Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Bastiglia 4 stars

Via Salnitraria 15, 06038 Spello, Italy

#10 of 10 hotels in Spello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 202 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Those Valley Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was very poor and we did ask to have it looked at but it still didn't perform well at all. Our room was east facing the heat started from the crack of dawn. There was also no Umbrellas/shade area in the swimming pool area.

    This place was surprisingly stunning property overlooking the Umbrian hills and landscape of nearby Foligno. The hotel was complete with swimming pool and restaurant just inside old town wall on the high side. Our room was downstairs and very large and spacious with lots of cupboard space and with a large shared terrace overlooking the pool and hills. Great restaurant I recommended the food and the view. Breakfast was served on the ground level next to the reception area. Quite a large variety to choose from. Cereals, yoghurt, fruit, bread, cheese, cold meats, pastries, breakfast cakes, juices, wear, coffee machine, tea making facilities etc The staff were very friendly, great service and spoke great English both in the reception and the restaurant. They helped us with taxis to go to and from the station (about 4kms) and to Assisi about 10kms. There are no elevators just stairs but not many and quite easy to and from the rooms to reception. They helped take our bags to the rooms. There was always someone in reception no matter what time of day and night. We came in at 9pm no problem to check in at all. There is wifi and air conditioning throughout but we found our air conditioning very poor. Great pool area and view of the rolling hills and country side with outdoor shower and sun lounges but no umbrella/parasols in the heat of an Umbrian Summer where it is much needed. Easy short walk to the centre of town or the boundaries to watch sunset. A longer walker to reach the bottom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely terrace for dining and nice pool - both with superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advice on parking. Don’t go down the road at the front of the hotel to turn round. Easy to get wedged between walls there!

    Lovely terrace for dining and nice pool - both with superb views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing. Our high expectations were sadly unjustified.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel describes itself as four star. Not justified. Few staff available eg we saw 4 staff in 3 night stay. Transferred from Superior to Standard room because of unsatisfactory heating & cleanliness. Standard of breakfast was poor eg no healthy cereal, limited food choices, no replenishment of scrambled eggs which was the only hot food option. No coffee or tea making facilities in room. No English language TV and very poor TV reception overall eg signal continually dropped out. No umbrellas available for loan to guests. No ironing facilities available for delivery to room.

    Nice views from terrace. The few staff worked hard in adverse circumstances.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is in a wonderful position but is a little tired and needs some tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the sink in our bathroom would not drain and bits of black came out of the tap. Why was it not sorted before our arrival as the roommaid must surely have noticed it when cleaning? We were given another room but it was much smaller. For example to use the shower you had to move the door to the bathroom out of the way. Evening dinner was fine and sensibly priced but the breakfast was poor. Only vending machine coffee available!

    The position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the midges

    Stunning location,We hadn't realised Spello was so fantastic. Good restaurant at the hotel but also great variety 5 mins walk away. Pool area good although did loose the afternoon sun. Our rooms had small courtyards to sit in and admire the views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    This beautifully converted mill is an absolutely stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This beautifully converted mill is an absolutely stunning hotel and the swimming pool with its superb views is the perfect place to relax. Made our visit to Spello.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Good choice for Spello
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Vittoria
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool is small, more for getting wet than swimming.

    Comfortable hotel, great location on edge of Spello. This is perfect for those driving, as parking is easier than at most hill town hotels. Staff very helpful, room was large and comfortable. Nice view from hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    View from our room was amazing and the hotel was in a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could have been cleaner. The breakfast was very basic, but nice croissants.

    View from our room was amazing and the hotel was in a good position for the town. The staff were helpful about where to go in the town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location and facilities but need to be updated
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms, poor breakfast. There was high humidity in our room so we had to ask for different one. The change was done swiftly , with no problems, the other room was much better but still quite humid.

    Lovely view from the room (patio room), great swimming pool and very good location. Stuff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They have a "plumbing" problem. Unfortunately, this resulted in the air con not working & the shower heat being intermittent. After speaking with reception, it seems that this has been a problem since last August, so plenty of time to get it fixed? The owner appeared once during our stay & again, it seems that he is not around a lot. The staff run this place to the very best of their ability but it needs a bit of help (financial I'd say) from someone in authority. The twin waiters should get a promotion if it's possible - they seriously need to keep these guys as they make the hotel what it is.

    The staff were absolutely lovely & very friendly and helpful, beds were huge & comfy, rooms very clean & the food was delicious. The views from the rooms were stunning & we were treated to a sultry summer lightning display - fab! The surrounding area is beautiful & there are many delicious restaurants to try - our fave was El Molino - apart from the hotel that is.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Spectacular Spello.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was just OK.

    The views are spectacular. The staff excellent. The room comfortable. Overall a deep cleaning of carpets and upholstery or replacement thereof would be a sure improvement. Our housekeeper Besjona was a true delight and life saver as was Eleanora and Nichola at the front desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Spello-tacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Arianna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a amazing view but air conditioning was poor/broken and was extremely hot at night. Staff did offer to change room and supplied a fan to help.

    Great food. Classic local dishes served at dinner and a good choice of continental breakfast. Staff helpful and spoke good English.Location was perfect. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    8.3
    Restaurant is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Travelers be aware there are a LOT OF STAIRS to get to bedrooms. Furnishings are a bit tired and hallway was musty although the room was fine.

    Restaurant is very good. Setting is wonderful overlooking the countryside and you are with the old city walls and a short walk to sights and shops. Staff is pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel with unforgettable views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food and accommodation. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Hotel has a fabulous location with views from the restaurant terrace to die for , truly unforgettable. The pool is lovely and clean with fantastic views again - don't change anything !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    9.2
    Splendid location for exploring Spello and Umbria!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were a bit noisy with slamming of the doors .

    Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was excellent with very good staff as well. Breakfast was OK. Marvelous view from the terrace. Location of the hotel was splendid: quiet and peaceful, but very close to the city entrance of Spello. Spello is ideally situated for exploring Umbria.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.8
    Great place to stay, hotel and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was ok, not the usual vast choice I am used to in Italy.

    great location on the quiet side of the town, just a few minutes walk to the center. pool and terrace with view of valley and mountains. easy to park. close to all major sites of Umbria.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.1
    Great area, nice hotel but bedrooms need investment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed refurbishment. Some paint and to be brightened up. It felt extremely basic and did not match the price that we paid for the room. The air con did not work and there were mosquito's and other bugs in the room that left us with some bites.

    Great views and Spello is a fabulous town with great wine bars.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Superb food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not so effective

    Superb food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    Neat hotel in nice surrounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift for luggage,

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable. Good accommodation in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Availability of pool towels

    Liked the size of the bedroom and the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Very good quality for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grand views and excelent sweet Italian breakfest.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Nice valley view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice valley view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds, gloomy room, not very nice staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.8
    Hotel with superb views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool was not the best

    Very comfortable hotel in brilliant location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    6.7
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult. Dont get lost in the narrow streets.

    Great swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    Hotel Fits Right into Lovely Spello
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd terrace off our room, shared and a bit unfinished. Courses at dinner never served together, not close.

    Perfect location. Got good parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Jealous making stay in a romantic town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more parasols would-be nice for swimming pool and terrace

    Great views over the valley towards Foligno. Good Quality restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    We loved the location of this property and the magnificent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the location of this property and the magnificent views. We had a standard room but this was exceptionally clean and comfortable. There were bottles of free water in the mini bar, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in and there were extra pillows and blankets available in our room. Staff were friendly and very helpful - particularly Nicola who organised the Spello taxi to collect us from the airport.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.6
    The hotel has a spectacularly view over the adjacent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has a spectacularly view over the adjacent mountains and vineyards. If the location were not enough to recommend a stay, the restaurant alone would commend a visit.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The welcome at check-in came across a touch " reserved". A more welcoming greeting would be fitting of such a fabulously located hotel.

    Excellent location. Ambience of Tuscan architecture & history with beautiful views. Accommodation was very clean & spacious with good air con. Great to have secure underground parking ( extra charge ). Reception need to place a good visible reminder notice at the entrance regarding the possibility of grounding the underside of any low suspension cars on access and exit. Need to keep tight to the left hand wall on the way in to clear the ridge-joint between car park & entrance ramp.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    Our room had the most amazing view out over the mountain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As with the rest of Italy, people were allowed to smoke around food areas which spoilt my enjoyment of the food.

    Our room had the most amazing view out over the mountain. Walked to the town and enjoyed the bars and cafes.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    5.8
    Great location in Spello
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We picked this as a 4 star for our wedding anniversary. It didn't match up to the 6 other brilliant hotels found for this trio on Booking.com. Felt like they were resting on their laurels and hadn't prepared for the start of the season.

    Great location in Spello

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    The panoramic view of the green valley from the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel corridor full of up and down stairs which creates difficulties when pulling luggage.

    The panoramic view of the green valley from the hotel terrace. lovely located on the edge of the hill overlooking the farms. historic building with medieval ambience.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor service bad breakfast moldy damp room cold water in the shower

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.2
    Great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great food

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Will return SOMEDAY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Will return SOMEDAY.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    Room extremely clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room extremely clean and comfortable. Restaurant excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    The view and the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view and the pool

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointing size swimming pool. Not very efficient air conditioning. Patchy wifi

    Perfect location. user friendly staff. Excellent Dinners

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Just about everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioner in our room was slightly noisy - so I marked it down on "comfort" for that.

    Just about everything

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    The friendly welcome and the air-conditioning and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly welcome and the air-conditioning and the cleanliness of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.6
    The views at this hotel were absolutely breathtaking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The menu for dinner was very limited.

    The views at this hotel were absolutely breathtaking!!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.2
    WONDERFUL LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WONDERFUL LOCATION

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.6
    The view is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking is limited

    The view is fantastic.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: