Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Katane Palace Hotel 4 stars

Via Camillo Finocchiaro Aprile 110, 95129 Catania, Italy

#24 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1465 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Hotel Okay ,poor area,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is in a run down part of town, near the port, and requires a taxi ride of some 30 euros to reach. I would be wary or walking around this area at night.

    Staff were very friendly. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfast was reasonable and was included in the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel choice for Catania visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially the street of the hotel looked a bit uninviting, but walking through the hotel door a boutique style high standard place awaited us. Soon it became apparent that the location of the hotel is really good.

    Genuinely friendly and welcoming staff from reception to breakfast staff. Stylish decoration inside the building giving a real Italian feel to our stay. Great choice of breakfast and lovely sitting area to enjoy a drink outside. At reception staff were happy to answer any questions and very helpful, gone the extra mile. Great location for walking to Via Etna, market and center. All in all hotel was above our expectation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Tasty breakfast with good selections of food and beverages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and furniture little bit worn out and not that clean. Empty (free) minibar first night. Too pricy for that level.

    Tasty breakfast with good selections of food and beverages.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice, helpful staff, good breakfast, wide range of sweet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no vegetables for breakfast.

    Nice, helpful staff, good breakfast, wide range of sweet croissants. Nice yard within the building, nice dinner is also available in the hotel's restaurant. 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.4
    The service by the was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service by the was wonderful. Unfortunately the room, specifically the bathroom let the hotel down. There was hair in the drain which meant that the shower flooded the bathroom as there was no screen or shower curtain.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice and clean hotel in Catania
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better (real juices instead of diluted ones, and why in plastic glasses?), not as central as i thought (walking distance to the Duomo is about 15/20 min)

    Nice big rooms, free parking, friendly staff, comfortable bed, quiet room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.2
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some personnels are not capabal of even small english and have rude behavior. One of the reception lady was really mean and not helpful. The other reception staffs are more friendly! The shower in the room was really annoying. Turning hot- to cold water needs min. 3-5 mind before the really cold water freeze you. The other way will burn your skin.

    The breakfast was good. Fresh fruit were served everydays.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space limited, not sure that you can park in the garage.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast buffet. Town center and restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay in the Katane Palace and Catania was a beautiful city to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The safe didn't work and the meal in the hotel dining room was disappointing, as was breakfast.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel had a very attractive interior - it has obviously been quite a plush hotel in its time. Our room was pleasant and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, who even brought me glutene free option for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the double bed had a line in the middle, which was not very comfortable. Its quite close to center, but the streets are dirty from dogshit a dog pee in the neighboorhood.

    Friendly staff, who even brought me glutene free option for the breakfast. Nice restaurant. Well equipped bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    The staff was nice and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks well-worn. We were also a bit disappointed, because there was no free parking for us and we had to look for one on the streets. In the morning the maid woke us up twice, that wasn't very pleasant too.

    The staff was nice and polite. The breakfast was good, everything is clean and the bed was really comfortable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    Our room was so bad on the first night that I’d just avoid this place to be safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room on the ground floor which had walls so thin that we could hear all the cars and guests outside, we could hear every word from the receptionist with guests, we could hear people walking up stairs, shutting doors, I could go on!. Our room was horrible, the walls were smoke stained yellow with cracks and the seating had stains and the bathroom tap leaked water along the sink. I complained to the hotel manager and her response was that the hotel was fully booked. I don’t understand why this room is even an option for guests and not just used as a broom closet. She was nice enough to give us a different room for the next night, but after losing a nights sleep cause of the noise, I can honestly say it was not worth the trouble. I find it odd that the room we were given on the second night was a cleaner and renovated version of our room ,but we were told it was a superior room..? Umm yeah sure

    The breakfast bakery selection was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    I love Catania and Katane is in a very good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to spend the first night in a room with a broken bed since there was no other availability. In the second room the mini-bar was broken and we reported twice but nothing happened; it is not good not to have cool water in hot Catania. Also there was something wrong with the shower... you set the temperature but it starts to come either very hot or very cold for some seconds. Also the bed was super hard!

    This hotel is in a very good position. Breakfast is varied and the staff is very helpful at any time of the day or night. Rooms are also always air-conditioned and there is always water in the mini-bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel served it's purpose but I wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bathroom wasn't as clean as it could be, the chair that was at the desk had a fabric seat that was very stained and the grout/silicone in the bathroom had mould here and there which is never nice. The worse thing was the staff in the restaurant. I went there on the first night of my stay and firstly waited for quite a while to be served but then after ordering it was 45 minutes before anyone came over to see me, and that was after I had waved them down to see how long my meal would be and to ask if I could order another glass of wine. They weren't busy but just seemed to not care. The staff in the reception also seemed very disinterested and weren't terribly friendly or helpful.

    The hotel was very well located which was important for me as I was walking everywhere. The room was a reasonable size and the bathroom was large with a shower over the tub. There is a laundrette not too far up the road so that was handy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    The room was clean, we had free soft drinks in minibar every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a bed smell and the door from the bathroom needs some improves.

    The room was clean, we had free soft drinks in minibar every day, in the breakfast we had a lot of local fruits and diffrent types of juices and milks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A very elegant and comfortable hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Katane Palace is a very elegant, cool and comfortable hotel. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was great. We were really impressed by the value for money as breakfast was included and the water and orange juice in the mini bar were free too. We liked the location, in easy walking distance of the Bellini Gardens, Via Etnea and the main sights of the historic centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    -Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Parking was full (luckily we found a spot next to the hotel) -mosquitoes were terrifying us during the night :D

    -Comfortable bed -Air conditioner was good -Sound isolation -Breakfast -Staff -Big balcony -free drinks at the minibar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Can only be described as average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room seemed pretty old and not very clean.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location has easy access to the central. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    actually the croissants were v good but after 8 different hotels in Sicily and this was the first I dont have total recall. But the location was perfect and they had parking. A good local resto on the corner, best caponata on the whole visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.6
    Adequate but unspectacular. More 3* than 4*.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was small, storage for clothes was limited, room decor was 'tired'. 2 of three garage attendants/handymen were sullen and unhelpful. Had to leave car on street one night as garage was full.

    Very helpful reception staff. Breakfasts were OK. Restaurant for dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Really excellent, fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a very nice hotel in the centre of Catania, only a few minutes walk from the main street Via Etnea. Especially attractive is the inside garden, which can be used to have breakfast, dinner or drinks. The restaurant has a quotation in the Guide Michelin, and the food was really great. It also has an extensive wine list with very good wines of Sicilian origin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't dislike anything.

    Very nice staff, great breakfast, very clean. Free bottles of water and Internet worked well. We also had one dinner there and we liked the food and the service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, nice big clean room, very nice garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather small street difficult for the bus to stop by, 2 km away from piazza Duomo, coffee not served all day long on the beautiful garden.

    Very friendly staff, nice big clean room, very nice garden for a coffee, excellent and reasonably priced airport transfer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value elegant hotel ten minute walk from the historic centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our TV did not work and we asked 3 times to have it fixed by no one came. The room was too hot. The air con didn't work.

    A very elegant interior hidden behind a very ordinary outside. Breakfast was very good. Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    We spent one night on the premises and had a great experience with the staff and with dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too firm for us.

    The Staff was helpful and accommodating. The restaurant on the premises is exceptional for dinner and provided a full breakfast each morning. We felt welcomed and well taken care of.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. Airconditioning did not work properly.

    Very good breakfast with fresh orange juice. Friendly staff. Room with balcony. Free minibar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    It's a solid hotel for a short stay in Catania, but probably more 3 stars than 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water was not stable in the shower. Bed was too stiff (probably because, according to our stay, this place is popular among older audience). Bartender was bad at communicating in English and bar menu was not translated.

    Spacious room with all the necessities, big bathroom with two sinks, free minibar with soft drinks. Nicely furnished and decorated foyer, breakfast area and inner garden. Reception staff was very helpful in showing where to go in the city and in booking a lovely trip to Etna.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place has an old place charm, while being very well taken care of. It was clean and comfy. Staff was very friendly and helpful about everything. Breakfast was really good. Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Had a good stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the first and second night we were woken up by noise from people shouting in the corridor and banging on the doors and also we could hear people talking and laughing in the terrace.

    Breakfast was great rooms were spacious and very confortable. Location is great also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.0
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired hotel Hard bed Flat pillows Non functioning light in room “ lobby “ Non functioning air con Not Best area Shower went scalding hot to cold at times Had to ask for toilet rolls after they were not replenished

    Reception staff Restaurant staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.8
    Good enough to stay one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noicy street The room was smelling like after beer party

    Very friendly personnel Not too far from airport shuttle bus stop In a walking range to historical places Free mini bar beverages

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    location is close to the historical center and the street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    location is close to the historical center and the street with lots of restaurants; the breakfast was good and quality of the wi-fi as well. There was enough places to park the car on the street and even when 1 evening there was no place, the receptionist offered to park the car in the garage for free. The staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    The staff was kind,the breakfast -perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was kind of a smell in the room. Not very pleasant.

    The staff was kind,the breakfast -perfect. The location is very good. Close to shops,restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff made for comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like. I realize I went out of season, so maybe staffing levels reflected that. The staff that were there, had too many balls to juggle, but performed very well.

    Hotel was clean, comfortable. With is air of slightly faded grandeur, it made for an interesting stay. Staff were great, friendly and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.3
    The location was very good, close to all of the important...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was dated, the room smelled old.. and the bathroom was very small. The room had a great balcony but no chairs or table to sit outside and enjoy the weather or just for a coffee. The hotel courtyard was overlooked by neighboring apartments ... not even close to what you see in the pictures. The breakfast was lacking variety especially for vegetarians.

    The location was very good, close to all of the important spots in the town and near (between 10 and 20 mins walk) great restaurants. The internet was good and free! The breakfast had freshly squeezed orange juice (but not a lot of other options).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good. Will surely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit funny. In a moment water flows ok; in the next moment it's all cold water on your back. Then it comes ok again

    Tranquil place; garage for car; good breakfast clean and bed linen changed regularly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Yes croissants were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Elevator was SO SLOW.....No sleepers no Bodylotion...Plastic glasses were terrible.We couldnt put our tooth brush ...Even at the rest.....But generally we liked it..No English French channeles on tv...

    Yes croissants were excellent.Cappuccino was good.Bed was comfortable.Room was big and clean.Towels were soft and white..Tv was ok but no English cannel.. And good location..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.0
    Atmosphere of old mansion with good lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed at the first floor. The noise from the room above on the second floor was annoying. Parking is with limited capacity! On the second day parked car on the nearby street for money. 1.5 km walk from centre

    Atmosphere of old mansion with good lobby. Very nice breakfast. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Excellent rest in the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The doorknob to the toilet squeaked.

    Staff is really helpful! Breakfasts was excellent! Me and my wife really liked this hotel. Thanks for your work ;-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    The breakfast is wonderfull - you can enjoy fresh orange...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is wonderfull - you can enjoy fresh orange juice and a tasty coffee. Also, the restaurant of the hotel serves nice plates (we have booked the Christmas lunch and it was a really interesting experience). The hotel is located near the Alibus station (5 min), the trains station (15 min) and the city centre (20 min).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice location, close to bus stations and city centre with copius breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would be nice to change the door handle since literally everyone is shutting the doors and that's really really loud and annoying in the middle of the night.

    Breakfast was amazing, many options with fresh fruits. The room was clean and the free minibar is an attractive plus obviously. The bathroom was also nice and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Very convenient and nice place to stay in to visit Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice hotel with very welcoming staff and helpful. It was very convenient to use the hotel car park during our stay for free. The breakfast was very nice with a wide range of choice including fresh fruits and fresh orange juice. The room was comfortable and spacious. Great location for super restaurants, bar and also visits.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Clean, centrally located and characteristic hotel with excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much. The bathroom has no tissue paper and the toiletaries were simple and on the cheap side.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The rich breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice was really an attraction. Central location within walking distance to the city centre. The free garage parking was a real treat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    I thought the location was good for walking. Great choice of restaurants within a few blocks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I enjoyed the yogurt and fresh fruit. I think the americano coffee was not coffee, not to sure, but I ordered the cappuccino, which was made fresh. Great selection of cereals, breads, jams and so on Suzie, the receptionist, was amazing. She help me get another room, as my friend snored. Santo, helped move my luggage and when I was leaving, he weighed the luggage for me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    There are too much reasons to recommend Katane Palace Hotel. Evrything in the hotel is fantastic. Location is very good - about 10 minutes walk to the Central Railway Station and about 20 minutes walk to Piazza Duomo. Very good service at general. In the room there is free minibar - soft drinks and water and replanished daily. The room is quite cozy and the bathroom is spacious. The hotel is very clean and the staff is kind and friendly. Breakfast in the nice courtyard is great. Wi-fi is also fine. We really enjoyed our stay in Katane Palace Hotel and definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets of the room was not clean. It was difficult to arrange the shower temperature, it was changing suddenly from hot to cold or from cold to hot.

    Very nice place for breakfast as seen on the demonstration of the hotel. Several kinds of delicious crousants were available. The staffs at the reception were very kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good value for money. Very good service in general. On a daily basis we simply parked the car right in front of the hotel and then they parked it inside their garage themselves. In the morning after breakfast, they took up the car back in front of the hotel for us. Mini Bar Soft Drinks and Water are free and replenished daily. Very convenient after a day out to find drinks in the fridge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    My 15 stay at the hotel, approximately. Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) Fried tomatoes, fried bacon/sausages could be added to the scrambled egg during breakfast time 2) Check in and check out timings have to be reversed. Check in has to be 1200, where as check out to be 15.30, like most hotels in the EU.

    Fried tomatoes, fried bacon/sausages could be added to the scrambled egg during breakfast time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was specious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing.

    The room was specious and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and staff are very helpful especially one of the receptionist who speaks good English gave us a lot of good guidance for where to go and to see.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Would highly recommend this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only negative that we have in regards to the property was when we were informed that there was a parking but we could never use it due to the fact that there was only ten parking spaces available in a very big property.

    The room was very spacious with plenty of room to move around while the balcony gave you an insight view to the city, the bathroom was functional and also very spacious, the breakfast and the restaurant where both of a great level of service and food was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    A very good start of our honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the view from the balcony. (for only a not so nice street)

    We were on honeymoon and Catania was the first station. We went by car so we needed a parking place and this was the first big advance because the hotel supported one free of charge. (I think it’s rare in Sicily.) The staff was very kind and helpful and they can speak in English. The room was very clean, all the furnitures are so beautiful. We got all the equipments in the room what we need and the wifi was also fine. In the morning we got a very tasty breakfast with a wide range of cereals, yogurts, fruits, pastries, hams and cheeses and the coffee was also fantastic. You could eat your breakfast at a terrace what could be a good start of your day :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel close to one of Catania's main streets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only issue I had with the hotel was that upon arrival we were asked by one of the staff to leave our passport while she did the check in and that she would give it back later on. I've never been in a hotel that needs more than 5 minutes to do the check-in so I told her I'd rather wait. She wasn't very happy about my response and tried to persuade me not to wait because it would take too long. I told her I'd not leave without my passport and so she did whatever she needed to do in the computer and gave us our passports no more than 5 minutes later. Not sure if she was just lazy or trying to scam us but it was very rude of her. (Everyone else in the staff was very, very kind).

    They have a very beautiful patio where we had breakfast (every day) and dinner (once). The quality of the included breakfast was very good. The quality of the prepared dinner was outstanding! Really great chef. All of the staff was very kind and it wasn't a problem to communicate with them in English. There were a few issues in our room (lights and shower) but we reported them and a very kind man came and fixed everything very fast. The A/C worked great and it was a lifesaver after a day outside in the heat. The hotel is walking distance from Via Etnea which has great shops and some of the best Cannoli I've ever had. It's also very close to the market, and a few very good restaurants. KP is just a few blocks from the Verga bus stop so you can easily arrive and leave to the airport using Alibus. The only bad thing about the location is that the street is very, very dirty but this seems to be the case for a lot of streets in Catania. We really enjoyed our stay in KP and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    2.5
    Great except an aggressive kitchen employee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The behaviour of the thirty-year old kitchen employee with glasses was uncredibly innapropriated. He talked to me as you should not to anybody and wanted to fight. Why? Because I called him during he was in the kitchen to order...(I said per favore, can I before his verbal aggression). Incredible. I told him that was not a way to talk to someone and gave him a chance to explain. He told me he was overbooked but didn't apologize for his aggression. Nothing can justify his violent way of talking to me. I would like to prevent other customers to live this moment during vacation. Of course it's an exception but it's too much.

    Everybody except the behaviour of only one kitchen employee. 15 min far from the hypercenter and from the railroad/bus station by foot. The room. Services. Free fresh water, fanta and pepsi in the fridge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Rather 3 star hotel, but overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choice of toiletries (very limited). The street outside is very dirty and full of trash.

    Polite and professional staff at the hotel. Comfortable bed and the size of the room. Picturesque internal patio.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy through the night - sounded like someone moving furniture above our room

    The hotel is beautiful and the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was large, the bed comfy and the shower good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Will Definately Return Back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The garage was the only issue, as you couldn't book before hand and the car could never be garaged as it was always full, as the hotel only has 10 parking spaces, and there are quite a lot of rooms !

    The room was spacious and enough space to move around while the balcony was an extra bonus. The workers ate the hotel where great, they tend to every need ! and the Resturant is Exceptional !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Try the dinner in the restaurant. You will not be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was just average. Service was also so-so and needs improvement.

    The restaurant is for dinner is excellent though a bit expensive. We stayed two nights and had dined twice in that hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    breakfast was nice, very clean bedlinen and staff ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the distance between the hotel and Piazza Duomo or other places of interest.

    breakfast was nice, very clean bedlinen and staff very polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    OK if you are staying for one night to see the old town, then move on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great size hotel, a little dated, location to old town was a drive or Taxi (10 euros each way), now beaches, and situated in a area (residential) which you would not want to walk around and if you did there is nothing to do.

    Good size room, with large balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.0
    old and tired need a lot of TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was old and just tired. The reception looked ancient and the area was a bit yucky

    The room was big and clean with free onsite parking and the breakfast was good. Aslo had a nice terrace area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff member was a little annoyed with us when we asked to have our passports registered immediately, as we prefer not to leave them to be held in a slot behind the reception desk.

    The hotel is on a narrow one way street and only recognisable from an awning with its name on it, but once inside is quite large with sitting rooms and a bar. Our room and bathroom were large and very nice with a balcony overlooking a street at the back of the hotel. Shower had good pressure. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety, not just continental, and there is a lovely courtyard to sit and eat, as well as a restaurant. The hotel has only 10 car spots in their garage and a valet drives it in for you. Otherwise street parking. The location is about 20 minute walk along the Via Etnea to the Duomo Piazza.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - close to the city center. Nice, comfortable room. Charming inside garden were you can eat breakfast. Friendly and helpful receptionist. Free parking. Wi-fi works well. We asked for gluten free breakfast and received packed biscuites and cookies.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed was a bit hard and there was only one extra pillow.

    breakfast is very good and the facilities also are.... it has a porter who is very helpful :) staff speaks english and other languages and they are available to help

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    5.0
    Way too expensive at full price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hall is very nice. The maids and the staff were so sweet.

    The Minibar is free...but it doesn't work and it only includes water and coke and fanta. The room was not worth the money, not what I should have paid if I didn't get a 40% discount. One of the receptionist was not nice at all and not very willing to give out informations The tv set is ridiculously small

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Good value for night or two in Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast just OK have had much better in Italy. Staff don't go out of there way to be helpful as in some other hotels.

    Pleasant hotel walking distance from Catania attractions, eateries and shopping. Beautiful interior with central courtyard. Room very nice in traditional style.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.3
    Valuable staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is fine, may be just a bit far from a city center

    Excellent building in retro style with a nice restaurant inside, free parking, strong wifi signal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.1
    Ok for business travel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit expensive, especially if you know you can stay in a better hotel in Lipari, including a swimming pool, for half the price...

    The breakfast was nice, lots of fresh fruits, cakes, bread and fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    The Breakfast was great, specially the fresh pressed orange...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived, the room was cleaned and tidy, but we noticed a funny smell in the bathroom, that maybe came from the pipes. Other than that everything ok!

    The Breakfast was great, specially the fresh pressed orange juice, as well as the inner garden where it was served. The arquitecture inside, in the lounge/Bar area resembled an old palace. It was quite nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.7
    The room was big and the courtyard seating area was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing was very poor due to wooden flooring. We had disturbed sleep. Staff moving around before 6.30 on a morning disturbed us.

    The room was big and the courtyard seating area was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Gloriously relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The food was wonderful. Excellent dinner menu, superb cuisine. Staff were all very helpful and good humoured. Breakfast had a good selection and unbelievably included in what was a very good price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.3
    ugly smell and poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like the bed, they don't have a double sized bed (only 2 mattresses together - not comfy at all), poor breakfast , no fresh juice and no eggs and the most disappointing - very bad smell in the rooms (changed 3 and all the same) - smelled like old beer and marijuana (really strange)

    Big bathroom, nice patio outside

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel - not so good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is difficult to drive in and out to/from parking. With the bigger car than vw golf very difficult, almost imposible. Hotel staff were helpful. The solution is then to use public parkhouse not so far away. It is not so nice to walk around hotel, but the center is not so far and that is convenient.

    Breakfast was very good and location of the hotel is convenient. Room was clean, and stay in hotel was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    A very nice hotel with friendly staff and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    unfortunately we could hear all the noises from outside from the neighbours, so from 7 in the morning it makes difficult to sleep.

    We have found the Hotel really super. Nice Hotel, very friendly and helpfull personal.The breakfast was the best breakfast I have ever in Italy eaten. The Restaurant in the Hotel is a bit expensive but good Quality. The personal very friendly and they always help. cleaning Service was also ok. IT was an excellent price-quality offer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Should be your one stop in Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were not soft enough. Breakfast could be richer.

    Almost perfect. The staff was very friendly and professional. Hotel is in a good location and renewed. Everything was clean and proper.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Go to Sicily to enjoy the atmosphere of an mediteranean island. Taormina is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not necessary a minus, after 9-9,15 the omelet was over and they didn't supply anymore. Although the restaurant's cuisine is good you don't have to many choices.

    Breakfast was really good; I can say the same about the hotel's restaurant where we had dinner twice. The staff was really kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Katane Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: