Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of La Canonica Di Cortine

Loc Cortine, 20, 50021 Barberino di Val dʼElsa, Italy

#9 of 29 hotels in Barberino di Val dʼElsa

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 97 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    Everything is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None, really.

    Everything is excellent. From the hospitality of Stefano, Lucia, and Andrea, to the room, surrounding areas, facilities, amenities, and the breakfast! Perfect place to spend a relaxing time in the Chianti region. Don't just spend a night here, you'll regret it. We stayed for two nights and we wished we could stay longer. Andrea even recommended us to nice local restaurants nearby and Medieval festival held in a village nearby. Thanks and 10/10 would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.2
    Check-in was easy and the host was exceptionally pleasant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small and the wifi did not really work in the room. There is nothing near Cortine at all, you must have a car to drive to nearby San Donato (a very very small town) or any restaurants, shops, etc. This is a good thing if you want a nice quiet vacation spot.

    Check-in was easy and the host was exceptionally pleasant, recommending a winery that we should visit during our time in the area. The room was comfortable and and clean, although quite small. Breakfast was very good and the property itself is very beautiful. This is a great place for a quiet stay in the Chianti region, away from any type of distraction.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect, relaxing b&b to use as a base for exploring Chianti.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t realize our room had a bathtub but no shower. It was fine for two nights but for a longer stay I would want a shower.

    Exactly what I imagined a stay in the Tuscan countryside would be like. The room was clean, quiet, and well-equipped. The grounds were beautiful and there were plenty of areas to relax. Staff was cordial and helpful. I can’t wait to come back and stay longer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    8.8
    Tuscany 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - parking is outside of the main complex - our room was quite cold at night (September) - lunch menu could be expanded, there are no restaurants around that you can reach by foot - wi-fi was hardly working in our room, we had to use it in common area downstairs

    + amazing localization and surroundings + kind and helpfull staff + rooms kept in a historical stylization (don't expect modern style) + well maitained garden with many comfortable spots to relax and enjoy the wine + nice pool, although it was too cold to use it in September + easy access by car, close to the main road between Florence and Siena + good spot to start car sightseeing (close to San Gimigiano, Montepulciano, Castellina in Chianti, hot springs etc.)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    5.4
    The grounds were very nice as well the location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Furnishings were very dated and old! Our electrical adaptors would only fit in a few of the old outlets. Shower head keep sliding down the post so was very difficult to use!

    The grounds were very nice as well the location was good. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    3.8
    Need to work on management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well, the door to the shower fell off. Then we realised that the bathroom wasn't cleaned properly and that there was something brown on the toilet. When we told the owners we were told off for not saying something sooner, and for breaking the shower. Imagine that disappointment. We were also told we had to wear bathing caps in the pool according to Italian law. However, no other hotel in Italy has implied this law.. we also felt quite ridiculous. Breakfast consisted of a buffet but wasn't filled up which meant a lot of empty containers. It was also a disappointment.

    The garden and the surroundings were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    6.7
    Good but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    not enough light in room , poor breakfast, found bugs on bed and bathroom and there was humid smell in room

    Great coffee and good location and great jacuzzi in our room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    7.5
    Good kitchen if you like to cook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good kitchen if you like to cook. Breakfast was 12 euros for an average fair cold eggs and all. Heating only in the bedroom cost us 30euros for 3 nights. Property itself is secluded and pretty cute.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2016

    7.5
    Not given the apartment we wanted even though booked 8...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not given the apartment we wanted even though booked 8 months ahead. Told the pipes had burst that Morning and no water although all others in complex had what they wanted. Tried to tell us it was better to be in a dark room with no light so next day we left. Given a hotel room instead of a fully furnished villa. So disappointed can't explain how much. First time to Tuscany what a disappointment. They did phone around and got us into a lovely villa next day at another property with a fabulous view, facilities and patio. Such a shame we didn't get this first up. Lots of extra charges at this property.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    10
    Fantastic place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were here on our honeymoon and loved it so much we came back for our ten year anniversary. Such a beautiful setting, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    10
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing...everything was perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotter water and better shower A/c was not good Overall very nice except these 2 things

    Breakfast was good Grounds very nice People were nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    10
    The location is simply amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is simply amazing. They serve also a basic but good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    Great location in the middle of cianti region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location in the middle of cianti region. Wonderful and helpful staff and owners. And the place is just like a small part of heven

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    10
    The Accommodation, staff and location are perfect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Accommodation, staff and location are perfect for visiting the area. do not hesitate. Alecia is a great host. thank you very much !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    8.8
    La Cononica... a precious gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bathroom was very clean.. but a bit stale smelling

    lovely property

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    Perfect to relax. Romantic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    The room was very nice, very clean with fantastic landscape.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.5
    We had a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    Lovely place, with a great outdoor area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    10
    Superb piece of Heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Amazing location and staff. It was a pleasure to meet the owners as well who were really welcoming - as if we were their personal guests

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    10
    Superb hosts - Excellent venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Superb accommodation with fantastic staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could get wifi fine on my iPhone, Samsung was a struggle.

    Beautiful grounds. Property was several hundred years old!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2016

    10
    We found heaven in Tuscany!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found heaven in Tuscany! This place is beautiful, the room was very charming and clean. Personnel very professional and helpful. Eliza in the reception gave us lots of useful information, booked a lovely wine tasting your and recommended lovely restaurants. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2016

    10
    Fantasic Accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantasic Accomodation. The Owners and The Staff are All Amazing. Great Location and some great Restaurants nearby. We will definitely go back for another holiday very soon.

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2015

    9.6
    Absolutely beautiful property with facilities of a high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad word to say, but you will need a car as it's in the country (and incredibly peaceful)

    Absolutely beautiful property with facilities of a high standard. The owners/staff were delightful, extremely welcoming & accommodating.

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    8.8
    Very kind and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some problems with water in the toilet and with hot water in the shower (but probably will be fixed until your visit) Maybe we didn't find, but it will nice to have some basic stuff for cooking like salt/pepper and etc..

    Very kind and helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    10
    Lovely place, beautiful location near cute village San...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi unreliable - but this is common in Italy

    Lovely place, beautiful location near cute village San Donato in Poggio. Very helpful staff. Fresh breakfast. I would recommend this place to everyone who wants to enjoy holiday in Tuscany countryside.

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    10
    Beautiful apartment, very helpful staff, location which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I have to say something, it would be that heating was not included in room price. Apart from that, everything exquisite.

    Beautiful apartment, very helpful staff, location which enables you to visit all the main tourist places in 30 minutes by car.

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2015

    10
    Everything is great in this place - the location, the warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is great in this place - the location, the warm welcome, the service, the room etc. This is our second time in this place and we will surely go back.

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2015

    6.7
    Lovely location overlooking San Donato in Poggio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We have stayed in many self catering apartments across the world, but never left without basics such as chopping board, washing up brush, detergent and rack. Exorbitant additional heating cost for 3 nights - more than our average quarterly cost.

    Lovely location overlooking San Donato in Poggio. Beautiful grounds and large apartment. Easy parking and good road access to Chianti, Florence and Siena.

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2016

    7.9
    awesome location to visit Chianti region;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    awesome location to visit Chianti region; nice pool and relaxing area; huge appartment with a nice view

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2016

    10
    - Great place in extraordinary surrounding with very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    - Great place in extraordinary surrounding with very friendly owner and employees. - Very quiet. - Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, couldn't have been better. Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2015

    7.5
    Lovely quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely quiet location. Super facilities and delightful staff who cannot do enough for you. Perfect for a quiet retreat, but you need a car.

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2015

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location! Beautiful area of Tuscany!

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    8.8
    Swimming pool and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was kind of small

    Swimming pool and breakfast

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2015

    10
    Very unusual place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very unusual place Beautifully decorated Great helpfull staff Will come again A+

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2015

    7.9
    Great location and landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very weak Wifi signal, hard pillows

    Great location and landscape

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2015

    10
    Excellent restaurant nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very difficult to find without a sat-nav!

    Excellent restaurant nearby.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2015

    9.6
    Lovely place in beautiful garden surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely place in beautiful garden surroundings. Peaceful and the staff and owners couldn't be nicer.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: