow.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is very slow.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    Great location for what I needed (close to station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location for what I needed (close to station and tram/ funicular stop)

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    The friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very, very poor.

    The friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable. The location is good - close to the city center.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    Nice staff, easy going
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice staff, easy going

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    7.1
    -Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -WiFi worked from time to time -Breakfast served in very tiny hall

    -Location -Staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.3
    Parking po ceni od 10 eura za dan u garaži koja je na par...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking po ceni od 10 eura za dan u garaži koja je na par minuta hoda od hotela.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.6
    Reception staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Reception staff; good sized, comfortable single room.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    9.2
    Best breakfast in Trieste
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best breakfast in Trieste

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    6.3
    Friendly and helpful staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad experience with noisy schoolclass starting the fire alarm twice during the middle of the night.

    Friendly and helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    10
    Thanx Michalina for the delicious coffees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Thanx Michalina for the delicious coffees..All the staff were super

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    7.5
    Fine hotel near the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bit of a dodgy neighbourhood.

    Fine hotel near the train station.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    10
    Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Great Staff

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: