Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Caravella 2 stars

Via Camillo Hajech 18, P. Vittoria, 20129 Milan, Italy

#333 of 424 hotels in Milan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom was too small, breakfast room was cold and the breakfast was kind of basic, but they make good cappuccino and the first morning the cornettos were hot

    Good location for exploring Milan, not very central, but close to bus, tram, S trains...etc. There is a supermarket very close too. The room was nice, clean and warm. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    even thow i wrote a request nobody at the reception knew about it. breakfast is as valuable as it costs. next time i prefer a quick coffee and croissant somewhere in the city. the rooms are extremely noisy because of the doors - you can hear every word from the reception two stairs below. windows are good.

    Perfect way to exlpore the city, best price-value-ratio. don´t expect luxury, but rooms are fully equipped and clean, wifi works properly, and I even had a balcony. nice and helpful employees, lovely city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a bit pricey for this kind of accomodation but we knew that. The room we stayed was too close to the reception and a bit noisy. Bathroom was too small and the receptionist not very friendly.

    Location was ok, it was about 15 min walk to the city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most horrible 2 nights I spent. The room was very small. It was stinky plus you could smell for the entire 2 days BLEACH! You can get a headache from this. Breakfast!? What breakfast? You can smell mold from the toast bread! Good i did not get sick. Horrible place. Will never stay there again and do not recommend. Choose different place even if you have to pay 5 euro more. I was mistaken by number of stars. There were 3 on the bookingcom but if you searched on other websites there were only 2.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very uninterested and their English was poor. They provided no information on transport to city centre and to do stuff for Milan. Our room was on street side and it was hot in the room although outside it was only 18 degrees during the day. There is an airco the reception can switch on. We asked this before going to sleep. During the night we woke up as temperature was high again and airco was switched off. Breakfast very bad without fresh ingredients. Bad shower, limited warm water.

    location and parking available Reception open 24h

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some people every day speak very LOUD near the reception and at the hotel entrance above at 8a.m. and 11 p.m. I guess this was a hotel staff, because this was occurs every day and evening. We resided on the 1st floor and was having trouble with sleeping because of loud speaking. The shower room is extremely small.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was not so good in our room, but it was sufficient to our needs (google maps, facebook, mails) also there are very thin walls. We were lucky that our neighbour was only older man who really liked to watch TV and not young couple that would make different type of noise.. Bathroom was very small and also with old equipment, but they cleaned it every day so it was ok.

    We really enjoyed our stay in hotel. Stuff were very nice. They didn`t know very well english but we understood each other. I have to say that they cleaned our room every day, every day we`ve got new towels. So this was very good. In close distance there is a supermarket and also bus stop where stops bus from main station. We could use public transport also to get to city centre, but we decied to walk by foot there and it took us about 30`.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive for such small room and bathroom!

    The receptionist was very kind and explained us everything! The hotel was fine,but the room was very small and the bathroom needs a good renovation. The air conditioning stoped working the second day,we reported it,but they didn't fix it. For us it was just a short stay and the most of the time spend it in the city.. The location was very good. The bus ticket to the center 1,50€ for one way. Parking for our car 10€per day in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a nice, simple and clean hotel/hostel. It is small and it seems more or less like a family-run business. The staff members were all kind and helpful, even though most of them didn't speak English (and mostly no other language than Italian to be fair). Breakfast is simple, it has some options of bread, plus Nutella, marmelade, butter, cheese and ham. There are some flavours of yoghurt, which you can eat with 2 types of cereal. There is a coffee machine from where you can get espresso, cappuccino and others.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited for an hour on arrival for our room to be ready. We were left outside in the parking yard no drinks were offered and were told it would be 10 minutes it was an hour which is unacceptable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First time in my 20 years of extensive traveling – a hotel CHARGED a credit card PRIOR TO ARRIVAL! Even though I asked to cancel the transaction and pay with cash – they refused. When I asked for the payment receipt I found out that I need to pay an additional 3 euros per night – ‘it’s not their first rodeo’ a hotel need to publish the EXACT price that will be charged up front. I asked for help to order food from a restaurant (to have it delivered to the room), as I don’t speak Italian yet the guy at the reception answered “this no normal for me…”. It’s my first bad review - ever – there’s a lot I’m wheeling to put up with, especially when it comes to economy cost hotels- yet when one don’t respect people’s money or deliver a minimal level of service, EVERYONE needs to know and booking.com as the agent who got the commission need to do their due diligence a bit better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor breakfast, extremely small shower and height in the bathroom, you can hear all the noises from other rooms and the reception, the employes do not speak English properly, only Italian language TV channels...

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and perfect position in particular if you come from Linate airport. The room was cozy and big, the bathroom ok. Very good ratio quality/price. Recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We sent request for baby cot because we read that hotel have baby cot but we should only ask for it. We didn't get any answer so we expected that everything is Ok but it wasn't because hotel doesn't have baby cot at all. We were so angry because we traveled with our son who is our only 1 years old and that was the only criteria when we choose hotel. But the worst thing is that receptionist told us that it's not his fault because information on www.booking.com are not correct (It's not necessary to mention that he didn't even read our request even we sent it 15 days before we came). Everything else was ok for that price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time of check in stated 1:30 pm. As we already had prior experience at the other hotel we were staying at prior to this one, this meant we would not be able to check in early. So, once we arrived, we were tired but went to have lunch and walk around in order to wait for the appropriate time. We showed up at the hotel at about 2 pm. The cleaning staff told us that the room was not ready. When I asked her to clarify as I had the info it would be ready at 1:30, and that we just wanted to go to our room to rest, she mostly shrugged her shoulders and didn't give an explanation. The staff did not offer a room that may have been already cleaned and available for us. We waited in the lobby for another 40 minutes while she hastily cleaned our room! The manager kept yelling up to her if our room was ready but he was of little use otherwise. As manager you would think he would perhaps lend a hand to expedite the process as their promised check in time was late almost by an hour at that point, but no. He was content to just yell to her to know when everything was done. Once we went up my friend went to take a shower. We found a used shampoo container and used soap. Clearly the room was not properly cleaned. As well, there was a disheveled man that was constantly in the lobby very loud and obnoxious, speaking with the manager. We tried to sleep but was pretty hard considering our room was on top of it. Staff was rude, unfriendly and customer service offered was very poor. Thankfully it was not too expensive as I'd hate to waste any more of our hard earned money on such a poor establishment. Left a bad taste with regards to our stay. I hope this review will help others in their search for a fair price and hotel stay.

    Clean floor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not very rich. Our room was on the ground floor next to the reception and it was very noisy. We could hear everything outside, especially the loud voice of the receptionist who was quarreling with a woman early in the morning for more than 30 minutes.

    Convenient public transport to the city centre. Private parking available in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell of cigarette smoke in the room. Impolite stuff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't the most comfortable

    Excellent location with some great bars nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a small shower stall. The walls were thin, we listened to every words at neighbor room

    Easy access, clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far

    Ah

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Location, state of the facilities, good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower is very bad, very very low water pressure

    Very clean, they change towels daily and sheets every two day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small bathroom

    good service and nice room (but small bathroom)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from city center

    Nice staff, helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bathroom

    Great fresh croissants for breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little bathroom,no lift

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from air condition an a hard bed kept us awake

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff is really nice and gentle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Clean room and bathroom Breakfast Location Very friendly owner Private parking 24hours checking (we arrived late at 10pm and no issues)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not possible to pay with American Express!

    Simple check in process

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complains.

    Everything was as expected. A clean, quiet place and friendly staff. I'll come back two more times this year.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to public transportation. Friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor English speaking Skills

    It's at the city center, close to all mode of transportation system

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    THE RECEPTIONIST!! THE WORST I'VE EVER MET!!! A young guy from Salerno that was absolutely very rude. I'd suggest the owner to talk to him and teach him what means to work with tourists. BAD, very BAD...

    The location is very good. Nice neighborhood and 20 min away from the Duomo!

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very small rooms and very tiny shower, it seems like walls are made of paper because you can hear everything

    good localization, nice personel, close to the Dateo station

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is small The shower is very tiny on the verge of impossible to use

    Small hotel in a quiet area but close to supermarkets pubs and main transportation Friendly staff The room had a balcony

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Couple

    The staff he's not helpfull, the breakfast so poor, the man in the reception not helpfull at all, we felt like if he s disapointed of something he never smile ! The price was really hight

    Really nothing to like

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise level was high. Breakfast below par - stale pastries and fruit that was ready to be thrown out as management is keen to avoid wastage - the mentality around this needs to change.

    My needs were met:great wi-fi;great shower (though cubicle-size);location fine-nice 25 minute walk to centre or plenty of public transport; easy to get to Milan Central station by bus;very clean;friendly & knowledgeable staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms on the groundfloor are right next to the reception area (the whole "lounge" is maximum three squate meters) and anyone arriving at the reception will be heard by guests downstairs. Since we are in Italy and guests basically shout when they communicate, they make downstairs guests' stay literally unbearable. To make them credit, they shut up for the night though.

    Breakfast was fine, location fair (15 in walk to the centre).

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bit noisy sometime.

    Beautiful tree in the garden

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi connection working great. Nice staff. Very handy for transfers from and to the airport. Decent price, too.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room with the terrace was a plus

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff molto disponibile.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom is only suitable for people less than 75Kg. No space for people more than 75Kg.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very handy for tram, bus or suburban train. All about 2 to 3 minutes walk away.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: