Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Jafferau 4 stars

Località Frejusia, 10052 Bardonecchia, Italy

#21 of 24 hotels in Bardonecchia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 429 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    A mistake - never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was really not nice (felt like school dinner), with very small portions and very expensive (30€/person, drinks excluded). The service was appalling: they would pick up your plate as soon as one had finished whilst the other where still eating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Great hotel, but too much like Fawlty Towers with all the characters in real life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its like Fawlty Towers. Food expensive and not ideal quality. Key to room didnt work. Electricity didnt work every day.

    Lovely hotel. The shuttle service is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.8
    Do not book Kitchenette room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with Kitchenette but we didn't expect we would sleep in a sofa bed, very uncomfortable for a hotel of 4 stars. We didn't except to pay to go to the pool

    Wonderful view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.4
    nah
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant didn't prove good value for the money, swimming pool costs €10 for one swim during the few opening hours. Check-out payment was incorrect, beds were hard as .... and room had no outside view!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.8
    Okay, but wouldn't recommend to anyone accept maybe those who drive there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Despite the hotel saying there staff speak English only one member actually could which made requests quite difficult. In the room the beds weren't particularly comfortable and it didn't even come with a kettle. For dinner you could pay £30 a night or you could order à la carte where the cheapest dish is 12 euro for what could barely pass as a starter. Furthermore, due to the location you are basically trapped, the gondola shuts at 5:00 pm which means if you wanted to go into town for food or drink, you couldn't, meaning you are forced to eat their overpriced food.

    Not much to say that I liked apart from that the rooms were kept clean, the hotel is ski-in ski-out and the breakfast was quite nice especially for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing amenities/ isolated location and poor food choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location could be perfect for someone who wants to stay at the hotel and does not move anywhere. The hotel is located at the top of the mountain and if you have no car you'd be forced to stay there with nothing else around. Ski lift can take you down to the town but it opens at 8.30am and last one to go up is at 4.45pm. Due to snowing once, the road to go up was impossible to drive through, therefore we had to leave the car down by the ski lift and pick it up the next day by using ski lift down (inconvenient as we couldn't go anywhere in the evening without a car). Couple of useful points I wished I knew before: - dinner at the hotel is only a choice of set menu with 30EUR per person. If you have no car, you have no choice of exploring anything else (shuttle bus goes down but you have to pre-book and last one to go back to the hotel goes at 8pm) - swimming pool and sauna is only available when you purchase hair cover for 3EUR per person - there is no proper bar (only area by the reception) - breakfast is 6EUR per person. Limited choice and found crumbled eggs cold... - no entertainment or anything else happening in the evening. Disappointing due to hotel being very isolated - you can only access bardoneccia ski slopes, and if you want to access campo ski, les arnaus or melezet- you would have to get there by car. - the hotel is very outdated and nothing I'd expect for a 4 star hotel. Would give maximum 3 and I have no idea how they've managed to reach 4 star! - there is no kettle or cups to make tea/ coffee in the room- big surprise as I've never been anywhere without this being provided and I am frequent traveler.

    Nice a cosy fire place area to have a drink.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    AMAZING EXPERIENCE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to note.

    We were lucky enough to find a last minute room. The hotel is located in the mountain and offers an amazing view of the mountains. It is a door step away from the slopes, which makes it ideal for any skiing holiday. Property also offers a free shuttle service from the train station of Bardonecchia, and it is extremely convenient when the narrow road leading to the hotel is covered in snow (although the road is normally cleared of snow). The staff are very helpful and breakfast is good as well. Rooms are relatively large and includes a small terrace overlooking the mountains.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I slept on a couch-bed instead a bed Maschine for the payment not working properly have to wait 15 minute and after go to the restaurant near by to pay Bath complementary as soap and shampoos poor quality and cheap products Shower with plastic doors Tv screen big as a pc screen and old

    Nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.2
    i won't come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the only good thing is the position. All other things are not good enough for a 4 stars hotel. Wifi does not work, the food quality is under the normal standard and the waiters ask you the same thing 2 or 3 times every time. i won't come back

    the only good thing is the position. All other things are not good enough for a 4 stars hotel. Wifi does not work, the food quality is under the normal standard and the waiters ask you the same thing 2 or 3 times every time. i won't come back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice view, great stay, laughed about the extremely poor food and wine ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was terrible. Wine of poor quality, maybe because the forgot to offer us the winelist and we got stuck with some nasty table-wine. But the real surprise was the food, which was really, really, really disgusting ...

    Great view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    2.9
    I DO not advice this place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked an appartment with kitchen (30 eurso more expensive than the normal one). I arrived late in the evening and the kitchen was locked and i couldn't prepared my dinner and my breakfast. I didn't complain to not noise the personal of the hotel, so i just waited the day after to have breakfast downstairs. At the moment of the payment they wanted make me pay 6 euros more for the beackfast, knowing I payed 30 euros more to have a kitchen than I couldn't use. I complained and the owner insulted me... The owner is a machist and very rude person.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.3
    Bizarre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay extra to use the pool and they had a guard making sure people did not enter the pool. When we arrived they were confused about booking.com and we didn't get the room that we booked. The road was way off from the main city that wasn't fully explained in the booking material.

    It was beautiful and remote. Staff was nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    On top of the Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food choice a little limited at this time of year (July)

    Excellent service from everyone. The view from the room was probably one of the best views we have ever had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.9
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was terrible, don't count on it. Rent your ski's elsewhere then at their neighbours.

    Great location just at the ski lift and slopes. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.1
    Skiers paradise...challenging logistics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several of the features outlined where not available or had very limited times of operation. Information about transfers from the train station and the logistics of a mountain top location and access to ski passes and other facilities would have been very helpful.

    The location is as good as it gets. Ski out facility at 2,000 meters in the Alps.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.5
    Winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge to use shuttle to village and back after 7pm. We had adjoining rooms (5 persons ) three of us were sleeping on sofa beds, not very comfortable. Hotel was full so couldn't offer alternate accommodation.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms with Beautiful views of the mountains. Decent breakfast Good facilities Cosy rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    2.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The efficiency of staff is extremely low, simple Check In takes two hours ,Check Out spent us more than one hour,completely delayed our ski time. Room card degaussing regularly,room power as well. There was a waitress in the front desk, his attitude was totally unacceptable. The attitude towards Chinese people were totally different with towards Italians . Disdain and utter strange sounds to make fun of us. We will not come back to this hotel alone for this reason.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    The rooms: we have small children and could get two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms: we have small children and could get two communicating rooms which was fantastic. Closeness to the ski slopes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    No space in garage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No space in garage. Had to park car 300 meters down icy road Breakfast terrible Staff borderline rude

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Cool for skiing!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supper is little bit expensive. :)

    Location. Room. Service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Spacious, relaxing, friendly and a great location with...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access of an evening is limited to the use of a shuttle service.

    Spacious, relaxing, friendly and a great location with stunning views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.8
    Good food at the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Isolated - no other languages spoken - very limited ski area

    Good food at the restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.8
    Not good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bus from the station to the hotel was broken. The distance from the town was 8,5 km. There was no signal to phone and no wifi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Great hotel on slopes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road to hotel difficult to find, very icy at top

    Very friendly helpful staff Clean and right on slopes

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    5.0
    Awful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is so disrespectful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    5.4
    During our stay there were too many children, screaming, not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    During our stay there were too many children, screaming, not nice. Staff was not ready to speak English, dinner was only by menu and no other choice of what to eat besides a huge meal with many courses for 35 euros each person. Desserts were not good. Breakfast not good either, old dry bread, industrialized and full of sugar options, not fruit, nothing healthy. We went to swimming pool and had to buy a swim cap. we could have brought one if we knew the rule. happy hour: hotel has no bar, only at reception where receptionist is always busy. Wine bar opens only after dinner. A hotel this size, 4 starts, should have a very nice bar open from 17:00. we paid 20 euros per night for the parking and the parking roof was leaking snow with salt now our new car has salt stains. There is parking outside for free!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    4.2
    The location although there is nothing else there and there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were rude, the facilities were very limited, no bar, food of poor standard, not good value for money, hotel badly run, no one spoke English, everything you asked for was a problem even down to ordering a taxi and asking for a tea or coffee at breakfast.

    The location although there is nothing else there and there is no bar or restaurants

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    8.8
    Really good facilities for a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The steam room wall tiles could do with a clean. Dinner is a bit expensive as presented with all courses. Suggest people take a la carte as the cheaper option.

    Really good facilities for a fair price. Staff friendly and helpful. Good service down the hill to the wider Campo Smith Ski area. Virtually no one on the fine pistes near the hotel. Ski hire and lessons for the kids available on site. We will be back again.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    5.4
    Nice clean rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Receptionist very rude and didn't tell us anything about the hotel facilities or dining times. Price of food and alcohol very high

    Nice clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location at 1900 mtrs altitude in the ski slope -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Slow wi-fi only in narrow spots. Limited English capacity of staff. Breakfast limited for a Northern Europan taste. Beds hard.

    Excellent location at 1900 mtrs altitude in the ski slope - yet, this time slopes were not open so the hotel shuttle took us a 20 minute trip to the open ski slopes. Staff friendly. Spa area large and included in price - turkish bath, sauna, pool and whirlpool. Dinner good. Rooms spacious and bathroom great. Hand knotted Persian carpets all over ground floors - never seen anything comparable before!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    4.2
    Surreal… The worst experience so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Surreal… The worst experience so far. If you are looking for ZERO customer service and tons of annoying things, this is the hotel that you got to book. On booking.com most clients don’t have the time to leave a full feedback about their stay, positive or negative, and this is our case, however i am doing an effort to make sure that other people don’t have the bad experience that we just had on this hotel, as our experience was way to uncomfortable. To be honest i don’t understand how can booking.com can have listed this kind of property, as i am sure we are not the only ones complaining about it. We are a young couple with a 36 months old baby, and in this occasion we booked the Jafferau Hotel for a short holiday in Bardonecchia, Italy. The reservation was made more than a month before, at the time we requested a baby cot. On our arrival, the receptionist didn’t even greet us, didn’t even say hello…i said i had a reservation on my name, she checked and gave me the room key asking for €5,00 deposit on it, which is fine when you go to a hostel, not on a “4 stars hotel” which i find ridiculous, however i didn’t mind much at this stage. After all we reached the room and the baby cot that i requested weeks before wasn’t there, so i needed to go back and asked for it (as they weren’t answering the phone). Once we set our things in the room, we went to the self service “restaurant” to have a quick lunch, and unfortunately the food was just terrible, something that actually is hard to find in Italy…but we actually did. Before the holidays we knew that there wasn’t going to be snow, but we didn’t mind and we went anyway, reason why the hotel was actually almost empty, but this “emptiness” turned quite “sad” as the hotel was looking very unwelcoming, everything was closed, all lights were off, we are walking g on many corridors were they were actually switched off (i believe was to save some money), and some services weren't working as they supposed to.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    7.9
    The staff at reception and kitchen are all very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WIFI is free, but the signal is extremely poor in the room. Shower water temperature is never stable, sometimes went cold, sometimes went hot, not comfortable.

    The staff at reception and kitchen are all very friendly and helped us a lot. The shuttle bus driver is kind. Mountain view outside our room is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    7.1
    Super view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool closed very early (indoor!) in summer High in the mountain, with a long and difficult road (20 minutes at least from the motorway)

    Super view Great rooms for summer

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    How quick and easy it was to get from check-in to skiing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    How quick and easy it was to get from check-in to skiing. It's ideal for a short ski break. It's not the most extensive ski network, but there aren't any queues and they clearly take pride in the area.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    5.0
    Room was very basic, beds terribly uncomfortable, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was very basic, beds terribly uncomfortable, location was great for snowboarding but other than that the hotel offered almost nothing for food and entertainment and town was far very far away.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    5.8
    Hotel is in a great location for skiing and the access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food, very poor espeically for the money that you have to pay as there is no where else to eat.Some staff members (lots of eyerolling from one certain receptionist because she could not understand what I was asking) not very helpful, no bathrobes or slippers unless you pay for them even though when booking it said they were complementry. Pool rules very strict,overly to a point where the children felt that they were not even allowed to splash. Nothing really laid on for guests on New years eve unless you were eating at the resturant which costs €60 per head even for children.

    Hotel is in a great location for skiing and the access to the cable cars outside the hotel is brilliant. The shuttle down to the town is good and the driver very helpful. The manager of the resturant wa helpful too. The rooms are nice.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    6.3
    Great skiing location, full day child care, in house swiming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dirty rooms, poor food quality, very bad wifi

    Great skiing location, full day child care, in house swiming pool, cinema, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    7.1
    Facilities, Location, Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No ropes and slippers in the room, behaviour from the cashier maintenaince of the facilities

    Facilities, Location, Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    7.5
    No kids menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No kids menu

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    2.9
    This hotel service is particularly poor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This hotel service is particularly poor!!!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: