Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel L'Approdo 4 stars

Corso Roma 80, 28028 Pettenasco, Italy

#9 of 11 hotels in Pettenasco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.6
    The restaurant staff are amazing, reception could take some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift access to standard rooms, poor air conditioning- set to a minimum of 22 degrees, dated hotel.

    The restaurant staff are amazing, reception could take some tips from them!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    3.8
    A disappointing, expensive hotel. At best 2 star in quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food was OK but portions were small with few fresh vegetables. Rooms were small and bathrooms were unclean with very poor shower cubicles and showers. The pool was empty and the sauna was broken. The waterside activities were not accessible and the pedalo was positively dangerous to use. The hotel was clearly not ready for visitors. The manageress was rude and dismissive although other staff were a delight. This hotel is barely a 2 star, not a 4 star.

    The site of the hotel was good, on the lakeside. The situation was poor, little to do in the area and no public transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    waterfront hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful view of the lake (be sure to book a room with lakeview, it makes your stay much more valuable). Although the hotel is not completely refurbished (in our room only the restroom), it still offers a comfy atmosphere. Motivated staff. The hotel is facing the waterfront with own access to the lake. A small but well equipped playground offers extra pleasure for the kids. Breakfast with plenty of choices (suggestion for the hotel management: longer breakfast hours than 10am during the weekend). Quick 40 mins car-ride to/from the Milan Malpensa Airport. All in all worth a stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Great Lake views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to renew wifi password and registration every day. Not much else.

    Great Lake views. Very friendly staff, excellent service, very clean hotel, great parking, excellent walking path from hotel to Petenasco central. Short drive to Orta San Guilio - the highlight of our holiday. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location, great pool and breakfast, beds need to be updated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The food from the restaurant was overpriced for what it was and there is much better food around. The staff who served also looked like they would all prefer to be somewhere else. The hotel staff were not so helpful with tips on where to go and eat either. The beds were not very comfortable and because they were on wheels, the 2 singles pushed together would move and we even fell through the middle one night.

    good selection for breakfast and the staff were happy to let us have late check out on our last day. The pool is great and the location is perfect, right on the lake. You would want to have a car here though so you can travel and explore.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Good and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very tight on our first night, it would appear that people not staying at the hotel are parking there as there is a beach for the lake next to the hotel. This is a shame and unfortunate for the hotel. We got the last space! The hotel could publicise its availability of snacks by the pool ( was an excellent lunch and very relaxed). Maybe provide a laminated card of tv channels in the room?

    Service at reception and the pool bar was excellent. Service in the restaurant was ok on the first night, but excellent on our second. Very attractive location, lovely view of the lake from the garden and outside of the restaurant. Tennis was good with equipment provided (10 Euros an hour). Nice clean swimming pool. Good relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast good, nice garden area with pool and direct access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service in restaurant (for dinner) was extremely slow. Waited for more than one hour for dinner to be served

    Breakfast good, nice garden area with pool and direct access to the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choice at breakfast Sometimes slow to clear tables

    Location right on the lake so fantastic views from room and balcony. Loved swimming in the warm lake and pool . Pool staff efficient. Excellent reception staff who were very helpful with booking restaurants activities etc We had car problems whilst there and staff were excellent in helping us to get it sorted . Particularly Valentina who very helpful liasing with the mechanics for us . Thanks to her we got home to France on time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel on Lake Orta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the towels had weird smell, but seemed clean otherwise, the beach towels looked old.

    Nice location: close to Orta (but had to travel by car as no walking routes other than along the busy road), small own beach, good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two singles placed together rather than a double bed which we prefer. The wifi was inconsistent on our devices and onerous to login- required registration via Facebook or similar.

    The staff were super friendly and the location serene on the edge of the lake. The facilities were comfortable and breakfast was included and great- even catering for gluten free requirements. A great spot for families!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.9
    Gorgeous views and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could have been a better boat service and the rooms could be a little more modern in decoration - it felt a bit like it was stuck in the 90s. The breakfast was only continental and the milk was only full fat.

    Great location, lovely views, easy to get to.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Absolutely stunning views, atmosphere service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had to leave that beautiful view...

    Fantastic Room, must have been the best in the hotel...Balcony right over the lake. Large Room with bath and his and hers sinks. tv had 3 english speaking channels. Best stay in a very long time. Location was great for motoring around to Lake Magiore and up into the Alps. Most of all, everyone treated us top notch. From the front staff to our great waiters. Wouldent hesitate to go back...the sooner the better. Yeh we liked it. !!!! Best rooms in the 300s

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent menu with accompanying wines. It was lovely sitting in the garden by the lake. It was very relaxing. Staff were all very nice & welcoming. Thank you for making our dog very welcome too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location right on Lake Orta. The restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced, with delightful staff. The ferry arrives at the hotel to take you to Orta San Guillo and other locations around the lake.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful lakeside stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fabulous buffet breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff and amazing location at the lake shore. Nice walk along the lake to local restaurants. Perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant enough, pool area had wonderful view of the lake, service could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff unable to help us on day 1 to find any food when we arived at hotel at 10pm after a late flight to milan. Fortunately one waitor took pity and gave us some crisps! Double bed was in fact 2 singles pushed together (not great for a romantic break away!). Be wary of the poolside snackbar menu - my partner ordered a sandwich with various ingredients and was told he had to pick just one ingredient - resulted in a plain roll with some salami in the middle.

    Pretty setting although a little further from orta san giulio than we planned to be. Clean hotel. Breakfast consisted of reasonable continental buffet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    5.8
    The location is very nice and we had a big balcony w a view...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not cleaned properly. We found an old t-shirt and dust balls around the base of the bed. In the bathroom, we could hear conversations from another room, as if there were nothing between us. The decor is very outdated. Breakfast was a disappointment. We will not be going back. Too bad bc the location is very nice.

    The location is very nice and we had a big balcony w a view on the lake. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.5
    Great hotel but a tad grubby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is almost no difference between the superior room and the standard room-this felt like a bit of a con. There was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom and the shower fittings were loose and broken and the bathroom wasn't very clean. Overall cleanliness was the main issue

    We have stayed there a couple of times before and love the location and the staff and the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    7.5
    Clean, friendly staff, great location and view, but definitely a 3 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a 3 star hotel, with quite basic interiors. Breakfast is very basic, does not seems to have been updated since the 1970's.

    Fantastic view of the lake (if you book lake view).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    A hotel keen to make your stay enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pavement for long walk into Orta San Giulo

    The staff were consistently helpful and efficient Location immediately next to the lake - who needs the pool?!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.2
    Authenic hospitality in picturesque lake-front location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Charming and helpful staff (thank you Anna), picturesque lake-front location, free parking and an authentic Italian holiday-maker feel. Choose a lakeview room as the view is breathtaking, especially early morning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    An excellent holiday hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When the blurb says that "most rooms have views of the lake" it a little disappointing to get a view of the fire escape. Did I miss an upgrade option? The walls did not incorporate much sound proofing, and during the day there were times that it seemed quite noisy. Everyone was quiet at night, however, so it wasn't a problem for us.

    While it does look a little dated from the outside, the hotel has been updated very nicely inside. Excellent restaurant at a quite reasonable price - had dinner every evening. We didn't make use of the "The landing" (which is what L'approdo means) to take the boat to Orta St Julio or around the whole lake because it didn't occur to us until too late, but it means you could tour Lake Orta without having to use the car at all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    We stayed on our honeymoon and the hotel is perfectly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't hire a car it may be tricky to get to and from Orta from hotel as you'd be walking on the road. Possibly a few more cooked options at breakfast?

    We stayed on our honeymoon and the hotel is perfectly located for anyone looking for a relaxing escape on Lake Orta. The staff are friendly and multi-lingual. The room was v clean and as expected we had a lovely view of the lake. We only ate one night in the restaurant but both dinner and breakfast were good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Excellent choice at breakfast. Perfect position on the lake. Friendly and efficient staff. Boat stop at the hotel .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice Hotel and pool, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Beer was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Pool area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pool area . Good food in restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Pretty well perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxis and hire car were expensive

    Swimming in the lake and the lakeside view from our room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of the room

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    The view from our room was spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning

    The view from our room was spectacular. There was a lovely young lady at reception who spoke great english and was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Double bedroom was unfortunately with two mattresses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bedroom was unfortunately with two mattresses. Not comfortable for a couple stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    great location for touring and sightseeing
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food fresh and plentyfull

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    went for drives all around the area plenty to do and see
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    ideal location overlooking lake and beautifful scenery all around and not far away from old town of orta

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.2
    Relaxed stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and lake were very good. Staff were very good and quietly present! Nice atmosphere. Reception staff were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.5
    The location is excellent, right on the lakeside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and hotel in general are a little tired and could do with updating

    The location is excellent, right on the lakeside

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.1
    Animals are very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did not think 4 stars were reflected by the overall impression , the room and bathroom and also swimming pool are a bit old now. But we were very happy because the hotel staff was very friendly and they accepted the animals.

    Animals are very welcome

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.4
    The location at the lake ist stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "mountain-view" room we had should be called the "parking lot-view" room. Considering the price of €115 the room was too small and the furniture too outdated (in a bad way). The enclosed bathroom had a very loud vent.

    The location at the lake ist stunning. The breakfast is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful location by the lake with excellent parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Beautiful location by the lake with excellent parking. Swimming pool. Proper Italian coffee for breakfast not the usual wood chip flavour hotel stuff.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    This was truly fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only that we could not stay longer.

    This was truly fabulous. We spent 4 wonderful days there and constantly thought about returning for a longer stay. When I planned our trip I had a hard time deciding between Lago Maggiore or Lago Orta, between staying in Orta S. Giulio or outside of it. I opted for the latter because we wanted direct access to the water. And indeed, having looked at the other options in the area I am convinced we had the best hotel for what we wanted. Other hotels on the shore have very small unpleasant beaches, or none, as in the case of those in town. At Approdo we walked out in our bathing suits and swam in a stunning setting surrounded by typical mountains+towns views of Italian lake resorts. The hotel has extensive beautiful grounds unlike the cramped outdoor space of others; not a lush flower garden, though, but quite varied, with lawn, a big pool and surrounding terrace, restaurant terrace, garden kiosk, all by the lake as well as tennis courts in the back. Our room was very spacious and bright and, being on the ground floor had a nice patio, and it felt the whole lawn was ours. The decor was very tasteful 70s which I like a lot but some might find old-fashioned. The restaurant has a lot of outdoor seating and great food and the breakfast (served in a different setting) was also extensive and good. The dinner that comes with the demi-pension does not have an antipasto buffet as our hotels in Aosta had. Must add that there are nice public areas, like a sitting room between the lobby and the garden, with comfy armchairs and a library. There were many families with kids and it was nice that they could eat their own food on the outdoor tables in the garden.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.9
    Location was fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    internet not so good Hotel decor was a little worn needs a refresh got lots going for it. Maybe some entertainment for pool and evenings.

    Location was fab. Staff were helpful food was lovely. Room 300 Wow room with a view.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Lovely hotel overlooking Lake Orta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel could do with a decorative update and the wifi is hit and miss in the room. You need to sit near the reception for a good signal but these are the only criticisms!

    Lovely hotel overlooking Lake Orta. We had a large comfortable room with balcony looking over the lake and swimming pool. Very comfortable seating areas when the weather is not so good. Friendly, efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.5
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room in very dark corridor and only only sensor at start of corridor. Came out into pitch black and had to follow wall. Strange smell in room.

    Great staff. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    nice place right near the lake, helpfull staff, good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    basic breakfast. dinner was ok

    nice place right near the lake, helpfull staff, good room.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lighting in room 201.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice hotel set in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi not great.

    Nice hotel set in beautiful surroundings. Fantastic view from room 215.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    4.2
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was dirty did not change bed linen air con did not work on the whole bad .not 4 star.

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    We were upgraded free of charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Wifi didn't work at all.

    We were upgraded free of charge

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.9
    All in all a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All in all a great place to stay. Beautifull location , super hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.9
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pool closes at 7pm

    great location

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    Nice hotel with nice swimming pool at a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Nice hotel with nice swimming pool at a beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.5
    Close to the Orta precinct & handy for ferry to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Close to the Orta precinct & handy for ferry to the island.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    Very (child-)friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet connection was very poor, falling out constantly.

    Very (child-)friendly and helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.3
    Splendid view on the lake (remember to ask for a lake view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bad wifi connexion.

    Splendid view on the lake (remember to ask for a lake view when booking)

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Hotel L'Approdo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: