Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Bussola 4 stars

Lungomare, 16, 84011 Amalfi, Italy

#18 of 29 hotels in Amalfi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 406 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Our stay at Hotel La Bussola was a very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our stay at Hotel La Bussola was a very pleasant experience. The owner, Vincenzo, along with his staff went out of their way to make our whole family of seven comfortable. We had booked three rooms and Vincenzo made sure that we all received a full view of the sea. Because we were leaving before breakfast to catch our train, Vincenzo packed each of us a bag filled with a muffin, cookies, fruit and juice which we all enjoyed on the train. Thank you Vincenzo for being so kind!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall stay was great -- would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall stay was great -- would recommend beds are a little firmer than i like but they were fine Wish A/c was a little bit cooler love that all power to room goes off when key is removed - great idea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    The rooms were stated as "partial sea rooms" but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms were a little small but manageable. The hotel's beach deck had still not been prepared for the summer tourist season which was a bummer since we were looking forward to that when booked.

    The rooms were stated as "partial sea rooms" but they had amazing sea views on the second floor. Perhaps they were "partial" because they were not on the top floors but we thought they were great especially since we had two rooms with balcony's right next to each other! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was great for us since it was on the east side of Amalfi (opposite side of the town center) so it was much more quiet with none of the crazy day car traffic but just a 7min walk to the town center. This location was great for our family member with disabilities because it was accessible by car and easy to walk to and from the town. The breakfast was pretty delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent and wouldn’t hesitate to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities in the room but not the end of the world . Not permitted to use an iron in the room however the hotel provided a service for a small charge per item

    The view from our balcony over the marina was excellent and the hotel was on the level very close to the Ferry terminal. The hotel supplied a safe in your room free of charge .The sun terrace was very peaceful with a bar service available. We didn’t find the hotel bar prices expensive at all .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    A lovely hotel in a good quiet position on the seafront within walking distance ofthe town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertised its own floating pontoon with sun loungers and umbrellas and the opportunity for swimming.Unfortunately it appeared to be undergoing repairs which was very disappointing as that was one of the reasons for choosing La Bussola. Also the pictures of the comfortable chairs on the roof terrace was another disappointment as there were only 6 flat sun-beds and tables and chairs. I upgraded to a room with a sea view but the views on level 1 were partially obscured by bushes, and although there was a table and chairs,I was expecting something a little more comfortable to relax in especially as it was advertised as a 4 star hotel.

    Large airy bedroom with plenty of storage space. Doors open onto private terrace with partial sea view. Clean towels every day and sheets changed at least twiceduring week. Room kept spotless. All staff attentive and friendly. Rooftop terrace with lovely view of harbour. Hotel has its own restaurant with a good varied menu both at lunch and in the evening. There are also three restaurants / cafes within 2 mins walk along the sea front with plenty of choice from gourmet to pizza and even afternoon tea! 5 min walk into Amalfi town with lots of little shops, bars and restaurants. Regular ferries along the coast to visit Capri, Positano and Sorrento. Boats to hire too. Added bonus - the hotel is on the sea front and on the level - important if you have mobility issues - as many hotels are up the hills with the only access being hundreds of steps down or scarey walks along the very narrow winding roads!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location and a beautiful balcony overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was very cramped; the photos on the website make it look a lot more spacious. We unfortunately had a room with an extremely small shower that my partner could not fit in (he is 6ft and lean) which meant the whole bathroom floor was flooded when he had a shower as had to keep the door open! There were no tea or coffee facilities provided in the room which was disappointing. There was no iron provided which meant we had to pay for 2 shirts to be ironed and a few dresses which just needed a ‘quick going over’ from being in the suitcase. Breakfast was not great and we went out for breakfast instead on a few occasions.

    Excellent location and a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea. The sun terrace was good too and lovely for a sunny afternoon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    We loved having Amalfi as our base got four nights. You can easily get on a ferry or bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath towels could be a little softer and thicker.

    Staff was very pleasant and helpful. We had a fabulous tour through Amalfi for two hours at jo charge. Everyday they have tours you can join in that are wonderful. The view out our window of the sea was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Location, room and breakfasr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff (I don't mean the breakfast staff) and the restaurant overall were not very good. They didn't welcome us at all nor was their offer was disappointing. I think the place needs some work done on it - e.g some rot in the doors. I don't think the reception staff were consistently friendly or helpful, though one lady was excellent.

    Location, room and breakfasr

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a bit noisy at night being so close to the path along the water.

    Very good location on the waterfront, short walk to the ferry and bus and into town. Nice facilities. Rooftop terrace provided great views. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    The property is in a very good location and overlooks the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls. You can hear people next door walking, talking, showering, flushing the loo. Also if you get a triple room, you get a third pull out bed with a loose headboard surrounding it - every time you sit on it or move on it the headboard/surround bangs against the wall. I’d spend entire nights wide awake because the neighbours were banging and crashing. Not their fault, but the hotel needs to fix those loose beds down and do something about sound insulation.

    The property is in a very good location and overlooks the Marina, the view is excellent. The property is clean and clearly well kept (despite a dated, but charming interior).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small thing but coffee could be stronger , little noisy in morning from street.

    Excellent choice of goods for breakfast, sea view rooms are fabulous, excellent staff on reception and bar area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Can't wait to come and stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was fantastic!

    The hotel called us ahead of time to inform us of road closures! We arrived slightly early and were rushing to try and get in the hike Sentiero delgli, Dei, Path of the Gods, and the staff went above and beyond to help us, looking up bus times, expediting our check-in, etc. Most appreciated! And the hike was phenomenal! The seaview was spectacular. I have a fractured shoulder and did my physio exercises while gazing out to sea, enjoyed it thoroughly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    This is a fantastic hotel to stay in Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    The hotel is right on the ocean with great views of the Mediterranean ocean. The hotel is easy to walk into Amalfi for dining and sight seeing. The staff was very friendly and was very helpful in recommending places to eat and things to do. The rooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms very nice with a great shower!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel on street level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower. If you are a large person I'd recommend checking with hotel or requesting a room with larger shower.

    Great hotel on street level. Our room had beautiful ocean views and a small balcony. Small room but comfortable. Short walk to everything. Included breakfast was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really.

    Our stay at this Hotel was a great experience. The hotels location is fantastic. You are so close to the town centre, the Boat tours, the Bus stop and the views across the port are beautiful. Just 200m from the start of the main trip of shops and restaurants, you are far away enough that at night it isn't too noisy. The rooms front facing have balconies and we sat out and watched the moon rising, the sea lapping and people taking there night time stroll. The staff are expremely helpful. Ask them enything and they will sort it out. The rooms are nice and they are cleaned very well daily. The breakfast has everything you could ask for. We didn't use the restaurant as there are so many in town and they are bussling with life. There is a pontoon for hoteliers to use to go swimming in the sea but at this time of year it was out of use. Also, on the 4th floor there is a large roof top area with seating and sun loungers. I recommend this hotel for the above reasons and that it was very reasonably priced given the location. We will definately be back as there's so much to see on the Amalfi coast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Amalfi is beautiful and having stopped in Positano on our boat excursion we're glad we chose Amalfi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed and pillows were very hard and uncomfortable. The Jacuzzi jets didn't work or we just couldn't figure out how to use it. The hotel's beach area wasn't open; we were there in late September and had expected the beach access.

    The location and the view were great. Wonderful rooftop terrace as well as our own little terrace off our room. The staff was helpful. The room was set up well and had a nice shower and Jacuzzi. Breakfast was good and included in the price. Staff helped us set up a great private boat excursion with Villarica to go up and down the coast with a stop at a wonderful island restaurant on the way back for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    3.8
    Excellent location, disappointing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel needs an upgrade as it all looks a bit shabby and not four star as it is rated. Our bathroom was terrible. The bathroom door was rotting away, as was the plinth below the shower door. Mould and limescale caked the shower door and black mould around the shower tiles.

    The location of this hotel is definitely its attraction; the sea view from our room was wonderful but the downside was being above a very noisy road, from the early hours until late at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location and a decent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property is a little dated and could do with a bit of an upgrade in facilities. But overall generally nice.

    The hotel is situated in Amalfi Marina so very central and convenient location when staying in Amalfi. Great breakfast option and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    If I went back to Amalfi I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds and pillows were really bad. They need to upgrade.

    Location was perfect. Great views. Restaurants across the street both had wonderful food!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Using your own car, or hiring one in this region comes with issues - a major one is parking, and though this hotel has a car park, it is cramped, and costs EUR 20 per day to use. The geography of the region means car parking is difficult and expensive and so actually the hotel car park still offers the best option - it's just not ideal ! Breakfasts were very tasty, but no variation, and no hot options (unless you wanted to pay more).

    A very comfortable hotel perfectly located for the town, buses, and ferry terminal. Staff were friendly and helpful and the view from the balcony across the marina and down the coast was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    I enjoyed staying at the hotel and would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a jacuzzi bath which did not work.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel breakfast was great as well. The view from the sea view room was stunning. The room was spacious and nicely decorated, I'd come back to hotel La Bussola if I returned to Amalfi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Look forward to going back to Amalfi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hair dryer could be improved as well as the temperature of the "hot" water. Then again, when you are at the beach ... nothing else is as imprortant

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cannot ask for a better view or location. Beach access is private and wonderful. Was impressed with the view considering our room was to have a partial view, I was pleasantly surprised. Could easily sit outside on the small deck and enjoy the view. The outdoor rooftop terrace is a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Our stay at La Bussola was great!
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first day at the hotel, we decided to spend the day on the sun deck. As my family and I were enjoying this beautiful facility, we suddenly hear this angry elderly lady yell at Marco, the young man in charge of the sun deck. When she was done yelling at him, she walked towards me and my husband and insisted that we move from the sun beds we were lying down on. She implied that she couldn't see from one eye. After she was done with her crisis, we decided to give her two sun beds: one for her and one for her grandchild (teenager). One hour later, we see her leave the sun deck and did not return. A few minutes after her departure, her grandchild invites her friends and cousins on the sun deck. The following day, the elderly woman repeats the same story, and we give her two sun beds again because of her age and eye situation. Again, she leaves after one hour and grandchild's friends and cousins take over the sun beds. What was upsetting is to see her use the sun bed for one hour only and have her grandchild's friends and cousins use it for the rest of the day. I would suggest that someone in charge of La Bussola speak with this customer, who according to her stays at La Bussola every year, to make her understand that the sun beds can not be reserved and that it's first come first served. I don't have her name, but I'm sure Marco knows who she is. The second thing I didn't like is the bedding. It needs to be changed.

    The view from our room was excellent! The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant holiday peaceful for the best part so very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a bit bored with boiled eggs every day. Perhaps something else hot would be nice.

    The seafront was close by and always a bed available. Very clean throughout the hotel. The place was quiet at night when we closed the doors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at La Bussola again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The room was lovely and spacious with a nice balcony and sea view. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A nice bathing area on the deck just in front of the hotel. Hotel close to centre of Almalfi and to ferries to other resorts along the coast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Overall a relaxing stay with great ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi could be improved, but then again you are in Amalfi, is unplugging that bad?

    The best part about this hotel is its location. If you want a private sun deck with access to the water and a short walk to the town center, this is a great place to stay. Plus, it is also super close to the main pier, where you can go on various boat excursions to other towns on the Amalfi Coast. The catering staff is really friendly and helpful. The breakfast is adequate and the dinner is great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seems a little pricey given its limited facilities - however this seems to be the going rate in central Amalfi.

    The bar area and rooftop seating were great touches. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    4.2
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for what it offers. The hotel needs major renovation, the double bed is made of two single beds and two metresses, very uncomfortable, the bath towels feel like rough paper.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    The hotel is in a prime location in Amalfi- easy to get to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was a fine stay but should update small things to seem cleaner (bed comforter, sheets, furniture). Small changes could really make a difference. The king bed is two twins pushed together which is not ideal on a trip with my spouse. Breakfast was average. We were not fans of the public beaches around the area but didn't have much choice since the chairs at the Bussola deck were always taken.

    The hotel is in a prime location in Amalfi- easy to get to everything with a great view. I'm happy the staff help us set up a boat tour to Capri, as that was one of our best days. We had some small issues but the staff always helped us resolve them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location. Poor quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner was poor. Did nothing but make the bed. Left beer bottles and pizza boxes in the room for days.

    The location was very good. Near everything. However they use that to make up for the fact the property doesnt need to be updated since the 70s.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice and pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was quite poor. Some furniture in the hotel room could be replaced.

    The best was the location of the hotel. It is situated at the see with the beach only for hotel guests. The view form the balcony was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Great location when staying in Amalfi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent! Walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants, marina/ferry, and the Amalfi square. The ocean view is spectacular. Friendly staff who are happy to assist you. Great breakfast in the morning. Highly recommend this hotel when staying in Amalfi!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Right by the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - far enough away from the town centre, but close enough to walk in. Great swimming platform right across the road with a very obliging attendant. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lots of places to eat good food close by. Olde world charm - loved our stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.4
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dated and very old. The decor, the linen, the hotel is very very old. It needs a makeover desperately. Other than location I probably wouldn't stay again.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    The Location and View are exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Extremely Noisy, not informed of construction of a landing dock being constructed feet away from the Hotel.

    The Location and View are exceptional. The cleaning staff are very effective and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Great value and great location in Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Teeny bit noisy at night as we faced onto the street but that was outweighed by the benefits. Air conditioning not great and first night we didn't realise you had to have shutters shut and key in slot to allow aircon to work - we told them a sign in the room would be helpful.

    Perfect location for the harbour. We were picking up a yacht a couple of days later and this was such a perfect location for that. Easy walk along the seafront to tour buses and central Amalfi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    A perfect getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel La Bussola honestly could not have been any better.

    The staff are extremely friendly and helpful with booking excursions and advising you on where to go. The hotel is in a perfect location, close to the beach, and the main square of Amalfi but quiet enough to get a good nights rest. The views are spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I got nothing to complain about

    The location in Amalfi could not be beat. The hotel itself is lovely, the room was clean and comfortable and the views were amazing. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was so filling, we often skipped lunch and had an extra-big dinner. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We rented a car and the hotel had onsite parking (a rarity in this area) with in and out privileges. We honestly would not have been happier with Hotel Bussola.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good. The hotel was close to the marina and bus terminal so good for taking trips to Positano and Ravello. It is also close to Atrani where we had several good inexpensive meals and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.1
    This hotel is situated near the bus terminal/ pier but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a bit dated and could really use an update to match the four star title. (Its hairdryer was still in a tube form, which I have not seen in many many years). Breakfast was a little bland.

    This hotel is situated near the bus terminal/ pier but still a bit out of the way of the main busy streets. Good view of the city could be seen from the balcony. Nice sea breeze at night which is good because it could get stuffy at night. Not too noisy despite being just under the main road. Staff has been very helpful. They even sell bus tickets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful with beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    First of all it's Europe. As a 4 star it was what was expected, equal to a 3 star in the US. Clean and basic. Views were spectacular. Area was beautiful. Close by everything in the little town. We thought about staying closer by the town square but stayed here instead. We were glad we did. Very peaceful with the sound of the waves of the ocean. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfectly located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal needed improvement...

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was lovely with a small balcony overlooking the the sea. The location was perfect, a very short walk to the boats taking you to nearby Positano, Capri etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't allow part cash part card payment.

    Great welcome from the staff, and lovely comfortable room. Location ideal for town and ferries. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK. Don't expect hot food! :-) overall an excellent hotel and would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    An Amalfi dream place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom towels are air-dried on the roof of the building, so they are a little stiff and rough. Eco friendly though. Still a beautiful place to stay!

    We had a 3rd floor room with sea view and the view from the balcony was spectacular! It actually brought tears to my eyes it was so beautiful. The perfect place to stay in Amalfi. We would love to go back soon!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.1
    A very pleasant central location in Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff on the front desk were of varying quality - from OK to poor. For example, - we arrived at 11pm at night by car - very tired. I explained to the man on the front counter I had driven a long way and was parked outside. He DIDNT say "you can't park there because you are not a resident" nor did he advise me to bring the car into the building (the car was towed away and cost half a day and 150 Euro to recover). He also said the hotel restaurant was closed and directed us down the road. I only found out on day 4 that it was in fact open each night. - I was recommended a driver who simply disappeared/ditched me and my 16yo daughter in Pompeii. We were not given his name nor mobile. He drove us from Amalfi to Pompeii one handed while talking loudly and continuously on his mobile!!! We had to take a train from Pompeii to Sorrento and then a bus to Amalfi arriving back at the hotel at 7.30pm. Then the man on the front desk argued with me about what happened!!!! Despite the fact he wasn't even there. If it were not for the kind lady in the restaurant across the road from where we should have been collected we'd still be in Pompeii. I am sure the driver would have behaved better had a male been in our party. - we never found the hotel bar open so walked down the road.

    The breakfast was very good - the man in charge of the buffet delightful. The atmosphere happy. The room maid was very kind and thorough. Our room was pretty with lovely ceramic tile floor a good balcony and a great view of the sea.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    The location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was clean but a bit dated. The food in the restaurant was only so,so.

    The location was great! It was an easy walk into town. We had a room overlooking the sea, such great view!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    6.3
    Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Definitely not value for money. The pictures on booking.com of the bathroom was obviously for an upgraded room, not the room i had. Shower over the bath and the bath was very narrow and the worst water pressure i had experienced in my 4 weeks travelling around Italy. Also the English TV channels available had terrible reception.

    It was very close to everything - buses and Ferry.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    1910 Pasta Factory becomes lovely hotel 1963
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Took a while for the shower to run hot on the first day. But that's all.

    Great view straight over the harbour and bay. Clean airy hotel with lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Did not realise the hotel allowed pets which might have made us have second thoughts on staying there but all in all it was a good hotel.

    Breakfast was good and the staff friendly and efficient. The bar area was spacious and clean and gave a good view over the bay area. The receptionist's very helpful and local knowledge was given courteously and was of great assistance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful people in the house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    High price for lodging - why charge extra for omelettes/bacon and eggs etc? Low waterpressure! - save water? Or high water bills??

    Very friendly and helpful people in the house!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect place while you're in Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Softer and fluffier pillows, but we had trouble everywhere in Italy with pillows.

    Very helpful staff. Beautiful room and lovely bathroom with a spa bath. Lovely balcony. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    Amazing Amalfi beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities to make a tea or a coffee in the room, not a lot off variety at breakfast

    The location was fantastic the view was beautiful bathroom was stunning

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    The perfect place to relax and unwind, so easy to walk into town without lots of steps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a problem with the drains and the bathroom had quite a string odour, occasionally of fish but not pleasant, luckily our bathroom had a door to the balcony so we could open it and get the air in.

    I love the position next to the harbour, the staff are so friendly and the rooms are spacious and comfortable, Breakfast is an amazing array of everything from Eggs, to meat and cheese and the most delightful delicate local pastries.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Romantic La Bussola
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could do with more hot food ie: poached eggs and bacon but for 3€ more you got a very nice omelette

    It was a lovely charming old world hotel. Just tucked away from the main huddle and bussel of the tourists but still only 100 meters from town with amazing views. Stayed an extra night as we loved it so much. An easy place for a swim.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.3
    Wonderful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathing platform dismantled half way though our stay....The local road in front of the hotel takes a surprising amount of traffic especially early morning - very noisy, don't expect to sleep late! Smallest shower I have ever been in, but a least good water pressure. Breakfast would benefit from a little variety. Bed was very hard.

    Very convenient location. wonderful views across the harbour. Bathing platform was excellent (until...see negatives). Room was pleasant with plenty of space.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.2
    Very close to the bus station, hotel has its own beach for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Furniture is quite old, big bed means that it is two small beds that are standing side by side

    Very close to the bus station, hotel has its own beach for the their clients

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While OK- the breakfast could have been much better. Like all Amalfi Coast - not cheap for what you get - but still wonderful😎

    Great location. Friendly staff car Peking and valet service v good. Loved our time here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful Amalfi hotel on the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location right on the waterfront with our own swimming area. Beautiful room and balcony with stunning tiled floors. Helpful staff and plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Enjoyable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfeast could have been more varied each day. Given it's at 4* hotel, room could benefit with tea/coffee making facilities. Shower gel came in a small packet and was only enough for half of my body! (and Im quite slim)

    The location was great and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    A most enjoyable stay and the hotel's location is excellent. Most recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom amenities were not suitable for elderly people. No handles in shower. no pegs for bathrobes. Soap holders very high.

    The room was nice and the bed comfortable. The staff were superb and the restaurant was verey good. Cleanliness was very good also..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely staff, fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a sea facing room (great view!) on the second floor and it was a little noisy, but I expect this was because it was the summer and there were a lot of children up late playing near the beaches. No actual road noise, just voices. Weirdly, we found that some of our european appliances had plugs that were too large for the sockets in the room, but I also had a UK/EU adaptor, which was ok, if you're coming from the UK.

    All staff were very helpful and always friendly, from the reception desk, cleaners and breakfast staff. Great location - we arrived by boat and the hotel is an easy 5 min walk away. The private sunloungers facing the port are a real bonus - far enough away from any boats that swimming isn't a problem.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic room 232
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little hard for our liking but that is down to individual preference

    The location and staff was second to none nothing was too much trouble Vincenzo on reception is simply the best along with Mateo in the hotel lobby bar I don't ordinarily write reviews but it was a must, I would have no hesitation I'm recommending this hotel to anyone , be sure to book a superior room the views are stunning and the room has a jacuzzi bath and shower, if your looking around stop now and book this hotel, you will not be disappointed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.9
    A place to return back to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toiletries could have been better. No option for "Do not disturb" when you're not inside the room.

    Decent breakfast buffet when compared to Italian breakfast in general. Owners, usually available at the reception very nice people and super helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.9
    Location and Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is relatively old and the rooms are certainly not up to standard for what they charge.

    The location is excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and always willing to help. Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    A great place to stay in Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy because it is right on the waterfront.

    The staff was wonderful and the location exquisite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly & helpful staff, amazing views room 346. Base to everywhere. 5 minute walk to town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    Do not go there. Not worth for the money you pay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    very good position with balcony,sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast

    very good position with balcony,sea view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Great stay, super nice staff but the hotel it’s quite old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay, super nice staff but the hotel it’s quite old

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Joe Hughes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Had a wonderful time and will recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to everything. The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff were great , very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great , very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Location. Lovely high ceilings in rooms. Lovely view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay, highly recommend. Vinzenso was superb among a great team
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very attentive and helpful. Great location and room overlooking the bay was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: