Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kursaal & Ausonia 3 stars

Via Nazionale 24, San Lorenzo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#269 of 392 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1232 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking arrangements were a bit confused. Appreciate the hotel booked a parking spot for me, but there were nowhere to park and wait for the valet to collect my car, so it was a bit tense.

    Good location, clean room, good / ok breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    Location: 7-10 mins walk from the main station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved to have one more mirror outside the bathroom; we were a group of 3 so waiting for the mirror was a bit annoying.

    Location: 7-10 mins walk from the main station and the airport shuttle. Comfortable beds and pillows. The staff is sweet and very helpful!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of noise from outside, but this is due to the perfect, central location, so not a big issue.

    Perfect location, room was nice and clean, breakfast tasty and quite a range of choice. Overall very good for the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Convenient Location and Clean Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel took our rented car to park for us, however during pickup we were told to get down and had to wait on the street for 10mins rather than us waiting in the lobby. The room on the booking page did not match the one given to me

    Passion for recycling products, clean properly and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    We liked the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect for us!

    We liked the location! We were so near the centre so we could walk. The staff were lovely and very accommodating. My friends little boy wasn’t very well and they let us use the room for longer free of charge! We also liked the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    The location is great, a easy 5 mins walk to train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, cleanliness and internet service

    The location is great, a easy 5 mins walk to train station and attraction sites. The room is small but very clean. The down side of it is, it looks nothing like the photos on line. The internet connection was very good, that is a plus compared to other hotels. If you are on a short stay or a budget vacation I would recommend if not then don’t, it is a cheap quick stay hotel where you get what you pay for.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator was very narrow Quadruple room for 4 adults in 20 sq.m. was extremely small. Breakfast should start bit early around 6:30 am and have more options

    Location was near Train Station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Close to the train station snd the Duomo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioners did not work in either room and it was sweltering in both rooms. Mgt only put forth a minimal show of addressing the issue. I would not stay here agsin unless all the units were replaced.

    Close to the train station snd the Duomo. Owners were very pleasant in almost all cases

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Location was great, walking distance from Duomo, Ponto...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, walking distance from Duomo, Ponto Vecchio, Train Station, everything is few minutes away. Bed was comfortable, breakfast good, I would reccomend this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    Small, cramped and very, very expensive. I do NOT recommend at all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rip off - When I complained about the tiny room, the man behind desk gloated that it was only a 30 Euro room, going for between 195-300 Euro in peak season.

    OK location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Okay, but would not stay here again unless improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room extremely small but clean. Bathroom good. A/C poor. Power turned off in room when out! Safe broken, not fixed. Breakfast was very good. Wide selection; hot and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    beautiful place close to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    non-working AC and hairdryer - but the staff brought for us another hairdryer; when we wanted to go out, we had to let our keys on the reception in another floor

    hotel situated in the city centre; comfortable bed; big bathroom; helpful staff; privat balcony on the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Great location, 10 minutes to the dome on foot, daily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i book a 8+ hotel, i do expect more. The bathroom is very small, it has the cheapest toilet paper you can buy, the soap/shampoo is like in the airport/public toilets. The shower has almost 0 presure, hard to do a decent bath. The room does not have any carpets, makes it feel like a 1 star hotel. The bed is 2 hospital beds put together, the part where you think is wood is all cold metal. The WI-FI does not work in the room. The furniture is from the 50s, smells old and makes you sick just looking at it. The air conditioning makes a lot of noise. The deposit box is a joke, like the fridge. There is no sounds proofing so you can hear everybody else. The breakfast is the same every day, very basic, and the room where you eat is very crowded. Hands down the WORST hotel we stayed in all Europe! Also the price was about 300% more than it’s worth.

    Great location, 10 minutes to the dome on foot, daily cleaning service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, excellent location (5 minute walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, excellent location (5 minute walk from station and an easy walk to central attractions). We had bedrooms at the back of the hotel so it was nice & quiet with a view of the Duomo. Breakfast was self-service and plenty of cold choices (cereal, toast, cakes, pastries, yoghurts etc). Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice breakfast included. A few tables and one long table, it can get a bit crowded, but most people eat and run, so it keeps moving. The reception area is staffed around the clock. It is located on the third floor. There is a small elevator but that is the norm for small Italian hotels. Clean room, a bit crowded because we asked for a “family” room, but we were out most of the day anyhow!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    The location and view from our from was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were mosquitoes in our room and our boy got lots of mosquito bites from the stay. The fridge and remote control for the TV wasn't working and staff were informed. The air conditioning is really noisy and luckily we did not need it for our stay (it comes on automatically when you put the key in and can be turn off after).

    The location and view from our from was nice. We can see Duomo from our hotel room. There is a lift facility to the reception, which is on 3rd floor. Breakfast provided was decent and nice. Staff were decent. Location was excellent as close to attractions and close to train Station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    It's a good place to crash if you're looking for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a good place to crash if you're looking for location and price first, the room is clean and has just enough space. The breakfast is basic but good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    Near to the center and to the stop of the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is too high for a hotel not renovated since 1990,everything is old and smells like mold,INTERNET was very slow ,only Italian Television Parking is very expensive 30 euros in 24 hours Weak breakfast

    Near to the center and to the stop of the trip

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Good , the family enjoyed the stay in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Room 15 had a small balcony with view of the Duomo's top. We enjoyed breakfast and the location was very convenient coming from central station and for town. Plenty eateries, cafes and shops literally on the doorstep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    3.8
    VERRY BAD PLACE TO STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.There is no parking available,thr closest one is 30€ and you have to leave the keys. 2.The doors from our rooms had serious problem to open them every time.(i had to call the personel to manage after 10minutes to get in my room).I would nevere ever stat there again.WORST HOTEL EVER.

    It's in central of Florence

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast, great location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only qualm was the low shower pressure but didn’t affect us having an enjoyable stay and is to be expected in an old city like Florence!

    Great breakfast, great location, friendly and helpful staff. Great place to stay on a budget!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed was two single beds together which slide apart often.

    24 hour reception was very helpful. Nice atmosphere. Great location, close to train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Great little place and we would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little tight for a family of four. We would want more space if we were staying for more than a few nights, but we were out sightseeing all day so it did not bother us too much.

    The breakfast spread was great and the croissants were excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    The location is fantastic and breakfast is plentiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fantastic and breakfast is plentiful! We had booked several rooms and everyone was satisfied. They even have gluten free rice cakes for breakfast. Very considerate!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Bad receptionist at the hotel I new years eve.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a man that worked the night shift on new years and was very rude. He yelled at a friend that was picking up his stuff from my room when he was leaving. He came straight to my room where another friend was asleep and began to yell at my friends telling him to get out. He was very unprofessional and rude. I will never come back to this hotel ever again and will let others know the same.

    It was centralized

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Too good stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil!

    Note : the hotel reception is in 3rd floor :) The hotel is too nearby to rail station and the places to visit. Also the host was too good, provided all the info required, breakfast was good. More likely nice view from the balcony in the morning as well during sunset.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    The location is convenient for those arriving by train,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost Spartan lack of furniture in the room, one of the bed tables was even replaced with a small fridge :) The interior is a bit shabby, wallpapers sticking off here and there. Standard double room has a very poor view onto the opposite building despite the promising photos, which was a disappointment. The girl at the reception desk offered us to pay 50 euro more per night to have a room with a view. Overall, communication with guests isn't one of their strenghts it would seem. The girl who greeted us wasn't very welcoming or helpful. In fact, she was reluctant to help us open the door lock in the room that was stuck and behaved as if it were our problem.

    The location is convenient for those arriving by train, though somewhat unquiet and unappealing. Nonetheless it's a 10 minutes walk from the Duomo. Supermarket 50m away and plenty of bars nearby. The room was fairly warm, bathroom too. Beds and pillows pretty comfortable. Breakfast was just fine, good coffee, overall it lacked nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    Good, just the room is not sound proof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 19 is just beside (or top of) the breakfast place, very noisy during morning time.

    Not far from Firence smn train station, and main attraction point.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    CENTRAL LOCATION! NICE STAY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot water was not enough at night.

    Evergthing was nice and convinient. The breakfast was very good with many choices. Very central location and very close to termini station. Clean hotel with heat all the time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Centrally located hotel with good price and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - a bit crowded in morning for breakfast - simple breakfast, but usual to Italian type

    - central location and near to main Florence attraction - walking distance to downtown - no parking lot, but they provide a valet service (pretty pricey) - very nice coffee

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    The Staff is kind and very supportive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    size of the room for three persons should be larger.

    The Staff is kind and very supportive. They let us leave our baggage at the hotel after check out, while we went out for a walk in the city before we would leave for Milan by train. The staff even let us sit-in for 40 minutes and use wifi for free. The rooms were very clean. The room size for 3 persons is not quite comfortable but it is absolutely fine for 1-2 nights stay, I guess. The location is just perfect. close to the central station. 7-10 minutes walk, and also close to the main attractions of Florence (Florence Baptistery, Florence Cathedral, Palazzo Vecchio and so on) 20-25 minutes walk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very sad to have a hotel in the center whitout noises from the street but so bad soundproof to the aisle, hearing all customer steps and door closings.

    The sight of the room (duomo), near to the train station and the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    3.8
    Ideal location although overpriced considering size, cleanliness, noise, and security.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness (floors and sheets were dirty). Noise (pigeons in ceiling, thin walls). Hospitality (staff weren’t very friendly/helpful). Security (hotel open to public, safety deposit box did not work although advertised in booking.com).

    Ideal location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    We had a nice room for a good price in a clean and welcoming hotel close to all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen, whilst modern, lacked any crockery, cutlery etc. which made it impossible to make full use of the dining table. There was a modern bathroom with shower over the bath. Unfortunately, the bath leaked so the floor had to be mopped up after using the shower.

    My wife and I were allocated the apartment which has a sofa bed and a kitchen in the main room and a separate bedroom with a single and double bed. For us this was spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    She's an oldy but no beauty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two blokes behind the counter continued their conversation for a good length of time before acknowledging us to check in. Given the check in desk is on the third floor and we'd carted our luggage up, not the best time to give is short shrift. Room was on the second floor and you are required to drop the key up to 3rd every time you leave. Again, a bit of grace for the old building. The rooms seriously need a tart up with the world's oldest bedspreads and furniture. Sheets and bathroom clean and fresh enough. Bathroom has had a renovation within the last 10 or so years so functional and good. Except the water in the small shower. People make jokes about streams of water that flow faster than these showers. Again a bit of grace for the old building. Then there is the brekkie room. Too small to cope, simple. Again staff were trying and old building layout. All in all didnt overly detract from the wonders of Firenze and the price was relatively ok.

    The hotel is very close to Firenze SMN station, the mercado and central Firenze. Very easy walk to all. Staff clearly trying but impeded by the old building, rooms and layout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.0
    Very good the position. Bad the experience compared to the requests
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - How they manage the reservation - Rooms: I've booked 2 separated rooms and they gave me an apartment with 1 bathroom and one bed with the sofa - they didn't power on the heating system and we had cold water

    Position - It is in the center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    This was a very last minute booking and we arrived around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a very last minute booking and we arrived around midnight so we didn't spend much time there. The evening receptionist was very to the point but the morning receptionist was very helpful as we needed a late check out and to print some documents. This was an economical choice and we could hear street noise from our room but we were so exhausted we didn't care.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Very nice and comfortable; walking distance to popular sites and train station; great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room designed for handicapped which was fine with large bathroom but no curtain around shower.

    24/7 hotel assistance. You could leave room key any time. Someone was always at desk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Decent place near train station and sites with breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was small and I'm not that tall. Bed could be more comfortable. Aircon was too cold. Even when adjusted. Only one plug in room. Good for one night, but price could be a bit cheaper for the small room I got. My room was up some stairs, difficult if you have heavy luggage. Good for solo traveler with little luggage.

    Good location. Near cathedral and markets. Near train station. Friendly, helpful staff. Complete amenities. Clean. Air conditioning. Has continental breakfast included. Free pen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    A very good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A door of the shower unit wasn't in a brilliant condition, but it didn't disturb us to take a shower. And there was no safe in the room.

    Friendly staff speaking English well! A nice atmosphere including a Florentine design of the hotel inside and our room too! It is clean and cosy! A magnificent view from our room to the patio and the dome of Duomo! A nice breakfast including a buffet service! Especially tasty coffee, tea and croissants! Wi-fi is perfect! And even if you check out in the morning you can leave your bags in the hotel, do the sights of the city and take the bags back later!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great location,clean, AC, elevator, ni smoking and hot breakfast. Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The location, cleaningless, price and hospitality.

    Everything. It was a small hotel boutique. The location was excellent. It was 3 blocks from the museum and 4 from train station. The Duomo was at a walking distance. The hotel has elevator(small), air conditioning, and breakfast (American).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was two twin beds so they would slip apart

    Nice location near the train station and close to all the major sites. Breakfast spread was good, European style. The staff was very helpful and had delicious food suggestions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    A good option to stay for a city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not lower the fan speed during the night, it was a bit noisy. The pace could have been a little cleaner.

    Location was great for the old town visit. Airco was well received (we recored 52 degrees celsius that day). We have got the apartment, with lots of space for the four of us. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is close to the city centre and the basilica, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and the bath was not clean enough.

    The hotel is close to the city centre and the basilica, so the location is almost perfect. The room was soundproof, we loved to wake up by ourselves not the noise from the street. Staff was nice and the breakkfast was great also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Don't be put off my the entrance! !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with a very obliging and helpful staff. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety . We were allowed leave our bags at reception even when we had checked out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning in 2 of the rooms worked great, but the AC in the suite room struggled and didn't really work. The beds were great in the other rooms as well but the sofa bed in the suite room wasn't comfortable. The tub in the suite room had some issues with draining and the shower curtain didn't cover everything. Mostly this affected the 4 people staying in that one room and the rest of the people in our group didn't have any issues at all.

    We booked this hotel after an airbnb we had booked canceled at the last minute. The location is great - we walked from the train station with our luggage and were able to walk almost everywhere from the hotel. It's extremely close to the San Lorenzo shopping area. There were 10 of us and we split across 3 different rooms.. The staff was super friendly and explained everything to us and helped us with issues we had and gave recommendations for restaurants and places to visit and provided maps. The breakfast was great and everyone enjoyed it. We got the suite room as one of our rooms, which we weren't expecting. It had a small kitchen with a larger fridge and freezer, which turned out to be quite handy. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    3.8
    Fraud
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They stole from me. They charged me for the room at the hotel, and the booking.com charged me separately after the fact. Its been over 3 weeks and the issue is still not resolved. Dont stay here

    Nothing, because of the fraudulent activities and charging me twice for one room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Super Well-Run Budget Hotel near the Train Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The orange juice and the grapefruit juice were terrible. But that's not really an Italian thing and I don't expect freshly squeezed juice at this price point.

    Wonderful reception when we arrived. The young woman gave us a full and unhurried description of the hotel's amenities and walked us through the free map of Florence and its many attractions. The room was basic but immaculately clean and had a historic charm. Shutters on the windows helped with any street noise (it was actually quiet at night). Breakfast (included) was good. Excellent croissants. Very well-run budget hotel near the train station and the fabulous central market.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Good option to enjoy Firenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated room and bathroom, noise on corridor from groups of students/travellers

    10 min. from trainstation, nice breakfast, small balcony, very friendly personnel, very fast wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    The place where you get heavenly croissants!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to complian. But would have been nice to have tea/coffee facility in the room.

    We'll never forget the croissants!😃 It's 10 min walk from the station and so close to the main attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Good Hotel close to SMN Train Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Actually all is fine for me. Just the elevator is very small but better than nothing to help on lifting the luggages.

    Not far and not complicated to getting from SMN Train Station. Taxi from Airport in total is about 33 EURO which is better than getting there by bus if you can share the cost with friends. Specially after 11.00 pm. bus will run during each hour. The decoration is nice, breakfast and coffee are great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Good location and stuff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell in the hotel.

    The stuff was very professional and friendly, also very efficient when problems occurred (we had a problem with the door). The breakfast was enough with warm and very good croissants. The position of the hotel is EXCELLENT.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.2
    very nice breakfast and very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the 1st day, the room was perfect, but the 2nd day, the heating didn't work, the room was very cold.

    very nice breakfast and very nice staff. very safe and easy to find

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.7
    Nice place, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating was off - so the room was cold (in early March). Breakfast is abundant and varied but most things were packaged. The night before my departure my phone broke, so I asked the receptionist to check the airport shuttle schedule for me. After some googling (you're a 3-star hotel located next to the shuttle station and you don't keep this information at hand - seriously?!), the person gave me the wrong timing, which resulted in me missing the shuttle (which I had already paid for) and a 25€ taxi bill. Unfortunate, but I'm quite bitter about it.

    Great location, close to the train station and to the city center. 24h/7 staff. Abundant and varied breakfast included in the price. The staff was nice and let me have breakfast even on the day of my arrival, since I got to the hotel in the early morning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    4.6
    Good for sightseeing but bad for resting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Cold room altho heater was on automatic mode but still cold -uncomfortable mattress -i requested a quiet room but frequent noise throughout the night -shower has very low water pressure and no hot water. Maybe warm water for a minute or two then cool water. Too cold to have a proper shower anyway

    Closer to main landmarks, all were within walking distance

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.6
    Convenient, clean and budget friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location= 5 minute walk from the train station- lots of restaurants around and the breakfast was GREAT! The also allowed us to keep our bags there after check out until we were ready to depart.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    Great choice for a two day trip to Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress base was made of wood sticks and two of them broke during our stay. But a soon as we told the staff they fixed it right away!

    Breakfast was delicious! I still remember the tasty croissants. Also super helpful staff and well located. Confortable bed and room in general.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.3
    Close to Mercanto Centrale and all the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They really need an extra room for luggage storage. The reception area is small, the luggages crowded it.

    Breakfast was good, enough to start the day. It's a typical continental breakfast with cereal, pastries, bread, coffee & juice. It's also nice of them to allow us to store our luggages while we were out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Excellent staff, very clean and comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, very clean and comfortable. The place is a few steps from where the Town , a few mins walk to the city center. Staff was very friendly, it was a pleasure to stay at Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Exellente
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our first visit to Florence and to Hotel Kursaal. We picked this Hotel based on the feedback and we weren't disappointed it absolutely fantastic the staff were excellent, room fantastic bed comfy all in all excellent. We requested early breakfast which we also received.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.1
    Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking charges too high, Located on third floor of the building, Elevator too small

    Value for Money,Clean, Nearby to all major tourist attractions in Florence

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    8.3
    I found the breakfast selections to be equal to those of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine made only passable coffee. Cappuccino was okay Juice was not mixed well. Watery one day and too thick another day. Room was left unlocked by cleaning crew one day.

    I found the breakfast selections to be equal to those of many other hotels. There was always adequate amounts of everything.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    convenient, clean and reasonable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine is average. Good for cappuccino but not so hot for express.

    Location is easy to get to for bus and train travel. It is an easy walk to Mercado Central and to both OVS dept store and good cheap restaurants.personnel àre fluent in English and go out of their way to be helpful.Everything is very clean!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Staff attending to us was very courteous and even allowed us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff attending to us was very courteous and even allowed us to check-in early. Breakfast offered a wide selection. About 10 minute walk to the piazza duomo.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice & Helpful Staff,location good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit small, there was some noise from outside

    Staff was quite good & helpful.Staff was available even during late hours. Location was good, hotel was close to the station & tourist attractions. Hotel was on 3rd floor but it wasn't a problem as there was a lift. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    4.6
    The sliding door in the shower room is broken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sliding door in the shower room is broken. when we arrived the staff didn't say hello to us and said wait a moment,then he made a call and we waited for 10 min until the second and third guests arrived.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great. Eggs, cereal,cake!!! Fruit. Coffee was great. Everyone was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    Value for money it was very satisfying location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hot water in the room was very poor.

    The Staff ad Location where excellent. Very helpful and a great breakfast. The location is ideal.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Rooms comfortable, location great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd floor reception

    Rooms comfortable, location great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    What a view from our balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a view from our balcony! Breakfast was amazing too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.0
    bathroom: shower cabine very small
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom: shower cabine very small

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and excellent breakfast. Room was basic, but clean. Fair for the price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast and lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    the breakfast is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Kursaal & Ausonia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: