Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Canonica Di Cortine

Loc Cortine, 20, 50021 Barberino di Val dʼElsa, Italy

#9 of 29 hotels in Barberino di Val dʼElsa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t realize our room had a bathtub but no shower. It was fine for two nights but for a longer stay I would want a shower.

    Exactly what I imagined a stay in the Tuscan countryside would be like. The room was clean, quiet, and well-equipped. The grounds were beautiful and there were plenty of areas to relax. Staff was cordial and helpful. I can’t wait to come back and stay longer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - parking is outside of the main complex - our room was quite cold at night (September) - lunch menu could be expanded, there are no restaurants around that you can reach by foot - wi-fi was hardly working in our room, we had to use it in common area downstairs

    + amazing localization and surroundings + kind and helpfull staff + rooms kept in a historical stylization (don't expect modern style) + well maitained garden with many comfortable spots to relax and enjoy the wine + nice pool, although it was too cold to use it in September + easy access by car, close to the main road between Florence and Siena + good spot to start car sightseeing (close to San Gimigiano, Montepulciano, Castellina in Chianti, hot springs etc.)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings were very dated and old! Our electrical adaptors would only fit in a few of the old outlets. Shower head keep sliding down the post so was very difficult to use!

    The grounds were very nice as well the location was good. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the door to the shower fell off. Then we realised that the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly and that there was something brown on the toilet. When we told the owners we were told off for not saying something sooner, and for breaking the shower. Imagine that disappointment. We were also told we had to wear bathing caps in the pool according to Italian law. However, no other hotel in Italy has implied this law.. we also felt quite ridiculous. Breakfast consisted of a buffet but wasn't filled up which meant a lot of empty containers. It was also a disappointment.

    The garden and the surroundings were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough light in room , poor breakfast, found bugs on bed and bathroom and there was humid smell in room

    Great coffee and good location and great jacuzzi in our room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good kitchen if you like to cook. Breakfast was 12 euros for an average fair cold eggs and all. Heating only in the bedroom cost us 30euros for 3 nights. Property itself is secluded and pretty cute.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not given the apartment we wanted even though booked 8 months ahead. Told the pipes had burst that Morning and no water although all others in complex had what they wanted. Tried to tell us it was better to be in a dark room with no light so next day we left. Given a hotel room instead of a fully furnished villa. So disappointed can't explain how much. First time to Tuscany what a disappointment. They did phone around and got us into a lovely villa next day at another property with a fabulous view, facilities and patio. Such a shame we didn't get this first up. Lots of extra charges at this property.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were here on our honeymoon and loved it so much we came back for our ten year anniversary. Such a beautiful setting, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    from the photos and the description on Booking it seem that the pool is different, and the grounds much bigger - in reality its divided into a big villa, BB and appartment houses - in separate grounds, and pool. not really disturbing - but differently imagined

    Beautiful serene place, historical restored bulidings, perfectly maintained garden. Good (despite repeatable) breakfast. nice pool. a place to relax and go back in time. in a 5-10 min drive 2 small towns where you can eat a decent dinner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heaven!!!!! We absolutely loved our stay here! The property is gorgeous and was perfect for our family. My parents, husband, niece and daughter were all with us on this vacation. The staff went above and beyond to help us with whatever we needed- wine tours, dinner reservations, directions- you name it, they are they to help! We definitely plan to return and stay there again!! Thank you for helping us make so many amazing family memories together!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The owners and staff treated us like family. They were extremely cordial, helpful, sincere and kind, and offered great recommendations for points of interest and restaurants. The facilities are immaculate, with the rooms being spacious, but cozy. The grounds are beautifully decorated with blooming perennial plants, well-manicured lawns, and shaded seated areas. The infinity swimming pool was glistening, and overlooked the grape vineyards and open meadows of Tuscany. Breakfast was complete with eggs, fruits, Italian meats and cheeses, fresh breads, cereal, pastry and fresh home-made cake. The location was ideal, with close access to the highway, making it easy to go north to visit Florence, south to see Sienna, and many of the small surrounding towns. Our special thanks to Stefano, Lucia, Andrea, Elisa, Marco, Ercoli and Veronica for making our stay here the trip of a life time!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Regrettably, we found that our accommodations at La Canonica di Cortine were very noisy. Our first apartment in a villa complex was right beside some Italian residents, and they were very loud because you can hear absolutely everything through the walls. When we came home from sightseeing in the evening, they would start their dinner parties at 8 p.m. and often be very loud until 11:30 p.m., when we were tired and trying to sleep. We were eventually moved into an upgraded villa, which was very beautiful but again - below the Italian residents upstairs, who were even louder! Italians are very social people and often have loud dinner gatherings late into the night, and the walls in these villa apartments are not well insulated. So staying in this place essentially ruined what was supposed to be 10 days of total relaxation. Staying here is not cheap and we did not get value for what we paid. I did not believe the host when she said they don't have noise complaints, because after my experience I read some reviews online from guests who had similar concerns. I would not recommend this place to anyone unless peace and quiet isn't important to you. Despite the beauty of the place, I never had more than a few hours a night of sleep (the residents start banging away at house projects by 8 a.m., and the lawnmowers also start outside at that time). Every hotel room in all the Italian cities we were in were quieter than these villa apartments. I would as soon spend 10 days in a Naples apartment than come back here - it would probably be quieter!

    This villa complex is in a part of Tuscany that provides a good launching point to seeing little hill towns. The property grounds are stunning, and there are several nice places to relax. The staff are friendly and try to do their best to accommodate the needs of guests.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is simply amazing. They serve also a basic but good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the middle of cianti region. Wonderful and helpful staff and owners. And the place is just like a small part of heven

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Accommodation, staff and location are perfect for visiting the area. do not hesitate. Alecia is a great host. thank you very much !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom was very clean.. but a bit stale smelling

    lovely property

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    The room was very nice, very clean with fantastic landscape.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Lovely place, with a great outdoor area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Amazing location and staff. It was a pleasure to meet the owners as well who were really welcoming - as if we were their personal guests

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb accommodation with fantastic staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could get wifi fine on my iPhone, Samsung was a struggle.

    Beautiful grounds. Property was several hundred years old!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was a bit small

    Great stay, owner is very nice. Well maintained and very clean!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Staff was very friendly and offered excellent ideas for things to do and places to go.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found heaven in Tuscany! This place is beautiful, the room was very charming and clean. Personnel very professional and helpful. Eliza in the reception gave us lots of useful information, booked a lovely wine tasting your and recommended lovely restaurants. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantasic Accomodation. The Owners and The Staff are All Amazing. Great Location and some great Restaurants nearby. We will definitely go back for another holiday very soon.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad word to say, but you will need a car as it's in the country (and incredibly peaceful)

    Absolutely beautiful property with facilities of a high standard. The owners/staff were delightful, extremely welcoming & accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some problems with water in the toilet and with hot water in the shower (but probably will be fixed until your visit) Maybe we didn't find, but it will nice to have some basic stuff for cooking like salt/pepper and etc..

    Very kind and helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi unreliable - but this is common in Italy

    Lovely place, beautiful location near cute village San Donato in Poggio. Very helpful staff. Fresh breakfast. I would recommend this place to everyone who wants to enjoy holiday in Tuscany countryside.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I have to say something, it would be that heating was not included in room price. Apart from that, everything exquisite.

    Beautiful apartment, very helpful staff, location which enables you to visit all the main tourist places in 30 minutes by car.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is great in this place - the location, the warm welcome, the service, the room etc. This is our second time in this place and we will surely go back.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We have stayed in many self catering apartments across the world, but never left without basics such as chopping board, washing up brush, detergent and rack. Exorbitant additional heating cost for 3 nights - more than our average quarterly cost.

    Lovely location overlooking San Donato in Poggio. Beautiful grounds and large apartment. Easy parking and good road access to Chianti, Florence and Siena.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    awesome location to visit Chianti region; nice pool and relaxing area; huge appartment with a nice view

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    - Great place in extraordinary surrounding with very friendly owner and employees. - Very quiet. - Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, couldn't have been better. Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely quiet location. Super facilities and delightful staff who cannot do enough for you. Perfect for a quiet retreat, but you need a car.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location! Beautiful area of Tuscany!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was kind of small

    Swimming pool and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very unusual place Beautifully decorated Great helpfull staff Will come again A+

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very weak Wifi signal, hard pillows

    Great location and landscape

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very difficult to find without a sat-nav!

    Excellent restaurant nearby.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely place in beautiful garden surroundings. Peaceful and the staff and owners couldn't be nicer.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: