Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Casa Di Lucio 4 stars

Piazza San Pietro Caveoso, 75100 Matera, Italy

#10 of 34 hotels in Matera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very friendly and helpful staff, especially Simon, who came beyond and above to fulfill our every wish. The staff at the restaurant cleaned for us the outside table and seats after the night rain, only because we asked to drink our coffee outside at the terrace. The breakfast was delicious, the coffee beyond this world and the view from the terrace priceless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room door it is also the only window, it is a shame there was no curtains to have intimacy.

    The hotel is in the best historical area of Matera. We arrived by car and we used their valet service for the car that was 25 euro per day. We slept in the deluxe room: very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame that we could not have breakfast on the terrace (only coffee). Water in the bathroom could not get too cold.

    Location was perfect. Terrace with view. Charming renovated cave as a room. Comfortable and easy to walk around in Matera from. Friendly and very helpful valet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there were a few issues: work was being carried out in the room next door so it was noisy, the bathroom extractor fan could not be turned off so again noise for 24 hours, we weren't informed that the restaurant and bar was closed on Monday evenings.

    The rooms are not located in one building but are located in renovated caves or stone houses originally carved out of the limestone rocks. Our room was beautiful, in a lovely location and just a few steps away from the stunning sights to be had along the ravine: the churches and habitations that were inside caves. The spacious room had a really comfortable super kingsize bed, spotlessly clean and fabulous shower. Restaurant where breakfast was served was in a cave and again spotlessly clean with a wonderful ambience. Despite the few problems we experienced I would stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is tricky because of the location, but the staff were more than helpful.

    Beautiful hotel in an extraordinary town. Fantastic location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location. Staff realy friendly. Breakfast great. Valet parking. Room beatifull. Fast internet. Best locstion in the city. Restarants nearby. Quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower

    Beautiful room, great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff was a bit arrogant. They also service a 4 star luxury hotel there.

    Great location, excellent breakfast abd fantastic breakfast staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice surrounding in the middle of the sassi. Water bed. Breakfast. Very polite staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really enjoyed our stay here, beautiful 1 off rooms. Staff were very helpful. Would stay here again if I was traveling back to Sassi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not the best, but acceptable Hard to find

    Style of accommodation, location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything we liked <3

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the reception is not speaking english and seemed a bit lost or messy

    The experience. The decoration.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    amazing breakfast and great location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience but folks need to know that it is a walk up hill on cobblestone steps to room and to restaurant so not appropriate for those with walking issues.

    The room was exquisite and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite expensive. Hotel reception had shifted so we had to wait for someone to come and find us.

    Hotel right in the heart of the Sassi district. Spacious rooms, fantastic breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really suitable for anyone with mobility problems as steep sloppy access.

    The most amazing breakfast. Fantastic location. Would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived 1 light not working and extractor fan in toilet not working. Light bulb replaced but extractor not put right. Poor lighting in bathroom for shaving and only tiny mirror. One evening at 6pm we went to the Terrace bar for a drink only to be told by the young man behind the bar that he thought it was closed. Waited 10 mins - no response so we went elsewhere. Lovely terrace overlooking Matera but sadly not for drinking.

    Very stylish decor of cave style room/suite.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We paid for a luxury cave hotel room at Hotel La Casa di Lucio for 2 nights. The room was beautiful but very damp and musty smelling. The exhaust fan in the bathroom does not work and might of helped the musty smell. I let them know but was not fixed. Don't book room #64 unless they fix this, our clothes smelt of the musty smell for days.

    The location and the breakfast was great. The room was unique and very interesting to stay in.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very unfriendly staff that created very bad first expression from the trip to Materra.

    Good location and interior or the room, very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    fabulous minimalist decor tastefully done to include all essentials plus more. Staff very kind. Gave practical advise.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff attitude

    Location Cave design

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: