Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kalura 4 stars

Via V. Cavallaro 13, 90015 Cefalù, Italy

#14 of 25 hotels in Cefalù

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1534 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in Cefalu!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a 100% place. Beautiful location, great facilities (tennis, large pool for exercise, bikes for rent etc.), very good restaurant, well kept, nice rooms and not far to walk to the beautiful city Cefalu. We had a wonderful stay here!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel (I visit loads in business duties) - great staff; superb location; stunnning scenary
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slippery area by swimming ladders on the private (sea) cove below hotel - while I know it is a tidal there, the green slimy seaweed surface to the concrete area around the ladder into the water saw a few people slip over - luckily no one hurt, but would imagine it's only a matter of time before someone could really injure themselves. A simple plastic/hessian mat over the local area to the ladder would be very advisable!

    Loved the setting and the attention to detail on seating/sun terrace areas - some pretty imaginative structures that were very cool! Room was well appointed and staff were very friendly. One of the morning breakfast waiters I'm convinced was the spitting image of David Schwimer from the US TV soap Friends. Check it out and see if you agree!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.5
    Very much enjoyed Cefalù, and parts of hotel Kalura.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite uncomfortable. We were only given one very flat pillow each-we may as well had none itcwas so flat. The roof was extremely low, lucky someone had stalked cushioning to the food as kept hitting our head getting to bathroom. Balcony not private at all.

    The view was spectacular, the position of the hotel and the balconies and outdoor spaces were fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    Was a nice Hotel... in the 1980's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is ok, it needs a good bit of renovating as the hotel looks tired. Upon arrival, there was a delay in checking in by an hour and no offer of assistance with the bags and was literally given a key to put our own bags in the storage room. The photos are generous on booking.com, paint is coming off the walls, the sun loungers are filthy and need replacing. Whilst the view was great from the room - the hotel is incredibly noisy, you can hear everything next door is saying, can hear the banging and crashing around. The staff consistently dropping things on the floor during service, attitude was not great when asking for things during breakfast. Overall needs a lot of work on the hotel and also staff.

    The room had a great view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    Interesting, comfortable hotel with personality right at the sea's edge conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were only there for one night but wish we could have stayed another. The "beach" looked awesome but we didn't get a chance to use it. The public shuttle can have you in town in a matter of minutes. You can also walk and be there in about 20. The hotel itself is oddly interesting. It feels sprawling overlooking the sea. It is older and maybe a little tired and definitely has a vibe that it caters to the Germans, but there is a quaintness about it. The pool is huge. The breakfast spread was huge. You can sense that at one time this was a chic place to visit. Cefalu is a special place and while overrun by tourists, company included, there are a few places to eat and still getaway from the crowds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel but staff seemed disorganized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room took an extra hour to be made available- slow but offered a comp drink while waited. The hotel is a long walk from town and the bus is hourly at best. No bus route map so you don't know where the stops are. Bus drivers not helpful- almost missed my train connection. Taxi fares from town and train are 10 € flat rate. No bus to Catania - only the train which took 5 hours. Hotel did not respond to my emailed questions through booking.com about means of getting there from Catania and how to get to Milazzo for the ferry. Food good but in the morning staff did not protect the buffet layout from flies and wasps landing on it.

    Facilities, breakfast, beach area, views were all great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.9
    The swimming pool is 25m and perfect for laps.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We might quibble about the pillows that seemed a bit hard but generally we had no complaints.

    The swimming pool is 25m and perfect for laps. The many decks offer great opportunities to get away and enjoy the view or swimming. Unfortunately the whole time we were at the hotel the tide was high! The dinner we had at the hotel was excellent - sea bass in a pistachio crust! Great Negronis on the deck before dinner were welcome after a day of touring! The rooms were very clean. A beautiful resort.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    four days reading and swimming. just exactly what i needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i would have liked more varied casual dining options. i wasn't really in the mood for a formal dining room dinner every night. especially on the terrace where you'll need a torch to read the menu or see what you're eating. that said, cefalu is a ten minute drive and you're spoiled for choice there.

    a perfect location, a private beach (well, a concrete platform really) on a spotless clear sea, friendly helpful staff and a generous and varied breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the pool but beach area was so great that we didn't care

    View from room was amazing. Room clean and comfortable with good bathroom. Sea area was great, we stayed there most of each day. Restaurant fantastic with great staff, we loved the food. Classic Sicilian cuisine with views out to sea. We'll be back

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower. Dinner was very average and prices were a little high as you need to drive to town if you want other choices for food. Air conditioner went out in our room the second night. They brought up a fan for us to use. Too humid to open the windows also mosquitoes will be happy to come in. They did take some money off the bill for the air conditioning problem.

    Right on the water and a private beach. Breakfast was good with a large selection. Place was probably outstanding when new but now has a worn look. Was clean. Free parking and enough room in the lot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    very nice place but not cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    furniture and rooms a bit old, our apartment was in the shadow at lunch time

    Great sea view, very quiet, private beach which is a great place for snorkeling, big apartment, restaurant is very nice for dinner, food is good, friendly and helpful staff, Wifi is working well even we had the impression to be in the nature

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay! Wonderul beach!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel still needs renovation specially on the quality of the mattressses!!!! Not good quality !not very comfortable !

    Location is wonderful !!!!!private beach spectacular!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Pros and cons of Kalura
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay away from studio room #437, it smelled like mildew and it was a depressing looking room with an obstructed balcony view. We requested a room change and we were moved to Room 509 which had sweeping views, but there were large low beams going across the room so you have to duck when walking around as not to hit your head. There was 1 twin bed and 1 bed that appeared much smaller than a full sized bed, the beds were separated by a low hanging beam so you couldn't even push the beds together together. The wait staff in the outside lounge area were not attentive, you had to wait quite a while to get a drink. We had dinner in their restaurant one night and 2 waiters were arguing with each other right near our table. We also heard dishes clanking the whole time while dining. We felt like we were dining in a school cafeteria. There was absolutely No background music either. The employees at the reception area were nice , but they didn't inform us about the amenities at the hotel. We had to discover the pool, ect on our own. No wait staff at the pool so you couldn't even get a drink there.

    The views were magnificent!! The receptionist was nice. Our room was clean. The beach, although rocky, was nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Never judge a book by cover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heart sank when pulled up and saw front of hotel Looked like 3star Spanish hotel But rear was amazing,views and lay out were stunning

    Back of hotel stunning views great room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small thing but the deck chairs on our room terrace weren’t very comfortable. It was such a lovely view from the terrace that it would have made it perfect if we could have sat there in greater comfort.

    We pretty much liked everything. A Barista made coffee with breakfast was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Views were amazing and area by the sea was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms a bit dated, could do with a makeover. Pool area also looking it's age. Nice large area but more could be done with it

    Views were amazing and area by the sea was good. Staff very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    I want to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that I found it difficult to book consecutive dates on bookings.com. However I have been able to book here directly at the hotel.

    I found this hotel on bookings.com and had no idea where it was or how to get there. I am a travel writer and often do these crash things. However, I have found a beautiful hotel in a superb location on my first visit to Sicily. Indeed, I like the Hotel so much I have decided to stay three extra days. My only caution is that there are scores of steps down to the little beach so anyone with mobility problems will need to use only the pool. There are several Italian staying here which is an excellent sign. I am traveling alone and note the staff are most agreeable. My name is Michael Collins and my book Journey is published by Dorling Kindersley- just to prove I am genuine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.0
    Very low value for money, photos are misleading except for the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our honeymoon started at Kalura, we stayed there for 2 nights just 2 days after our wedding. This place is simply a SCAM. It's a very old hotel probably from the 80s and on the photos it looks very modern and new - quite misleading. Rooms and everything is very worn out, nothing to do with the photos. Air conditioner was very old and noisy, doesn't work without a roomkey. 200 eur / night in Sep was a rip-off, we felt brutally cheated. Myself and my husband are very experienced travelers, none of us has ever experienced a place so terrible. We were so shocked we were speechless after check-in, took us several hours to recover and start any conversation. Sad that our honeymoon started so awfully...

    The view is magnificent. There was a German lady at the front reception who was very helpful. Rooms were quite clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice private beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    felt too much like a large resort, and lacked personality from the area. But does have a lot of facilities such as pool, tennis court, basket ball, and table tennis making it great for families with kids.

    Nice private beach Good breakfast Decent room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    The property boasted babysitting services that we wished to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property boasted babysitting services that we wished to utilize so We could scuba dive one day of our stay. Unfortunately this could not be accommodated despite our attempts at advance contact and repeated conversations with the staff about this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Simple but yet beautiful room with a stunning view and a...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Access to the beach is a bit difficult. To much stairs, no elevator. An old dated pool. Not-dressed tables for the breakfast, a bit fast food restaurant atmosphere (only during the breakfast).

    Simple but yet beautiful room with a stunning view and a large balcony (room name Favignana). A very nice hotel with a private beach. Smiling & Friendly Staff. 10/10 for the room cleanless.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Nothing like the photos - would not recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to the price that we paid for this hotel it was really bad value for money. The chairs in the beach area are dirty and you have to pay extra for this. The pool itself was also dirty and very outdated. The shower/bathroom was dirty but the room itself was fine. The hotel does not look like anything in the pictures supplied so don’t be fooled. Would not recommend much better options around.

    The location was good - only 25 mins walk outside the centre city. The free parking was good to have. The view from the breakfast area was lovely. The coffee at breakfast was really nice but the rest of the breakfast options were not that good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.8
    Stay next door. Better value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made us pay for beach beds on their own private beach. Also, the staff were rude and not very helpful. It was very overpriced for what it was. It was an average hotel with a premium price tag.

    The location was great, loved the sea view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    All ocean view from our room and deck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed updating. Shower was actually tiny. Furniture worn.

    All ocean view from our room and deck. The facilities need a refresh. The restaurant was quite good. WiFi good. Balcony view magnificent. Easy 10 euro cab ride from the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner at the room didnt work. some rooms were very old and not very nice. The restaurant closed early

    The beach and activities at the beach were very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful view and access to sea from apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Separate Building
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment though in a beautiful location was too far from hotel for our children. Staff gave us no information. We arrived on a holy day. Shops closed and we were self catering. We got no information about Cefalu, how to get to town, supermarkets, parking etc

    Beautiful view and access to sea from apartment. Suitable for adults but not as practical for children.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.6
    A return to the 80s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the furniture were bought most likely in 1981 and never changed. We did ask for a better and renovated room and the only difference was the color of the curtain. Fitness quite poor. Real pity as the location deserves much better management

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Sea views are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea views are amazing. The little platform towards the sea at the bottom of the hotel is absolutely mesmerising, I would completely recommend. Breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ocean was really dirty :( they could maybe clean the beach more often

    The hotel is nice, it has a beautiful terrace and restaurant overlooking the ocean. Some steps down and you are right at the beach!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel however the all-you-can-eat-buffet breakfast is degrading the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast venue with open buffet; very all inclusive style hotel which kills the atmosphere. People almost fighting to get their food; not very elegant!

    Seaview room!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location on a rock beach with private area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cramped (low ceiling) and the bed was average

    Amazing location on a rock beach with private area and chairs, but a 25 minute walk into town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    the views were stunning the staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    could have run a shuttle service into the town and provided more information about the surrounding area and how to use public transport also would like to see the menu change more often or have daily specials as the food was excellent

    the views were stunning the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, private beach was lovely to relax on with sun...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is buffet style which was good but the restaurant had a ‘canteen’ feel to it.

    Lovely hotel, private beach was lovely to relax on with sun loungers to hire and good and drink available. The rooms were nicely appointed with the air conditioning on when we walked in which was appreciated. We booked a superior room which had a balcony with a superior room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning views! Lovely restaurant and bar are overlooking the sea. The private beach is beautiful to swim at. Would recommend booking a room with a sea view which unfortunately we didn’t have. The room was spacious though and comfortable. Staff were accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Amazing views, lovely location, food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the apartment and it was a little outdated. Could do with a phone in apartment to call to reception if any issues as a good walk back to reception

    Amazing views, lovely location, food was excellent. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Kalura is dreamy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Kalura is enchanting! The property is situated along the edge of the beach, with landscaped terraces and stunning views. Our room was at the very top of the property, and our first glimpse of the sea from our balcony was a breathtaking sight that we will never forget. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts at the property, and dinner was a first class, culinary treat and quite a good value. Order the whole fish, and be captivated by table side preparation. We went sightseeing in town, which is a five minute drive away, for a large portion of our trip. Plenty to see and do there. Lots of fun shops. Be sure to visit the restaurants along the boardwalk that offer spectacular views of the sea and the sandy beach, perfect for watching the sunset. We will be back next year!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Great views of the surrounding area and really good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was smaller than was expected - there was only a curtain separating the bedroom from the bathroom

    Great views of the surrounding area and really good facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Most enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. Could improve their presentation and offer more fresh fruit- cut and whole. The 100 plus steps to climb up returning from the beach.

    Friendly staff, fabulous food at Restuarant Close to town- worth walking if cool enough. Fabulous sea swimming in sheltered bay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Larger hotel with great views and walking distance to Cefalu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a larger hotel with 100+ rooms, set on a cliff top. There is a lovely terrace with great views and steep steps going down to a private beach where you can swim amongst odd shaped rocks. There is also large pool and tennis courts. We didn't eat a meal but the breakfast was good and lots of it. Cefalu is a 20 minute walk away and a great place to visit with a beautiful (but crowded beach), a great cathedral, lots of restaurants on the seafront and some fab clothes shops. The hotel let us stay as long as we wanted the day we left as our flight was late.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location with private beach, within walking distance from Cefalu historic center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not great, but acceptable.

    Great to have private «beach» for hotel guests, clean, comfy and quiet room at night. 30 minute walk to the town of Cefalu - which we appreciated. There is also a huge pool area that we didn´t use. Easy to find and the large, free parking lot was good to arrive to. We also liked that he hotel provided beach towels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Overpriced hotel that needs an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel felt dated, and in dire need of a renovation and a little more love. It’s a premium location with amazing views and a nice private beach but the hotel feels like it’s stuck in the 70s. The room has no soul, the restaurant feels like some 70s bistro, the bar feels like a bar from a depressing casino. It’s an overpriced hotel rate for a place that doesn’t really give much else than views and a beach.

    The view from the balcony was stunning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.2
    Apartments not worth of the hotel's rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Separate Building
    • Stayed 5 nights

    While the pictures are of the apartments, they made it look much newer and nicer than it is. The apartments are old and not well maintained. The apartment doesn't have AC which might be ok if you could open all of the windows but the big windows didn't have screens. The layout is also strange for two bedrooms. You have to walk through the master bedroom to get to the kitchen and through the other bedroom to get to the only bathroom with a shower. The "private beach" is very rocky and we found sea urchins in the water so we did not risk swimming. We were really disappointed upon arriving and the last straw for us was when the roof leaked after a storm. The leaks were around electric outlets so the Manager agreed it was not safe for us to stay and let us out of our 5 night booking.

    We stayed in a two bedroom sea view apartment and did not have a good experience. The one thing we liked was the sea views. The apartments are located right on the cliff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    relaxing finish to a busy vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a good 35-minute walk to town, steep uphill in some places—not a problem if you like to walk (great views along the way) — but not great if it is a hot/humid day and/or if you have limited time. Beds were satisfactory--not fabulous, but we didn't experience fabulous beds anywhere on the trip. Also, the food is just so-so. it sufficed but I wouldn't want to rely on it for the entire stay.

    Clean, spacious 2-bedroom accommodation. Staff is friendly. Has on-site parking available. Amazing views from sea-facing rooms. Breakfast is included. Gelato available for purchase on-site which was much appreciated in the summer heat! The best part about the accommodation is that the private seafront "beach" area is perfect—beautiful and serene; the beach in town is a nutshow so we were grateful to not have to be involved with that scene. Bring water shoes since there is no easy walk-in to the water—it's rocky and slippery instead of sandy (I personally do not mind that at all). Kayaks are available for renting and you can use your snorkel gear to observe the beautiful underwater scene through the clear waters.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Very old place that need renew
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old place, everything is real need to be decorate , it's not even 3 star hotel Very small TV in room that didn't work

    Nice view breakfast is ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    The views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed. No complimentary water in room? It's a big mistake when you are paying such high prices. It's not for the value of one bottle of water but the message it sends.

    The views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    5 star view, 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked this hotel because I was impressed by the images from the room balconies posted on booking.com And indeed the view was wonderful, but that`s all. Everything in the room left you a feeling of cheap and outdated (furniture, bathroom, towels..) I never felt comfortable in that room for any moment of our stay, although I booked a superior double room with sea view (one of the best I thought). I think 200 euros per night is too much just for a nice view and a good coffee

    The view, the view and again the view. The view from the balcony, restaurant, beach is absolutely gorgeous. Decent breakfast, although nothing special, just basic stuff. Friendly restaurant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! The terrace and the swimming deck were fantastic! The staff were friendly albeit occasionally a bit slow on the service. The food at the restaurant was delicious as were the wine and cocktails. Definitely good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a walk from the main hotel building, not convenient. does not give a plush feel that you accept with this kind of a price. The cooking stove spark ignition was not working, we were provided by a cigarette lighter to light the stove hurting our hand each time. The main door lock was impossible to open, one had to struggle each time. The hotel staff was not really too concerned with these complaints. Utensils were sub standard. Mattresses and pillows not comfortable appeared old. Linen was however ok.

    Nice view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing for a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No iron and ironing board available from housekeeping for loan, if you have arrived with a suitcase inevitably clothes arrive crumpled and need ironing - I resent paying to send them to the laundry. Would expect this in a 4* hotel

    Breakfast good wide variety of food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    View from the terrace was enchanting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty- hairs on the bed, toenail clippings on the balcony, cockroaches Terrible value for money- not only did they not have enough sun loungers on the private concrete ‘beach’ (maybe 1 per 10 hotel guests), you had to pay for them, on top of an expensive room!

    View from the terrace was enchanting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful setting, lovely ambience, excellent staff, and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room first night did not have a proper window.An annex attached to main property with a veranda of sorts.The door into property was the only window.We did complain and were transferred to a lovely balcony with sea View second night.

    Food was excellant.Beautiful setting overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.3
    A one star hotel masquerading as a four star - one to absolutely avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a very bad initial experience with the staff, who were extremely rude and unwelcoming when we arrived. They tried to put us in a room with NO WINDOWS and full of ants, on the ground floor (after we had specifically requested a quiet room with a sea view) and claimed the rest of the hotel was fully booked. Only when we made a real fuss about the ants did they suddenly 'miraculously' find us a proper room with a sea view. The second room was cleaner and definitely an improvement on the first but still definitely not 4 star standard. This hotel has seen better days - we found it scruffy and run down with a very unloved atmosphere. The service was awful and the breakfast was one of the worst hotel breakfasts we've ever had - we even had a man dressed as a waiter try to walk off with our laptop whilst we were eating (which, if we hadn't been so desperate to leave the hotel, we would have reported to the police as it was an extremely distressing experience). Even the 'beach' was unattractive - a kind of concrete structure where guests were expected to pay for the basics (like a sun lounger). We had planned to stay in the hotel for four days but managed to negotiate leaving after just one, which was lucky as one night was already more than enough for us in this nasty establishment.

    There was honestly not much we liked about this hotel, but I would say the most positive thing about it was the beautiful view. It was also quite clean and also had lots of parking space, but I am really scraping the barrel to think of anything nice to say about this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Great location, beautiful terrace onto the sea and delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balconies quite close together so not much privacy when outside

    Great location, beautiful terrace onto the sea and delicious food too. Staff all very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Amazing private beach, a peace of heaven on earth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing private beach, a peace of heaven on earth. The hotel offers a room with shower after your check out in case you want to enjoy the facilities for the rest of the day! Amazing view!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Great views, great place to relax, swim and excellent food and service in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was excellent with a great spot for swimming. The view from our room over the sea was wonderful and the quality of food in the restaurant was very good. The grilled sea bass was particularly good - as good as any we have experienced in Sicily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Away from the noise and bustle of Cefalu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms are a little bit odd in decoration. Would be nice if all the rooms were streamlined and just plain.

    It was great being away from the main centre. It’s possible to walk to town but allow time and there are hills but we really liked the location and the rock bar private beach. The pool was lovely too and we like the option of swimming in either of them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    It is a great hotel with fantastic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a 25 min walk to town but it is ok.

    It is a great hotel with fantastic facilities. Our studio had a small terrace with a great view. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Great private beach, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room decor feels somewhat off even though they are spacious and clean. The care and dedication put into the rest of the hotel is not reflected in the bedroom furniture/facilities. The minibar doesn't run unless you're in the room, rendering it pointless. For an off-season 4-star stay, it was expensive for the room we stayed in, even considering everything else in the property (amenities, bar, beach, pool, etc).

    The bar and breakfast were some of the best included in our one-week stay in Sicilia. Amazing view from the room, terrific private beach with shade and beach chairs included in the room rate. Really comfortable beds. Cheap drinks at the bar!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    Lovely view but disapponted with lack of privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment was dated and a little scruffy. It was not good value for money and we were disappointed in the fact there were another 3 apartments, with 2 looking right at us ! No private terrace and the apartment felt small as if they were trying to get as many apartments out of the building as possible.

    The sea view was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant hotel with amazing sea views, secure parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is quite expensive. Breakfast could be better for that price (a basket of cracked hard boiled eggs is not very sightly!).

    Very pleasant hotel with amazing sea views, secure parking and nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location, on the coast, and an easy 20 minute walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, on the coast, and an easy 20 minute walk to the town, also aerved by a bus. Full dining and bar facilities, and plenty for those there to relax to enjoy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful spot close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two of the three rooms we rented were dark and faced the parking lot. The water was not potable and there was no water offered in the rooms.

    The view is spectacular. The complimentary breakfast was generous and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Flawed four-star
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No shuttle bus so it was either walk the couple of miles to town or get a local bus - easy going in, harder returning. I had a noise problem with my room and nobody could be bothered to help. Kalura is supposed to be a four-star - or three star depending on what you're reading! It didn't feel that way.

    Location wonderful, perched on a small cliff with great views. Staff in the restaurant were helpful and cheerful. Some of the other general staff were the opposite. Dinner was very average and pricey compared with restaurants in town. Some folk didn't like all the steps down to the sea swimming 'platform'. I found it fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice view from balcony;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to clear off breakfast table in a 4 star hotel; uncomfortable bed; breakfast buffet almost empty at 9am (served until 10am); room too basic for the price.

    Nice view from balcony; breakfast outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Good for families with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The activities can be only available from April, we could not join Yoga lessons. The hotel was old, is not a new building but they have re-worked most of the areas. Shower was very old, did not like it. Restaurant was dissapointing, at the end of the shift the employees were very loud and we could not have a quite meal...but we learnt all their shifts and agenda problems :)

    The room was very nice, the terrace with sea view awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Sea view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good if there had been some variance in dinner menu as we ate in the hotel on three evenings

    Great position and beautiful terrace where we took breakfast Easy access into Cefalu. Very enjoyable holiday and liked the yoga classes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel with great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walk into Cefalu from the hotel was awful. Lots of rubbish, through a small industrial area and then along a busy road. You had to walk as parking the car in Cefalu was challenging.

    We were really very surprised how good the hotel was and what great value for money it was. The room we had was roomy, the bed comfortable and had a terrace in sun for most of the day. Breakfast was superb and the two dinners we had were excellent. The swimming pool was large as were the sun bathing areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful, relaxing vacation spot away from the crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment was pretty far from the main hotel, so using the amenities with our small kids would have been difficult.

    The view and proximity to the water were wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Breathtaking location with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained! Just unlucky, otherwise everything was great.

    Absolutely beautiful location, definitely worth going for a sea view room. Staff were so helpful. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Recommend as somewhere to stay just outside of main Cefalu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not bother us at all, but people with young children or elderly couples would need to be aware that there are a fair few steps to get down to the private beach area. This beach area is a relatively small concrete platform (considering the size of the hotel) with umbrellas and sun beds, but there is a small shingle beach literally a stone's throw away that you can get to from this platform. Also, again did not bother us but the shower is very small.

    The location was lovely, just outside of Cefalu so it was far quieter and the sea looked nicer. The room was very clean and we chose a double overlooking the sea which I would recommend, it looked like the other double rooms with balconies over looked the parking area. The staff were really lovely and very accommodating, and the food was delicious. The sea looked absolute amazing, but was very cold as we took a dip! Would highly recommend as somewhere to stay if you are in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Amazing views and so great to be close to the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room, slightly dated decor. Also not really a “beach” at the hotel, more a platform but still good nonetheless. Bit cheeky to make you pay for tennis rackets and balls when the hotel is marketed as a sport hotel. Restaurant not great but close to town so no big deal.

    Great views from the rooms! Great deckchairs and toilet facilities by the sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing place close enough to center of Cefalu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great seaview and comfortable room. Great breakfast and could have very early breakfast at 5am when checking out. Great location in quiet area but close enough to city center on foot during nice walk (20min).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated room and bathroom. We couldn't open our room twice and had to call service. The key lock didn't work well.

    The location and the view from the room were gorgeous. Great breakfast on the terrace with breathtaking view. Walking distance to town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    The location was beautiful and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can think of is the food for lunch and dinner was a tad pricey for the quality.

    The location was beautiful and relaxing! The room was comfortable as was the bed and pillows. Loved the breakfast every morning. The staff was very friendly and spoke very good English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    Great view from the sitting room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace - Separate Building
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not massively cosy! Poor drainage. Missing various bits eg - cooker lighter, WiFi for half of stay.

    Great view from the sitting room! Good location within a 20 minutes walk to Cefalu. Nice little bay within walking distance. Washing machine.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Kalura traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: