Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel L'espoir 3 stars

Route Barmasc Antagnod, 11020 Champoluc, Italy

#1 of 20 hotels in Champoluc

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 484 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was on ground floor and the path to reception led past my window, it had a net curtain, so it was private, but I'd prefer to open it to let more light in, but then that means everyone can see in ! Wifi was a bit hit and miss, and 4G reception was ok, but not the best. Location i knew about in the first place, but don't go by distance.... it's a windy road down to Champoluc, so takes about 15 minutes to drive down. I didn't mind so much, but it gets a bit tiring if you just want to pop into hotel to get something and everything is happening down in Champoluc.

    It was nice and private having its own entrance (2 in fact), good parking, nice room kept clean, fridge in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was in the lower section of the building, with entrance in the back of the building so it felt like entering a cave. 2 small windows (I think the TV screen is wider) which provide limited sunlight, no view unless you stand by the window, we were disappointed because the description states "views". Wall paint and lamps shades need to be refreshed / replaced.

    We enjoyed the staff who was helpful. Breakfast was great and we liked the Alpine style furniture and decoration in the breakfast room. The bathroom in our bedroom was equipped with a large Jacuzzi tub and a shower with jets, which we appreciated after a day of skiing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was warm in a room, but the tiled floor (on the first) was cold. It is OK, if you wear socks or slippers. There was a coffee machine, what is enough for majority of guests, but we found, it would better, if there was also a kettle. The lighting was good on the 2d floor, but a little dark on the first.

    The owner was very nice and helpful. We liked very much breakfast, coffee was the best, we have had in Italy so far. Beds and pillows were good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room at the ground floor was small and hot, but the large rooms with balcony at the first floor are great .

    Wonderful silence and location with view over the Monte Rosa and the valley, a gourmet breakfast with a lot of choices and nice presentation. Bed linens and bath towels are perfect , as the cleanliness of everything. Very nice welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think I booked a double bed, but it was just two single beds pushed together. Also, no hot food unless microwaved.

    Beautiful view, friendly staff and clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late arrival after lastminute booking the same evening wasn't any problem, we were warmly welcomed. The owner even called to confirm our ETA. The room was as clean as the air and when we woke up the balcony gave us a magnificent view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not much, to be honest maybe if the wifi stayed connected? otherwise it was perfect

    it was just a lovely place to stay friendly, warm comfortable and amazing value for money me and my 4 daughters all loved it and will come back

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a bit short and the double bed separated, but otherwise comfortable. The free wi-fi was not stable at all. Had to log in all the time and it was barely useful. Hard to travel to Champoluc at nighttime, only with quite expensive taxi.

    Very nice and cosy apartment. Clean! Nice view. Friendly staff. Great with free skibus to Champuloc (10 mins). Cheap and good value for money. Easy to get check-in at 12pm.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is very helpful. Breakfast is very good - Cheese & Ham from Region.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable clean rooms, quiet location, very accommodating staff, great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would be better if bed for two was with one mattress, not two beds with two mattresses.

    Amazing view, friendly hosts, very tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was very weak and dropped out every two minutes. A minor point! Everything else was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't very clean

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Service was great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful breakfast ! Nice rooms with wooden furnishings, always available and nice staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm sory because I can not stay more

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't any air-condition.

    Very nice place if you want to stay close to the mouintains. Plesent personel and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has all you may need: beautiful place to stay, very clean, comfortable and beautiful rooms, very good breakfast buffet and great owners

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paper-thin walls. Seriously - no soundproofing. Every single noise from toilet as if you had an open door. Noise from outside also way too loud - we woke up to our neighbours coming back and leaving in the morning (you can hear clothing rubbing). For us it was a serious "no". If you are the last to come and ditst to leave you will be fine. Also good id you stay in the rooms away from the path. Wifi was diconnecting every 5min.

    The rooms were very nice and cosy. Well thought through. Breakfast was very good. Hosts were also super helpful and responsive.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We initially struggled getting the temperature in the room right. It was too warm.

    The setting is beautiful with stunning views to Monte Rosa. The breakfast was fine, and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet sometimes is lost but owner immidiately fixes the problem

    Family owned, always available for service and assitance, warm hospitality, plenty of hot water, great view from the balcony , nice breakfast to start the day. Fun place to stay!

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Mistook it for a Hotel when it is really a collection of rooms/apartments with a shared breakfast area. An hotel would have had a communal bar/relaxation area, which was what I was looking for at the end of a week's skiing. Restricted choice of venues to eat/drink nearby without driving; but still enjoyed the break.

    Room and facilities were fine. Competent host/staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was cold in the night, and early morning.

    Nice room. We had leave early in the morning. The owner made us some croissants the night before, and prepared a breakfast pack for is.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was advertised as a hotel, but it is just a small B&B, with small rooms and no hotel services, e.g. a restaurant or a sauna. While this is a very special, scenic location, I have stayed at very many hotels (and rented homes) in the entire Ayas valley, and "L'Espoir" value for money is simply not there: I have never, in my life, paid a daily rate of €400 (for New Year's eve) and €300-350 (other days), even at premium 4-5* hotels in Tokyo, Paris, New York. If "L'Espoir" have grand ambitions, they should start by being honest about what they offer, which is a very good B&B, instead of attempting to portray themselves as a 5* hotel by overcharging in the extreme.

    The location is extremely scenic and the owners and personnel are wonderful. Good, albeit simple breakfast. The (small) rooms are tidy, clean and reasonably modern.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No complaints, we would return in a heartbeat. Next time I would bring my own pillow because the pillows were a little flat, but that is personal preference, not a complaint.

    Beautiful area, beautiful room, modern facilities, awesome shower and jacuzzi tub. Extremely friendly staff, great breakfast, very close to slopes.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The view from the window opened to a wall - so the room was really dark.

    Beautiful view from the parking and a beautiful village. The room was really nice - sauna also in the room (coffee machine and coffee was offered)

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    shower cabin - the water was not draining properly, but spreading a bit in the whole bathroom floor - cold and no slippers available bed - not matrimonial bed in our room, but twin beds put together

    wonderful view, close to the center and slopes, very warm and helpful staff, nice deco of the room, good variety for breakfast, clean

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cosy, clean, friendly owner.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection was very poor

    Friendly staff, super clean and fantastic chalet/room.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, excellent conditions, amazing customer service.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location for walking around the hills in the valley. Good facilities and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great room, homely atmosphere, great hospitality, wonderful breakfast, lovely view

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: